Exede Review

Last updated Tuesday July 25th, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Piss poor

Jul 01, 2017 by Karen Anderson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 13 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Too damn much • 
Zip Code: 48416 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Worst, slowest service. I work from home and average about $150 loss with every check. Service stops on bright sunny day or rainy day. You should pay us for using this lousy service!!


Jun 29, 2017 by Bill
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: HELL NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 65 • 
Zip Code: 97338 

I wish I could give minus stars! After horrible service (paid for easy care, but no one could service my area) I canceled my account, returned my equipment within the 30 day window then they charged me $150 fine because they said something was missing!!!!!! The return equipment box comes with cubbies, an equipment list and directions for all the items you need to return. Everything went in the box, the receiver, the modem, heck, I even through in ethernet cords. Low and behold they charge me a $150 bucks, but can't even tell me what's supposably missing??? When I first called exede I got a supervisor that told me that the weight on the box was correct for all items need and that I should receive a refund in 15 days. After 18 days I called the parent company Viasat and they told me that they would not be refunding me, period, unless I returned all items....But, that's what I did originally.... They have called me dishonest in a situation where it is my word against theirs. Why would I go through the effort of sending everything back?? My dish is at ground level and my modem is in the house, why wouldn't I send them back. The whole thing is infuriating and immoral, what an unethical, crap company.


Run the other way!

Jun 29, 2017 by Kristen M Thompson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 65? • 
Zip Code: 97080 

OMG! We were never told about a contract! So now that thus service sucked and we wanted disconected, they said they will ship return boxes to ship their stuff back NOTHING! We got tagged with another huge bill and NO answer from installer of corporate office! DO NOT MAKE BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE! Go find a hobby like fishing instead


horrible service and customer serivce

Jun 29, 2017 by elizabeth jones
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70.00 • 
Zip Code: 75173 

worst ever. do not use this company. the customer service reps do not help either. i set up my plan as streaming, and i never have good internet connection. they want me to pay more money. bullshit ass company. as soon as our contract is up e are switching


Horrible Service!!

Jun 28, 2017 by Forest
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 24 Months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 153.00 • 
Zip Code: 90630 

Their internet and phone service was appalling!! They were bad when I was contracted with them, they are bad now that I am trying to cancel. This is such a bad company. I cannot begin to tell you.


Avoid at all costs!

Jun 27, 2017 by Renee Crum
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 160 • 
Zip Code: 80422 • 
Twitter Username (optional): @reneecrum 

Expect long wait times anytime you try to contact customer service. Every time I have contacted customer service I have been put on hold for multiple minutes each time for several times each call. This is required for even the simplest tasks. They do not deliver what they promise in so far as speeds, service, support.


Even if you have no other choice don't get it

Jun 24, 2017 by Lonnie English
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 22 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 62946 

I had the service for 22 and 1/2 months been waiting to cancel for the last year. It's been a horrible experience for 12 GB I was only getting I was paying $80 speeds were subpar even on the priority data. Once you get past your priority data you can pretty much guarantee you're not going to be doing anything on the internet. The icing on the cake was my two year contract would be up on August 3rd so I cancelled early on June 24th having to pay the 2 months of ETF which I was fine with but they immediately cut off your internet and they don't give you a credit for any of the remaining billing cycle that you've already paid for good riddance horrible company horrible customer service it took me 15 minutes to get somebody on the phone and it was somebody that could not speak English all he kept saying was Mr. Is that okay Mr. Yes Mr.


Jun 22, 2017 by Bruce Harshman
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 20 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not even to an enemy • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 150 • 
Zip Code: 91011 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Phone and internet 

Somehow data usage is gone in two weeks and I was originally told the lesser data plan would be plenty. No supervisors available to talk to at anytime. And will now be immediately panelized out of my account if I try to cancel. I even had to out gas in the installers car so he could get home.


Not Much of a Deal

Jun 22, 2017 by S. Patrick
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 Year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $90+ • 
Zip Code: 24151 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Moved to a rural area where satellite is the only option, and being on a limited budget, we went with Exede since they offered the liberty hours after midnight. The rep assured us it would be fine for online gaming (console-based multiplayer) during primetime hours. This turned out not to be the case, and the speed and connectivity only got worse from there. After spending most of last week entirely without service (except for when it would rain, which is the opposite of how this is supposed to work, right?), we contacted the office to have someone come look at our dish and modem. He was here right on time and did his best. I mentioned the rep had told us last year that Exede would be sending up a new satellite last year (we currently are on the same beam as half the rest of the east coast US), but I'd seen online that this had been postponed (it wasn't mentioned on Exede's website; in fact, nothing pertaining to outages or issues ever is). The rep said they HAD put up a new satellite, but that Exede was on strike (?????) and nothing had been done about switching to it yet, which I found odd. He did his diagnostics and informed me our connection was just fine. It worked well enough once he'd rebooted everything, but by that night was back to the new "normal" - slow, inconsistent, and we couldn't even use wi-fi calling. Unfortunately, we still have too much time left on our two-year contract to back out now and get something better.


We've had no financial shenanigans or strange data usage mix-ups, and have dealt directly with our provider office and not Exede customer service. Local satellite representative and his employees are fine...the service itself, not so much.


Near Perfect

Jun 19, 2017 by Dave Bush
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 yrs. • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 82.00 • 
Zip Code: 75964 • 
Twitter Username (optional): N/a • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I started w/Wildblue about 10 yrs. ago. the first few years was kind of a bumpy ride. I heard that a new satellite was to up and it was going to much faster. So I waited a year. went w/Exide which bought out Wildblue. I can't say that I haven't had a few problems, only minor ones. They have been taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. I have not had a problem w/customer support or on-site repairs...
happy with the service...


1.3 5.0 1104 1104 We've had this contract 1 year...it pretty much defaults to all data used as previous commentor states even when you don't use it. SLOW to say the least. I use my verizon hotspot Exede broadband internet