Exede Review

Last updated Saturday September 23rd, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Not impressed

Jul 05, 2017 by Kristina R Steves
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 mo • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 137 • 
Zip Code: 54022 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I can't complain about customer service because I feel that if you treat anyone well you most likely will be treated the same... That being said the internet service itself is not great. My download speeds run between 5-19 ... It's great when it is faster obviously but that doesn't happen often. Upload speeds are typically under 4. Customer service says those speeds are pretty good but I beg to differ. Prior to moving in the rurals we were on cable so I'm spoiled. We also live in a valley so that doesn't help the situation. Maybe if you live in Iowa you can get better service than in rural Wisconsin.


Good If You Haven't Any Other Option

Jul 05, 2017 by Whitey
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 150.00 • 
Zip Code: 48617 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

This is a good choice if you live in the country. I have the Freedom 150/25 plan which gives you 150 gb. of data and up to 25 mbps download. I haven't experienced any of the problems the other reviewers have
posted here. No missing data and can watch streaming programming with very little buffering. Exede has been quick and polite with any problems I've had. This is Satellite system with limited bandwidth, so the busier it gets the slower it becomes. If you came from cable you maybe disappointed and may have to adapt.


Jul 05, 2017 by G Ward
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80.80 • 
Zip Code: 65653 

The worst internet provider ever but then there are not many choices in a rural area and Exede takes full advantage of that fact. Full data plan used up in 2 weeks and then switches to liberty 25. Slow slow slow. Once our plan is up we will cancel. The tech guy was good but he doesn't have anything to do with how this crooked company operates.


Where is Service?

Jul 05, 2017 by Stuart S.
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Maybe • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $70 • 
Zip Code: 24531 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Service is okay. We felt like we were getting what we paid for. Service went down 2 1/2 weeks ago. Repeat calls to Exede they said a repair tech would call us. Has not happened yet. What will it take to get them to respond?


Piss poor

Jul 01, 2017 by Karen Anderson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 13 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Too damn much • 
Zip Code: 48416 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Worst, slowest service. I work from home and average about $150 loss with every check. Service stops on bright sunny day or rainy day. You should pay us for using this lousy service!!


Jun 29, 2017 by Bill
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: HELL NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 65 • 
Zip Code: 97338 

I wish I could give minus stars! After horrible service (paid for easy care, but no one could service my area) I canceled my account, returned my equipment within the 30 day window then they charged me $150 fine because they said something was missing!!!!!! The return equipment box comes with cubbies, an equipment list and directions for all the items you need to return. Everything went in the box, the receiver, the modem, heck, I even through in ethernet cords. Low and behold they charge me a $150 bucks, but can't even tell me what's supposably missing??? When I first called exede I got a supervisor that told me that the weight on the box was correct for all items need and that I should receive a refund in 15 days. After 18 days I called the parent company Viasat and they told me that they would not be refunding me, period, unless I returned all items....But, that's what I did originally.... They have called me dishonest in a situation where it is my word against theirs. Why would I go through the effort of sending everything back?? My dish is at ground level and my modem is in the house, why wouldn't I send them back. The whole thing is infuriating and immoral, what an unethical, crap company.


Run the other way!

Jun 29, 2017 by Kristen M Thompson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 65? • 
Zip Code: 97080 

OMG! We were never told about a contract! So now that thus service sucked and we wanted disconected, they said they will ship return boxes to ship their stuff back NOTHING! We got tagged with another huge bill and NO answer from installer of corporate office! DO NOT MAKE BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE! Go find a hobby like fishing instead


horrible service and customer serivce

Jun 29, 2017 by elizabeth jones
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70.00 • 
Zip Code: 75173 

worst ever. do not use this company. the customer service reps do not help either. i set up my plan as streaming, and i never have good internet connection. they want me to pay more money. bullshit ass company. as soon as our contract is up e are switching


Horrible Service!!

Jun 28, 2017 by Forest
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 24 Months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 153.00 • 
Zip Code: 90630 

Their internet and phone service was appalling!! They were bad when I was contracted with them, they are bad now that I am trying to cancel. This is such a bad company. I cannot begin to tell you.


Avoid at all costs!

Jun 27, 2017 by Renee Crum
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 160 • 
Zip Code: 80422 • 
Twitter Username (optional): @reneecrum 

Expect long wait times anytime you try to contact customer service. Every time I have contacted customer service I have been put on hold for multiple minutes each time for several times each call. This is required for even the simplest tasks. They do not deliver what they promise in so far as speeds, service, support.


1.3 5.0 1128 1128 The installer was over 2 hours late to start with. The service only worked for 1 day. After that we could never get on the internet. We called several times to try to get a tech Exede broadband internet