Exede Review

Last updated Friday February 23rd, 2018

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Worst internet- even Comcast is better

May 28, 2014 by Elizabeth

I give this company zero stars in reality. Not only is there consistently a problem for me to connect to the internet on our television because the IP address never matches, the internet is slow and always goes out. I can't even study for the bar exam at home because Exede isn't compatible with a well known test prep program. If I wasn't suckered into a contract through directtv, who will also be getting a horrible review, I would terminate service with Exede immediately.


Over Priced Service

May 27, 2014 by Norman Cozad

Way over priced. Data usage is unreasonable in the way it is calculated. If you buy extra data and do not use it they take it away at renewal. Will be glad when the two years are over and I can get away from them. Big mistake in moving from DSL.


Un-reliable Service

May 25, 2014 by Rhonda

When the service works, it's great for a rural area, but it's unreliable. I have worked in IT environment for years and some of the excuses for services being down are not only ridiculous but not possibly valid. When I have extremely, unusable slow speed, I get all kinds of excuses when I call in for support and finally after the 4th one hour call, I am informed there's a port outage. This last time when I'm trying to access yahoo and facebook, they told me that my dish was not pointing properly to the satellite. Well HELLO!!!! ....it's bolted tight onto the pole it's mounted on and the pole is cemented down into the ground....I live behind a locked gate and no, I don't have elephants or buffalo in the yard that could have bumped it to make it turn!. then I logged back into it trying to see if it was resolved and I found that I could get to any websites other than yahoo and facebook. When I called them with the new findings they tell me 'oh yeah, there's an issue with those two websites in our servers right now.' I'm like, what kind of issue? Something you blocked because your service can't handle the traffic of the customers you've sold to?

If AT&T were to put their DSL cable here I'd buy it in a heartbeat. I will be looking for another service.


Horrible

May 21, 2014 by Holly

List on Complaints:
1) I was never informed I had signed on for a 2 year contract until AFTER I had signed up
2) Ran out of data within the first week. Be advised I watched NO video, only light news reading in the morning, Facebook, etc. They were unable to provide me with a MAC or IP address of the device all this data was being used by, so I had an IT person completely go through my laptop thinking I had a virus. There was no virus.
3) Tech support "gave" (this remains to be seen as I am waiting for my credit card statement to come in) 5 more GB...and that was gone within one day. While no one was home. Now, my dogs are smart - but not THAT smart.
4) They blamed my data use on my VoIP product (Basic Talk - which works VERY well, btw) so I unplugged it. Still giant data use. From whom???
5) I gave in and bought their Exede voice. Which came in the day before yesterday and doesn't work. I was told that they are having 'connection problems in my area'..what area? They SKY? It's been clear here for a week.
6) As a sidenote, Basic Talk was hooked up and I had a home phone in under a half an hour with no needed call to Customer Service. AND IT WORKED ON THE EXEDE SYSTEM. WTF? I was told by Exede to call back in 24 hours and MAYBE they can get my VoIP working then. IN the meantime, I've already been charged for this POS, and i have no home phone STILL.
7) I too think a class action suit should be filed, This company has quickly vaulted to my Most Hated Company list. Horrible service, lies, outrageous fees, taking advantage of people who choose to live in rural areas. Complete BS.


2 Years of Hell!

May 19, 2014 by Brad S.

signed up back in august 2012 and I would say stay the hell away from Exede or any other satellite internet provider period! Youtube, Itunes, Hulu, Netfilx, Playstation network, XboxLive, online gaming will not work with this service your data allowance will be used up in 1 day. Now some devices don't like the throttled down speeds that Exede will put you through, like Amazon kindle Fire thinks your not connected to the net at 10kbps speed and that is being generous. Half the time they have it locked down so tight that it makes a 56k modem look super fast. 10gig 19gig and 25gig monthly allowance are too small for anyone use. I average +/-125 gig a month, there is no way a satellite provider can satisfy this need with out getting severely screwed into the ground by them. Most cable companies have a 500 gig allowance.
Customer service is really bad half the time you get transfered from 1 dept to another. Their install techs are very stupid, they tried to tell me that the dish can only be move by a licensed satellite tech because the dish give off microwave radiation. Bullshit! I worked for a Earthground uplink television station, were talking 10,000 watts microwave! Folks just walk away from any snake oil satellite provider!


Bad Company

May 19, 2014 by Danny Campbell

Tech arrived Friday 5/16/14 to install hardware for "free" installation and said there would be extra charge because it would not be an easy install. Had gave credit card for $49.99 for first months charge. Tech said he could cancel and there would be no charge, however was charged. Called and Exede accounting said I would have to prove my credit card was charged. Called my bank and they disputed charge and took care of the incident.


Buyer BEWARE!!!!!!

May 16, 2014 by Mel

Data cap is RIDICULOUS!!!!!!! If you have netflix, hulu,or any other streaming service, THIS IS NOT FOR YOU! We ran out of data within 3 days. In this day and age, to have your internet capped is absurd. Not only that, if you cancel service on your billing date they will not retro your bill. So, you are charged for a month of service you do not want/use. And their cancellation fees are outrageous! Make sure you know what your contract says and how long your contract is. When service was installed we were given NO info for our account, so our email was never setup. My feelings are that they take advantage of people who live out on rural areas where DSL is not available by charging high prices for service you can barely use. They also advertise lightening fast speed, which is false advertising! Speed was OK for the 3 days of the month we could use it, but once it is capped it is unusable! VERY UNHAPPY WITH THE SERVICE WE GOT!!!!


Not as fast as they claim

May 16, 2014 by John Volkman

The speed is not what they claim for the most part and their sales people claim you would have to visit 3000 web pages to use the monthly allotment. Not true at all!
There are times that Exede Internet is very fast but most times it is little better than dial up. They act as though the customer service is going to be very good but it is poor to good at best. If you have no other options it is better than nothing but very little better.


Horrible Service All Around

May 14, 2014 by Barbara Torres

First of all the prices are ridiculous for what you are getting. After I realized this I switched to Mediacom which was way cheaper for way better service. They did not cancel my account properly and I was charged for services I did not use. They reimbursed me and proceeded to charge me again for cancellation fees that were taken out of my account without approval. Then I had to climb my roof ( I'm a 24 year old woman living with my two disabled aunts ) and get the equipment THEY put up so I wouldn't be charged even more. This has been the most horrible experience I've had with a company after AT&T. Stay away!


DO NOT PURCHASE

May 14, 2014 by Fubby

PLEASE do not sign up for this, it is a SCAM. I measured my internet usage separately from what exede provides on their website and they were counting usage during their "free" period. It took THREE MONTHS to fix this, my internet is often off for long periods of time and it takes FOREVER to get anyone out to fix it. And beyond that, the service call to have someone come out is 95 dollars. Hope you have money to burn!!!

They breached our contract multiple times and haven't been held accountable for it, they have terrible customer service!! I HATE this internet and the provider, they will scam you unless you STAY ON THEM about your usage. I highly suggest measuring it yourself with an app.

If I wasn't stuck in a contract, I'd get rid of this crap internet and never look back.


1.3 5.0 1191 1191 I got the service installed 2 weeks ago and the service has yet to work. I called for a service appointment they said they didn't have one until monday they never showed up they sa Exede broadband internet