Exede Review

Last updated Saturday November 25th, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Bait and Switch Scam

Oct 11, 2017 by Frank Hale
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 64.00 • 
Zip Code: 40361 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

This business doesn't rate one star. When getting cost information, the service rep. assured me that the total monthly cost would be $54.00 per month - nothing more. Today I see a bill for 64.00+ for service. This is typical "bait and switch" at it's worst. AVOID
AT ALL COST!


Oct 11, 2017 by Marie
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 weeks • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutly NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80. est. • 
Zip Code: 32054 

I switched from windstream because this was suppose to be cheaper. BIG mistake. I was paying 90$ a mnth. with windstream and had unlimited wifi . Paying 80.$ with exede for 12gb. Now three weeks into the contract I have got to pay these people 340$ to get out of the contract. Please do your research before switching to this company. They don't even come close to the service I was receiving with wind stream. I switched from Dish to direct tv they were the one who convinced me I was paying way to much for wifi. This is completely my fault because I didn't research it I just made the call and signed up because I was initially offered internet for 45.$ per monthwith these crooks.


No problem..sort of

Oct 06, 2017 by Bruce
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60.58 • 
Zip Code: 29388 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I haven't had any of the issues others speak of. I haven't had a need to contact customer service, so I don't know if problems there exist. After five years, the only complaint I have is the Free Zone (3 am - 6am) isn't really free. They charge your account for all you do during that time. I have the plan that's 25mb download speed and I get 12 gb per month, with a supposed free zone.


USELESS

Oct 06, 2017 by Glenn Greer
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Funny • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NOT TO MY WORST ENEMY • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 59 • 
Zip Code: 99217 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I CALLED A WEEK AGO TODAY TO ORDER SERVICE. IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE INSTALLED LAST FRIDAY. THEY NEVER CALLED OR SHOWED UP. RESCHEDULED ME FOR YESTERDAY...CONTACTED ME BY TEXT VERY LATE AND ADVISED IT WOULD BE FRIDAY. I JUST GOT A TEXT SAYING THEY CAN'T DO IT UNTIL NEXT WEDNESDAY. THESE PEOPLE CAN'T EVEN GET IT INSTALLED AND THEY THINK THEYRE GOING TO LOCK ME IN FOR 2 YEARS. IN YOUR FUC@/#G DREAMS. I CANCELLED MY ORDER.


How Do They Get Away With It

Oct 03, 2017 by Catherine Boye
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $99.00 • 
Zip Code: 29322 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

I moved here from out of state. I could not find a bundle service. I was referred to a site that rated the best services for my area. I wonder how much they are getting paid? I was told Exede was my only option. I went with them. Installation was professional,however I was not here until 30 days later to confirm the systems were adequate.It all went down hill from there. Bills were not what they claimed. After living here for a month, I realized there were many other options. It was to late. If a cloud crosses the sky, you have no TV. Please do not try to use your phone unless you want to hear an echo of yourself and wait until that ends to hear what the other person has responded? Satellite phone system does not work with security system. Constant complaining about wretched internet and phone all I was told was they would send me out a new phone box, what to do with the old one? "Use it As a Coaster" a lot faith in their equipment. The minute I canceled they locked me out of my account with no way to pay the bill or send me one? I'm not paying a bill I can not see. Called 3 times for a paper bill, finally got one a month later. Again, no address. Called they can not give me one to send a check to. They will only take a credit card. Why would anyone pay more for poor coverage and less data? Especially to a company which seems to have no formal billing address. They got me , don't let it be you. By the way after waiting a month for a paper bill, within 3 business days they were sending me to collections? This all seems to be a bit illegal or at least sketchy. There are better deals out there, don't be me or my pocketbook.


DON'T DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oct 02, 2017 by Melody Bing
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months active and another 6 not active! • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Heck no! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 83 • 
Zip Code: 33610 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I wish there was a no star option! Service was always down even on clear days. Tried to call to get rid of the service within the first 30 days, constantly being placed on hold and then the phone would drop. Months later, still being billed. And now they're saying I have to pay over $200 plus $15 per month for 2 yrs. DO NOT GET THIS SERVICE, you WILL regret it! I'm calling BBB, after sending this review!!!


Costumer service sucks

Oct 02, 2017 by Lance Whitehead
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 yr • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: He'll no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $67.07 • 
Zip Code: 71292 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Ok called customer service to pay my bill because it always says card declined. When I talk to a human it goes through, go figure. Well my data have been vanishing in thin air, and no one can tell me why. When I talk to a human, i get a run around and never get a straight answer, nor do I find out where it's going. Anyway i got a email that said I had used 70% of my data, I unplugged the Wi-Fi box and a few days later it said I used 100% of my data. So I called and the lady said she could see that it had been unplugged. So she said she would have technical support call me. Well several months have gone by and no call. And several times this has happened. And the funny thing is that I have been using the MI-FI box from Verizon. So where is my data and what am i paying for? No one can answer my question on any of it. So DON'T USE EXCEED WILD BLUE INTERNET THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR DATA AND NO ONE WILL TELL YOU WHY OR WHERE IT IS GOING!!!!!!!


What A RipOff

Sep 30, 2017 by Lisa
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 20 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO WAY IN HELL • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120.00 • 
Zip Code: 41042 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I couldn't even manage a 1 star rating but the site insisted I put at least one star in. This was the worst mistake ever. I signed up for the Liberty Pass 12. The man who took my order and initially scammed the crap out of me promised me that when I exceeded my data that it would run slower but I would still be able to watch Netflix and use my computer but just at a slower speed. I haven't stopped buffering since day 5. When I called to get more data they wouldn't make any concessions for the fact that they fed me a whole bunch of misleading information just to sign a contract. So like a dumbass I upgraded my plan so I could use the internet. Now I'm being told that the prorated bill after the increase will be $180.00 and then $120.00 a month. WTF I would be better off just to pay the 360 to cancel the contract. The salesman also told me that they took care of removing the satellite if I were to change my mind about the service. BULLSHIT. I get to climb up on the roof and do it myself. They didn't even try to make it right. This company straight up sucks and as soon as I can get new service here. I intend to pay the $360.00 to make them go away. DO NOT SIGN A CONTRACT WITH EXCEDE!!!!!!! You will regret it and it will cost you a fortune to be rid of it.


DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

Sep 29, 2017 by Crystal
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 18 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO NO NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 81 • 
Zip Code: 65301 

We literally had NO other option for internet when we signed up with Excede! THe internet was HORRIBLE from day 1....we contacted customer support and they magically improved the speed while we were on the phone.....2 hours later same problem.....SLOW! SLOW! SLOW! Videos ALWAYS BUFFER! yet you go through GB like CRAZY!!!! When you call they tell you the reason it is slow and buffering is because you are over your data.....THAT JUST RENEWED the DAY BEFORE....ummm NO! we only use one laptop MAYBE 1 hour a day on the internet...nothing else is pulling DATA...I believe they are scamming people to upgrade packages and buy more DATA. HORIIBLE slow service....NO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY! We finally! found another option and are done with these scammers! Well worth the $15 a month to cancel early!


Sep 29, 2017 by Brandon Lillick
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER IN A MILLION YEARS • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $65 • 
Zip Code: 28092 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Excede doesn’t even deserve a star. I don’t even know how they are still in business. First of all, we run out of our allotted data the same day every month. How suspicious is that? Secondly, the day the guy came to install it it didn’t even work fast enough for me to sign on his computer saying he had been here. He showed up in a ratchet van and ran all in the grass. The internet never works. We went as far as buying a cellphone plan from Sprint to be able to hotspot off of. Customer service is a complete joke. I’m pretty sure there is no qualifications to work here. All you have to do is be able to lie and deciet people. These people are a joke.I waited 50 minutes to talk to a so-called supervisor who told me she would reduce my cancelation fee. I called back to cancel and guess what? No record of me ever talking to the “supervisor” and I had to argue with a very rude employee. So now we are stuck with the service because the fee to cancel is absurd. The way they run their company should be illegal. I hope karma finds these people. Please, do yourself a favor and all of us that got screwed over by this company and never sign up for their services.


1.3 5.0 1150 1150 Our experience is similar to the experiences already mentioned. Took a dozen calls to get our service repaired, and several months, where we were given several numbers of service Exede broadband internet