DISH Network Review

Last updated Saturday September 23rd, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

DISH Network Satellite TV SKU UPC Model

Worst example of customer service

May 12, 2017 by Mark & Susan Pettigrew
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Cancelled after two days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $$$ • 
Zip Code: 89706 

We purchased a Dish Network Wally receiver for our motorhome at Camping World. The motorhome has three TV’s, an amplified splitter and came with a Direct TV receiver. We decided to go with Dish Network as we liked Dish’s channel line up. As I was new to satellite TV service, I had questions, but I was advised to just follow the instructions Included.
I installed the Wally as directed and called Dish to get it activated and found myself on hold. After 20 minutes I gave up and decided to try again later. On my second try I decided to stick it out and 45 minutes later I finally got to speak with a live technician. The technician began to activate the Wally and download required software updates. The software update was going very slowly and the tech advised me to take the Wally to a Dish Network Dealer, where they would be able to speed up the software download. The tech suggested Carson City RV and gave me two addresses, purportedly, of Dish Network dealers in Sparks, Nevada. I called Carson City RV and they informed me that they were no longer a Dish Network dealer. My wife and I drove to Sparks, the first address was a Hair Salon, and the second was a private residence.
The day following I called Dish Network again and waited over an hour on hold. When a tech answered, he was able to get the download completed. I was relieved to finally have this done; however that relief was short lived. The picture quality on TV #1 was not up to the quality of most of the over the air channels we watched, as it did not fill the screen, and the picture flashed on and off on TV #2.
The channel package we received was not what we expected. Going by what we saw on the Dish Network website, we were expecting to see in addition to network channels, ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, premium channels, such as HGTV, the History Channel, TLC, Discovery, The Weather Channel, etc.
I called to complain and was told that the channel package I ordered did not include the above premium channels. I was also told that the Dish Network Wally would not support more than one TV and it was suggested that we could purchase upgraded receivers.
This is the worst example of misinformation and customer service that we have ever encountered.
We have access to Charter Cable service at the RV Park where we reside. Charter, unlike Dish Network, provided us with outstanding customer service.

Mark and Susan Pettigrew


Apr 27, 2017 by patricia podnar
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years? • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT - they suck • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 81.00 • 
Zip Code: 87109 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

After reading these reviews I realize I am not the only one screwed over by Dish. When you call them they bounce you around to different departments until you get so frustrated you stop trying. All I heard was blah blah blah blah not under contract with them now - definitely going to switch. Done with satellite providers they are all crooks. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES CONTRACT WITH DISH TV.


Apr 26, 2017 by Aaron C
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 99.00 • 
Zip Code: 89143 

When I moved into my new house the technician made a mess with wires all over my house, too many holes that he didn't use, bolts everywhere. The wires have fallen in front of my garage because the genius they sent out here bolted them to stucco. They have fallen out and I cannot get into my garage. They actually want to charge me to fix there mess! He also did not vacuum up his mess from all the holes he left. He never hooked up my second DVR that I have been charged for all these months! They offered my a 30 dollar reduction on my bill!


Apr 21, 2017 by Yale
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not even to Trump • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 75 • 
Zip Code: 60618 

Here is a situation no one has listed. When Dish and WGN were at odds in Chicago I called to cancel since they were not keeping their end of the bargain. So I cancel and they charge my account to return the equipment. They send me a letter of apology and offer $25 off the bill should I come back Code 555. I say yes and they immediately try to rip you off with increased local programming of $10. Last month they charge for equipment return and call customer service to remind them I am a current subscriber using the equipment so take it off the bill. Dish Customer Service is clueless and they add a late charge for not paying the equipment return fee. Time to contact Better Business as DISH is nothing more than a cess pool of commercials and Hispanic programs. Cut the cablemy friend and give Dish the boot. Hello Roku, Hulu and Apple TV.
I can guarantee the founder of Dish and it's board of directors have never found themselves on hold and listened to such crap. Avoid Dish like the plague.


RIPOFF!!!!

Apr 07, 2017 by latasiasutton
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 75.00 • 
Zip Code: 23223 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

Dish is such a ripoff!!! I am moving to a unit that does not have dish services offered so they wanna charge an early termination fee plus 60.00 for a tech to remove the dish from the pole in my complex. This is ridiculous they are worst than comcast DAmn thieves!!!!


NBC

Apr 04, 2017 by Ron
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 yr • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: +$100 • 
Zip Code: 95357 

For more than a month Dish and NBC have not settled there issue. I don't belong in the middle of their dispute. NBC is one of the major stations we watch. For the past month to 6 weeks we have not been able to so. When my billing cycle ends, I will dump them like a hot rock.


Totally disappointed I chose dish.

Apr 03, 2017 by Debbie Monroe
Zip Code: 35901 

I am in Alabama and dish is not working with Hearst Briadcasting to get NBC reinstated. They are being unreasonable in solving the money issue. I pay $10.00 a month of my $64 / month is to get local stations of which NBC is supposed to be included. I watched NBC the most so I am most upset! If I had known I would never have gone with dish. And unfortunately I'm stuck in a 2 year contract. Have 22 months to go. I will definitely ditch the dish after that for sure. Work it out dish or you'll loose many more potential customers! I'd give a zero star but it's not an option.


Apr 02, 2017 by Randy
Zip Code: 65202 

Dish customer for over 17 years. Tolerated every little cost increase for this and that without complaining. Latest $10 increase to keep local channels was the end. Wife called to cancel. After she was on the phone for 10 minutes listening to customer service rep (joke) ask a hundred questions that were not his business, I took the phone. After another couple of minutes I was literally yelling CANCEL at the top of my lungs as this rep kept talking about my "options" and how he could save me so much money. Why didn't they make these offers before I called to cancel? I finally yelled long enough to get a supervisor on the phone. She agreed to cancel my service without all the extra crap - thank you! (or so I thought). I have been paying a DVR fee for 9 or 10 years on one receiver and a rental fee on another for 5 years. Now I have to pay a restocking fee of $12 per receiver to send them back. One final screw from Dish. Thank you very much. All of these satellite providers will stick it to you every chance they get - it's just business. Well, it's my money and they'll not get any more from me.


Apr 02, 2017 by Julie Harlin
Zip Code: 77808 

If I could give no stars, I would. I have been a dish customer for 12 years. My DVR had a hard drive failure. I called to replace it but could only get an appointment scheduled on a Sunday afternoon. The tech came, change the box, and was supposed to change the dish to a newer version. He said his work order was not to remount the dish and it wouldn't fit in the old location. He left and now I have complete signal loss. When I called dish back, they said it would be $100 to relocate the new dish. When I explained I wasn't paying a dime, they found a way to not charge me. So I gave up a weekend to do this on a Sunday afternoon, have no TV, and it will be 5 days before my schedule will allow them to come. Thanks so much for crediting me for the 5 days without service. That is awful big of you. Calling Direct now to look at options.


Mar 30, 2017 by E. V Briones
Zip Code: 28104 

Every time I call I get different information given to me. There needs to be training to get everyone on same page. A guy representative told me shipping back is $12 so I paid and now 2 female reps stated that is only charged if I don't mail the device from outside and shipping is free that once equipment is received, I'm going to get a check for the credit. On Another occasion a rep told me that my problem at the time was the tv controller so I need to purchase one so you can mail it out. But that was not the problem and I ended paying for something I didn't need. Since I was going to be charged to have a technician come out so instead I bought your tv control. My son actually got it to work for free. Another occasion the technicians kept putting wires on the bottom outside, my dog kept reaching them, so another one came out to install wires on top out of reach like it should of been done from the start. Was charging me for wire but instead charged me a $29.99 tv surge. It's a lot of discrepancies through out. I was stuck on a contract that got extended for adding another receiver for 3 tv. Never doing business again with dish.


1.2 5.0 228 228 I started having problems the day of installation. Constant buffering from day 1. I filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau. I also filed class action lawsuit with classactio DISH Network Satellite TV