Exede Review

Last updated Saturday February 16th, 2019

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

If They Call, Hang Up

Jul 19, 2013 by tom

I was transported back to the 1990's with this service. I'll pay my dues, but I will go far and wide to tell people to avoid this service.

Doesn't deserve 1 star.


Reliable connection

Jul 08, 2013 by BayBay

My wife and me were longtime WildBlue customers and we upgraded to Exede.

Overall Exede has fixed our main complaint which was disconnects during rain (which happens a lot here) with WildBlue. Exede has improved a lot in that area and our installer seemed to take the time to zero in our dish perfectly.

The short of it is that my wife and I are enjoying the reliable connection and the faster Exede broadband speeds are appreciated too.

-BayBay


Better than advertised and good support

Jun 26, 2013 by ZO

Overall I have been pretty tickled with Exede. My initial install was not perfect but I think that was due to terrible weather during the installation. After I contacted Exede they sent somebody out to tweak my dish since then I have had pretty stellar speeds.

My speeds are actually more than what Exede advertises, which is freakin\' awesome in this day and age of oversell and under-serve. So that is my favorite thing about Exede: I get more than what I am paying for. I also use the heck out of the LateNightFreeZone

In my town the only other options are DSL, 3G cellular, dial-up, or other satellite internet services. I think I made the right choice because my uploads and downloads are faster than anybody else\'s.

Likewise, when I had initial slow speeds they got it fixed. They just asked for basic info and helped me diagnose the issue then sent somebody out. I could not have asked for much more.

I refrain from giving 5 stars because there is always room for improvement, but I do recommend Exede as a good option for internet.


Horrible Service

Jun 25, 2013 by steve roberts

They do not deserve the 1 star.

Latency is horrible for any type of VPN, VoIP or digital download. Service outage is on a daily basis. Customer service message states they are open 7 days a week but we called and they were closed on 6 occasions when message said they were open.

Cancellation comes with a heavy termination fee ($300+) and the customer is expected to remove the equipment and ship back or an additional fee is charged ($300+). Also Exede does not want or take back the satellite dish or mounting... customer support suggested I use it as a bird bath...

Usage is consumed by the satellite and modem communication even when disconnected from all downstream customer computers. Thus usage cap is much lower than expected by contract.

Modem freezes and needs rebooted whenever it loses connectivity with satellite for a significant timeframe (happens often in the Eastern seaboard due to summer storms). Modem has issues with DNS/DHCP protocol often and will freeze if it loses its upstream provider connection.

Service was quoted to me from the sales person to be able to manage multiple devices/computers in my home yet during troubleshooting with customer support they indicated that they have no training or ability to assist with multiple devices and that the modem is \"intended for a single device\" setup... ie not in touch with the reality of a modern household.

By far the worst internet service imaginable. As a military member I have experienced old outdated and horrible service onboard ships in the middle of the planet; internet in lovely locations like afghanistan and iraq and yet the Exede service is even more pathetic than these service offerings.

To top it off try to disconnect and you get smacked with a $300 early termination fee and the threat of another $300 if you do not ship their equipment back to them...and they do not want the dish back so you are suggested to \"use it as a bird bath\"....

The service is continually going down due to weather, heat, rain, cloud cover, birds flying over, too many insects in the air and heavens knows what else. They also consume your data cap during the month (heartbeat and connectivity maintenance counts against your usage)... the usage meter is near worthless and often sticks... the modem requires consistent rebooting due to DNS/DHCP and hanging issues post outage/reconnection ....

None of which is covered in their \"service contract\"... Their idea of troubleshooting sounds something like grandma in the middle of the Arizona desert from her single-wide suggesting how \"she doesn\'t have any issues so sonny I\'m not sure why you do...\"

If exede calls hang up... these folks have no idea how to provide service or internet to a modern household with multiple computers.


Good Service

May 09, 2013 by Lee Tipton

Don't get me wrong - there have been hiccups - but without exception - Viasat/Excede/Wildblue have worked with me on every issue I have had. I had a problem connecting with an old AT&T email account I have and they stayed with me until I got it to work. There has never been a time when I did a speed test that Excede has not beat Comcast's speed - hands down. I know what Comcast/Xfinity promises - but they NEVER DELIVER. I am not a tech, but I was able to connect a $40 wireless NetGear router to my modem and get it to work. This service is worth moving to - even in the city!!! ~~Good luck, Lee Tipton


Very happy

May 07, 2013 by M.S.

I have had Exede Satellite internet now for 4 months, and I have been exceptionally happy with it. In general, I run two web sites and use it for general home computer work, I do not game with it so I really can't say much for that. Otherwise there is to this point, nothing that I have been unable to do with this internet connection. In the past we have had air card and mobile phone internet connections. All of which produced poor service, slow download, upload and inability to properly run my web pages and keep up sending pics in emails. With Exede Internet it takes just moments to update my web sites and seconds to attach pics or send video via email. I had heard mixed reviews in the past about satellite internet services, everything from slow speed to inability to use it during bad weather or cloudy conditions. Let me tell you I have had lightning fast internet even in down poor rain storms this spring. The only time I have experienced an outage was this past winter in an ice storm, my dish was covered in over an inch of ice, no surprise that it didn't work then, but it melted quickly and within an hour or so we were back up and running. Another thing that is helpful, is that Exede has online usage monitoring so that I can watch my usage, they also have late night free usage which is great and allows me to download and upload large files without touching my monthly usage amount. So the long and short is that I have had the best service , fastest speed and consistent availability which has far surpassed all other options available in my rural area, in Missouri. Thanks so much Exede for producing an exceptional service!


Got Exede, like it so far

May 07, 2013 by Johnny

I got Exede last month and I like it so far. It is a lot faster than what I had before (slow DSL which was all that was available).

I am taking off one star because of the high ping times but every satellite service is going to have that so I don't care too much.


1.2 5.0 1227 1227 I live way out in the country and was barely getting 1.93mgs with CenturyLink, the only provider available. I was told by Viasat/Exede that I would get 5mgs easy, even when I went Exede broadband internet
Page:
«121122123