Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Hughes Net or Dial up, which is faster?

Nov 26, 2016 by Brian
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 100 a month • 
Zip Code: 70446 

Is Hughes Net faster than dial up…well that is the question? There are times where I find Hughes Net to be faster but all too many times I have found Hughes Net to make Dial Up look good! I have never seen dial up take 30 seconds or more to load Google’s home page! To top it off its not just about speed but data allowance! Hughes Net advertises that you can sit there & watch a video about cooking or how to fix your car! RIGHT! Try it sometimes & your data allowance will be gone in about 2 minutes! Stay away from News sites or even Yahoo as they have auto play videos & advertisements that you can’t turn off & before you know it your data allowance is down to ZERO! In short Hughes Net is a big rip off & a piece of shit that’s about 1 notch better then dial up & because dial up is impossible to get any more you have no choice but to have Hughes Net or no internet at all (& sometimes no internet at all looks pretty good)!


Nov 24, 2016 by Rhonda Archer
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Heck NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 157.00 per month • 
Zip Code: 26456 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): Rhonarch001 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

The worst Internet Service in the Country! They should be fined for charging so much and the poor service. They kept running me out of time every month. SO tech came out and replaced all equipment. Still have over 50 percent of time left, but so slow, I can't even watch a movie!! Hate It!!!


SLOW!!

Sep 20, 2016 by Rick Elmore
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $ • 
Zip Code: 32162 

This service is not much better than dial up. More often than not, we have to turn on our mobile hot spot in order to download news associated video's, or e-mail. If given the choice ever again and I can't get cable internet, I'll go with the hot spot.


HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!

Apr 13, 2016 by Edward Cotter
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 12months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 180 • 
Zip Code: 95246 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Three months after canceling I got a bill for $215 for a part of the dish on the roof I didn't return after I cancelled my account. They told me the day I cancelled that they did not want it back.
This is easily the worst company I have ever dealt with, the service was between not working and slow when it did work.
DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, STAY AWAY FROM HUGHESNET.


Slow

Mar 10, 2016 by al
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 68.00 • 
Zip Code: 45338 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Never again. USPS snail mail is faster.


Hughesnet: Don't waste your money!

Feb 06, 2016 by Cheryl D.
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER to a friend or enemy! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 55+ • 
Zip Code: 23220 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

1. Don't believe their TV commercials! Hughes Net is the WORST internet service I have EVER had! The installation was a nightmare. The installer came over and put the dish on the side of my house. Two days later, Hughes Net said the device needed to be removed and never should have been installed on the side of the house. After nearly 20 phone calls,and missing another day of work, the problem was finally resolved.

2. The offered me a promotional $100.00 rebate back in November, that I have yet to see!

3. You won't be able to complete any work with Hughes Net's snail slow internet service. Don't even try to watch a news or music video, that's just not going to happen! I have spent up to 30 minutes, trying to wait for buffering to complete so that I can watch a 5 minute video. When I called to complain about the lousy service, they said I could UPGRADE to a faster service. The so called upgrade was worse than the base package!

I wish I had NEVER subscribed to Hughes Net. Learn from my mistake and from all of the negative reviews on this board. You would be better off to go to the local library, than use the crappy service of
GARBAGE NET!

One star is really too high for this company!


Don't Bother

Jan 19, 2016 by Amy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2010 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 39.00 • 
Zip Code: 05743 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I read the review from the customer supporting Hughes Net and I can tell you that we knew what we were getting when we purchased. We knew no movies, no games and very few downloads. BUT we did expect BASIC service. We can only connect to the internet 50% of the time for basic internet browsing. 25% of the time it just won't connect, the other 25% it's slower then dial up, and we've waited until midnight and there is NO difference. We have called, their only suggestion is to upgrade to Gen4 with all the fees and equipment charges, no thanks. We are looking into other options now. If you had no other choice (we didn't back when we signed up) then it's better then nothing, but when you pay for a service and can't use it more then you can it's not worth it since we now have the option for DSL we are probably going that way even though it's more expensive at least it'll work!!


Sep 17, 2015 by Karen
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 11 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 100 • 
Zip Code: 06351 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

This was the worst service we ever had. They never told me i couldn\'t watch movies, the only thing I was told was it would be hard to play games live with friends because there would be a delay. if you have any choice do not get this service. These people get you signed up and when you call and complain they magically increase your service then you are stuck with them. Horrible i am surprised they have not been shut down.


Bad customer service and slow speeds

Aug 23, 2015 by John Lopes
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2010 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60.00 • 
Zip Code: 85325 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Have had bad service in past even had Attorney General office speak with them, then service was good for 2 years. Now I have been wasting many hours for the last 3 months speaking with many tech support and still slow speeds ( 40-60KBps download) in the mornings and late night. Just sent a letter to the Attorney Generals office again. And have been told by hughesnet my case is escalated to the highest level for the last 2 months. Excede Internet is starting to look good.


Hughesnet Service

Aug 06, 2015 by Sheridan
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70.00 • 
Zip Code: 74875 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

We had the service for a little over a year and nothing worked on it. When we wanted to cancel the service, even after paying $70 a month, for NOTHING the cancelation fee was $220. I would not reccomend this to anyone.


1.2 5.0 41 41 Is Hughes Net faster than dial up…well that is the question? There are times where I find Hughes Net to be faster but all too many times I have found Hughes Net to make Dial Up l Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
12345