Exede Review

Last updated Saturday September 23rd, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Just plain aweful

Aug 04, 2017 by Kim
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3-4 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $59.98 • 
Zip Code: 14610 

I just cancelled my plan to go with a local fiber optics company. I waited to cancel my plan until the other other service was fully installed. I am NOT getting a refund, prorated for the remainder of the month I am not using with Exede!!! Also in order to return the motem and Satellite back to them, they expect me to climb on my roof myself to take it down! I AM NOT COMFORTABLE WITH THAT. I DO NOT think the customer should have to remove it along with all the cables themselves! And if they send someone, its another $95!!! They want to rip me off for nearly $150. Customer service, including a 'manager' were not helpful! Scam artists. Not to mention the service was not always that great. The smallest of storm fronts come through and no service. It doesn't actually have to rain or snow!


Absolutely Disapointed

Aug 03, 2017 by Violeta
How Long Have You
used This Service?: No even 1 month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No!!!!! No way!!! Never!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 69 • 
Zip Code: 33801 

After multiple attempts to get help from this company from the 1st day they installed service email after email, cal after call. I finally speak to someone who twlls me that he know what the problem was. He says "Ma'am youce been off line for 21 days, I dont understand why, he says I see your emails. Let me see what I can do." After being on hold for 20 x2. There was nothing he can do. Let not get into to many detailes. I asked them to pick up everything I didnt want this service. 21 days with no TV, no Internet no wifi. & tgey want to charge me for a service I didnt use & will never use. Baf customer service, bad over all service.


Jul 30, 2017 by Jan
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2006 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 98$ • 
Zip Code: 28090 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

My sector is overbooked, I have to call tech support all the time. They will tell me all is well and good signal and nothing is wrong, then after I hang up with them, my service is good. There are way to many people on my sector....Got a promo from Hughes Net today, going to try them....so fed up


Wasted my money

Jul 24, 2017 by Mark Davidson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $50 • 
Zip Code: 43113 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Currently none of the cable providers service my address (although fibre has recently began getting put in and should be available soon) Currently, I can only get satellite service for my location so I'm stuck with this for now. Highest data plan is 50GB for $100 which may last me a week for my use (work, personal and kids Netflix access). Currently I'm on the 12GB base plan which is used up in 2-3 days. The "Free Zone" is absolutely useless since it is 3AM-6AM. Service drops every time it rains. I also connect to my mobile hot spot since I have unlimited data phone plan and it works in the rain.


Not the Greatest by far

Jul 17, 2017 by Consider other options
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 95546 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

We've had this contract 1 year...it pretty much defaults to all data used as previous commentor states even when you don't use it. SLOW to say the least. I use my verizon hotspot most of the time now. It isn't what they advertise and I advise you to seek another provider...the contract is a death trap...my soul is tied up for another year ...don't be me...pray for me brother...pray for me 🙁 oooooo


Jul 15, 2017 by Patricia
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $65 • 
Zip Code: 76266 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I would never recommend this Internet service to anyone horrible customer service horrible reception slow Internet service look somewhere else if you are trying to purchase for your house or business I couldn't even give this a one star rating but since it wouldn't let me post this review without a rating I had to do one star. Don't waste your time!!!


terrible company to do business with

Jul 15, 2017 by Lori
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 yrs 2 mos • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $90 per month • 
Zip Code: 14727 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Purchased first and the bunled 

We started doing business with exede after we were contacted by a telemarketer selling their product.
The whole start up process went ok, there were several instances of miss communication and the installer didnt show on time but the sales rep Calvin called me back and was some help in the process all of wich is forgivable sa we are in a remote area and people often seem to have a hard time scheduling deliveries here.
On at least 4 instances we were without service so slow we could barely use it. in technical terms I don't know what our speed was but it would take 10 or more minutes just to browse to shop,JC penny,Amazon,anything we would look up. WE were told it was because there were too many users on "our beam"and we would be on with customer service 3 seperate instances for 60 minutes or more before getting an answer.
Finally when we went with another provider on 05/19/17.With our next billing cycle not due until 06/08/17 we figured we would lose what data we had not used in may and move on. We cancelled on 06/08/17 and the still took our months payment out of our checking acount,the representative told us it should be refunded as he looked up an seen we used no data in june and it just had to go through the process and the refund dept would send us a check.No refund! w becauce we canceled on our due date. so what did I get billed for (not being smart enough to cancel from my bak first. unethical company will be happy when they go under.and they will.


It's Not For Me

Jul 12, 2017 by D
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 100 • 
Zip Code: 37180 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I assumed the negative reviews were fake because some of the things I read didn't seem possible until I witnessed it in my own home. I've had the service for 9 days and supposedly I've used 79% of my data, though I've NEVER streamed anything. I unplug the modem from the electrical outlet when not in use, yet every time I log into my account, there is a significnt amount of data that has been used. We've had more rain than usual, so I had the opportunity to see that the service completely stops working when it rains, just like satellite TV. I called to see about canceling after having it for 2 days. I'm still on the hook for the full cancellation fee. As much as I hate using mifi from my cell carrier, that is the only viable internet option I have because I am going to cancel Exede at the end of this billing cycle and pay the cancellation fee. It will still be cheaper than trying to keep the service for two years (the length of the contract). I'm not saying you should or shouldn't get the service. But this has been my actual experience and I know it was a HUGE mistake for me.


Worked At First

Jul 09, 2017 by Dont Do it
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Too Much • 
Zip Code: 38801 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Service was great when the company started out.
Drops signal constantly and only works 30% of the time.
Not for students, not for gamers, not for web surfers, not for bloggers, not for anyone who wants to go online.
Very frustrating, and unreliable, not sure why the service has declined, probably due to the influx of new customers and the inability to keep up with the number of users.
There's nothing wrong with our equipment dish etc.
I would like to know why when the late night free kicks in the connection holds better, yet still it's unacceptable and still drops connection constantly.
Rural areas have little choice but satellite internet providers, your better to pass though than having a useless dish of aggravation.


Scam wont cancel but charge fee

Jul 05, 2017 by Margarte
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 110 • 
Zip Code: 49065 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! I called to cancel because I was moving and I paid the cancellation fee. Apparently they noted I had to call back to officially cancel but I was told it was canceled. When I called again 1 day after they charged me again they said they didn't cancel it. and because I didn't unplug the modem that they had to charge me for the whole month. I am calling tomorrow to talk to a supervisor because it is not my fault they are running a scam/ new people/ outsourced people can do their job. ( I couldn't understand the guy who "canceled" my service).


1.3 5.0 1128 1128 The installer was over 2 hours late to start with. The service only worked for 1 day. After that we could never get on the internet. We called several times to try to get a tech Exede broadband internet