Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Don't Spend your hard earned money.

Jul 31, 2015 by John
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Would not do this to a friend, maybe an enemy. • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $ 100.00 • 
Zip Code: 43146 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Poor customer service, called many times with complaints and the average call lasted over 2 hours. Each call a different answer was given. They said increasing data would solve all issues. They took advantage of us, they increased our data which increased our bill and in turn the service got worse which was hard to believe that it could get worse, but it did. Worst service ever. Every call to them started off with them wanting to increase our data aghuiain, we got to the point of starting the conversation with saying we are NOT increasing our data and giving you more money for horrible service. They acted like more money would solve all the problems. Don't be fooled into a contract that will take the act of God or a lot of money to get out of. Their service is not worth the time or headache unless you like giving your money away.


Bordering fradulant

Jul 31, 2015 by Sheryll Tryon
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 77.00 • 
Zip Code: 82729 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

No stars. I have been treated more rudely by this company than any company I have ever dealt with. Installation was done prior to my arrival in a new location with the understanding once I was here the installer would come back and go through everything with me and adjust to my TV. He provided a wireless connection everything for a fee of course. I tried repeatedly to contact him and never saw him. I was told I signed an agreement that he went over with me. Turns out nothing but scratches that someone else signed probably the installer. Despite knowing all this and that I expected wireless connection they told me I can not use there service except on a computer connected directly. Clearly total misrepresentation and now I am supposed to pay a disconnect fee to get out of something I can not even use. Don't know what options I have but there must be someone who can help so I am looking. NEVER AGAIN WOULD I DEAL WITH THEM.


It's lousy

May 27, 2015 by Don DeCar
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 monthe • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No - No - No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 91.62 • 
Zip Code: 85248 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I was with a land line for $68.00 per month. I went to Hughes Net because the guy said it was $39.00. It was for 5 mg. I went to 10 mg because I watch a movie. I can only watch one movie a month. This is terrible.


False Advertisement.

Apr 28, 2015 by Leif
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO WAY • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Over $100 per month • 
Zip Code: 95402 

I got this set up in 2013, and they said that we would have 5mb per second. Wrong! Slower than Dial Up! Did not tell us about limitation, and they also said that half of my bandwidth could only be used at 2AM-8AM. Whos up at that hour? NEVER BUY


I cannot agree with the negativity

Feb 26, 2015 by David Campbell
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7 years + • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: If they have no DSL or Cable options Yes! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Around $80.00 US • 
Zip Code: 29532 

As a long term hughesnet user I can relate to some of the negativity listed, but it was all solvable! IMO you get what you pay for and satellite internet is not an unlimited free pass to internet, online gaming does not work simply because of the ping rate being too high.
Streaming movies and such as that eats up your download limit you paid for, so don't stream movies, and music, that's a No-Brainer, simply restrict that to the free bonus time period, so I cannot justify those type complaints, you should have researched what you were getting into, simple as that!
Customer service can suck I agree, as it is run through India, and they are page monkeys, meaning if it isn't on the page of step by step help in front of them, they are lost, simple as that, but if you are persistent you will get help, if the problem is not on your end.
I always buy my equipment never lease it, and that resolves some of the issues that have been complained about.
I live in the country and my only other internet option is dial-up and hughesnet is way better than that.
I've seen a lot of complaints that IMO are abuse against hughesnet as some have completely expected way too much from satellite internet, you were told that the download speeds were not guaranteed it depended on overall internet use and demand, you were also told you had a cap, if you violated it, you did it, that is what Restore Tokens are for.
I am truly sorry that some of you have had such a bad time, but if I agreed I'd be lying, and that's not going to happen.
This is My 2 Cents, I wish the best for all of you!


WORST SERVICE

Feb 17, 2015 by Pamela Fouty
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 years plus • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: ABSOLUTELY NOT!!!!!!!!!!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $79.99 • 
Zip Code: 49201 

UNBELIEVABLE. So much for customer loyalty and satisfaction. Especially for a long term client 10 yrs. plus. I sold my home this summer and called Hughes net to cancel my service. Apparently once you have Hughes Net you can never leave. The individual I spoke with did not cancel my service but placed my account on a seasonal hold. My home was sold and I was obviously not going back. Six months after calling to cancel my account I start receiving automatic billings from Hughes Net. I called them to inquire about the fees and all they wanted to do was argue about the account being in a seasonal status. I never wanted a seasonal status. it also didn't matter that I was billed for service I never used. I haven't lived at my prior residense for 6 months. I told Hughes Net I never wanted a seasonal account I had wanted the account closed!!!!!!! I never received any notice that Hughes Net was going to reactivate my account or that Hughes Net was going to start rebilling me account. I never used the service for the 2 months they billed me for. They also charged a $6.40 restart5 up fee. A total of $ 166.38. I went all the way to a supervisor, waited on the phone for at least an hour with only a sorry for your bad luck attitude. I own my own business and I would never charge people for service they did not receive. No matter how you look at that it's just plain ripping people off. I will never recommend Hughes Net to anyone.


Pushing out the 3Gen service

Jan 17, 2015 by Don Preston
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 32 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $43 per month • 
Zip Code: 39111 

Most interested. I can’t get over these posts by people who give accounts of their contacts with customer service. Once they have the 2 year agreement, you’re dirt. And that’s both Hughes and Exede. Just to give you some idea about my hesitations: concerning my system with Hughes, I called 2 weeks ago about our system turning off requiring me to restart (and the purpose of the call was that turning it off and then on no longer worked all the time) and they told me that testing by them ( which they can do whenever they want) turned up problems, and that they would schedule a visit by the technician on a specific day (my choice) in the morning. No call/no show so I contacted them again. Now you’re speaking with very nice young ladies in the Philippines who seem to understand English very well, but don’t. Especially if it doesn’t show up on their screen as something appropriate to say. Meaningful-Intelligent conversations are out of the question. Didn’t lead anywhere so I went to the web page, found my account, found a record of the planned visit by the technician that didn’t happen. It gave 2 telephone numbers of 2 different sources in the US. The first was Hughes fulfillment in Maryland. The second turned out to be the company in Mississippi that they use to send technicians. Ah Ha. Finally getting somewhere I thought. Called a guy in Hughes Fulfillment named Joe. Joe understood my problem and knew Lenny the owner of the company who services the Hughes accounts in Mississippi and he was a good guy. Joe said that he could make another appointment (didn’t sound like that was routine for him. The people in Manila made the first appointment, not someone in the US, but he would do it because this was important) and he gave me the actual technicians name and personal telephone number to call. Wow! I am home free. He also mentioned that I needed to be very pro-active when I called the technician. You know, explain the real need for service. Well, long story longer, called the technician’s number (on the day the service technician was supposed to come) and got “leave your name and number”, and then called the Lenny number and got “leave your name and number”. Later in the day I got through to the Lenny number and a guy named John answered. After a series of “let me get a hold of the technician…. he should be calling you when he leaves his last service call”, I was eventually told that my system was checked and there was nothing wrong with it…..we’re not coming.

I couldn’t believe it. Know what my first question was to Exede when I followed up with my next phone call? Hey, a group of about 25 here in Mississippi aren’t happy with a company who is ruining Hughes technical support efforts by just not coming out to help because they don’t think there is anything wrong. Before we move over to you guys and because they led us to believe that they handle all of the satellite internet companies in Mississippi, we don’t want to take a chance that we meet up with them again when they come out to install your system, so here’s their name… do you do business with them? ( the answer was NO.) I’m going to post this on the internet at Satellite Complaints and Reviews with all of the real names and telephone numbers of the players and see what happens.

By the way, John at the Wonderful World of Hughes technical support 3rd party company… told me the real deal with Hughes. We are presently under the Recovery Act with pricing and have been so since we signed up years ago. About $43 a month with tax. My system is called a Gen 3. It is being replaced with Gen 4. Higher speeds, higher limits on data, higher prices to customers, no Recovery Act price protection. Hughes is trying to force out all of the Gen3 customers and it’s working. Technical support doesn’t like to service Gen 3 customers anymore. They (and John also) try like very hard to get you to upgrade. If you don’t, forget it. All makes sense doesn’t it? The American way of doing business with a great business model…they’ve got so much business they don’t know what to do with it. As long as they take care of most of the customers and keep them happy, it’s working. As I remember, hasn’t Hughes almost gone bankrupt several times during their life-cycle over the years and had more than one owner?


HORRIBLE Experience

Jan 02, 2015 by Lynsey
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 50.00 • 
Zip Code: 78130 

We ordered their services Nov 2014. When the tech showed up to our house he made a mess with everything. Luckily my husband worked to a cable company and was able to do the installion correctly. After having the service for a week, the internet stopped working. When we called they said that they cut us off after we use so much data. Which we do not use alot anyway and were never explained the limitation in the first place.

When we called to cancel they wanted to charge us a $300 fee because our "30day free trial" was up....it was day 30 by the way.

Then they wanted us to take the satellite down ourselves, the took money out of our account twice without premission, they said that they will refund it on dec 18th, its jan 2nd and no monday.

When i called about my refund for the aount they took out of our accoutn without premission, they said that there was no notes in thier system stating that they owe us money.

This is a HORRIBLE company!!!! Customer service is HORRIBLE!!! The reps literally laughed at us and lied to us everytime we called.

Reminder, we only had their service for 30 days!!!!

DO NOT go with this company!


THEY manipulate usage

Dec 29, 2014 by s penberthy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 76.00 • 
Zip Code: 29112 

Every time we call, they have some excuse how internet usage could be disappearing. We turn everything off of wi-fi router and nobody is home, and it still disappears. Bumped up from 10 GB to 15 GB per month. Still disappears within first week or two of the month with us not watching any movies, no skype, no online games.


Money hungry

Dec 26, 2014 by karen martin
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5+ years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NOT NO but H*** NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $59.68 PLUS • 
Zip Code: 77306 

So, HughesNet withdrew their payment today. Only it wasn't for the monthly amount we agreed on when I signed up with them, AGAIN. They keep telling me I have no data allowance left and I have to "restore tokens". Well, they took $240. And I just signed on this evening to check emails, and low and behold, they are saying I have no data left. WTF!!! Oh and before any1 says to change providers, they are the only ones who service our area.


1.3 5.0 31 31 Poor customer service, called many times with complaints and the average call lasted over 2 hours. Each call a different answer was given. They said increasing data would solve all Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
1234