Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

25 mg down in morning 500 kb at night!

Jul 09, 2017 by Dan DeForest
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $90 • 
Zip Code: 97439 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Night time speed to slow for streaming low def movies. No help from tech. Finally filed a complaint wit the FCC. Next day a level 4 tech called me. Told me that they have too many customers for the band width they have available. At least he was honest. Told me as they move customers from gen4 to 5 it will free up bandwidth for me in several months. Giving me $30 month off my bill. Over selling is bull shit. The FCC requires them to never go 40 percent below my promised 15 down, or 9 mg down at any time. All of you please file a complaint with FCC.


UNBELIEVABLY DECEITFUL!!

Jul 08, 2017 by VALLERIE WHITTEN
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Ended the abuse as SOON as I could! • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: If I NEVER WANTED THEM TO SPEAK TO ME AGAIN! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 1 Cent would have been too much! • 
Zip Code: 85354 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

When I first moved to a rural desert area of AZ, & the types of companies I was used to were not available. Someone suggested Hughes Net, and when I called in- I SPECIFICALLY asked them if I would be on some type of measured data plan, & they said NO. When the installer came, he was a real prick- I knew then I would probably regret it. Everything was fine for about 1 WEEK- then I could have CRAWLED FASTER than my service was..I caled in, & was told it was because I had "EXCEEDED MY DATA- BUT I COULD BUY A BIGGER PLAN"..I SELL ONLINE! I LIVE on my Computer practically..I asked these pricks FROM THE DOOR if this would be a problem, & they lied and told me NO. AT THIS POINT- it would have been over $400 to CANCEL- so I paid it down just a bit & paid it off. I packaged the equipment up VERY SAFELY to ship back to them (like it was the HOPE DIAMOND)- because I could just tell- if EVERYTHING with these folks had gone like it had so far- they would get me on this if they could, too!! I am SHOCKED these people are still even in business- must just be people who cannot afford to buy themselves out of their contract AND pay their new internet provider.


This company is very bad

Jul 01, 2017 by Rick Bowlin
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 102 • 
Zip Code: 74014 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

This company does not represent them selfs as honest by any means. The limited data plans are a joke. I told them up front what devices we had they advised me on taking the 20Gb plan. We run out about 1/2 way through the month. Found out just a scam to get you in a contract so they can upgrade. I called and told them they were not trustworthy and and I wanted a refund and cancelation at no charge. They laughed at me and said it will be $400. I called their Presidents Line and got some executive on phone best he could do was $200. I decided to call them back the next day to cancel. Then they said ok for $200. plus another $200.for the phone service I am at the point to pay just to rid myself of them and send a message on Facebook and any other media I can get.


WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE

Jun 29, 2017 by Archita
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: WAY TO MUCH • 
Zip Code: 18621 

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. THEY DO NOT HELP THE CUSTOMER AT ALL. ONLY THING THEY ARE GOOD AT IS SCAMMING MORE MONEY OUT OF YOUR POCKETS. THE SERVICE SUCKS AND THEY CLAIM TO HAVE THE BEST INTERNET OUT THERE. MAYBE IF THEY SPENT THE MONEY THEY SCAM OUT OF THE CUSTOMER NOT ON COMMERICALS AND ON THE PRODUCT THEY MIGHT GET SOMEWHERE. I WAS CHARGED 300 DOLLARS FOR NOT RETURNING EQUIPMENT THAT I HAD NEVER RECIEVED. I CALLED THEM AND ASKED THEM TO HELP ME WITH THE PROBLEM AND THEY SAID I WOULD HAVE TO PAY 100$ TO GET THE 300 BACK. TOTAL BS. I HATE THIS COMPANY AND SO TIRED OF WORKING WITH THEM. THEY SHOULD BE DOING WHATEVER THEY CAN TO MAKE THE CUSTOMER HAPPY. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY NOT THEIR GOAL. TOTAL GARBAGE.


Unreliable Internet

Jun 28, 2017 by Kevin Embury
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 Months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO ! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $ 110 • 
Zip Code: 49083 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Service is AWFUL...
When it works, great.... but it is down 50-60% of the time.
Only 50GB per month... manageable but other competitors out there like AT&T Home Hotspot.


Worst Service

Jun 28, 2017 by Victoria Hoyte
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6mos • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 192.00 • 
Zip Code: 92372 • 
Twitter Username (optional): Vepromo • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

DO NOT USE HUGHES NET FOR YOUR INTERNET PROVIDER................................................................................I obtained an account on Hughes Net to do my internet for business. I told them I had to access my work using VPN. They told me there would be no problem. That the business account I was paying for could access VPN for up to 10 computers. I was paying $192.34 for the service.
I had issues from the beginning which was installed on 6/2/16. I repeatedly called them and they came out on multiple occasions. They would get it to work enough to get in but the internet was always slow. I had open tickets each month. They could never get it the bandwidth to be at the levels I was paying for and were actually so bad by December that I was unable to access my work at all. They came out to my house 2 times in a week and I was on the phone with them several times that week. I even had my IT guy from my employer contact them, at which time they informed him that they did not support VPN. I was in shock since I specifically told them I need a provider that could support VPN.
I contacted there corporate office because I must have a provider that can support VPN as I am unable to access my work. They agreed to allow me to cancel service with them and waive the cancelation fee.
In January 2017 I rec’d a charge on the debit card for $607.00 for a cancelation fee. I called them back and was told that was the cancelation for fee for the equipment. I told them I had returned the equipment and that they only waived the service cancelation fee. I told them I was not using the service or the equipment and had not been told there was a cancelation fee on the equipment. Juan told me that if I did’nt like it that he would reinstate the service cancelation fee as well.
I contacted my bank and had them reverse the charges since I do not owe them and had not authorized the transaction.
On June 19, 2017 I received an email from a collection agency for the cancelation fee of $607.95.
This is ridiculous. If a provider can not provide the level of service you are paying for and allows you to cancel, they can not charge for fees.


Jun 27, 2017 by Mindi Lobner
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: ???? • 
Zip Code: 66064 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Bill is never the same. Service is supposed to be $69.00 a month. The latest bill came in at $109,00. I keep getting different excuses offered as to why it's so high. This company is ridiculous and a scam.


Rated 0 for customer service!!

Jun 24, 2017 by Paul Dunn
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely no!! Run don't walk • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 84.00 • 
Zip Code: 78676 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The installer showed up 3 hour early and put the satellite in the middle of a walkway. Installed had another call to go to and would not stay to test to make sure I had the service working the way it needed to.....it does not!!

Called Hughesnet customer service the next morning and had to go through sales line to get a person. The sales person would not help resolve the issue. She directed me to call the installer co. Called them twice. No returned call.

So now stuck in a contract for 2 years and can't get any service!!

Customer service sucks!!!

Run...don't walk!!


Checked reviews/BBB whew!

Jun 23, 2017 by Blake Lunsford
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month (NOT) • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 1.00 • 
Zip Code: 28303 

I called Hughes net after hearing they had new plans. What it is is new scams. Very high pressure sales tactics with waived fees and discounts, but no way to road test the service. In other words no guarantee of performance. They do not under any current law or regulation have to prove any claim whatsoever, so why not make the wildest claims you can?

Went online to check for reviews and found thousands of angry people willing to tell me the ways they got screwed. I live in a rural area with no other option and while I'd like to have "normal" internet service I'm not willing to sell my soul. So for anyone reading, heed the reviews!! Or become one of them. High pressure sales pitches with all kinds of promises and predictions of happiness right up to the point where you give them your credit card info.


Just the worst!!!

Jun 17, 2017 by Jerry
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 mo • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 86325 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I know satellite service is not as fast as modern cable or dsl, but Hughes net is just so slow it isn't even worth having. It is about equivalent to dial up from the 90s. Netflix, YouTube won't stream unless you give it an hour to buffer, web pages take a min or more to load. $80/ mo for this!?! We end up just using our phone service through Verizon because it is waaaay more reliable. Too bad the lock you into a 2 yr contract with big cancellation fee. Avoid Hughes at all cost.


1.1 5.0 387 387 Night time speed to slow for streaming low def movies. No help from tech. Finally filed a complaint wit the FCC. Next day a level 4 tech called me. Told me that they have too many Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»