DISH Network Review

Last updated Saturday November 25th, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

DISH Network Satellite TV SKU UPC Model

Rules changed after the fact

Jun 14, 2017 by Patty
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $6 ish for pause • 
Zip Code: 82410 

When we chose to go on the paid 'pause' I specifically asked if we would be able to continue to watch our DVR recordings. I was assured we would have access to all of the recordings.
Now, after the latest horrible DVR update most of our recordings bring up a message that the recording is from a channel we don't have a subscription to and it won't allow us or my children to watch the programs. I called DISH tech support and was told no, I can't watch our recordings during the 'pause' despite what I was told. I have been a DISH customer for almost 5 years but if the company is going to do this contrary to what I was told and block recordings, in fact from the 'warnings' I see any recording that came from a channel I don't currently have would be blocked, so if I downgraded from one package to a lesser one-I can't watch the higher priced shows I recorded. I will be more than happy to switch to another satellite TV provider as I'm not a fan of deception.


Dish Flex pack

Jun 08, 2017 by R Cline
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 35.02 • 
Zip Code: 61951 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Flex pack 2 yr price guarantee 

24.99 wasnt bad with auto pay however when I took auto pay off they billed me for 43.00 and late fees and other charges for protection.I got those reduced,when I tryed to cancel because moving,they told me to keep the dish and all equip ,hopper and would continue billing me 20.00 month for contract total balance 320.00 The equip is of no value and their tech wont remove the dish,just throw it away they said and keep the wally box. What the heck did I pay for THERE RENT,TRUCK,WAREHOUSE


what idiot designed this remote?

Jun 06, 2017 by Bruce Long
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $89 • 
Zip Code: 16148 

I have had cable and direct tv both had remotes that made sense and easy to use. switched because of price, big mistake. This remote does not even have a record button! and if you are recording and watching it, leave and try to come back it only gives you 2 choices. 1.watch live or 2 start over. 🙁


May 29, 2017 by Angela Watson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Never • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $0 • 
Zip Code: 71369 

Apparently when trying to get Dish you can't have someone with the same last name as you owe a bill or you will be denied service. Dish tried to tell me I have to pay a bill for someone else in order to get service at my new address. Just a complete rip off


Worst example of customer service

May 12, 2017 by Mark & Susan Pettigrew
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Cancelled after two days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $$$ • 
Zip Code: 89706 

We purchased a Dish Network Wally receiver for our motorhome at Camping World. The motorhome has three TV’s, an amplified splitter and came with a Direct TV receiver. We decided to go with Dish Network as we liked Dish’s channel line up. As I was new to satellite TV service, I had questions, but I was advised to just follow the instructions Included.
I installed the Wally as directed and called Dish to get it activated and found myself on hold. After 20 minutes I gave up and decided to try again later. On my second try I decided to stick it out and 45 minutes later I finally got to speak with a live technician. The technician began to activate the Wally and download required software updates. The software update was going very slowly and the tech advised me to take the Wally to a Dish Network Dealer, where they would be able to speed up the software download. The tech suggested Carson City RV and gave me two addresses, purportedly, of Dish Network dealers in Sparks, Nevada. I called Carson City RV and they informed me that they were no longer a Dish Network dealer. My wife and I drove to Sparks, the first address was a Hair Salon, and the second was a private residence.
The day following I called Dish Network again and waited over an hour on hold. When a tech answered, he was able to get the download completed. I was relieved to finally have this done; however that relief was short lived. The picture quality on TV #1 was not up to the quality of most of the over the air channels we watched, as it did not fill the screen, and the picture flashed on and off on TV #2.
The channel package we received was not what we expected. Going by what we saw on the Dish Network website, we were expecting to see in addition to network channels, ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, premium channels, such as HGTV, the History Channel, TLC, Discovery, The Weather Channel, etc.
I called to complain and was told that the channel package I ordered did not include the above premium channels. I was also told that the Dish Network Wally would not support more than one TV and it was suggested that we could purchase upgraded receivers.
This is the worst example of misinformation and customer service that we have ever encountered.
We have access to Charter Cable service at the RV Park where we reside. Charter, unlike Dish Network, provided us with outstanding customer service.

Mark and Susan Pettigrew


Apr 27, 2017 by patricia podnar
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years? • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT - they suck • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 81.00 • 
Zip Code: 87109 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

After reading these reviews I realize I am not the only one screwed over by Dish. When you call them they bounce you around to different departments until you get so frustrated you stop trying. All I heard was blah blah blah blah not under contract with them now - definitely going to switch. Done with satellite providers they are all crooks. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES CONTRACT WITH DISH TV.


Apr 26, 2017 by Aaron C
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 99.00 • 
Zip Code: 89143 

When I moved into my new house the technician made a mess with wires all over my house, too many holes that he didn't use, bolts everywhere. The wires have fallen in front of my garage because the genius they sent out here bolted them to stucco. They have fallen out and I cannot get into my garage. They actually want to charge me to fix there mess! He also did not vacuum up his mess from all the holes he left. He never hooked up my second DVR that I have been charged for all these months! They offered my a 30 dollar reduction on my bill!


Apr 21, 2017 by Yale
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not even to Trump • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 75 • 
Zip Code: 60618 

Here is a situation no one has listed. When Dish and WGN were at odds in Chicago I called to cancel since they were not keeping their end of the bargain. So I cancel and they charge my account to return the equipment. They send me a letter of apology and offer $25 off the bill should I come back Code 555. I say yes and they immediately try to rip you off with increased local programming of $10. Last month they charge for equipment return and call customer service to remind them I am a current subscriber using the equipment so take it off the bill. Dish Customer Service is clueless and they add a late charge for not paying the equipment return fee. Time to contact Better Business as DISH is nothing more than a cess pool of commercials and Hispanic programs. Cut the cablemy friend and give Dish the boot. Hello Roku, Hulu and Apple TV.
I can guarantee the founder of Dish and it's board of directors have never found themselves on hold and listened to such crap. Avoid Dish like the plague.


RIPOFF!!!!

Apr 07, 2017 by latasiasutton
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 75.00 • 
Zip Code: 23223 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

Dish is such a ripoff!!! I am moving to a unit that does not have dish services offered so they wanna charge an early termination fee plus 60.00 for a tech to remove the dish from the pole in my complex. This is ridiculous they are worst than comcast DAmn thieves!!!!


NBC

Apr 04, 2017 by Ron
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 yr • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: +$100 • 
Zip Code: 95357 

For more than a month Dish and NBC have not settled there issue. I don't belong in the middle of their dispute. NBC is one of the major stations we watch. For the past month to 6 weeks we have not been able to so. When my billing cycle ends, I will dump them like a hot rock.


1.2 5.0 232 232 POOR INTERNET SERVICE WITH CENTURY LINK, POOR TV AND CUSTOMER SERVICE.....ALL AROUND THE WORST SERVICE FOR THE BUCK.....AND YOU NEVER GET FULL INTERNET SERVICE EVER.....TOLD THEM I DISH Network Satellite TV