Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Internet doesn't work AND they want to charge $1000 to cancel

May 05, 2017 by Lisa
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 7 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $200 • 
Zip Code: 37055 

We are unable to access any website with an SSL certificate (think Amazon, Facebook, etc) and our internet speed is slower than my cell phone wifi. We tried for 7 months to rectify the issue and they continually tell us it's not them. We bought a new router, bypassed the router completely, restarted the modem multiple times and still the ONLY fix was connecting our computers to our cell phone Verizon wifi. Guess what: everything worked fine. The problem is Hughesnet and their terrible customer service says they want to charge us $1000 to cancel the fee.Unreal. This is the worst company ever - DO NOT get tied into them


SUCKS!!

Apr 29, 2017 by Alan Yates
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $69 • 
Zip Code: 32433 

Worst service I have ever had, my 90's modem was faster and more reliable! Multiple phone calls and complaints since the day Hughes net was installed, NO improvements only "so sorry". Seriously, Hughes Net misrepresents their "fast service". If you have ANY other option, even at a higher cost, go with another service, ANY service. Stay away from Hughes Net and don't be a victim of their lies!


Service Lies

Apr 28, 2017 by Lois Bailey
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Total of about 4 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 59.00 • 
Zip Code: 65026 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

It's terrible service for the price and what you get.
Can use up allotted data in less than 2 weeks with no streaming or any other use to speak of. When called to see if I could get out of contract and the amount it would cost was told they would lower my account to $30.00 didn't happen. I have gotten unlimited wi-fi throught my telephone provider and it's wonderful after 6 years of satalite I can use all my internet I want and even stream movies. The only reason that I ever got satalite was because it was all I could get where we live now with unlimited through the phone I don't have to have it. I have a choice


Gen5 is Fantastic!

Apr 27, 2017 by Gabe1972
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Twelve years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 64.98 • 
Zip Code: 14129 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Gen5 is much better than Gen4. Less cost for more data and considerably higher speeds. An average of 47Mbps down and 3.5Mbps up. The new modem's built in Wi-Fi is also very nice. It's basic, but it works very well and will be enough for most people. If one would still like to use their own modem, that can be done, too.


Gen5 is great

Apr 26, 2017 by Jeff best
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 80107 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NA 

I must agree Gen4 was horrible. I upgraded to Gen 5 today and wow what a difference. Extremely happy with the move to Gen5!!!


No Netflix

Apr 19, 2017 by Tom
How Long Have You
used This Service?: First time • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way in heck • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: They're charged me $59 what was supposed to be $38 • 
Zip Code: 63630 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Please don't ever use HughesNet they ask my girlfriend for a dollar down she did not have a credit card so she borrowed mine. She had a $20 off coupon for two years it was supposed to be $38 and some change. Wow HughesNet just charge my credit card for $59 and some change without permission. They will tell you on the phone they got great internet service and if he have kids don't worry about it you're internet it will never slow down with your son playing Xbox or anything downloading movies everything they totally lied it's hard for my son's to download games on the Xbox and when he trying to do Netflix it slows down very slow it's hard to watch the movie. Whatever you do please don't order HughesNet have a good day


Don't purchase hughesnet RIP OFF

Apr 03, 2017 by Alyssa
Zip Code: 60177 

I have had hughesnet for almost 2 months now. It never works and hasn't worked since They installed it. They told me it was my router (which was brand new) so I bought a new router. Have called them 12 times to tell them my internet turns on and off every 30 sec. Spend an hour on the phone each time and they have not done anything for me. Now they want me to PAY to have someone came look at it even though it hasn't worked since I've signed up. Not to mention it is 60 a month for only 5gb which is ridiculous.if you use HD Netflix that is about 5 hours of streaming for 60 a month. Now I am stuck in a 2 year contract where I am receiving nothing unless I PAY 400 to cancel. Not to mention I paid 158 for them to come and set it up. The 158 was after their "new customer free installatiin". Do not get hughesnet. Would rather have nothing rather than give these theives tons of money to get nothing in return. Will be cancelling.


Mrs.

Apr 01, 2017 by Jolene Money
Zip Code: 87742 

We had to move so we contacted the company "Hughes Net" to relocate our services. They had a tech come and he informed me that he could not install without causing permanent damage to our property or install in the middle of a drive way. I asked so what we were left as options, he said we can cancel and confirmed with his supervisor that no charges or cancellation fees would apply. Since Hughes net could not properly install for services. So couple months later I notice that they were still charging a credit card for monthly fees. So I call to tell them to stop and to ensure that they would refund the debited amounts. Well to my surprise they said we were still customers and responsible for the duration of the contract 9 more months. If we wanted to cancel it would be over 200 dollars. I asked how could I still be a customer when I got an email months prior indicating that they were"sorry they were losing me as a customer." So how can I trust if I pay them the new cancellation fee that I won’t be shaken down for another cancellation fee in another couple of months. This company tells its consumers one thing and does another. It is ridiculous that they can't provide services but hold the customer accountable. Very unjust and I fell like I was ripped off.


Not worth the money!

Mar 26, 2017 by Karen Mostue
Zip Code: 56586 

The internet and phone goes out at any time. Good weather or bad. Slow service is consistent. Phone drops calls ALL THE TIME!!! I am frustrated that I am obligated to hold to the terms by paying for sub-standard service or a paying a large buy-out. Hugesnet is not obligated to hold to the terms. Counting the months I can get out of contract.


BAD SERVICE

Mar 24, 2017 by Christopher London
Zip Code: 65746 

Customer service is very bad no one speaks English and the internet dose not work as advertised very slow and can't even connect to the internet at times I would not recommend Hughesnet gen 4 to anyone


1.1 5.0 391 391 Streetman, TX - DO not use Hughesnet. installed yesterday and it worked for 6 hours sort of. The 5ghz is not available here, signal too weak. Then, lost service. They said it w Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet