Exede Review

Last updated Friday February 23rd, 2018

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

They lie

Jan 22, 2018 by Pat
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 150.00 • 
Zip Code: 23919 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I will never refer them to anybody again. Sold my best buddy on them and he signed up. Not nearly the service they offer down load speed in the low 4's at best. I ordered the unlimited plan 2 weeks ago (been a customer for 4 years)and I still have to wait 2 more weeks for the new modem. He ordered as a new customer and had his in 3 days. I called and was given a work order number to give to the same installer that was coming back the next day to finish and get a modem off his truck. No such work order number in the system so it's still another 2 weeks. I'll be spending that 2 weeks looking for another provider. They will tell you what you want to hear to get the sale and then cast you to the curb.


Exceed

Jan 21, 2018 by Greg Maddox
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $120.00 • 
Zip Code: 30056 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

This is the worst internet and phone service I have ever had, very frustrated


Stealing is their deal

Jan 20, 2018 by Paul Blankenship
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3+ years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 105.00 • 
Zip Code: 97527 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

As the only provider available to us, I bought into this scam. Started at 15 gigs for around 70 a month. First month was great. Then we are going through data like water down the drain. Somehow managed to use up allotment in 2 days. When called, they blame us for an unsecured Wi-Fi. We live in the country and there's no other residence within 100 xs the distance my Wi-Fi will carry. After dealing with this for months, they offer 150 gigs for 99.00. Great, 10 xs the data. I go for the bait. Two months later, now going through all of it in ten days. I'm so tired of these thieving mongrels. There is no way we use that much data. Our phones track data usage and at less than 4 gigs a month on each, it's just not possible. But go ahead and try to call em out on it. They are very adept at hanging up after long waits and multiple phone trees. Wish I had an alternative provider available.


Extremely Bad Service

Jan 08, 2018 by Sharon Ridilla
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: ABSOLUTELY NOT! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 60 • 
Zip Code: 20576 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

Guess we had a great salesperson who sold us this. My data is out in 3-5 days. Cannot watch anything on Direct TV On Demand. A one hour show takes 3-8 hours to download. Called and they kept me on phone for 3 hours having me do all these things to test and told me it's working fine. I told them I want a service person to test this since it is NOT working fine. They told me it would cost me $95. I am paying them for a service and they are not providing me with any help in fixing this issue. I will gladly at this time pay the fee to cancel this service just to have working internet again. They really are the worst!


Billing and customer swrvice

Jan 07, 2018 by David
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3.5 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $56 • 
Zip Code: 65011 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

We have this service at a summer home. All 3.5 years we have tried to put the service on vacation Nov 1st. Each year they, customer service has screwed it up.
This year they even admit we were supposed to be on vacation but someone never completed the transition. We are still being billed the full amount and now today they say they will not refund all the money bc we did not follow thru. This does not make sense when their own notes show we have called repeatedly.
Plus the internet is sketchy at best. There is no consistency to the coverage. Sometimes it seems if the wind blows we lose our connection.
If you have any other options DO NOT go with this company. We still have no settlement on our refund.


Exceedingly poor service

Jan 04, 2018 by David Hicks
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 7 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $85 • 
Zip Code: 72117 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Terrible service, your data allotment will run out very quickly and then the service runs at a snails pace. I tried several times to resolve the issue with them with no luck. They know they have bad service and don’t care. I gladly cancelled today but will be stuck with a large bill for the remainder of the contract.
My goal is to get the word out so that others aren’t suckered in by this lousy company. I would encourage others that were screwed by this company to do the same.


unhappy in minnesota

Jan 03, 2018 by Steve Current
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 weeks • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absoutely NOT • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 46.80 • 
Zip Code: 56065 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Unbelievable how good of a con job Directv and Exede did on me. I contacted Directv to find out if I could get internet service through them and was told that they didn't have any service in my area but could set me up exede for service. I was on a plan that had unlimited usage amount and the guy at Directv said that the plan with exede would be 10 GB per month and when I asked how much that meant he informed me that amount should be plenty. its just me and my wife and I'm at retirement age we are not high internet users but in the first little over week we had already used up that 10 Gb. I called the customer service dept and they said that for another $10.00 I can increase my plan to 12 Gb and I said to her that wouldn't do us at good if I used the 10 up in a little over a week. After going around with her for a length of time I had no other choice but to cancel the contract. It cost me 343.00 to do that so if I can convince any one to not get conned by these sharks into a contract with either directv or Exede then it was worth me sending this complaint in. After talking with some IT friends I was told that we should have never used up that in such a short amount of time. So instead of it coming to the point that we having to cancel Exede they should have looked deeper in why I used that up so fast. Personally I think that it was something on their end that happened and I'm the one that had to suffer the loss. the customer service person made it sound like that most likely the cancelation fee would be waived, like that happened. Was just another trick to get me off the phone I think. I'm back with consolidated communication and happy.


Jan 03, 2018 by Dan McGrath
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 14 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $103.84 • 
Zip Code: 12887 

Exede/Viasat's satellite internet service is by far the worst consumer experience of my life from both a functional and a customer service point of view. Broadband service is not available in upstate New York where my vacation home is located, so Exede was our only option for internet service. The service seldom worked, and when it did work the speeds were very slow and our "priority" data disappeared in 2 or 3 days. Each of the last three times I visited my house, the service had stopped working and I was required to call Exede for assistance. The company's customer service representatives are generally friendly, but they also generally incapable of resolving any problems. I made the decision to cancel my account today and eat the $150 termination fee (which Exede refused to waive despite the fact that more often than not their product did not function properly). I would rather not have internet service than to pay for such a terrible service. Unless you really need internet service and have no other options, I advise steering clear of this company.


Avoid Exede At All Costs!

Jan 01, 2018 by Sheila
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely Not! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $65 • 
Zip Code: 47374 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Living in a rural area, this was the only option available to get rid of dialup. Hopefully that is changing soon as other companies expand their high-speed service.

Exede has a terrible customer service department. Outages in customer service are common. If you watch more than one television show online, it will slow your speeds down for the entire month (unless you use their free data period from Midnight to 5 a.m.).

I recently moved where I could get real high-speed Internet for $20 a month cheaper and no slowing down of my speed due to data limits. The difference is amazing. I am so excited to be away from Exede.

When leaving the service, even though I was not leaving my contract early, they wanted to charge me $300 if I didn't return their equipment--which included part of the satellite dish on the roof. Not an easy thing for a woman in her 70‘s with a disabled family member who cannot walk. I notified my bank in advance that I do not authorize any additional charges from Exede on my debit card.

Please beware of dealing with this company. With the advance of unlimited data plans from cell phone carriers and companies like Fromtier expanding their rural service as a result of s grant from the federal government, look for any other option out there.


Dec 28, 2017 by Linda Rauen
How Long Have You
used This Service?: To long • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60.00 • 
Zip Code: 52039-9628 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

I would not recommend this internet to anyone.I paid my bill on time every month.I was in customer service for 28 years and if I treated anyone like they treated me I would be fired on the spot!Our company strived to help the customer in any way.I sent the items back like they said in the box they provided with a UPS label.When I hadn't gotten my refund for $315.00 for there merchandise I called them.They said they never got it.I have the tracking number and they still had blame excuses.I keep my cool pretty easy but this was over the top!I hope the CEO reads this.They not only screwed me out of the money they also screwed my husband who is a disabled veteran!!!Shame on you EXEDE!!!!BBB here I come!!!!


1.3 5.0 1191 1191 I got the service installed 2 weeks ago and the service has yet to work. I called for a service appointment they said they didn't have one until monday they never showed up they sa Exede broadband internet