Exede Review

Last updated Saturday September 23rd, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Excede internet service

Aug 11, 2017 by Trenna Cannavino
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 18810 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Absolutely horrible service and customer service. Cannot deliver service as promised but wants to keep you tied to contract. No way of contacting anyone of help to the situation


Sell a lie

Aug 11, 2017 by Bruce Harshman
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 mos • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not even to an enemy • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 150 • 
Zip Code: 91011 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Phone and internet 

One of the worst companies I have ever had to deal with. The sales people will tell you the 25gb plan will be enough, but you will be lucky if you don't use 50gb within 2 weeks and then your out of luck. Each plan you purchase will be like buying a lemon car that you have to keep paying for over and over every month.


Ripoff con artist!!!!!

Aug 11, 2017 by Brandon Wilkinson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not ever! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 60 • 
Zip Code: 74851 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes with att 

The stars need to go into the negative! They don't even deserve the 1 star required for this review. Tonight alone, I spent 2 hours on the phone with them because my service wasn't working due to a weather outage. Sky's are as clear as can be. I have 3 people in college in my household. The service is spotty at best. After being hung up on twice because the rep didn't want to get a supervisor, I finally supposedly got a hold of a supervisor on the third call. And as it turns out they were absolutely no help either, so after finally supposedly getting to his boss the highest one available, he tells me there's nothing he can do it's my fault their service is shit, I should read my contract. 24 hours into a new month all the data is supposedly used up every month. It is the biggest waste of money ever! At&t uses them as part of their bundle group when land service is unavailable. That should be the biggest mistake ever. Their customer service as well as their actual service is the worst ever experienced! It is a horrible reflection of your company ties at&t.


Horrible internet & dishonest sales

Aug 10, 2017 by Adam
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never for any reason under any circumstance • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 33935 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

0 stars. Horrible service horrible customer service dishonest sales and hidden fees. They'll promise you high speed internet but if you watch Netflix for half an hour your high-speed internet for the whole month is gone and you're on always on data which is absolutely horrible my cell phone internet is 10 times faster than the internet I pay $80 a month for the sales team is dishonest and its absolute garbage throw on hidden fees on your monthly bill and you're stuck in the two-year contract or else you have to pay $15 a month for every month left on the contract waste of money please for your sake do anything else but get Exede internet it is the worst you could possibly get


Cancelled after 15 days

Aug 09, 2017 by Bill Bradley
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 15 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $330 cancellation fee • 
Zip Code: 30563 • 
Twitter Username (optional): @bbcoachbradley • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I like everyone else here obviously did not read reviews before going with Exede. Expensive mistake. I called and asked the questions I should have. I was told if I am not a gamer, I would notice no difference in this service and my previous broadband. Correct, for 12 hours. After that, I was over my data limit and it slowed to a crawl. Had to wait a week before broadband was installed at my house is the only reason I didn't cancel the service that day. Only cost $330+ to get out of my contract. For god's sake do not go with this service. Learn from my mistake.


Exede Internet

Aug 09, 2017 by Charles Raymond
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $59.00 • 
Zip Code: 28804 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

I would never do this again. Their Sales person for the Asheville NC area was very convincing about the quality and price. We gave up Skyrunner for this reason. The data usage numbers are erroneous. System cuts out very often and their local rep blames the weather!!!Exede does not work.


Sucks horribly

Aug 09, 2017 by Laura
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 and a half years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 117 • 
Zip Code: 28441 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Always have to unplug and plug up the box. Never has service. Was told it was prepaid no contract then once I'm fed up I have to keep it for 2 years contract term. They want you to pay 5 dollars a month for service fees or 100 every time they come fix their equipment. GBs don't last. I'm suppose to get 150 but always out after 2 weeks of every month.


Exede has VERY poor bandwidth

Aug 08, 2017 by Robert S
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 1/2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 39046 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I had Exede for 2 1/2 years. At first it was great, 25+ down and 3+ up. Once a month or so, service would black out for 4-6 hours, CustomerCare would give a $20 credit. After a year, had to call CustomerCare once or twice a month to reboot the modem due to slow speed. 4 months ago CustomerCare advised everything was good on the modem, I told them BS I was seeing less than 3 down and .3 up and I wasn't in data restriction. Technician called 4 hours later, remoted my laptop and agreed bandwidth was jacked up. He worked for an hour then determined that network engineers were in the system doing maintenance. You'd think CustomerCare would have saved me 6 hours by knowing that up front.
Highest speed in the last 6 months was 10 and 3 except when I would have 3 down and 5 up!?? Go figure. Most of the time it was 3 down 1 up. CustomerCare told me my antenna was not "optimally" pointed and that for $99 they'd send a technician out to fix. " No thanks, I'm going with Hughes Gen5, cancel my service. Do I get a refund for the last half of the billing period I've paid for already? ". CustomerCare was adamant with their No!
6 hours later I had Hughes. Down speed has varied from 50 to 20 with up between 12 and 3.


Huge waste of money

Aug 06, 2017 by Brigitte Moller
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $70 • 
Zip Code: 70591 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes with DirecTV 

Within 12 hours of installation we were told our data was used up. So we've spent $70 A month since to do homework and Wi-Fi on our phones only and we still use up all data within 3 days of new month, then it's so slow it's unbearable. I just tested the speed and it's 0.34 mbps. Unable to stream netflix without buffering every 10 seconds. Tomorrow,I'm having hughesnet installed, it couldn't possibly be worse.


Internet is very very upload and download speeds

Aug 06, 2017 by Tammy Wells
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Over two years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 90. • 
Zip Code: 72837 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I have had Excede for over years and liked it. Thought I would upgrade to the Liberty 10 package from the Classic and the Liberty 10 is worse it is slower upload and download speeds. Called customer service twice about the speeds to asked to go back to the package that I had. And in two days time they said the package wasn't available any longer. The customer service was rude. And I wanted to know why I have to pay more for less service. And they won't send a technician back out to fix it. Once they have you back they could care less about your service.


1.3 5.0 1128 1128 The installer was over 2 hours late to start with. The service only worked for 1 day. After that we could never get on the internet. We called several times to try to get a tech Exede broadband internet