Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

cancellation

Sep 26, 2020 by Tammy Kahrs
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Over 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 150-450 • 
Zip Code: 49010 

if i could give a 0 star i would, i had to get this service because of my location, it is in a dead zone so i had no choice. I ended up paying 450 a month at one time because of kids being home and me working from home and had to get more "data" so we could function. Chatted with customer service about 3 months ago and asked about cancelling, they said i had to call and i did so. And now we are in Sept and they hadn't cancelled my service, called customer service they stated they didnt see where i called and that i only chatted with customer service, asked for a case number explained that was a few months ago and thats why i am calling. So no help what so ever, i am now ou 450.00. You can't watch netflix at all because of how much "data" it uses and no more than 2 people could be on at one time, especially during work hours because it slows down the internet...as much money as they charge you would thing it would be better service. I cant wait until starlink comes out, then what are you going to do hughesnet?


Horrible Service and Employees

Sep 01, 2020 by Christopher Grubb
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 25 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 90 • 
Zip Code: 233039 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Horrible company! I advised them of working from home and assured me it would work for us. After trying multiple times at different times of days, we called to cancel the service within 30 days. We had only used 3% of our allotted data all month. ur technician assured us they would cancel with no penalties within that time. We had already paid installation fee and first month upfront. They are now stating on top of what we had already paid, we still need to pay $400 cancellation fee. Horrible person we spoke with on the phone. Rude!


Terrible

Apr 17, 2020 by Dustin
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80$ • 
Zip Code: 48622 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I'm mad I had to give them a star at all. The internet is worse than the old dial up it's not even fast enough to stream movies without buffering every minute. Now I'm in contract and cant get out total waste of time and money wouldnt recommend this service to anyone


Lost an hurt

Apr 12, 2020 by Christy A Sadler
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 months N • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 129.oo • 
Zip Code: 36609 

I am going to change my service I cannot watch anyone movies off Netflix, Stars. Hulu. Or any other channel so why am I paying for a service that is NO use to me, watching regular TV, this internet service is terrible not ever again.


Disgusting Company!!!!

Mar 25, 2020 by Debbie Ledbetter
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 Day! • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 49.99 • 
Zip Code: 62458 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO!! 

I called about getting service thru them and told them I needed to work with a VPN Service, no problem they said. The Tech came out and did not even check the system!! I was getting this to work from home due to the virus. Once I went online I could not do my job, called them back and they say oh we don't work well with a VPN network!! This id after they put a hole on my home that is only a year old!!! Called them back and I was on hold for 2 hours, I finally hung up, I will be contacting a attorney!!!!


Worst ISP Since Dial-Up

Mar 25, 2020 by Ben
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not. • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $155 • 
Zip Code: 95959 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

HughesNet "provides," hands down, the worst "internet service" I've experienced since dial-up. Honestly, the reliability of service was better with dial-up. I only rate this service slightly above because the speeds are often better. Note that I said often. Speeds are also often comparable with those of a dial-up connection. (Remember waiting for an image to load, top to bottom, pixel line by pixel line? Yeah, that happens.) And the service often cuts in and out - like really often - like throughout the day, every day - and often drops off for longer period, sometimes hours at a time. If there is a storm in Arizona, we don't have internet access in northern California. Yeah, I'm not joking.
Streaming: When streaming (short) videos, very, very rarely will they play continuously without interruption; movies, never. Periodic pausing to reload is the norm. HD does not exist. Sub-SD is the norm. Sometimes a movie/video will never re-buffer and I'll be forced to give up.
Gaming: Don't even think about it.
I will say that their customer service has been ok. They can't fix the problems, but it's not their fault.
All this, and at what price? It's expensive for a quality service. And this is far from a quality service.
In summary, I would like to convey the severity of the frustration and misery that this service causes me on a daily basis. Alas, we have no cell signal where we live and this is the only ISP option. Some days, I'm really not sure it's worth it. I beg you, please, do not sign up for HughesNet "internet service."


Run AWAY NOW

Mar 22, 2020 by Kent Kingston
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO - NEVER! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 79.00 • 
Zip Code: 841161121 

DO NOT USE THIS WORTHLESS INTERNET SERVICE! This is the worst service I have ever had (if you could call it a service). They throttle your speed down to NOTHING! They claim upfront that you will get 20gig, but then by some magic power, that 20 gig is used up within hours of your billing cycle (even though there is no way, with our previous provider we barely used 15gig per month). They then "claim" that once your initial is used up, your speed will drop slightly - WRONG, they cut you off so badly that you can't even load up Facebook without waiting for 5 minutes and then it times out. Don't bother trying to stream anything or watch a simple Youtube video. You would get faster information if you got in your car, drove to a library and then looked the info up in an encyclopedia and then drove back home - before HugesCRAP would download it for you! Trying to contact anyone with half a brain or with any type of authority to actually look at your problem is worse than pulling teeth. Try to cancel after you sign up? Good luck, they stick you with huge cancellation fees that they somehow forget to disclose when you sign up for this crappy non-service. I disconnected everything from Hugescrap modem for a month - then called and still got told that I used up my allowance of 20g - I asked them how because nothing was connected and they couldn't tell me. I asked what got downloaded or used - they couldn't tell me. They still charged me for the month and I told them to cancel my service - and yes, they then disclosed the unknown $400 cancellation fee!!!!! This company is a RIP OFF and a SCAM! I have reported them to the FCC and hopefully I can help others from getting ripped off by them. IF ANYONE SAYS HUGESNET - RUN AWAY FAST!!!! You should be able to get away from them easily because they are so friggin slow!


The worst service ever.

Feb 25, 2020 by Constantine V Metallinos
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 12 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never Never Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Over $ 100.00 • 
Zip Code: 91390 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

This is a scam, it is the worst service in my life time. The worst company money hungry bastards.
I think is a SCAM when they have not provided the services guarantee or expressed. They were suppose to have had a Supervisor to call and still have not gotten that call, they keep telling me that someone will call within 5 working days, no call yet.The people in India or Manila or somewhere down there have no idea about the problems we are facing here in America with this terrible company HughesNet.
TERRIBLE-TERRIBLE-TERRIBLE.


It's ok for the money

Feb 03, 2020 by Rob
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 68.00 • 
Zip Code: 87575 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

It is a little slow but where I live it is the best option. Some tasks do take extra time but still not too bad


My Worst Business Experience Ever

Jan 30, 2020 by Charles Smith
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 28 Days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never a Friend or Non Friend • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 118.00 Month • 
Zip Code: 17313 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

I was forced into using because of a change of business location and couldn't find a provider. I was told that if I gave notice within 30 days that there would be no penalty, that was not true. I contacted them Saturday December 28th, 2019 by email since their office wasn't open over the weekend. I told them that I was tied up with medical appointments for IVIG treatments Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday during the days of the following week, so I could not get back to them because of their very short office hours. I would try to get back to them later. They are trying to rip me off with a $930.00 Early Cancellation Fee which is absolutely absurd. Not to mention that for the 28 days that I was their customer their service was absolutely a Joke. I thought it would improve but never did. The download and upload speeds were so terrible that a lot of the the information was lost. I know on several occasions I lost complete emails or transmissions of information between my office and long time customers.
Sometimes I would have to download 3 or 4 times for email and it kept saying time out and would jump out of the download. Then I would start again. I lost several customers in only 1 month's time through their service. Also the Phone service was also terrible and all voice information was always on a short not understandable delay, quite annoying. However, the customer service department was just as annoying and very unreasonable and non listening to criticism. What a terrible company to try to work with. I refuse to pay their early cancellation fee of $930, what a joke.
I was ripped off for terrible unreliable service. Beware out there for these type of companies. I am also going to report them to the BBB.


1.1 5.0 81 81 if i could give a 0 star i would, i had to get this service because of my location, it is in a dead zone so i had no choice. I ended up paying 450 a month at one time because of ki Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
123»