Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Misrepresentation

Jun 13, 2017 by Joann whitt
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 mos. • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 39.99 • 
Zip Code: 85392 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Bought equipment to justify switching from Cox. Was promised a $100 rebate and finally got a check for $50. Every time I called to get status got a different story about rebate. One was that I would get the other $50!as a credit on my monthly bill which isn't even $50! Service is very slow. If negative stars were a choice. They would certainly get a lot fromme. If you have ANY other choice, it will be better than this company. Run, don't walk away from them! I see I was forced to give a star so this truly isn't my choice!


Fucking Bullshit

May 30, 2017 by Kimberley
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 65 • 
Zip Code: 30752 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I don't even wanna give it a star rating. Customer service is horrible. I can't do anything with this. Netflix, games, facebook,,, it's all so horrible. Do not waste ur money. Once ur in the plan your stuck or u have to pay a cancellation fee of 400 dollars. Run run run away. Anything else is better!!!


Anything is better than Hughes Net

May 27, 2017 by Tanya Lawrence
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 1/2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No, not even to my worst enemy or a government official • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 40-120$ • 
Zip Code: 27858 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Anything is better than Hughes Net. They lie to customers from the beginning to the end. The entire time I used them I could not watch a single movie from Netflix, super slow and not enough data. Terrible customer service, inflated pricing and ridiculously lousy performance. When I closed my account I had to have my husband climb onto the roo. To remove a part from the actual satellite. I'm. Sure they don't really need the part back, they just want to make it as inconvient as possible in hopes you won't send it back and they can charge the extra $200 for not sending the card back, typical m.o. from this company. Run don't walk away from these clowns.


Terrible service and even worse custormer service

May 26, 2017 by Ken
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 23 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Do not use this company or its product • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $62 monthly • 
Zip Code: 85745 

They sell you unlimited service which it turns out is not unlimited. Then you have to fight them every 3 months to get your credit. They don't investigate slow service so they don't have to provide fast service. They charge you for service calls to repair their faulty equipment which was faulty from day one. Overcharges and faulty equipment were brought to their attention within 15 days of install. They assured us they had it all corrected so they were able to suck us in to the 2 year contract. FRAUD!


USELESS and EXPENSIVE

May 24, 2017 by Louise Roberts
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 110 • 
Zip Code: 43026 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Many hours on the phone with support, with no resolution.
Many emails sent, but only template emails returned indicating no problem on their end.
Can't even upload a picture to Facebook without timing out.


Hughesnet is horrible

May 11, 2017 by Durel
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not a chance • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 56055 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

This internet service was pathetic! For a number of reasons. 1) Internet speeds were horrible. Couldn't even stream Netflix or live streams without buffer. We couldn't even FaceTime with people. 2). Data limits is a joke! They don't tell you that Netflix which is mainly HD can use up to 3GB per hour! Your data is used up extremely fast. The whole we just slow you down once you hit your plan is completely pointless. Dial up is faster than their "reduced" speed. 3) Any rain storm or decent winds you might as well plan on not using internet because it won't work. 4). Their "bonus" is worthless. The hours of the when these are available is when most humans should be sleeping. Just a gimmick to get someone to think they have this data they can use. 5) customer service is HORRIBLE. First their voice animated menu is pointless. It couldn't understand if I said yes or no for about 10 minutes. Once I got through that, I was disconnected 3 times trying to cancel my service. On my fourth attempt the customer service agent tried to tell me why I should keep my service. I stopped her twice to stop her speech and just cancel my service tell me my early termination fee and be done with it. They appartently disregard anything you say and continued right on with the speech. She even proceeded to tell me my new service provider isn't unlimited data(which they are unlimited) and I would just be a second rate customer to them. I felt like a 4th rate customer with Hughesnet. I would not recommend this internet to my worst enemy


Internet doesn't work AND they want to charge $1000 to cancel

May 05, 2017 by Lisa
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 7 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $200 • 
Zip Code: 37055 

We are unable to access any website with an SSL certificate (think Amazon, Facebook, etc) and our internet speed is slower than my cell phone wifi. We tried for 7 months to rectify the issue and they continually tell us it's not them. We bought a new router, bypassed the router completely, restarted the modem multiple times and still the ONLY fix was connecting our computers to our cell phone Verizon wifi. Guess what: everything worked fine. The problem is Hughesnet and their terrible customer service says they want to charge us $1000 to cancel the fee.Unreal. This is the worst company ever - DO NOT get tied into them


SUCKS!!

Apr 29, 2017 by Alan Yates
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $69 • 
Zip Code: 32433 

Worst service I have ever had, my 90's modem was faster and more reliable! Multiple phone calls and complaints since the day Hughes net was installed, NO improvements only "so sorry". Seriously, Hughes Net misrepresents their "fast service". If you have ANY other option, even at a higher cost, go with another service, ANY service. Stay away from Hughes Net and don't be a victim of their lies!


Service Lies

Apr 28, 2017 by Lois Bailey
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Total of about 4 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 59.00 • 
Zip Code: 65026 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

It's terrible service for the price and what you get.
Can use up allotted data in less than 2 weeks with no streaming or any other use to speak of. When called to see if I could get out of contract and the amount it would cost was told they would lower my account to $30.00 didn't happen. I have gotten unlimited wi-fi throught my telephone provider and it's wonderful after 6 years of satalite I can use all my internet I want and even stream movies. The only reason that I ever got satalite was because it was all I could get where we live now with unlimited through the phone I don't have to have it. I have a choice


Gen5 is Fantastic!

Apr 27, 2017 by Gabe1972
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Twelve years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 64.98 • 
Zip Code: 14129 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Gen5 is much better than Gen4. Less cost for more data and considerably higher speeds. An average of 47Mbps down and 3.5Mbps up. The new modem's built in Wi-Fi is also very nice. It's basic, but it works very well and will be enough for most people. If one would still like to use their own modem, that can be done, too.


1.1 5.0 387 387 Night time speed to slow for streaming low def movies. No help from tech. Finally filed a complaint wit the FCC. Next day a level 4 tech called me. Told me that they have too many Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet