Exede Review

Last updated Saturday September 23rd, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Deceptive

Jul 21, 2013 by Anonimous

Required to rate to submit. You will understand after reading the following.

When I ordered the services, I was told I was getting the new 12 gig speed. I asked about up front costs and was told the promotion was free installation along with the $49.99 account set up fee, then the first months service. When the installer, very unprofessional and look like a mob member, arrived he started setting up and informed me I owed him $50 for the pole to install the satellite on. I refused to pay it since this was supposed to be free install and I had already paid the account set up fee. He continued to set up and I told him I wasn't paying him anything. He call Exede Installer Relations who told me the service would not be installed unless I paid the installer for the pole. I refused and the installer left.

When I contacted Customer Service, I was told installation at a mobile home was a non-standard installation and that the fee was due. I asked why I wasn't told this upfront. The response was that I didn't inform the sales person I lived in a mobile home. Duh, why would I?? I was never told there was such an installation. When I told them to cancel the account, I was told by a CSR and CSM that I would be charged an early termination fee. I continued to call back each day asking if they were going to do the install and if they were they needed to refund my money. Their continued response was that they weren't going to cancel and if I wanted a refund, I had to cancel and then be assessed an earlier termination. Finally, I reach a CSR that gave me a credit for the $50 pole charge. A new install date was scheduled.

On the installation date, the Exede installer Melvin came from a contractor in Shreveport. He told me I had to give him $50 and I told him I understood. He installed the service and while he was getting connected on his computer, I asked him to sign a receipt and I gave him a check. He almost came unglued because he wanted cash which I didn't have. The receipt he signed had a bogus name on it. He told me to start my computer. Ironically my desktop would start. So I gave him my laptop while I worked on the desktop. He showed me my computer had a connection and he left while I was still trying to get the desktop to start.

When I gave upon the desktop, I picked up the laptop and opened my e-mail since I hadn't had internet access for over three months. The first e-mail I found when I opened Outlook was a SIGNED contract with Viasat showing that I had signed it electronically. I was irate when I read the terms of which I would have NEVER agreed to. I called Viasat and report this to them. I was told the installers would NEVER sign a contract for the customers and that my IP address was on the contract and there was nothing I could do about it. I told them these were deceptive practices. I was informed I was sent an order confirmation and I should have read it. DUH, why would a terms of a contract not be discussed at the time of discussing the service? Why would terms be sent in an e-mail when the sales people have already been informed I had no internet service for over three months and I was in withdrawals being without it?

Got past that! Now I have been trying to install MS Office and can't get it to validate. I check my data allowance usage and found I had used 2.5 gig. I called Exede and was told I had downloaded a very larg file which consumed the allowance. I checked the file size for MS Office that was downloaded and it was only 557KB which is nothing. I contacted Microsoft Support who remoted into my computer and told me they couldn't help me until I took my computer to Starbucks, McDonald's, or somewhere that had a fast connection because mine was too slow. I couldn't understand this so I started running speed tests. I for over a week, my speeds from Viasat/Exede is running between 2-4 mbps download and .68-2 mbps upload. Which all equated to a little faster than dialup and basic dsl speeds. The speeds are very inconsistent. I contact Viasat/Exede and a youn lady set up a service call for today. Ironically, last night my speeds began to increase and hold around 17-18 mbps download and 1.5-3 upload. I cancelled the service call around 10am this morning because of the obvious. About 3pm, the speeds dropped to 5-8 mbps and are currently holding there at 8pm tonight.

Draw you on conclusion as to whether this is an ISP you would trust for two years.


If They Call, Hang Up

Jul 19, 2013 by tom

I was transported back to the 1990's with this service. I'll pay my dues, but I will go far and wide to tell people to avoid this service.

Doesn't deserve 1 star.


Reliable connection

Jul 08, 2013 by BayBay

My wife and me were longtime WildBlue customers and we upgraded to Exede.

Overall Exede has fixed our main complaint which was disconnects during rain (which happens a lot here) with WildBlue. Exede has improved a lot in that area and our installer seemed to take the time to zero in our dish perfectly.

The short of it is that my wife and I are enjoying the reliable connection and the faster Exede broadband speeds are appreciated too.

-BayBay


Better than advertised and good support

Jun 26, 2013 by ZO

Overall I have been pretty tickled with Exede. My initial install was not perfect but I think that was due to terrible weather during the installation. After I contacted Exede they sent somebody out to tweak my dish since then I have had pretty stellar speeds.

My speeds are actually more than what Exede advertises, which is freakin\' awesome in this day and age of oversell and under-serve. So that is my favorite thing about Exede: I get more than what I am paying for. I also use the heck out of the LateNightFreeZone

In my town the only other options are DSL, 3G cellular, dial-up, or other satellite internet services. I think I made the right choice because my uploads and downloads are faster than anybody else\'s.

