Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

WORST Customer service

Aug 21, 2014 by Susan Silva
Zip Code: 08848 

I tried to cancel PC Essentials since my husband is in the hospital.They would not do it since my name is not on service. When we had service installed no one told us to put service in both names.The rep was very callous. My husband and I are in our 70"s.


Aug 17, 2014 by Sheila
Zip Code: 28748 

Slow speeds, assuming you even had enough of a signal to get online. bad customer service,Taking money out of my account without permission(before the Bill was even due, then refused to transfer me to a supervisor. Service so slow I wasn't even able to make online payments! They don't deserve even one star.


Awful service

Aug 16, 2014 by Jeff Brock
Zip Code: 95658 

Hughsnet is awful I pay $84 for bad service. Not sure this will even post,,,,
Tried to upgrade my service plan and the service still does not work. Now paying more money for NOTHING!!!!!!!


Aug 15, 2014 by Dani
Zip Code: 53027 

Slow slow slow! Worst internet service I've ever had and even worse customer service. Every time I call and complain they come and give me an "upgrade". Both times they have "upgraded" it has done absolutely nothing! Unfortunately, due to where I live its my only choice at the moment and it absolutely sucks!


Hughesnet worst service ever

Jul 30, 2014 by Brenda Raner
Zip Code: 49808 

Horrible service not what is was told, lied to to get me to subscribe. 30 day no cost cancelation a lie, stuck with 1st month payment charged Even before you get service. Stay away total ripoff


Hughesnet (Gen4)

Jul 25, 2014 by Antonia Pille
Zip Code: 99022 

Their plan states speeds to 5 Mb, then they "gave" me 10 Mb for the same price. It is costing $30 more per month for the same speed I was getting at my farm from CenturyLink DSL 1.5 MB with unlimited data allowance. Hughesnet Gen 4's own speed tests show less that 1.5 Mb. I am leaving as soon as my contract is up. Any suggestions?


Use only as last resort!

Jul 24, 2014 by Sharyl
Zip Code: 27565 

We thought this was our only option for internet (we live in a rural area). It's been awful from the start. No ability to download any but the shortest video, feels like the old dial-up. But wait! If you approach your monthly allotment, they send you a notice that they will slow you down if you don't upgrade to a larger data package. We ignore this since they can't get any slower, We've experimented with MiFi through Verizon and it's much faster and lots less expensive. We,re gladly paying the early contract stopping fee to switch. P.s.Believe every bad thing you've read about their customer service.


I hate Hughesnet

Jul 13, 2014 by Helen Benne
Zip Code: 81082 

My husband was recently diagnosed with Renal Cell Carncinoma which is kidney cancer. I called the Hughesnet to see if there was any way I could get out of the early termination fee due to the mounting medical bills from my husband having cancer, the numerous visits, surgery, etc. They were rude and basically said oh well sorry your husband got cancer but you're still going to be charged the fee. Wow so now I'm not only facing the possibility of losing my husband but now facing these people ruining my credit along with everything else we've been going through. The service also sucks, always slow speeds, and the fee every month is outrageous. DON'T GET HUGHES NET EVER!


Change your mind if you are considering Hughes

Jul 05, 2014 by John

Every single person who has posted a message on this site has had (in whole or in part) the exact same experience with Hughes Gen 4 that I have had. If you are out there reading these words others have written and you are considering having service with Hughes, take the warnings to heart because they are absolutely not exaggerated. Unless this is the only internet service available to you in any form, pass it by. You will save yourself a lot of unnecessary hassle and headache by avoiding signing on with this service completely. First, know that Hughes CS will attempt to deceive you about virtually every piece of information they provide. They told me they did not use "refurbished" parts, yet my service was down for 6 days less than five minutes after installation because they used a "refurbished" (previously USED!) transmitter. The Hughes CS reps are polite but generally unhelpful in reaching a resolution with a problem. Communication between Hughes CS and the satellite installer companies (who are not Hughes) is almost non-existent. It's a severe case of the right hand having no idea what the left hand is doing, and a problem that should be very easy to fix can rapidly escalate into a very frustrating nightmare. The installers will also attempt to deceive you and play you for a fool if they can by charging you (very high) fees in situations where they are absolutely uncalled for. As for the service, itself, the signal is generally good, but latency frequently spikes to unusually high numbers for no apparent reason compared to other satellite services I've used. My general take at this time: Take a pass on Hughes Gen 4. The company seems to suffer from a lack of being honest, a lack of being helpful, and their installers will TOTALLY hang you out to dry if a problem comes up with your system parts.


Horrible service and fees

Jun 15, 2014 by Lori Branch

If there is a lessor rating I would use for Hughes Net I would select it. If you want to pay them hundreds of dollars and not receive adequate service.....go for it.


1.1 5.0 406 406 When my contract is up I will never get again they won't you to pay a lot for internet and their dated don't last bad service. Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet