Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Don't Bother

Jan 19, 2016 by Amy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2010 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 39.00 • 
Zip Code: 05743 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I read the review from the customer supporting Hughes Net and I can tell you that we knew what we were getting when we purchased. We knew no movies, no games and very few downloads. BUT we did expect BASIC service. We can only connect to the internet 50% of the time for basic internet browsing. 25% of the time it just won't connect, the other 25% it's slower then dial up, and we've waited until midnight and there is NO difference. We have called, their only suggestion is to upgrade to Gen4 with all the fees and equipment charges, no thanks. We are looking into other options now. If you had no other choice (we didn't back when we signed up) then it's better then nothing, but when you pay for a service and can't use it more then you can it's not worth it since we now have the option for DSL we are probably going that way even though it's more expensive at least it'll work!!


Sep 17, 2015 by Karen
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 11 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 100 • 
Zip Code: 06351 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

This was the worst service we ever had. They never told me i couldn\'t watch movies, the only thing I was told was it would be hard to play games live with friends because there would be a delay. if you have any choice do not get this service. These people get you signed up and when you call and complain they magically increase your service then you are stuck with them. Horrible i am surprised they have not been shut down.


Bad customer service and slow speeds

Aug 23, 2015 by John Lopes
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2010 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60.00 • 
Zip Code: 85325 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Have had bad service in past even had Attorney General office speak with them, then service was good for 2 years. Now I have been wasting many hours for the last 3 months speaking with many tech support and still slow speeds ( 40-60KBps download) in the mornings and late night. Just sent a letter to the Attorney Generals office again. And have been told by hughesnet my case is escalated to the highest level for the last 2 months. Excede Internet is starting to look good.


Hughesnet Service

Aug 06, 2015 by Sheridan
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70.00 • 
Zip Code: 74875 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

We had the service for a little over a year and nothing worked on it. When we wanted to cancel the service, even after paying $70 a month, for NOTHING the cancelation fee was $220. I would not reccomend this to anyone.


Don't Spend your hard earned money.

Jul 31, 2015 by John
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Would not do this to a friend, maybe an enemy. • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $ 100.00 • 
Zip Code: 43146 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Poor customer service, called many times with complaints and the average call lasted over 2 hours. Each call a different answer was given. They said increasing data would solve all issues. They took advantage of us, they increased our data which increased our bill and in turn the service got worse which was hard to believe that it could get worse, but it did. Worst service ever. Every call to them started off with them wanting to increase our data aghuiain, we got to the point of starting the conversation with saying we are NOT increasing our data and giving you more money for horrible service. They acted like more money would solve all the problems. Don't be fooled into a contract that will take the act of God or a lot of money to get out of. Their service is not worth the time or headache unless you like giving your money away.


Bordering fradulant

Jul 31, 2015 by Sheryll Tryon
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 77.00 • 
Zip Code: 82729 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

No stars. I have been treated more rudely by this company than any company I have ever dealt with. Installation was done prior to my arrival in a new location with the understanding once I was here the installer would come back and go through everything with me and adjust to my TV. He provided a wireless connection everything for a fee of course. I tried repeatedly to contact him and never saw him. I was told I signed an agreement that he went over with me. Turns out nothing but scratches that someone else signed probably the installer. Despite knowing all this and that I expected wireless connection they told me I can not use there service except on a computer connected directly. Clearly total misrepresentation and now I am supposed to pay a disconnect fee to get out of something I can not even use. Don't know what options I have but there must be someone who can help so I am looking. NEVER AGAIN WOULD I DEAL WITH THEM.


It's lousy

May 27, 2015 by Don DeCar
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 monthe • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No - No - No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 91.62 • 
Zip Code: 85248 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I was with a land line for $68.00 per month. I went to Hughes Net because the guy said it was $39.00. It was for 5 mg. I went to 10 mg because I watch a movie. I can only watch one movie a month. This is terrible.


False Advertisement.

Apr 28, 2015 by Leif
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO WAY • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Over $100 per month • 
Zip Code: 95402 

I got this set up in 2013, and they said that we would have 5mb per second. Wrong! Slower than Dial Up! Did not tell us about limitation, and they also said that half of my bandwidth could only be used at 2AM-8AM. Whos up at that hour? NEVER BUY


I cannot agree with the negativity

Feb 26, 2015 by David Campbell
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7 years + • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: If they have no DSL or Cable options Yes! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Around $80.00 US • 
Zip Code: 29532 

As a long term hughesnet user I can relate to some of the negativity listed, but it was all solvable! IMO you get what you pay for and satellite internet is not an unlimited free pass to internet, online gaming does not work simply because of the ping rate being too high.
Streaming movies and such as that eats up your download limit you paid for, so don't stream movies, and music, that's a No-Brainer, simply restrict that to the free bonus time period, so I cannot justify those type complaints, you should have researched what you were getting into, simple as that!
Customer service can suck I agree, as it is run through India, and they are page monkeys, meaning if it isn't on the page of step by step help in front of them, they are lost, simple as that, but if you are persistent you will get help, if the problem is not on your end.
I always buy my equipment never lease it, and that resolves some of the issues that have been complained about.
I live in the country and my only other internet option is dial-up and hughesnet is way better than that.
I've seen a lot of complaints that IMO are abuse against hughesnet as some have completely expected way too much from satellite internet, you were told that the download speeds were not guaranteed it depended on overall internet use and demand, you were also told you had a cap, if you violated it, you did it, that is what Restore Tokens are for.
I am truly sorry that some of you have had such a bad time, but if I agreed I'd be lying, and that's not going to happen.
This is My 2 Cents, I wish the best for all of you!


WORST SERVICE

Feb 17, 2015 by Pamela Fouty
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 years plus • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: ABSOLUTELY NOT!!!!!!!!!!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $79.99 • 
Zip Code: 49201 

UNBELIEVABLE. So much for customer loyalty and satisfaction. Especially for a long term client 10 yrs. plus. I sold my home this summer and called Hughes net to cancel my service. Apparently once you have Hughes Net you can never leave. The individual I spoke with did not cancel my service but placed my account on a seasonal hold. My home was sold and I was obviously not going back. Six months after calling to cancel my account I start receiving automatic billings from Hughes Net. I called them to inquire about the fees and all they wanted to do was argue about the account being in a seasonal status. I never wanted a seasonal status. it also didn't matter that I was billed for service I never used. I haven't lived at my prior residense for 6 months. I told Hughes Net I never wanted a seasonal account I had wanted the account closed!!!!!!! I never received any notice that Hughes Net was going to reactivate my account or that Hughes Net was going to start rebilling me account. I never used the service for the 2 months they billed me for. They also charged a $6.40 restart5 up fee. A total of $ 166.38. I went all the way to a supervisor, waited on the phone for at least an hour with only a sorry for your bad luck attitude. I own my own business and I would never charge people for service they did not receive. No matter how you look at that it's just plain ripping people off. I will never recommend Hughes Net to anyone.


1.3 5.0 35 35 I read the review from the customer supporting Hughes Net and I can tell you that we knew what we were getting when we purchased. We knew no movies, no games and very few downloads Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
1234