Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Gen5 is great

Apr 26, 2017 by Jeff best
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 80107 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NA 

I must agree Gen4 was horrible. I upgraded to Gen 5 today and wow what a difference. Extremely happy with the move to Gen5!!!


No Netflix

Apr 19, 2017 by Tom
How Long Have You
used This Service?: First time • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way in heck • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: They're charged me $59 what was supposed to be $38 • 
Zip Code: 63630 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Please don't ever use HughesNet they ask my girlfriend for a dollar down she did not have a credit card so she borrowed mine. She had a $20 off coupon for two years it was supposed to be $38 and some change. Wow HughesNet just charge my credit card for $59 and some change without permission. They will tell you on the phone they got great internet service and if he have kids don't worry about it you're internet it will never slow down with your son playing Xbox or anything downloading movies everything they totally lied it's hard for my son's to download games on the Xbox and when he trying to do Netflix it slows down very slow it's hard to watch the movie. Whatever you do please don't order HughesNet have a good day


Don't purchase hughesnet RIP OFF

Apr 03, 2017 by Alyssa
Zip Code: 60177 

I have had hughesnet for almost 2 months now. It never works and hasn't worked since They installed it. They told me it was my router (which was brand new) so I bought a new router. Have called them 12 times to tell them my internet turns on and off every 30 sec. Spend an hour on the phone each time and they have not done anything for me. Now they want me to PAY to have someone came look at it even though it hasn't worked since I've signed up. Not to mention it is 60 a month for only 5gb which is ridiculous.if you use HD Netflix that is about 5 hours of streaming for 60 a month. Now I am stuck in a 2 year contract where I am receiving nothing unless I PAY 400 to cancel. Not to mention I paid 158 for them to come and set it up. The 158 was after their "new customer free installatiin". Do not get hughesnet. Would rather have nothing rather than give these theives tons of money to get nothing in return. Will be cancelling.


Mrs.

Apr 01, 2017 by Jolene Money
Zip Code: 87742 

We had to move so we contacted the company "Hughes Net" to relocate our services. They had a tech come and he informed me that he could not install without causing permanent damage to our property or install in the middle of a drive way. I asked so what we were left as options, he said we can cancel and confirmed with his supervisor that no charges or cancellation fees would apply. Since Hughes net could not properly install for services. So couple months later I notice that they were still charging a credit card for monthly fees. So I call to tell them to stop and to ensure that they would refund the debited amounts. Well to my surprise they said we were still customers and responsible for the duration of the contract 9 more months. If we wanted to cancel it would be over 200 dollars. I asked how could I still be a customer when I got an email months prior indicating that they were"sorry they were losing me as a customer." So how can I trust if I pay them the new cancellation fee that I won’t be shaken down for another cancellation fee in another couple of months. This company tells its consumers one thing and does another. It is ridiculous that they can't provide services but hold the customer accountable. Very unjust and I fell like I was ripped off.


Not worth the money!

Mar 26, 2017 by Karen Mostue
Zip Code: 56586 

The internet and phone goes out at any time. Good weather or bad. Slow service is consistent. Phone drops calls ALL THE TIME!!! I am frustrated that I am obligated to hold to the terms by paying for sub-standard service or a paying a large buy-out. Hugesnet is not obligated to hold to the terms. Counting the months I can get out of contract.


BAD SERVICE

Mar 24, 2017 by Christopher London
Zip Code: 65746 

Customer service is very bad no one speaks English and the internet dose not work as advertised very slow and can't even connect to the internet at times I would not recommend Hughesnet gen 4 to anyone


Beware!! Liars

Mar 23, 2017 by Stephanie
Zip Code: 32926 

This company is ridicioulus. I signed up with them after being told it works great. Noo. It was so slow. Couldnt do anything online so figured maybe something was wrong so spent an hour on tbe phone with them. Did nothing. They sent a tech out just to tell me himself it was garbage and he couldnt do anything more to better it. He also told me i had 30 days to cancel so i called and they want to charge me a $400 termination fee. Not paying it. I expressed to two reps that i couldnt even use it the 2 weeks ive had it and i was lied to. So now i will be calling corporate offices to fight the fee. Horrible experience..i woyldnt of given any stars but they even make you choose one to submit your review. Unbelievable


Charged for returned equipment

Mar 18, 2017 by Anne McIntyre
Zip Code: 78121 

Cancelled my son's service with HughesNet because it was the worst service I have ever experienced. Paid the fee to cancel early. Sent the equipment back in accordance with their instructions and now being charged for "missing modem" . The box was filled with the equipment and weighed 7 pounds. I do not trust this company's business practices. Now I have to call back in 48 hours to sort this out. Inconvenience from start to finish with HughesNet.


awful

Mar 14, 2017 by Barry Hofman
Zip Code: 24590 

Speeds are based on the relatively sparse opportunities when the service is actually up and functioning. Our internet is experience is significantly marred but the constant loss of signal making some applications (ie skype) near impossible and normal browsing just plain maddening. It is a necessary evil in locations with nothing else available. We will switch to a T1 line at great expense but have no regrets leaving this service behind. They don't desrve our money.


Mar 12, 2017 by Susan Ross
Zip Code: 26590 

I will let everyone know how rude your customer service is and hoe terrible your service is. And I will also let people know that you all are in my book thieves. I accidently sent some of my own equipment in the box. It was a piece of equipment that I had to buy because the one that you put on when I first started with your service was struck by lightning. When I called and told you,you said the guaranty was up,I HAD TO BUY MY OWN. UNDERSTAND? MY OWN!!.Now I stopped my service and you sent me a box to sent your equipment back. I sent the equipment back and found out that I put my router in the box. You informed me that I forgot to put the camera in the box. What camera I said. Ok now, I called and said I would like my router back and was told that is impossible. So, why should I have to send your equipment back when you won't send my router back. I have taken all your crap for 10 years and have been very nice about it, but this nice lady is going to get mean. I hate to be hung up on and it is not the lines having trouble 3 times, I'm saying 3 timed now. You have my equipment and I have yours. So what do you think we should do? Do you think a lawyer should get involved? It's up to you. Now I'm done letting you know how it is. Your equipment, my equipment?


1.1 5.0 387 387 Night time speed to slow for streaming low def movies. No help from tech. Finally filed a complaint wit the FCC. Next day a level 4 tech called me. Told me that they have too many Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet