Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Hughes Net is HORRIBLE...SLOW (GEN4 & GEN5)

Nov 04, 2017 by De
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 13 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO NO NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80.95 • 
Zip Code: 62920 

One Star is WAY to many!
Upgraded for "faster" internet is what they said! HA! The joke was on us! Was really fast for about 5 days, now back to the old, can't watch a video on our phones, can't use webinar for my meetings for work, can't even think about watching Netflix! Called customer service...and it's "my" fault because 3 of us are on our phones scrolling on Facebook at the same time!! Most of the time we turn our Wi-Fi off and use our VERIZON data so we can actually get good internet service!!
Please don't let this company fool you about their fast internet service! They are truly a joke!!!


Worst customer service I have ever had

Nov 03, 2017 by M
How Long Have You
used This Service?: For a while now • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: I could not in good conscience • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: For base package • 
Zip Code: 84017 

I have never been treated so poorly by a company in all my life. The Hughes net installer came out and didn't put any booties onhis feet and tracked dirt and rock however my house and rugs. The installer left our home a mess. Theinstaller did not install our dish properly, Drilled extra holes that were not needed in my porch. Did something to my dish network TV service that hasn't worked right since the install Hughes net as done nothing. Hughes net has not got anything resolved since the install which was quite sometime ago. I have over 40 hours invested in this and Hughes net has done nothing has not got anything resolved since the install which was quite sometime ago. I have over 40 hours invested in this and hughes net has done nothing all they do is connect me to people overseas that can do nothing in that I can't understand. I would never in my wildest dreams refer anybody to this Internet provider their customer service stinks their installer that did the damage to my home stinks. All I do is have people that make empty promises and don't deliver on any of them. I do not know what to do. Can anyone help.The dealer doesn't return our calls are a few snaps calls and I'.The dealer doesn't return our calls Our calls or that of Hughes net.nobody has done anything but yet we still pay for dish network TV satellite service that is been messed up by this install for an Internet and our use that isn't working like it should to iPads freeze the system up and do not move it any faster than a snails pace. Does anybody else have any idea of how I can get this resolved?
The dealer when I notified him after the install what had gone on and what his installer hit done told me that you have a son he was hunting call me and nobody ever calls me back nobody takes the calls and you can't leave any voicemails because his voicemail is always full. And the sad part is is the Internet provider has tried on multiple occasions with me on the line to get a hold of the dealer and the dealer doesn't respond to their phone calls either and it says that their voicemails not taking anymore Call's. I couldn't get conscience refer this company to anybody it's been a joke


Nightmare

Oct 28, 2017 by Mo
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Approaching two Months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely Not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $79.00 • 
Zip Code: 84088 

Our gen 5 is not faster than our prior gen 4 at all. During the install the installer damaged our home. Hugh's net has yet to resolve the problem we had with the installer and its been way over a month. Hugh's net is not even trying, they never call when they say they will. Trying to deal with the CS has proven too be impossible. I have spent over 40 hours trying to get the damages the installer did to our place addressed and trying to get our service working right and after its all said and done we are no further along than the day we made the mistake to go with Hugh's net. One i. Pad. Slows the internet to a crawl and forget it if my wife and I are both on with our I pads they just spin. I am sick and tired of these company's that you can never reach anyone in the states. I would never refer anyone to Hugh's net. One star is too much


The Scam

Oct 19, 2017 by Robert Thran
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Two years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell No I like my friends. • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $49.99 * • 
Zip Code: 96122 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Well they got me. I have had this service for over two years and it was very good. Until the phone call asking me to change from Gen 4 to Gen 5. I ask why? I own the system and it works OK. The lady on the phone said for the same money ($50.00) a month we will double your service to 20 from the 10 you have now and upgrade your system to Gen 5 for free. I ask why the company would do this and she said we can't work on Gen 4 anymore so we are offering customers a free upgrade. Once again I ask no additional charges? She said no. She also said the speed would be twice as fast. I told her that it was very slow for the last month. She said this will fix that. Third time I said no additional cost? She said no additional cost to me. So I said OK. The Tec came out and changed my box in the house and the one on the dish. He took my parts that I had paid for and said the new parts are yours. That's when the service got worse. It took 30 minutes to get my e-mail open and I gave up trying to open one e-mail. I called they said you are out of load. I went back and checked and they were right. How did that happen? I never ran out before. So when the new month started I ran the speed test and out of 30 tests it only passed four times. Then it gets worse. I check my bill and they are over charging me. When I get the billing to open (two Days) I see why I'm being overcharged. They are charging me for the new parts they put on the dish. I paid over $300.00 for the system and now I don't own it. They are charging me 15 bucks a month for rental and want another $300 for the payoff of the $25 in parts they installed. To top it all off they send me an add saying all Gen 4 customers now have unlimited service at no extra charge because the new system can't monitor the Gen 4 system. So for $49.99 a month you get unlimited service and no slow down or extra charges. The sales lady lied to me just to get my Gen 4 off the system. So where do we all go from here? I will try a complaint to the FCC. I do believe they have a license to operate this scam. So they waved the $15 a month for 12 months and reimbursed the overcharges. But none of that matters because the speed is so slow I will not live long enough to get any e-mails to read. RIP don't buy or use this very shaky company with their lies. You will not be happy.


Don't bother

Oct 01, 2017 by Kevin Rickman
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $66.98 • 
Zip Code: 46785 

If your thinking about getting this please don't you will regret it service sucks slow not fast like they say you will use all your data within the first week of the month then if it rains near you or where there signal is coming from good bye internet they need to be shut down and put out if business


Business Owner

Sep 29, 2017 by Yvonn Rodgers
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Half a day • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO.... • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $61.00 • 
Zip Code: 20746 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

BAD SERVICE..The Technical came out on Sept 14, 2017 to install my internet, it was moving slow. He told me it would take 24 hrs to start moving faster. I could not connect my wireless devices to the router. So I called Hughesnet 30 minutes later, she had to reboot my machine, it started working a little faster, but still could not connect my wireless devices. The very next morning, I tried to use my computer, that was no service. So, I called Hughesnet back and asked to have my services cancelled, due to services not working. They tried to offer me assistance, I told them no. The Rep told me it would cost me $400 to cancel my services, I told him he must be crazy. I had my service less than a day. I asked to speak to a manager, he put me on hold and came back to the phone and said we will wave the charge, cancel your service give you a refund. I have called them for the pass two weeks and have not heard back from anyone. As of today, Friday, Sept 29, 2017, I have not gotten a phone call, or a refund. I am very frustrated for the way I have been treated. I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and next it will be to Channel 7 News in Washington, DC "7 on Your Side".


Hughesnet GEN5 don't bother

Sep 22, 2017 by R Russell
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 75 • 
Zip Code: 75859 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: 10 

Streetman, TX - DO not use Hughesnet. installed yesterday and it worked for 6 hours sort of. The 5ghz is not available here, signal too weak. Then, lost service. They said it was weather in Billings, MT at the gateway. Really, no backup plan? If there is a cloud here or there we won't have internet. All service did was keep apologizing. Modem needs a battery backup in rural area. Still no service today.


WORST SERVICE EVER

Sep 21, 2017 by Kay F McCabe
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $50 • 
Zip Code: 35541 

I signed up for HughesNet Satellite Internet 9 months and completely agree with one review who stated, "I quickly figured out the capabilities of the service were completely misrepresented when I initially signed up. I specifically was told the service I selected would work for streaming TV (Netflix/Hulu/Sling) - WRONG - When watching Netflix, I have constant interruptions and have to restart. YES, I have reset the router more times than I can count.

Today, I CANCELLED this service and it was NOT EASY. It took an hour of speaking to people in Southeast Asia and the Philippine to get it done and I still have not received a confirmation email, although I was promised one over and hour ago. To add insult to injury, I have to pay a $290 cancellation fee for a very, very subpar service. In addition, I was told there was NO ONE I could talk to in the US or in my state.

There also does not appear to be an address for HughesNet. I am concluding they exist as a series of call centers and subcontractors.

if there were a -1, I would give that as a rating.


I am being SCAM

Sep 21, 2017 by Christine Blocker
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: HELL NO ,!!!!!!!!!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 79.00 • 
Zip Code: 31419 

I am one of those people who believe in paying my bills . I have never felt soon used and abused by any other Business in the manner "Hughesnet" has done to me. The service reminds me of that commercial when the old couple was sitting in front of the computer waiting for their grandchild picture to download . The buffering is constant while trying to enjoy a movie.....the service goes out a the slightest hint of rain. Very a grab a tiny considering the fact that you are paying for a service that you are not getting . Forget complaining to the company YOU WILL GET NOWHERE......HOWEVER you will be informed of the 400.00 fee to discontinue their poor excuse of a service . I suggest we all band together and launch a Class action Law Suit. I have been recoding the poor service on my cell phone. If you have a smart tv, it actually tell you your Internet service is running to slow! As consumers , we should not be treated this way!
sent internet


HughesNet is the Worst

Jul 28, 2017 by Darryl Diggs
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 weeks • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $69.99/mo • 
Zip Code: 18466 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Only two ISP providers in my area. HughesNet is the worst. Their entire business is a scam. Download speeds rarely exceed 300 kilobytes/sec. Data allotment of 30 gb is used up in less than a week and you have to buy Tokens for data at $3/gb or $75 for 25 more gb that will last less than a week. Could cost as much as $295/mo. for the worst service since dial-up. Also you loose connection to the in internet every time it rains, not storms, just rain. They are trying to force me to pay $400 to terminate plus $100 to return their equipment. Sucks!!


1.1 5.0 398 398 One Star is WAY to many!Upgraded for "faster" internet is what they said! HA! The joke was on us! Was really fast for about 5 days, now back to the old, can't watch a video on ou Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»