Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

HORRIBLE

Oct 21, 2014 by H.Craigen
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO…Not even to my worst enemy • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $88 • 
Zip Code: 75551 

I originally had this service set up for my grandfather who lived in a rural area. He had been using dial up because he refused to spend the money for initial set up and monthly charges. I covered all of the cost for set up ($600-ish) and told him and my grandmother that I would cover the other half. My grandfather died 2 years later, we cancelled the service, sent back all that was theirs, and they continued to bill for 6+ months- even though we called them and alerted them of their error numerous times. When they finally stopped, we asked them to mail a refund check- which they eventually did… In my grandfather's name. They refuse to reissue it in my grandmother's name, even if proper documentation is sent to them. My grandmother is also ill- and it will be more than inconvenient to go handle this with the bank. HughesNet staff and managers are extremely unhelpful and rude. I have been dealing with them for a year with all of this mess and not one time have I spoken with someone who was kind or seemed to care at all.
Find another option, do not deal with this company!!!!


constantly have to reboot modem

Oct 17, 2014 by Edmond h lemmo
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Less than a month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not right now? • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 79.99 month • 
Zip Code: 08028 

Not to happy .constantly reboot modern every time I want to go on .


Terrible

Sep 24, 2014 by D. Bean
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 63.12/mo • 
Zip Code: 21701 

HUGHESNET IS THE WORSE INTERNET PROVIDER EVER!!
Where do I begin telling what is wrong with this service?
•I am paying $63.12/month for 10 GB of data!
•I was told that the rain affected the speed of my internet.
•I was told that data was being used by my Wi-Fi connected devices – laptop, iPad - even when they are off.
•Automated “customer service” on the phone is a joke. There is no service provided.
•The internet is incredible slow. I had dial up in 1997 that was faster.
•When the speed test was run by an agent, it was faster than any time I performed the same speed test. How do they make that happen?
•Hughesnet provides its service in outlying areas and therefore does whatever they want because they are most likely the only provider available.

INVESTIGATE ANY OTHER PROVIDER BEFORE SIGNING UP WITH HUGHSNET!


Internet Service???????

Sep 15, 2014 by EGC
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4-Days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Nope • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Included in Rent • 
Zip Code: 37862 

HughesNet for 37862

Last weekend we rented a cabin in the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. The cabin advertised WiFi/Interent access – which we knew might be problematic.

Upon arrival, we found that the owners were using HughesNet as the ISP. Connectivity speed was so slow, we took several measurements.

ZipCode 37862
9/5/2014 1:58 PM GMT
Download: 0.08 Mb/s (That’s not a mistake ---


The worst service ever

Sep 15, 2014 by Jo
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6+years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 79.99 per month • 
Zip Code: 31087 

Try reading the Hughes blogs before you buy. Everyone is having the same problems. They have HORRIBLE customer service. They know everyone is slow and it is their fault, but they try to blame it on your equipment. I have an upgraded package, but I get speeds of 100 kbps when I should have 1000 kbps. They don't care. They want you hooked with a contract and then give you the runaround. They also try a hard sell for the Gen4, which also has terrible reviews. Save your money and go with dial-up since it is faster and cheaper. Their customer service rep also told me it was illegal for me to write about their lack of service on the internet. I reminded him that in the U.S. we have freedom of speech, so heed this warning and do not buy!!!!!


This service is the worst

Sep 14, 2014 by Melinda Scarborough
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3mths • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not no but heck no! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 65.00 • 
Zip Code: 2172 

I would not recommend it to my worst enemy


Smoke and Mirrors Bull Crap

Sep 14, 2014 by Timothy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Over 7 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: HELL NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Over 1000 • 
Zip Code: 73145 

After years and years of loss of signal...equipment failures .. over paying for throttled slow a dirt internet i finally told this bull $hit company to kiss my A$$. If i lived anywhere near cable or DSL i would of done it a long time ago. Ive now got Internet thru my moble phone company. Cost much less and english speaking customer service. Hughesnet..excede..directv.. its all the same racket. Take it from someone who knows... do not do it!


The worst company ever!

Apr 26, 2014 by Amy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 weeks • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: I wouldn't have any if I recommended 

I have never been so disappointed with a company. I agreed to a contract then got an email about usage limits. I checked my bank account, money was put on hold that no one told me about. No one told me they only offer echeck or direct payment. I told the sales rep wanted I needed my internet service to do, he recommended what I thought was the pro plan right now I am paying about 50.00 which will go up in 3 mnths for 5 GB, that I spend most of the time hitting the rest button. I get a message of "reset all the time. Well, better get off here almost 7.00 am when my bonus mins expire and we go back from a snail's pace to a dead man's pace. Do yourself a favor and learn from this sucker, don't get this service.


Hughes net

Mar 16, 2014 by A Kenney
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No 

What a waste of $. Absolutely Terrible service. Slow speed, often no signal, and if you were lucky and able to connect, you would soon be booted off.


Ripoff

Feb 27, 2014 by Paul B
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 21 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Definitely not 

Slow to the point that it isn't functional. Forget even short youtube let alone hulu or netflix. And when I couldn't get a signal at all for days, they wanted to charge me to fix their equipment failure. DON'T SIGN A CONTRACT WITH THIS COMPANY


1.3 3.0 15 15 I originally had this service set up for my grandfather who lived in a rural area. He had been using dial up because he refused to spend the money for initial set up and monthly c Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
12