Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Worst Service Plan Ever!!!

Jul 27, 2017 by chambers135790@gmail.com
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $79. • 
Zip Code: 93433 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I live on the coast in central California and have limited ISP that can provide consistent service which was the reason for changing over to Hughes ... they notified me thru advertisement they were now providing service in my area that would be significantly better than other providers. It has been two months and have never been more disappointed ... constant issues with intermittent service and constant buffering.

Just spent almost hour on the phone with technical service and what I learned was even more disappointing. I discontinued cable 1 year ago in exchange for streaming the few desired programs/movies/series I enjoy, which requires data ... my mistake for not fully understanding the $75 a month charge only covers 20 hours a month of movies/program screening... this defeats the purpose of discontinuing cable to save on cost if I have to now increase to a plan that is being proposed for almost twice the cost. They recommended I upgrade to 50mbps which provides no guarantee I will have enough data for the full month unless .... (and this part is even more disappointing) I shut down or disable internet on all devices each morning before leaving work .... so now we are being asked to micro manage a service that cost quite a bit more for less data than I previously had .... which had a few disruptions but nothing like the Hughes service. Discontinuing after two short months of poor service will cost almost $400 ... So in short I am giving the company 30 more days for the maximum data package, paying an increased monthly fee to verify if things improve, as they claim. If the service doesn't I plan to discontinue service but will do my best to inform other consumers to beware ....

Customer satisfaction is of little concern to this company but in time it will surely catch up to them.... Hughes is a good example of how a company can and will continue to take advantage of customers who may not fully understand how little service their data plans truly allow for (stream time hours vs mbps) ... they lock you into a 2 year contract with little regard for customer satisfaction ....

Once you sign the contract very little can be done but pay the termination fee BUT ....what can we do about it ..... continue informing consumers, and LET'S HOPE HUGHES IS ELIMINATED AS AN OPTION.


25 mg down in morning 500 kb at night!

Jul 09, 2017 by Dan DeForest
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $90 • 
Zip Code: 97439 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Night time speed to slow for streaming low def movies. No help from tech. Finally filed a complaint wit the FCC. Next day a level 4 tech called me. Told me that they have too many customers for the band width they have available. At least he was honest. Told me as they move customers from gen4 to 5 it will free up bandwidth for me in several months. Giving me $30 month off my bill. Over selling is bull shit. The FCC requires them to never go 40 percent below my promised 15 down, or 9 mg down at any time. All of you please file a complaint with FCC.


UNBELIEVABLY DECEITFUL!!

Jul 08, 2017 by VALLERIE WHITTEN
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Ended the abuse as SOON as I could! • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: If I NEVER WANTED THEM TO SPEAK TO ME AGAIN! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 1 Cent would have been too much! • 
Zip Code: 85354 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

When I first moved to a rural desert area of AZ, & the types of companies I was used to were not available. Someone suggested Hughes Net, and when I called in- I SPECIFICALLY asked them if I would be on some type of measured data plan, & they said NO. When the installer came, he was a real prick- I knew then I would probably regret it. Everything was fine for about 1 WEEK- then I could have CRAWLED FASTER than my service was..I caled in, & was told it was because I had "EXCEEDED MY DATA- BUT I COULD BUY A BIGGER PLAN"..I SELL ONLINE! I LIVE on my Computer practically..I asked these pricks FROM THE DOOR if this would be a problem, & they lied and told me NO. AT THIS POINT- it would have been over $400 to CANCEL- so I paid it down just a bit & paid it off. I packaged the equipment up VERY SAFELY to ship back to them (like it was the HOPE DIAMOND)- because I could just tell- if EVERYTHING with these folks had gone like it had so far- they would get me on this if they could, too!! I am SHOCKED these people are still even in business- must just be people who cannot afford to buy themselves out of their contract AND pay their new internet provider.


This company is very bad

Jul 01, 2017 by Rick Bowlin
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 102 • 
Zip Code: 74014 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

This company does not represent them selfs as honest by any means. The limited data plans are a joke. I told them up front what devices we had they advised me on taking the 20Gb plan. We run out about 1/2 way through the month. Found out just a scam to get you in a contract so they can upgrade. I called and told them they were not trustworthy and and I wanted a refund and cancelation at no charge. They laughed at me and said it will be $400. I called their Presidents Line and got some executive on phone best he could do was $200. I decided to call them back the next day to cancel. Then they said ok for $200. plus another $200.for the phone service I am at the point to pay just to rid myself of them and send a message on Facebook and any other media I can get.


WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE

Jun 29, 2017 by Archita
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: WAY TO MUCH • 
Zip Code: 18621 

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. THEY DO NOT HELP THE CUSTOMER AT ALL. ONLY THING THEY ARE GOOD AT IS SCAMMING MORE MONEY OUT OF YOUR POCKETS. THE SERVICE SUCKS AND THEY CLAIM TO HAVE THE BEST INTERNET OUT THERE. MAYBE IF THEY SPENT THE MONEY THEY SCAM OUT OF THE CUSTOMER NOT ON COMMERICALS AND ON THE PRODUCT THEY MIGHT GET SOMEWHERE. I WAS CHARGED 300 DOLLARS FOR NOT RETURNING EQUIPMENT THAT I HAD NEVER RECIEVED. I CALLED THEM AND ASKED THEM TO HELP ME WITH THE PROBLEM AND THEY SAID I WOULD HAVE TO PAY 100$ TO GET THE 300 BACK. TOTAL BS. I HATE THIS COMPANY AND SO TIRED OF WORKING WITH THEM. THEY SHOULD BE DOING WHATEVER THEY CAN TO MAKE THE CUSTOMER HAPPY. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY NOT THEIR GOAL. TOTAL GARBAGE.


Unreliable Internet

Jun 28, 2017 by Kevin Embury
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 Months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO ! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $ 110 • 
Zip Code: 49083 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Service is AWFUL...
When it works, great.... but it is down 50-60% of the time.
Only 50GB per month... manageable but other competitors out there like AT&T Home Hotspot.


Worst Service

Jun 28, 2017 by Victoria Hoyte
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6mos • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 192.00 • 
Zip Code: 92372 • 
Twitter Username (optional): Vepromo • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

DO NOT USE HUGHES NET FOR YOUR INTERNET PROVIDER................................................................................I obtained an account on Hughes Net to do my internet for business. I told them I had to access my work using VPN. They told me there would be no problem. That the business account I was paying for could access VPN for up to 10 computers. I was paying $192.34 for the service.
I had issues from the beginning which was installed on 6/2/16. I repeatedly called them and they came out on multiple occasions. They would get it to work enough to get in but the internet was always slow. I had open tickets each month. They could never get it the bandwidth to be at the levels I was paying for and were actually so bad by December that I was unable to access my work at all. They came out to my house 2 times in a week and I was on the phone with them several times that week. I even had my IT guy from my employer contact them, at which time they informed him that they did not support VPN. I was in shock since I specifically told them I need a provider that could support VPN.
I contacted there corporate office because I must have a provider that can support VPN as I am unable to access my work. They agreed to allow me to cancel service with them and waive the cancelation fee.
In January 2017 I rec’d a charge on the debit card for $607.00 for a cancelation fee. I called them back and was told that was the cancelation for fee for the equipment. I told them I had returned the equipment and that they only waived the service cancelation fee. I told them I was not using the service or the equipment and had not been told there was a cancelation fee on the equipment. Juan told me that if I did’nt like it that he would reinstate the service cancelation fee as well.
I contacted my bank and had them reverse the charges since I do not owe them and had not authorized the transaction.
On June 19, 2017 I received an email from a collection agency for the cancelation fee of $607.95.
This is ridiculous. If a provider can not provide the level of service you are paying for and allows you to cancel, they can not charge for fees.


Jun 27, 2017 by Mindi Lobner
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: ???? • 
Zip Code: 66064 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Bill is never the same. Service is supposed to be $69.00 a month. The latest bill came in at $109,00. I keep getting different excuses offered as to why it's so high. This company is ridiculous and a scam.


Rated 0 for customer service!!

Jun 24, 2017 by Paul Dunn
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely no!! Run don't walk • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 84.00 • 
Zip Code: 78676 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The installer showed up 3 hour early and put the satellite in the middle of a walkway. Installed had another call to go to and would not stay to test to make sure I had the service working the way it needed to.....it does not!!

Called Hughesnet customer service the next morning and had to go through sales line to get a person. The sales person would not help resolve the issue. She directed me to call the installer co. Called them twice. No returned call.

So now stuck in a contract for 2 years and can't get any service!!

Customer service sucks!!!

Run...don't walk!!


Checked reviews/BBB whew!

Jun 23, 2017 by Blake Lunsford
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month (NOT) • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 1.00 • 
Zip Code: 28303 

I called Hughes net after hearing they had new plans. What it is is new scams. Very high pressure sales tactics with waived fees and discounts, but no way to road test the service. In other words no guarantee of performance. They do not under any current law or regulation have to prove any claim whatsoever, so why not make the wildest claims you can?

Went online to check for reviews and found thousands of angry people willing to tell me the ways they got screwed. I live in a rural area with no other option and while I'd like to have "normal" internet service I'm not willing to sell my soul. So for anyone reading, heed the reviews!! Or become one of them. High pressure sales pitches with all kinds of promises and predictions of happiness right up to the point where you give them your credit card info.


1.1 5.0 398 398 One Star is WAY to many!Upgraded for "faster" internet is what they said! HA! The joke was on us! Was really fast for about 5 days, now back to the old, can't watch a video on ou Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet