Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

The worst service ever.

Feb 25, 2020 by Constantine V Metallinos
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 12 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never Never Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Over $ 100.00 • 
Zip Code: 91390 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

This is a scam, it is the worst service in my life time. The worst company money hungry bastards.
I think is a SCAM when they have not provided the services guarantee or expressed. They were suppose to have had a Supervisor to call and still have not gotten that call, they keep telling me that someone will call within 5 working days, no call yet.The people in India or Manila or somewhere down there have no idea about the problems we are facing here in America with this terrible company HughesNet.
TERRIBLE-TERRIBLE-TERRIBLE.


It's ok for the money

Feb 03, 2020 by Rob
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 68.00 • 
Zip Code: 87575 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

It is a little slow but where I live it is the best option. Some tasks do take extra time but still not too bad


My Worst Business Experience Ever

Jan 30, 2020 by Charles Smith
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 28 Days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never a Friend or Non Friend • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 118.00 Month • 
Zip Code: 17313 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

I was forced into using because of a change of business location and couldn't find a provider. I was told that if I gave notice within 30 days that there would be no penalty, that was not true. I contacted them Saturday December 28th, 2019 by email since their office wasn't open over the weekend. I told them that I was tied up with medical appointments for IVIG treatments Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday during the days of the following week, so I could not get back to them because of their very short office hours. I would try to get back to them later. They are trying to rip me off with a $930.00 Early Cancellation Fee which is absolutely absurd. Not to mention that for the 28 days that I was their customer their service was absolutely a Joke. I thought it would improve but never did. The download and upload speeds were so terrible that a lot of the the information was lost. I know on several occasions I lost complete emails or transmissions of information between my office and long time customers.
Sometimes I would have to download 3 or 4 times for email and it kept saying time out and would jump out of the download. Then I would start again. I lost several customers in only 1 month's time through their service. Also the Phone service was also terrible and all voice information was always on a short not understandable delay, quite annoying. However, the customer service department was just as annoying and very unreasonable and non listening to criticism. What a terrible company to try to work with. I refuse to pay their early cancellation fee of $930, what a joke.
I was ripped off for terrible unreliable service. Beware out there for these type of companies. I am also going to report them to the BBB.


Jan 29, 2020 by JOHN Brooks
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Unknown • 
Zip Code: 71118 • 
Twitter Username (optional): N/a • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I have been with you for 3 years or more and haven't really had a complaint until now. I tried to contact you by phone but wasn't able to get to talk to a real person. I was able to talk to someone about new accounts but he wasn't able to help with up grades. Phone numbers for that problem couldn't be reached. I needed someone to fixed router because it is running to slow for Dish on Demand and Home Computer to work at same time. Do I need to look for another provider? You can contact me at 318-687-4589, 318-469-1386, 318-686-8934.


RIP Off

Jan 26, 2020 by CHARLES DAVIS
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2.5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 121.00 • 
Zip Code: 44065 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I called starting day two after signing up. 3 weeks late in installation. Then no service for 30 days as I was not on correct beam. Still charged me. Deceptive sales tactics. Never explained how plan really works. If you use to much you haveto keep buying more. I called 25 times in 2.5 months. Certainly not worth my time. I filed FCC complaint but still had to pay a fee to early terminate. They told me they would take the money from my bank as I was on auto pay they did not and put me in collections. You decide


HORRIBLE COMPANY

Jan 23, 2020 by Adria Bess
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 45160 

Worst company ever. Installers are awful and so is the pricing and service. And God forbid you have a problem. Over an hours every time I had to call. And don't try to cancel - take pictures or screen shots of everything like I did - only way you can prove their records are wrong. They don't keep accurate usage records!!!


Horrible. Run Run Run. Rip off

Jan 18, 2020 by Aaron martin
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: I would not nor recommend it to my worst enemy • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 74.00 • 
Zip Code: 28144 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

This system sucked from day one. On the phone for hrs. Just to find out it does not work for every one. So out comes the I am sorry it will cost you 400.00 to cancel. their are no word to describe my anger with this (company) if any one can call it a company.


Super Annoyed Orting Wa

Jan 16, 2020 by George Smith
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Less then a month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 100.00 • 
Zip Code: 98360 

Never signed two year contract for crappy service. My TV buffers. I get drop calls. But I cancel bc it 400 dollar cancellation fee and additional cost until the 3rd month. They use my card on file to automatically set my payment each month out my permission. Mid Eastern people for customers service. Do you can’t understand them to top it off they can’t help you.


Horrible

Jan 09, 2020 by Justin Thompson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 - 4 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 50 • 
Zip Code: 28678 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

If I could I would drop this "service" like a hot potato. Been trying to watch youtube vid and the screen sits and looks at me. Don't waste your hard earned money!


AVOID HUGHESNET - WORSE THAN DSL

Jan 07, 2020 by John Young
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $70 per month • 
Zip Code: 22207 

I strongly recommend you avoid HughesNet satellite internet service. Despite their advertising and salesman claims - It is no better than DSL, and sometimes it is not even as good as DSL. We have a home that does not have fiber access, and we used DSL service for several years. We tried HughesNet – the salesperson promised it would be “way better” than DSL. We used HughesNet for two years – unhappily. Movies constantly stopped for buffering on Netflix. Email and internet on my computer was slow – frequently slower than our previous DSL. I frequently used my phone with a couple of bars as a hot spot for email and internet search – this was faster than the HughesNet internet service. HughesNet is worthless unless you are desperate and have no other choice.


1.2 5.0 74 74 This is a scam, it is the worst service in my life time. The worst company money hungry bastards. I think is a SCAM when they have not provided the services guarantee or expresse Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
123»