Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

HORRIBLE Experience

Jan 02, 2015 by Lynsey
Zip Code: 78130 

We ordered their services Nov 2014. When the tech showed up to our house he made a mess with everything. Luckily my husband worked to a cable company and was able to do the installion correctly. After having the service for a week, the internet stopped working. When we called they said that they cut us off after we use so much data. Which we do not use alot anyway and were never explained the limitation in the first place.

When we called to cancel they wanted to charge us a $300 fee because our "30day free trial" was up....it was day 30 by the way.

Then they wanted us to take the satellite down ourselves, the took money out of our account twice without premission, they said that they will refund it on dec 18th, its jan 2nd and no monday.

When i called about my refund for the aount they took out of our accoutn without premission, they said that there was no notes in thier system stating that they owe us money.

This is a HORRIBLE company!!!! Customer service is HORRIBLE!!! The reps literally laughed at us and lied to us everytime we called.

Reminder, we only had their service for 30 days!!!!

DO NOT go with this company!


THEY manipulate usage

Dec 29, 2014 by s penberthy
Zip Code: 29112 

Every time we call, they have some excuse how internet usage could be disappearing. We turn everything off of wi-fi router and nobody is home, and it still disappears. Bumped up from 10 GB to 15 GB per month. Still disappears within first week or two of the month with us not watching any movies, no skype, no online games.


Money hungry

Dec 26, 2014 by karen martin
Zip Code: 77306 

So, HughesNet withdrew their payment today. Only it wasn't for the monthly amount we agreed on when I signed up with them, AGAIN. They keep telling me I have no data allowance left and I have to "restore tokens". Well, they took $240. And I just signed on this evening to check emails, and low and behold, they are saying I have no data left. WTF!!! Oh and before any1 says to change providers, they are the only ones who service our area.


The Worst!!!

Dec 23, 2014 by Rita Turner
Zip Code: 36080 

Been awful since first day. Might as well have dial-up. Had no other choices to this point but going to change to a different company. May not be any better but certainly can't be any worse. Called complaining last week and first thing they did was try to get me to upgrade to Gen4. Problem still not resolved. Sick of them so going to try elsewhere.


way way below the lowest

Dec 11, 2014 by kathy white
Zip Code: 63601 

after my credit card was compromised, i planned to auto pay hughesnet on my own, but they said i had to use a credit card, or there would be a $5 invoice fee. having no alternative at the time, i paid it for a year, then excede came along. went with them. payment had been taken out during the switch.i owed them $5 they owed me $71. called to make sure i had refund coming, said i should get it in 7-10 days. three weeks later, no refund. called again and was told 45 business days!!!! come on, they lie and have stupid policies that they have to lie more and cover up. this company is making too much money to treat people this way. shame on you, hughesnet.


What Service?

Dec 05, 2014 by Scicc
Zip Code: 12089 

How is it that they can continue to market internet service. Why are we required to give them any star for the rating field?


service data

Nov 12, 2014 by karen martin
Zip Code: 77306 

I am so mad! Now we are having to purchase / restore tokens for data. I purchased some a couple hours ago, said it was successful BUT it still has NOT shown up. This is so wrong on so many levels. We have been a loyal customer all this time, never had this happen until now. They get their money every month like clock work! SICK OF IT!!!!


BAD service/connections

Nov 08, 2014 by Guy Martin
Zip Code: 77306 

We pay for unlimited access monthly. Hughesnet gets their money EVERY month and just got it last week. Have not been able to get on hardly at all this week. Took an exam last week, got booted off 6 times. Made a 60 on exam due to time running out for class. TIRED OF THIS CRAP


Disappointed

Nov 03, 2014 by RRobertson
Zip Code: 63339 

Switched from Wildblue to Hughesnet in 2009. Was very satisfied at the beginning due to unsatisfactory service. Customer service is extremely poor, always get it is a problem with your equipment. When on the phone with tech support one time, was told to unplug tower and when told to replug we did not. Tech informed us everything was working, and there was not problem. When we told him we were still holding the plug, he had to change his story! Now 5 years in, they are telling us they no longer support Gen3 and we are going to be forced to pay $399 to upgrade where new customers can get the special deals and breaks. Nothing beats treating existing customers like crap! I personally think they are screwing with speeds to force you into upgrade. Looking for something else.... so done!


HORRIBLE

Oct 21, 2014 by H.Craigen
Zip Code: 75551 

I originally had this service set up for my grandfather who lived in a rural area. He had been using dial up because he refused to spend the money for initial set up and monthly charges. I covered all of the cost for set up ($600-ish) and told him and my grandmother that I would cover the other half. My grandfather died 2 years later, we cancelled the service, sent back all that was theirs, and they continued to bill for 6+ months- even though we called them and alerted them of their error numerous times. When they finally stopped, we asked them to mail a refund check- which they eventually did… In my grandfather's name. They refuse to reissue it in my grandmother's name, even if proper documentation is sent to them. My grandmother is also ill- and it will be more than inconvenient to go handle this with the bank. HughesNet staff and managers are extremely unhelpful and rude. I have been dealing with them for a year with all of this mess and not one time have I spoken with someone who was kind or seemed to care at all.
Find another option, do not deal with this company!!!!


1.2 5.0 44 44 Was told we would have fast internet, but most of the time we don't even have any internet, tho we pay our monthly payment always on time. Really does not deserve even 1star. Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
12345