Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

WORST WIFI EVER!!!

Apr 17, 2019 by Vicky With
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $69.99 • 
Zip Code: 87508 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Wifi is constantly dropping off and is the slowest I've ever had in my 63 years. Sometimes it won't even load an internet site/page. Forget streaming anything. Customer service reps act like they could care less. After 6 months the system just stopped working. It was 3 days before a repair person could get there to reset it. Although he said he could have been here in an hour. There's a 2 year contract, with a $250 cancellation fee. Which is looking better and better every day.


Info you can use!

Mar 26, 2019 by Susan Buettner
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $74.15 • 
Zip Code: 78659 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I have only been a Hughesnet customer since Feb.13, 2019 and I want to get as far away from this company as I can so I have filed complaints online with the following agencies and individuals.

First I filed an online complaint with the Texas Attorney General's office. Ken Paxton's office says they cannot address individual complaints but they do watch for trends and that may trigger some action on their part, so contact your state's AG.

Next, I sent a copy of the AG's complaint to the office of my State Representative. I am in contact with his local assistant who is working with me to find every agency we can who may be able to help.

3rd, I filed an online complaint with my Congressman.

4th, I filed an online complaint with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC). They have a consumer protection division that handles cases like this.

Last, I filed an online complaint with the BBB and since I didn't have the right address for the company, they sent it along to:

BBB of Greater Maryland
502 South Sharp Street, Suite 1200
Baltimore, MD 21201-2445

Please pass on this information.


Mar 22, 2019 by Tony
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!!? • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 90.00 • 
Zip Code: 30019 

Customer service not good.speed very bad and freezes up all the time . Will not work in bad weather.


Horrible

Mar 08, 2019 by Jess
How Long Have You
used This Service?: I canceled it • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 59.99 • 
Zip Code: 07470 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The installation of the internet was just not explained prior to the service at my home. He couldn’t install it because of the shape of my roof. He needed my landlords permission to put a metal rod in the ground or a specific piece with the dish on my roof. Also, his van was very run down looking and didn’t have the company’s name on it. It didn’t seem to be very professional. In addition to that I can shed with the 1877 number and it will take a week to get the money back


Horrible

Jan 08, 2019 by Peter Jarosak
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 15 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: I would not reccomend to an enemy!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60.00 • 
Zip Code: 85632 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

If I could give it a negative number I would. Worst service and fine print in the Industry. Horrible company to deal with and their sales people are snake oil sales people.


Rediculous Scam

Dec 27, 2018 by Tom Major
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Several months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 81.00 • 
Zip Code: 41039 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Terrible service. Was promised speed of 25 mbps and unlimited GBs. Oops my bad I guess I missed the fine print. Data never lasts more than 5 days whether I use it or not. Speed drops to.25 mbps or less for 3/4 of a month. I was told by the installer it would never be below 10 mbps. I can't watch fire stick without constant buffering and that is before they drop my speed. I canceled my automatic payment and WILL NOT pay their terminiation fee of 300+. Come and get me.


Would not get

Dec 27, 2018 by Keith Dyer
How Long Have You
used This Service?: About 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 dollares • 
Zip Code: 30512 

Rating -0 wish every day that I had got my internet thought some other company.what a joke hughsnet is it takes about 1 hour to watch a 30 minute show it does so much buffering.


Worst company ive ever dealt with

Dec 05, 2018 by Kevin
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 11951 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Residential 

Absolute worst campany ever, horrible internet,bad customer service, helps themselves to your bank account then wont return it back they try to give you a credit so you have to stay


Low Data Cap

Sep 26, 2018 by Dennis Smith
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 69.95 • 
Zip Code: 95370 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Signed for Hughesnet because there was no other option in this location. After 1 month, the data usage is through the roof. The plan 20GB was quickly consumed in only a few days and no video streaming was done. It is clear that the offered plans don't provide a high enough cap, especially in this age of cord cutting and cloud based computing. Purchasing 10GB tokens quickly runs the monthly cost up to something much higher than competitive plans. A complaint has been filed with the FCC against Hughes. Throttling data rates are typically well below 1Mbit/sec, which is only usable for checking emails and some web access.


Terrible and regrettable

Sep 08, 2018 by John Lefkowski
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 60 • 
Zip Code: 85283 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

If I could leave no stars I would. This is hands down the worst internet I’ve ever had. They never told us about the hard limit data cap. The “faster” 10 gigs got used in a day. I hated every second of it. Couldn’t stream Netflix or movies on our Apple TV without it buffering every 5 minutes. I never had my phone connected to the internet because it just slowed everything down and my phone plan data was faster than Hughes net. We had to purchase all our equipment and we can’t even get a refund on it. I told them like hell I was paying the early termination fee for this joke of a thing they call “internet”. Would rather go without internet than keep Hughes net.
This was a terrible mistake and extremely regrettable. And the fact their installation fee is 200 dollars to mount a shitty satellite to my house and drill a hole through the wall was a huge mistake. I wish I knew where to take the antenna so I could throw it at their office.


1.2 5.0 58 58 Wifi is constantly dropping off and is the slowest I've ever had in my 63 years. Sometimes it won't even load an internet site/page. Forget streaming anything. Customer service rep Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
123»