DISH Network Review

Last updated Friday February 23rd, 2018

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

DISH Network Satellite TV SKU UPC Model

Rude customer service

Jun 29, 2017 by Patrick W Barnett
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 16 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Fluctuates! • 
Zip Code: 35620 

These people are rude! They never charge what they say they will. I've called them many times to try and work with them. They WILL NOT listen or try to understand my issues. When my contract is up, they are yesterday's news. Don't get sucked into their lies people. They lie they lie they lie.....


no reception

Jun 28, 2017 by alice
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 189.00 • 
Zip Code: 53216 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

It is raining. Not storming nor raining hard. We have no tv service. It comes and goes, mostly goes. I definitely want tv when storms are in our area but nope. DISH has no signal. Heavy storms are forecast for this afternoon and evening and there will be no signal I guarantee. Hate this service or lack of service. They tell you about all of the great programs. Lots if you want to watch porn, infomercials and anciently old shows. We switched our program early on and mow the game shows are from the 1960's. Really? What a major rip off. And my husband basically switched to DISH so we could get tv in our camper.That will be interesting to find out how the reception will actually be and how they will charge for that. We haven't found anything with DISH that has been an improvement over our service with our local carrier. Too high priced and horrible service. Take my advice. Don't buy their service. Not sure there are any hood options anymore. Sad. I definitely do mot recommend DISH?


Dish High Speed Computer - I Think Not

Jun 21, 2017 by Phil
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2Months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 99 • 
Zip Code: 91325 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

A few years back, I saw the Dish ad for "high speed computer service with Dish." Well I tried it and it was a joke - I would even say false advertisement. Well, it cost me $350 to cancel the "contract" with dish. I argued that they had breached the contract by not providing truly high speed computer service. Well, it fell on def ears. To add insult to injury, they made me disconnect the brains of their dish and send it to them. Everyone needs to not put up with the lousy products that Dish provides. Call them and ask for credit on your account if you are having any problems.


New 16 Tuner Receiver Is Junk

Jun 21, 2017 by Phil
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years then "upgraded" • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 124 • 
Zip Code: 91325 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The Hopper 3 is not reliable when changing stations, having a mind of its own, it changes the stations by going back and forth. Error messages will appear and not go away. Recorded programs show they are still recording when the recording has completed. These shows can't be watched nor deleted. Sometimes the TV screen will go blank while changing stations. I've had three service people work on the system by checking and replacing cables, replacing the receiver on the dish, re-aiming the dish and replacing the Hopper. All of them have said that it must be a software glitch.


Jun 16, 2017 by Pam
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 99.00 • 
Zip Code: 26426 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I had this service for 2 1/2 years and was very happy with it. I never had any issues until I canceled the service and was told IT WAS UP TO ME to get a part off the satellite to return it to them along with the box or I would be billed $150 for it in addition to the receiver. If I had been told I had to preform the work of a tech. I would have never been a customer to start with.


Rules changed after the fact

Jun 14, 2017 by Patty
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $6 ish for pause • 
Zip Code: 82410 

When we chose to go on the paid 'pause' I specifically asked if we would be able to continue to watch our DVR recordings. I was assured we would have access to all of the recordings.
Now, after the latest horrible DVR update most of our recordings bring up a message that the recording is from a channel we don't have a subscription to and it won't allow us or my children to watch the programs. I called DISH tech support and was told no, I can't watch our recordings during the 'pause' despite what I was told. I have been a DISH customer for almost 5 years but if the company is going to do this contrary to what I was told and block recordings, in fact from the 'warnings' I see any recording that came from a channel I don't currently have would be blocked, so if I downgraded from one package to a lesser one-I can't watch the higher priced shows I recorded. I will be more than happy to switch to another satellite TV provider as I'm not a fan of deception.


Dish Flex pack

Jun 08, 2017 by R Cline
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 35.02 • 
Zip Code: 61951 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Flex pack 2 yr price guarantee 

24.99 wasnt bad with auto pay however when I took auto pay off they billed me for 43.00 and late fees and other charges for protection.I got those reduced,when I tryed to cancel because moving,they told me to keep the dish and all equip ,hopper and would continue billing me 20.00 month for contract total balance 320.00 The equip is of no value and their tech wont remove the dish,just throw it away they said and keep the wally box. What the heck did I pay for THERE RENT,TRUCK,WAREHOUSE


what idiot designed this remote?

Jun 06, 2017 by Bruce Long
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $89 • 
Zip Code: 16148 

I have had cable and direct tv both had remotes that made sense and easy to use. switched because of price, big mistake. This remote does not even have a record button! and if you are recording and watching it, leave and try to come back it only gives you 2 choices. 1.watch live or 2 start over. 🙁


May 29, 2017 by Angela Watson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Never • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $0 • 
Zip Code: 71369 

Apparently when trying to get Dish you can't have someone with the same last name as you owe a bill or you will be denied service. Dish tried to tell me I have to pay a bill for someone else in order to get service at my new address. Just a complete rip off


Worst example of customer service

May 12, 2017 by Mark & Susan Pettigrew
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Cancelled after two days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $$$ • 
Zip Code: 89706 

We purchased a Dish Network Wally receiver for our motorhome at Camping World. The motorhome has three TV’s, an amplified splitter and came with a Direct TV receiver. We decided to go with Dish Network as we liked Dish’s channel line up. As I was new to satellite TV service, I had questions, but I was advised to just follow the instructions Included.
I installed the Wally as directed and called Dish to get it activated and found myself on hold. After 20 minutes I gave up and decided to try again later. On my second try I decided to stick it out and 45 minutes later I finally got to speak with a live technician. The technician began to activate the Wally and download required software updates. The software update was going very slowly and the tech advised me to take the Wally to a Dish Network Dealer, where they would be able to speed up the software download. The tech suggested Carson City RV and gave me two addresses, purportedly, of Dish Network dealers in Sparks, Nevada. I called Carson City RV and they informed me that they were no longer a Dish Network dealer. My wife and I drove to Sparks, the first address was a Hair Salon, and the second was a private residence.
The day following I called Dish Network again and waited over an hour on hold. When a tech answered, he was able to get the download completed. I was relieved to finally have this done; however that relief was short lived. The picture quality on TV #1 was not up to the quality of most of the over the air channels we watched, as it did not fill the screen, and the picture flashed on and off on TV #2.
The channel package we received was not what we expected. Going by what we saw on the Dish Network website, we were expecting to see in addition to network channels, ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, premium channels, such as HGTV, the History Channel, TLC, Discovery, The Weather Channel, etc.
I called to complain and was told that the channel package I ordered did not include the above premium channels. I was also told that the Dish Network Wally would not support more than one TV and it was suggested that we could purchase upgraded receivers.
This is the worst example of misinformation and customer service that we have ever encountered.
We have access to Charter Cable service at the RV Park where we reside. Charter, unlike Dish Network, provided us with outstanding customer service.

Mark and Susan Pettigrew


1.2 5.0 237 237 This is the worst internet provider I have ever used. A little over six months remaining and I am ready for it to be over with. Can't download anything at a quick speed. It har DISH Network Satellite TV