Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Please don't buy this!

Apr 11, 2014 by Sharyl

We thought this was our only alternative, but it wasn't; we can use MIFI with our Verizon phone and get better service for less money. Hughesnet w/dish network is barely better than dial-up. Customer service is insulting: 40 minutes on the phone to say it's our fault (we changed nothing, but magically, our signal was better the next am. . . for about 2 days).


Don't Buy!

Jan 13, 2014 by Greg

First time user of satellite internet and I have to say that my old dsl ran circles around this. Using my iphone as a mobile hotspot is considerably faster. It works just over half of the time and when it does many sites will just time out. Now I am locked into a 24 month agreement so I will have to pay the fee to cancel it or just live with it. My advice; don't waste your money. If internet tv worked this poorly, they would be out of business as Hughes Net should be.


WORST INTERNET EVER

Oct 03, 2013 by maranda

honestly this is by far the worst internet I have ever had, I even think going back to dial up would be well worth my time then fiddling around trying to get my hughnet to get working. I purchased hughesnet back in Jan 2013. I was promised I would be able to watch Netflix and Play games on xbox live..wrong! Everytime i call customer support about it they give me the same options to try over and over again not to mention the 2-3hr wait to speak to a customer support representative and even then you better hope you dont get hung up on.. Ive had so many problems with not being able to connect for no reason at all and after calling 10 months later to cancel i get slapped with a $295.00 cancellation fee? these people are high. The minute I find another internet provider available where I live hughesnet will be cancelled immediately.. I do not and would not ever recommend them to anyone!!


Complaint

Sep 16, 2013 by Carrie Budd

No Stars. We have been having trouble with the internet being very slow and we had voice but never able to get it to work. Called Tech Support several times but did not work any better. Never able to get the voice phone connected. Remained on hold 3 hours this morning being serviced in the Philipines. Never able to be connected to Voice Specialist Level 3. Finally gave up and cancelled the whole service, when I was told for the first time about the 24 month commitment they said I had made and I would have to pay a cancellation fee. If I refused to pay, it would be turned over to collection agency. We have excellent rating. We are in our 70's on social security. We cannot pay a large fee. My medicines are far too high to allow extra money for cancellation fees. That was the reason I decided to go with Hughes Net. It was cheaper, we have DirectV and it works well so why not internet and phone on satilite? Well, it does NOT work well. Very slow. Loads of wait time and very much stress contrary to their web site.


Nice for the price

Aug 15, 2013 by Yesenia

Bought this for the special $39 price and I have been impressed. So far speeds are nice and I cannot complain about the price especially since I split it with a neighbor [using a wireless router to share the connection] so $19.50 after we split it is nice 🙂


Prefer cellular

Aug 14, 2013 by Elie Kim

I tried Hughesnet Generation Four to replace a 3G cellular wifi hotspot setup. It was okay but now they have 4G cellular in my area so I switched back. The HughesNet is too expensive in my view & I do not appreciate their data policies. If you have good cellular options I recommend it over HughesNet.


It's hit and miss!

Jul 22, 2013 by Varian

The service was good until I started getting DNS error look-ups not even 3 months in. I have to keep flushing it every time it happens. And then the next annoying thing, the turbo page status goes down. It has happened twice before, and that was nothing for me to be worry about. But now just recently, 2 back to back turbo errors occured. I have to unplug it and power cycle the thing or unscrew the cables. And it takes a long time for the modem to load up too. The speeds are sometimes slow as well. I have a feeling I'll be dealing with these problems for a long time. I wonder if anyone else is having these problems...


Like it so far

Jul 18, 2013 by Sammy

Hard to be believe but we made due with dial-up until we got Hughesnet Generation 4. It is a big improvement and we like it.


Congested

Jul 05, 2013 by JimJim

Gen4 can be really good but it can also get really slow. Dont know if it is the beam that I am on -or- if everyone has this same problem with it. Cannot really recommend it to others until they resolve these issues. Seems to be common but I am crossing my fingers and my toes too in hopes they fix it sooner rather than later.


Sucks

Jul 03, 2013 by Sandy H

buyer beware. they took my money and then when my service sucked I had a hard time getting it back. some people seem to have decent service with gen4 but for me,nothing but trouble.


1.1 5.0 391 391 Streetman, TX - DO not use Hughesnet. installed yesterday and it worked for 6 hours sort of. The 5ghz is not available here, signal too weak. Then, lost service. They said it w Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet