Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Internet Service???????

Sep 15, 2014 by EGC
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4-Days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Nope • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Included in Rent • 
Zip Code: 37862 

HughesNet for 37862

Last weekend we rented a cabin in the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. The cabin advertised WiFi/Interent access – which we knew might be problematic.

Upon arrival, we found that the owners were using HughesNet as the ISP. Connectivity speed was so slow, we took several measurements.

ZipCode 37862
9/5/2014 1:58 PM GMT
Download: 0.08 Mb/s (That’s not a mistake ---


The worst service ever

Sep 15, 2014 by Jo
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6+years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 79.99 per month • 
Zip Code: 31087 

Try reading the Hughes blogs before you buy. Everyone is having the same problems. They have HORRIBLE customer service. They know everyone is slow and it is their fault, but they try to blame it on your equipment. I have an upgraded package, but I get speeds of 100 kbps when I should have 1000 kbps. They don't care. They want you hooked with a contract and then give you the runaround. They also try a hard sell for the Gen4, which also has terrible reviews. Save your money and go with dial-up since it is faster and cheaper. Their customer service rep also told me it was illegal for me to write about their lack of service on the internet. I reminded him that in the U.S. we have freedom of speech, so heed this warning and do not buy!!!!!


This service is the worst

Sep 14, 2014 by Melinda Scarborough
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3mths • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not no but heck no! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 65.00 • 
Zip Code: 2172 

I would not recommend it to my worst enemy


Smoke and Mirrors Bull Crap

Sep 14, 2014 by Timothy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Over 7 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: HELL NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Over 1000 • 
Zip Code: 73145 

After years and years of loss of signal...equipment failures .. over paying for throttled slow a dirt internet i finally told this bull $hit company to kiss my A$$. If i lived anywhere near cable or DSL i would of done it a long time ago. Ive now got Internet thru my moble phone company. Cost much less and english speaking customer service. Hughesnet..excede..directv.. its all the same racket. Take it from someone who knows... do not do it!


The worst company ever!

Apr 26, 2014 by Amy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 weeks • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: I wouldn't have any if I recommended 

I have never been so disappointed with a company. I agreed to a contract then got an email about usage limits. I checked my bank account, money was put on hold that no one told me about. No one told me they only offer echeck or direct payment. I told the sales rep wanted I needed my internet service to do, he recommended what I thought was the pro plan right now I am paying about 50.00 which will go up in 3 mnths for 5 GB, that I spend most of the time hitting the rest button. I get a message of "reset all the time. Well, better get off here almost 7.00 am when my bonus mins expire and we go back from a snail's pace to a dead man's pace. Do yourself a favor and learn from this sucker, don't get this service.


Hughes net

Mar 16, 2014 by A Kenney
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No 

What a waste of $. Absolutely Terrible service. Slow speed, often no signal, and if you were lucky and able to connect, you would soon be booted off.


Ripoff

Feb 27, 2014 by Paul B
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 21 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Definitely not 

Slow to the point that it isn't functional. Forget even short youtube let alone hulu or netflix. And when I couldn't get a signal at all for days, they wanted to charge me to fix their equipment failure. DON'T SIGN A CONTRACT WITH THIS COMPANY


Don't use Hughesnet

Jan 15, 2014 by carolyn
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 day • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell No!!!! 

Terrible company do not use please look for another company they are terrible I'm telling you you will regret it


Terrible

Nov 05, 2013 by Dwayne
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell No!!!!!! 

The service is very, very slow and disconnects every 60 to 90 seconds. There ought to be a law to keep these people from operation.


What HughesNet DOESN'T Tell You!

Sep 27, 2013 by GS Dawson
How Long Have You Used This Service?: One Week • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT, NEVER! 

I ordered HughesNet to replace my DSL service in the Rocky Mountains. They promised 5mg/sec speeds with no degradation when our little mountain town is full of tourists. What they didn't tell me was:
- There is a long, long, LOOOOONG delay as the dish sends and receives from the satellite. This delay is so long that my 3G cellphone and my old DSL completely blew it away.
- They didn't tell me that there was a monthly 10 gig limit on data...I do more than that with an iPad and cell phone!
- They didn't tell me that the dish and the pole (now set in concrete) were disposable and that they would NOT be removing them! Thanks. I always wanted and unsightly pole and dish in my yard!
- The didn't tell me that their technician would be the dumbest person on God's green Earth and that he would absolutely wreak of stale cigarettes and have a serious crack problem - too fat to keep his pants up, and too fat to work very fast! Or was he simply too stupid to work fast??

The bottom line is that the second tech they sent to "repair" what the first moron had done filled me in on the truth...the things listed above. He admitted that he used DSL also as he found HughesNet to be useless.

The so-called Reviews posted on the HughesNet Website were obviously bought and paid for - not one word of truth to them! Ask an installer first. Then buy another service. This one six!


1.3 3.0 12 12 HughesNet for 37862 Last weekend we rented a cabin in the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. The cabin advertised WiFi/Interent access – which we knew might be problematic. Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
12