Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

$1000 per month?

Dec 11, 2018 by HoustonBeerMan
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $1000/mo • 
Zip Code: 83001 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Like to watch movies on Amazon Prime, Netflix, etc. Kids like on-line gaming? Too bad. For 70 bucks a month you get 20 gig, which lasts about five days. No such thing about unlimited unless you enjoyed the resolution on 1980 Atari. 25 mgps? No, when you factor in lag time. Slower than a modem. Have to buy 3 gig a couple if times a day for 9 but is a pop over and above the $70/mo charge. It's the last resort if you're desperate.


Be warned about this company

Sep 10, 2018 by Marcia
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 77. • 
Zip Code: 99114 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I used HughesNet over three years, even paying a vacation fee while we built a home and wasn't using their internet so I could stay in my contract. Then when we started up, they changed me from Gen4 to Gen5 without explaining that I was signing up for a new contract. Service was suppose to be faster which it wasn't, pure gimmick. Upload especially was awful. Choose another internet provider where you'll be served better. I'm glad I'm out if their unethical company.


Stay Away from Hughesnet

Aug 04, 2018 by David Jolly
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Approx 100 • 
Zip Code: 98580 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Hughesnet is not by any means the worst corporate villain out there, and their products will not kill you like cigarettes, known and deadly automotive defects and medical devices with documented (and lethal) side effects, to name a few, but if you have any other alternative for internet service then by all means buy that rather than getting Hughesnet Gen 5 internet satellite.

Like their dishonest, disreputable and more deadly corporate cousins, Hughesnet places profit and share price ahead of morality, honest and simple human decency, although as indicated their satellite internet will not kill you (unless you kill yourself because Netflix streaming is so unwatchable that you throw yourself off of a cliff).

The basic fact that potential customers need to realize is that the advertised speeds do not match the quality of what you realize on your TV. Not even close – you might get a speed test result of 25 MBPS on testmynet.com, but the quality of the viewing is as the Netflix speed test indicates, which is consistently around 0.5 MBPS. And there is nothing they can do apparently to fix that. It must have to do with the way satellite internet works at this point in time.
Cover up is then the name of the game here when you discover that the service does not work for streaming as they advertise, and nothing they do can fix the problem, as happened to me and many others judging by the very poor reviews Never admit anything is the strategy – deny, deny, deny.

So what that I was able to achieve decent internet streaming when I finally managed to get DSL service installed so far away from the DSL node that only 2 MBPS was possible? So what that the Netflix speed test showed 0.5 MBPS with Hughesnet when theirs showed 21 and the picture was so scrambled that I didn’t know if I was watching Star Wars or 60 Minutes other than for the sound? So what that an experienced LG TV tech who came out and checked out the TV explained that in his experience you could just not use satellite internet for streaming?

All of that was just fluff and not our problem type stuff when I finally cancelled Hughesnet. And by God were they ever going to stick it to me with a $300 early cancellation fee and a $600 early equipment return fee because this was all as advertised and above board, and strictly, somehow, my problem.

Except that it is not, and it seems that continuous real time streaming is simply not possible with current satellite technology. And, given the number of 1 star reviews I have read that say exactly the same thing in different review forums, they have to know this and simply don’t care. If they can sell the service with glib promos and slick sales pitches they will, and when a customer says enough is enough Hughesnet will take as much as they possibly can monetarily to pad their bottom line and try to make it your problem.

I owned my own business (I’m a veterinarian) for many years and we almost always tried to make it right when people were unhappy, even when we had clearly practiced very good medicine and surgery. Simply to help, because that was the right thing to do. Unfortunately, many businesses, and especially large corporations, do not follow this moral compass. Because quarterly profit is all that counts, fair play and basic honesty be damned.

If you do have to get satellite internet because there are no other options, and want to watch movies, it is possible to download Netflix and Amazon movies with either an app or a third party program to your Mac or PC, and then use screen sharing if your computer and TV support that. That is not ideal, but at least you get a watchable TV program or movie on your nice big Smart TV.

It would be really uplifting if for once a corporation like Hughesnet looked at all of this negative stuff and the unhappiness it causes, came clean, and apologized without being forced to by some sort of glaring media exposure. Based on their responses to my Better Business Bureau complaint, that is not going to happen with Hughesnet. But if I can save even one other person the aggravation of having to deal with them, then to inform good people to stay away will at least have been worth it.


Voip service

Mar 28, 2018 by Stephen Faulkner
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 86326 

Upgraded to Gen 5 which is reasonable.Added Hughes Voip which is so slow to carry on a conversation. Cancelled less than 1 month into service and billed $230 for cancellation - not outlined by representative and different than their policy on their satellite service. Beware!


This is a bad internet service

Jan 28, 2018 by Tina Fingerp
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: I would not recommend this to anyone • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: I pay 70 dollar month and the dated don't last • 
Zip Code: 38456 

When my contract is up I will never get again they won't you to pay a lot for internet and their dated don't last bad service.


Horrible service

Jan 04, 2018 by Anita haag
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $75 • 
Zip Code: 28762 

We upgraded to the Gen 5 after our two year contract was over. We asked on the phone and asked the service technician who came to install the modem if it affected our contract. We were told NO from both. Now five month of crappy service later, we are told we automatically have another two year contract by upgrading. And, get this, because we didn’t complain enough about the slow speed and breaks in service, our wanting to discontinue service isn’t good enough. We owe $350 to cancel and 19 months of unused service! We went with a local company and have an download speed over 8 and under 1 with Hughesnet.


No Service, Run out if data to fast?

Dec 29, 2017 by Evea Rucker
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 72401 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Tech was helpful but going on 3 days of no service and still haven't fixed it. I have bills and invoices to pay. Also said I went through my data. I have only 2 devices tv and roku. It's bull! Getting ready to switch. I don't care to pay early termination. It's ridiculous folks save yourselves from this crappy company.no wonder they charge so much bc they know you will cancel soon


Angry

Dec 27, 2017 by Sherry
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $90 • 
Zip Code: 99101 • 
Twitter Username (optional): Swissvalleygal • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

DO NOT TAKE THIS SERVICE. I had Gen 4 since 2009. It was OK for years, then began getting slower and more interrupted. I switched to Gen 5 because Hughesnet told me faster speeds, more download and better connection. WRONG. I have a business that depends on my internet connection and now I am at a standstill. Cannot use my Adobe Creative Suite subscription applications, waiting for every URL to load, some pages load text NOT the page, APPLE MAIL quit working, cannot do backend WordPress work, and the list goes on. Since switching over 7 hours of useless talking to the support people who are completely uninformed about the situation with this satellite. I am disgusted! I have to drive to town to do most of my work on public connections. This is fraud, they are advertising this service STILLL, knowing that it is not working in many areas. They have admitted that they wont have a working service for at least 4-6 months, (IF!) I want a class action lawsuit against this company. To think I had to sign a contract after all these years of being their customer. I am madly trying to find alternate service, but my business is suffering. DO NOT BUY THIS SERVICE!


What you read is what you get

Dec 04, 2017 by Richard A Conner
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NOT if you want to keep friends • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 60 • 
Zip Code: 46151 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Yep, what you read here is correct, or maybe even better than what you will get. I have Hughes via DishNet last 5 years, in the middle of the day, sometimes, 5MPS. evenings, weekends, holidays??? dial up. Lots of times during those times we turn off the wifi and use our 4G phone to get a decent internet speed. Sad but true. Living rural they basically rape you knowing they are only game in town. They been trying to peddle the GEN5 to me that requires a new 2 year contract BUT WAIT, AT&T has just offered a service I can get! After 20 years! If satellite is the ONLY thing you can get, take it, its better than dial up but it ain't cheap. 10 gig with 10 MPS speed (joke) is 65$. If its raining...snowing...weekend..evening..holiday..your out. It's so slow we missed the total eclipse by 2 days getting our new off of the net.


Adding data (Beware)

Dec 01, 2017 by Rhonda Venner
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 yr. • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 90.00 • 
Zip Code: 54562 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I am very devastated the way their purchasing extra data system works....I was on the phone yesterday asking how we could have used up our data so soon....having 14 days to go. It was explained to me, Microsoft updates and after the updates we had to re-install Fish games. We are a family of 3 disabled adults, and this is pretty much our only entertainment. So... I asked about purchasing more data. I chose the 25 gigs for 75.00. I was brought to the site to purchase and I purchased the 75.00 package. The next morning I signed on and still got the warning that we were close to the end of our package. I went into my checking account and did not see a payment to Hugh's net. I went back in and tried the purchasing the extra data again thinking I did something wrong. I checked my data again and nothing changed. I called again today. I was told that the extra data I purchased would go on my next bill which I was not told the day before, and I was under the assumption it would come out of my checking same day.....so now I have 2 separate orders of 25 gig for 75.00....making my purchase 150.00 to be added to my bill. We are all disabled here and are on a strict budget here and Hughsnet is the only carrier we can get where we live. I can not afford to pay the amount that is going to be on my account...I was told they can not delete one of those orders...This is truly unfair......This is not our Fault...it should have been explained better the day before...We are stuck in a dead zone and are at the mercy of this most unfair company. DSL (which I am looking into) would be a walk in the park compared to the rotten service we get...Please don't get caught up in this BS company....I feel we have been taken advantage of...Hughsnet You Suck!!! Too bad we have to give aleast 1 star...


1.1 5.0 410 410 Like to watch movies on Amazon Prime, Netflix, etc. Kids like on-line gaming? Too bad. For 70 bucks a month you get 20 gig, which lasts about five days. No such thing about unlimit Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»