Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Jun 27, 2017 by Mindi Lobner
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: ???? • 
Zip Code: 66064 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Bill is never the same. Service is supposed to be $69.00 a month. The latest bill came in at $109,00. I keep getting different excuses offered as to why it's so high. This company is ridiculous and a scam.


Rated 0 for customer service!!

Jun 24, 2017 by Paul Dunn
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely no!! Run don't walk • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 84.00 • 
Zip Code: 78676 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The installer showed up 3 hour early and put the satellite in the middle of a walkway. Installed had another call to go to and would not stay to test to make sure I had the service working the way it needed to.....it does not!!

Called Hughesnet customer service the next morning and had to go through sales line to get a person. The sales person would not help resolve the issue. She directed me to call the installer co. Called them twice. No returned call.

So now stuck in a contract for 2 years and can't get any service!!

Customer service sucks!!!

Run...don't walk!!


Checked reviews/BBB whew!

Jun 23, 2017 by Blake Lunsford
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month (NOT) • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 1.00 • 
Zip Code: 28303 

I called Hughes net after hearing they had new plans. What it is is new scams. Very high pressure sales tactics with waived fees and discounts, but no way to road test the service. In other words no guarantee of performance. They do not under any current law or regulation have to prove any claim whatsoever, so why not make the wildest claims you can?

Went online to check for reviews and found thousands of angry people willing to tell me the ways they got screwed. I live in a rural area with no other option and while I'd like to have "normal" internet service I'm not willing to sell my soul. So for anyone reading, heed the reviews!! Or become one of them. High pressure sales pitches with all kinds of promises and predictions of happiness right up to the point where you give them your credit card info.


Just the worst!!!

Jun 17, 2017 by Jerry
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 mo • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 86325 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I know satellite service is not as fast as modern cable or dsl, but Hughes net is just so slow it isn't even worth having. It is about equivalent to dial up from the 90s. Netflix, YouTube won't stream unless you give it an hour to buffer, web pages take a min or more to load. $80/ mo for this!?! We end up just using our phone service through Verizon because it is waaaay more reliable. Too bad the lock you into a 2 yr contract with big cancellation fee. Avoid Hughes at all cost.


Misrepresentation

Jun 13, 2017 by Joann whitt
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 mos. • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 39.99 • 
Zip Code: 85392 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Bought equipment to justify switching from Cox. Was promised a $100 rebate and finally got a check for $50. Every time I called to get status got a different story about rebate. One was that I would get the other $50!as a credit on my monthly bill which isn't even $50! Service is very slow. If negative stars were a choice. They would certainly get a lot fromme. If you have ANY other choice, it will be better than this company. Run, don't walk away from them! I see I was forced to give a star so this truly isn't my choice!


Fucking Bullshit

May 30, 2017 by Kimberley
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 65 • 
Zip Code: 30752 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I don't even wanna give it a star rating. Customer service is horrible. I can't do anything with this. Netflix, games, facebook,,, it's all so horrible. Do not waste ur money. Once ur in the plan your stuck or u have to pay a cancellation fee of 400 dollars. Run run run away. Anything else is better!!!


Anything is better than Hughes Net

May 27, 2017 by Tanya Lawrence
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 1/2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No, not even to my worst enemy or a government official • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 40-120$ • 
Zip Code: 27858 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Anything is better than Hughes Net. They lie to customers from the beginning to the end. The entire time I used them I could not watch a single movie from Netflix, super slow and not enough data. Terrible customer service, inflated pricing and ridiculously lousy performance. When I closed my account I had to have my husband climb onto the roo. To remove a part from the actual satellite. I'm. Sure they don't really need the part back, they just want to make it as inconvient as possible in hopes you won't send it back and they can charge the extra $200 for not sending the card back, typical m.o. from this company. Run don't walk away from these clowns.


Terrible service and even worse custormer service

May 26, 2017 by Ken
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 23 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Do not use this company or its product • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $62 monthly • 
Zip Code: 85745 

They sell you unlimited service which it turns out is not unlimited. Then you have to fight them every 3 months to get your credit. They don't investigate slow service so they don't have to provide fast service. They charge you for service calls to repair their faulty equipment which was faulty from day one. Overcharges and faulty equipment were brought to their attention within 15 days of install. They assured us they had it all corrected so they were able to suck us in to the 2 year contract. FRAUD!


USELESS and EXPENSIVE

May 24, 2017 by Louise Roberts
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 110 • 
Zip Code: 43026 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Many hours on the phone with support, with no resolution.
Many emails sent, but only template emails returned indicating no problem on their end.
Can't even upload a picture to Facebook without timing out.


Hughesnet is horrible

May 11, 2017 by Durel
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not a chance • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 56055 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

This internet service was pathetic! For a number of reasons. 1) Internet speeds were horrible. Couldn't even stream Netflix or live streams without buffer. We couldn't even FaceTime with people. 2). Data limits is a joke! They don't tell you that Netflix which is mainly HD can use up to 3GB per hour! Your data is used up extremely fast. The whole we just slow you down once you hit your plan is completely pointless. Dial up is faster than their "reduced" speed. 3) Any rain storm or decent winds you might as well plan on not using internet because it won't work. 4). Their "bonus" is worthless. The hours of the when these are available is when most humans should be sleeping. Just a gimmick to get someone to think they have this data they can use. 5) customer service is HORRIBLE. First their voice animated menu is pointless. It couldn't understand if I said yes or no for about 10 minutes. Once I got through that, I was disconnected 3 times trying to cancel my service. On my fourth attempt the customer service agent tried to tell me why I should keep my service. I stopped her twice to stop her speech and just cancel my service tell me my early termination fee and be done with it. They appartently disregard anything you say and continued right on with the speech. She even proceeded to tell me my new service provider isn't unlimited data(which they are unlimited) and I would just be a second rate customer to them. I felt like a 4th rate customer with Hughesnet. I would not recommend this internet to my worst enemy


1.1 5.0 391 391 Streetman, TX - DO not use Hughesnet. installed yesterday and it worked for 6 hours sort of. The 5ghz is not available here, signal too weak. Then, lost service. They said it w Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet