DirecTV

User Reviews for DirecTV:

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

DIRECTV Satellite TV DIRECTV is an American direct broadcast satellite service provider and broadcaster based in El Segundo, California. Its satellite service, launched on June 17, 1994, transmits digital satellite television and audio to households in the United States, Ibero-America, and the Anglophone Caribbean. Its primary competitors are Dish Network and cable television providers. At the end of 2012, DIRECTV had 35.56 million subscribers. -Wikipedia SKU UPC Model

Paying money to watch infomercials

Aug 11, 2016 by Larry Mueller
Zip Code: 30233 

Keep trying to "give" me the NFL package, I don't do sports, then they charge me. You are paying to watch commercials. My bill is constantly changing. All I want is the SAME bill every month! I watch less than 6 channels, not worth it, only have it to keep my wife happy.


Compelte rip off

May 21, 2016 by Margery
Zip Code: 33436 

was told after 5 years that I had not completed our agreement, agreement was 2 years. then charged me $651 to cancel the service. You got to be kidding me. Never again with direct tv , complete rip off.


Rip off, way over charged

May 21, 2016 by jack
Zip Code: 01230 

had 3 tv's, went down to two, they said that was an auto renew at a high price for 2 years. never was told that when removing a tv. would not listen to reason. Never again.


Love Everything Except the Cost

Mar 13, 2016 by E Jump
Zip Code: 40601 

I love everything about DirecTV, except the cost. I am disabled and spend about 95% of my time in my home & my TV is an essential connection to all the news, etc. I recently upgraded to the Geni system & being able to record 5 shows at a time is great in not having to watch commercials..just fast-forward through them. The Guide & ability to search easily for upcoming shows is great! The cost is hard to manage on my Disability income. They have lower prices for new customers... I think they should have discounted prices for people who have been with them over either 3 or 5 years. Customer service has always been friendly & work hard to take care of any concerns. Even with the high prices, for now I do not want to change to any other service.


Raise price every 3-4 months

Feb 20, 2016 by Thomas Pyron
Zip Code: 38654 

DirecTV is a very enjoyable service but they have priced me out of being a customer.

The first 5 or 6 years I used them, the monthly price would stay the same all year then go up a little at year's end.

Over the past 4 or 5 years, DirecTV has been raising my price by 5 or 6 dollars every 3 or 4 months.
For example, my bill was 102.00 in August 2014 and today it's 133.00. An increase of 31.00 in a year and a half.

They do this even though they've agreed to give me a "locked-in" 12 month contract.
As time goes by, the increases become sharper and more frequent.

Go ahead and get DirecTV if you don't mind them increasing your bill by 5 or 6 dollars every few months.


Feb 15, 2016 by Ronald Grewood
Zip Code: 11946 

Was going to write detailed review but after reading negative reviews below would just like to encourage anyone thinking about this service to read those reviews. They are true!! This company is a nightmare to deal with. Service is awful. When you call you are told you have exceeded your limit and therefore your service is slow. If you pay them to upgrade nothing changes. When you go to disconnect they will not send you return boxes in advance. Also want a piece of equipment that is likely on your roof.


Horrible reception

Jan 24, 2016 by Jerry
Zip Code: 24018 

Any time it rains the service goes out. The dish fills with snow and has to be swept out. Recording a show on the supplied DVR is hit and miss. The recording plays back blurred and sometimes stops on a frame and the image shakes, then jumps ahead 30 seconds. Service at one time was very good, now they have gotten snappy and arrogant, "If you don't like the service I'll cancel it right now, how do you like that," They claim thousands of movies but that is only if you subscribe to all the pay options and also include pay per view. A digital antenna, Netflix and streaming from a PC is starting to look really attractive.


Jan 13, 2016 by Margaret Hall
Zip Code: 72126 

I have enjoyed the programming and have had no problems with the service but since they haven't got a another site on here for excede satellite which the bought I thought I would write here and see what happens.
I wanted to install the excede satellite but couldn't because of the trees in my yard so when the installer came out he said there was no way that it could be done so he called in and cancelled the order this was on the 16th of Dec and when I kept calling to see about my refund of 69.99 they kept saying that refund was due in my account in 14 days and as it stands now i'm going on 3 weeks. If the installation was cancelled on the 16th why not issue the refund in 48 hours and the last thing when I called the other day they told me the order was cancelled on the 29th of Dec.


Best way to get TV

Dec 25, 2015 by Harold Kaat
Zip Code: 46236 

I've had DirecTV since the days when it was first on the market and you had to buy the equipment. Now installation is free, and you only "rent" the equipment. There just isn't a better way to get programming, and if you want to see out-of-market NFL games it's the only way to go. Sunday Ticket lets me see all of my favorite teams games without having to watch our gawd-awful local team.

The only real issue that I've ever had with it is the problem of "rain fade" (or at least that's what the engineers who designed it called it). It only goes out when there is a really heavy downpour between the satellite and my dish, so that amounts to about 0.01% downtime over the course of a year, even in my very rainy area. The longest it ever goes out, even in a bad storm, is just a few minutes.

There are just a couple of minor annoyances with DirecTV. One is that there are so many "junk" channels that you have to go through and set up your Custom list to eliminate them. Another is that some of the programming isn't really in 1080i or 1089p, but lower resolution. Don't know if that's a DTV issue or the originator of the programming. Another is that you have to be connected to the internet (at least box I have doesn't have wireless capability) in order to use the "on demand" channels. I'll have to look into that to see if they now have that available.

Once in a while, when you get a new credit/debit card, they can screw up the billing and cut you off before you can get them the new card number. That can happen with anything where you use automatic payments, though, so it's not really a DTV problem.


Good But not Cheap

Oct 11, 2015 by Robert Merkt
Zip Code: 45255 

I have a love/hate relationship with Directv. Good reliability, good programming but not cheap. Their packages if customized to save a buck, rarely works. Honest billing, good customer service. Tried Dish twice years ago. Very mean spirited company. Sales rep use coined answers to evade your specific questions. When you attempt to cancel, look out, they're coming for your wallet.


3.2 5.0 36 36 Keep trying to "give" me the NFL package, I don't do sports, then they charge me. You are paying to watch commercials. My bill is constantly changing. All I want is the SAME bill e DIRECTV Satellite TV
Page:
1234