Exede Review

Last updated Saturday November 25th, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Horrible repair service/slow speeds

Nov 10, 2017 by Carolyn E.
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4-5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Varies from $50-120 • 
Zip Code: 28734 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Our experience is similar to the experiences already mentioned. Took a dozen calls to get our service repaired, and several months, where we were given several numbers of service providers who either didn't exist or didn't service our area, in the mountains of western NC. Then more phone calls and finally we flew to NC from our home in Tampa to meet a service person who cancelled three times (supposedly two breakdowns) and finally got someone there (who came from Texas--go figure) just before we had to leave for the airport. They did not reimburse us for the two months of having no service, and their vacation plan stinks. At and T hotspot is a thousand times better but doesn't give us enough gigs to make it through the month at high speed so we need a backup. Wish we had an alternative; if so, we'd surely use it.


worst repair service ever

Nov 08, 2017 by william jones
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 150.00 • 
Zip Code: 71822 

Allow me to tell you a customer service nightmare. Called 4 days ago about internet being out. I scheduled a repair for 11-2 on 11/8. We work during the week so I hired somone to come be there for the technician. I call on 11/7 because I have a funny feeling I better confirm due to having so many bad experiences with Excede in the past. They state that the installation is now 2-5 I ask who changed they state it was never set for 11-2. 1st lie they gave me. So I contatct person hired and see if they can be there from now 2-5 and pay additional money . I call at 12:00 on 11/8 to confirm for the technician to call me so I could give instruction on somone coming over to be there. and to call me on the number I provided them They say they will send a urgent message. 2 hours later no reply I then call customer service back again they say they will send another urgent message to the technician to call me on my cell phone as well as update the number on my account. 2 hours later no call. I call back to customer service and they say they will call the technician I wait on hold 20 minutes , lady comes back online and disconnects call. I call AGAIN to customer service they say no urgent messages have ever been sent and no way to speak to the lady that hung up on me and he stated that he apologized that I was lied to that they cant call the technician. A man named George called from dispatch to tell me that he tried calling my cell and left me a message (another lie) that the technicians truck broke down and will not be out of the shop for a week and then they can send him out to repair. It is sad that this company boasts customer service yet does not care that you offline for almost 2 weeks, out over 100.00 for somone to sit with no updates. Take this as advice before switching or subscribing to this company.


Nov 08, 2017 by Mel
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $62.89 • 
Zip Code: 96720 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

The lack of respect these people show their customers is outstanding! Are they incompetent or liars?

I would rate 0 stars. Spent hours on the phone with support, got hung up on when I was transferred, and was told one thing by one person and another thing by another person.

I'm not giving up though


Horrible Internet, Even worse customer service

Nov 07, 2017 by Alese
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $64 • 
Zip Code: 77336 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Internet speeds are extremely slow and data caps keep you from being able to stream shows, movies, or have your tv connected to the internet. Customer service is horrible. TWO YEAR contracts. If you move, they force you to sign a new 2 year contract. If you cancel services at the beginning of the month, they still make you pay for the whole month. When you cancel, you have to take your own satellite down to turn in a piece off of it and as a single woman, this proved difficult for me. Since it took over 30 days to return my equipment, because I couldn’t access my dish, I was charged another $318 that I am still waiting to be refunded. I was given a $25 refund by a supervisor because of all of my troubles and then corporate denied the refund, so I didn’t get what I was promised. Nothing but problems with this company, I would not recommend.


Horrible. Don’t buy!!

Nov 06, 2017 by Cody
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2.5 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 63628 

I had this installed on a Saturday and paid 150.00 to break my contract on Monday. Don’t buy their internet!! I’m pissed and you will be to


Nov 02, 2017 by Gloria
How Long Have You
used This Service?: One month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 75.00 • 
Zip Code: 75754 

I cannot give this Internet service a rating of 1. Of course this site makes you give at least a one. From the beginning we were promised things and they never delivered. Our speed test was at .15 for downloads and .35 for uploads. You can't do anything with that! Their fix, sell you more data! Of course, no promises that the speed won't slow down. What a crock! Then they charge over $300 to stop service that ISN"T working! UGH!


Be very careful!

Oct 31, 2017 by Mark Broadus
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Over 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not if I wanted to keep the friend • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Sixty something • 
Zip Code: 34292 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Very poor value to start with, but rural customers don't have much to choose from. Read the terms and conditions thoroughly before you sign up. We had a surprise bump in price (with no advance notice) after our sign up deal expired. It was for equipment rental. I have strong doubts about their metering of bandwidth. Our allotted 10 gb began to disappear faster and faster with no new equipment at home. Even on a good month we could only stream 4 or 5ovies per month. We cancelled service at the beginning of October and have called 3 times to get the box needed to return the modem and transceiver
If you don't do this, you incur a $300 charge. The box is not here and they blame UPS. I think they want the $300 rather than old equipment. They refuse to hold off on the charge while I pack and ship at my expense. This is not a good company to deal with.


Shitty customer service, Shitty internet...

Oct 27, 2017 by Unkown
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: HELL NO!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 2867 

Ohh boy, where do I began, Exede internet is so shit NEVER use it its a scam, its shit, it's slow, and not worth the money, Thanks Exede for the great experience of 0.06 download and the 1260 ping.

FUCK YOU.


Avoid at all cost, not worth it

Oct 26, 2017 by Tamara Anderson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $74.00 • 
Zip Code: 78550 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

0 star if that was allowed. We had no other choice at all for internet service and had to go through this company and had to sign a 2 year contract. The service was patchy and not reliable for ridiculous fees. We had to move from where we were living for business and moved to a location where they had no service. They refused to waive the cancellation fee. The contract is a trap that you have to sign if you want internet. They charged us over $600 even though they could not provide services where we were moving, and were supposed to send a box for us to return the equipment. They sent the box to the old address, in spite of receiving the new one upon my cancellation. I called to have them send it again and they advised they would. I did not receive the box after the second call. I called a third time and they said they would send another. They still did not and charged my checking account $324.75, causing overdraft fees from my bank. I was on the phone with them for an hour to try to get this equipment returned and this fee overturned. Still waiting for a box to return this equipment!!


Great system

Oct 24, 2017 by Ron hill
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60 • 
Zip Code: 28763 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

No complaints. 12GB plan. When the 12 GB is used up we have had a few days whe we could not stream, but that is rare, mostly prime time evening. We just received a email that they are adding a HD enhancement for streaming at no extra cost. Advice to those thinking of changing to exceed; Read the information, contract, and their web site. Most of the negative reviews are because of the lack of research. We live in the mountains of NC & cancelled TV. We watch a lot of Netflix. Compared to our former DSL the low GB is still 3 times faster on reduced streaming. LOVE EXEED!


1.3 5.0 1150 1150 Our experience is similar to the experiences already mentioned. Took a dozen calls to get our service repaired, and several months, where we were given several numbers of service Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»