Likewise, when I had initial slow speeds they got it fixed. They just asked for basic info and helped me diagnose the issue then sent somebody out. I could not have asked for much more.

I refrain from giving 5 stars because there is always room for improvement, but I do recommend Exede as a good option for internet.


Horrible Service

Jun 25, 2013 by steve roberts

They do not deserve the 1 star.

Latency is horrible for any type of VPN, VoIP or digital download. Service outage is on a daily basis. Customer service message states they are open 7 days a week but we called and they were closed on 6 occasions when message said they were open.

Cancellation comes with a heavy termination fee ($300+) and the customer is expected to remove the equipment and ship back or an additional fee is charged ($300+). Also Exede does not want or take back the satellite dish or mounting... customer support suggested I use it as a bird bath...

Usage is consumed by the satellite and modem communication even when disconnected from all downstream customer computers. Thus usage cap is much lower than expected by contract.

Modem freezes and needs rebooted whenever it loses connectivity with satellite for a significant timeframe (happens often in the Eastern seaboard due to summer storms). Modem has issues with DNS/DHCP protocol often and will freeze if it loses its upstream provider connection.

Service was quoted to me from the sales person to be able to manage multiple devices/computers in my home yet during troubleshooting with customer support they indicated that they have no training or ability to assist with multiple devices and that the modem is \"intended for a single device\" setup... ie not in touch with the reality of a modern household.

By far the worst internet service imaginable. As a military member I have experienced old outdated and horrible service onboard ships in the middle of the planet; internet in lovely locations like afghanistan and iraq and yet the Exede service is even more pathetic than these service offerings.

To top it off try to disconnect and you get smacked with a $300 early termination fee and the threat of another $300 if you do not ship their equipment back to them...and they do not want the dish back so you are suggested to \"use it as a bird bath\"....

The service is continually going down due to weather, heat, rain, cloud cover, birds flying over, too many insects in the air and heavens knows what else. They also consume your data cap during the month (heartbeat and connectivity maintenance counts against your usage)... the usage meter is near worthless and often sticks... the modem requires consistent rebooting due to DNS/DHCP and hanging issues post outage/reconnection ....

None of which is covered in their \"service contract\"... Their idea of troubleshooting sounds something like grandma in the middle of the Arizona desert from her single-wide suggesting how \"she doesn\'t have any issues so sonny I\'m not sure why you do...\"

If exede calls hang up... these folks have no idea how to provide service or internet to a modern household with multiple computers.


Good Service

May 09, 2013 by Lee Tipton

Don't get me wrong - there have been hiccups - but without exception - Viasat/Excede/Wildblue have worked with me on every issue I have had. I had a problem connecting with an old AT&T email account I have and they stayed with me until I got it to work. There has never been a time when I did a speed test that Excede has not beat Comcast's speed - hands down. I know what Comcast/Xfinity promises - but they NEVER DELIVER. I am not a tech, but I was able to connect a $40 wireless NetGear router to my modem and get it to work. This service is worth moving to - even in the city!!! ~~Good luck, Lee Tipton


Very happy

May 07, 2013 by M.S.

I have had Exede Satellite internet now for 4 months, and I have been exceptionally happy with it. In general, I run two web sites and use it for general home computer work, I do not game with it so I really can't say much for that. Otherwise there is to this point, nothing that I have been unable to do with this internet connection. In the past we have had air card and mobile phone internet connections. All of which produced poor service, slow download, upload and inability to properly run my web pages and keep up sending pics in emails. With Exede Internet it takes just moments to update my web sites and seconds to attach pics or send video via email. I had heard mixed reviews in the past about satellite internet services, everything from slow speed to inability to use it during bad weather or cloudy conditions. Let me tell you I have had lightning fast internet even in down poor rain storms this spring. The only time I have experienced an outage was this past winter in an ice storm, my dish was covered in over an inch of ice, no surprise that it didn't work then, but it melted quickly and within an hour or so we were back up and running. Another thing that is helpful, is that Exede has online usage monitoring so that I can watch my usage, they also have late night free usage which is great and allows me to download and upload large files without touching my monthly usage amount. So the long and short is that I have had the best service , fastest speed and consistent availability which has far surpassed all other options available in my rural area, in Missouri. Thanks so much Exede for producing an exceptional service!


Got Exede, like it so far

May 07, 2013 by Johnny

I got Exede last month and I like it so far. It is a lot faster than what I had before (slow DSL which was all that was available).

I am taking off one star because of the high ping times but every satellite service is going to have that so I don't care too much.


1.3 5.0 1128 1128 The installer was over 2 hours late to start with. The service only worked for 1 day. After that we could never get on the internet. We called several times to try to get a tech Exede broadband internet
Page:
«111112113