Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Terrible

Jan 05, 2018 by Tommy Wilbanks
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $127.00 • 
Zip Code: 35959 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes, internet & phone 

Claims that I run over my 30 mg Plan in just a few days, NO WAY, Just me and my wife and we only use the internet in the evenings for several hours, for facebook, and watch a few Amazon or Netflix movies. Very Slow when they claim that we went over our plan!!!! I have called numerous times about this and "I AM SICK OF IT",,,, When I purchased Hughes services, I thought that I had unlimited use, that was what I was told. I WILL CANCEL AND NOT PAYING ANY EARLY DISCONNECTING FEE'S!!!!!! BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU TIME.


Aug 15, 2017 by Cecil Smith
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70.00 • 
Zip Code: 36264 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Was told we would have fast internet, but most of the time we don't even have any internet, tho we pay our monthly payment always on time. Really does not deserve even 1star.


Lousy services

Apr 29, 2017 by Roger
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $59+ • 
Zip Code: 43302 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: YES 

The absolute slowest & worst internet & phone services I have ever tried to use! Regular cutoffs & shutdowns! Mostly slower then frozen molasses! Have to jump through hoops to try to get connected with customer service or technical support! This company appears to be operating on the very edge of lies & extortion!These people should be shutdown!Sure indicates the sounds & actions of SCAMMERS!Probably would be wise to stay away from this bunch! I already HATE these services!


WORST EVER!!! DON'T GET IT!!

Jan 24, 2017 by irene
Zip Code: 54891 

not even ganna give it a star!! my biggest thing is slow internet service!! slow internet service=bad wifi!!! AND i'm stuck paying your fees for another 1year 1/2!! you guys need to better your services!!!


Hughes Net or Dial up, which is faster?

Nov 26, 2016 by Brian
Zip Code: 70446 

Is Hughes Net faster than dial up…well that is the question? There are times where I find Hughes Net to be faster but all too many times I have found Hughes Net to make Dial Up look good! I have never seen dial up take 30 seconds or more to load Google’s home page! To top it off its not just about speed but data allowance! Hughes Net advertises that you can sit there & watch a video about cooking or how to fix your car! RIGHT! Try it sometimes & your data allowance will be gone in about 2 minutes! Stay away from News sites or even Yahoo as they have auto play videos & advertisements that you can’t turn off & before you know it your data allowance is down to ZERO! In short Hughes Net is a big rip off & a piece of shit that’s about 1 notch better then dial up & because dial up is impossible to get any more you have no choice but to have Hughes Net or no internet at all (& sometimes no internet at all looks pretty good)!


Nov 24, 2016 by Rhonda Archer
Zip Code: 26456 

The worst Internet Service in the Country! They should be fined for charging so much and the poor service. They kept running me out of time every month. SO tech came out and replaced all equipment. Still have over 50 percent of time left, but so slow, I can't even watch a movie!! Hate It!!!


SLOW!!

Sep 20, 2016 by Rick Elmore
Zip Code: 32162 

This service is not much better than dial up. More often than not, we have to turn on our mobile hot spot in order to download news associated video's, or e-mail. If given the choice ever again and I can't get cable internet, I'll go with the hot spot.


HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!

Apr 13, 2016 by Edward Cotter
Zip Code: 95246 

Three months after canceling I got a bill for $215 for a part of the dish on the roof I didn't return after I cancelled my account. They told me the day I cancelled that they did not want it back.
This is easily the worst company I have ever dealt with, the service was between not working and slow when it did work.
DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, STAY AWAY FROM HUGHESNET.


Slow

Mar 10, 2016 by al
Zip Code: 45338 

Never again. USPS snail mail is faster.


Hughesnet: Don't waste your money!

Feb 06, 2016 by Cheryl D.
Zip Code: 23220 

1. Don't believe their TV commercials! Hughes Net is the WORST internet service I have EVER had! The installation was a nightmare. The installer came over and put the dish on the side of my house. Two days later, Hughes Net said the device needed to be removed and never should have been installed on the side of the house. After nearly 20 phone calls,and missing another day of work, the problem was finally resolved.

2. The offered me a promotional $100.00 rebate back in November, that I have yet to see!

3. You won't be able to complete any work with Hughes Net's snail slow internet service. Don't even try to watch a news or music video, that's just not going to happen! I have spent up to 30 minutes, trying to wait for buffering to complete so that I can watch a 5 minute video. When I called to complain about the lousy service, they said I could UPGRADE to a faster service. The so called upgrade was worse than the base package!

I wish I had NEVER subscribed to Hughes Net. Learn from my mistake and from all of the negative reviews on this board. You would be better off to go to the local library, than use the crappy service of
GARBAGE NET!

One star is really too high for this company!


1.2 5.0 45 45 Claims that I run over my 30 mg Plan in just a few days, NO WAY, Just me and my wife and we only use the internet in the evenings for several hours, for facebook, and watch a few A Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
12345