Exede Review

Last updated Saturday September 23rd, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Even if you have no other choice don't get it

Jun 24, 2017 by Lonnie English
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 22 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 62946 

I had the service for 22 and 1/2 months been waiting to cancel for the last year. It's been a horrible experience for 12 GB I was only getting I was paying $80 speeds were subpar even on the priority data. Once you get past your priority data you can pretty much guarantee you're not going to be doing anything on the internet. The icing on the cake was my two year contract would be up on August 3rd so I cancelled early on June 24th having to pay the 2 months of ETF which I was fine with but they immediately cut off your internet and they don't give you a credit for any of the remaining billing cycle that you've already paid for good riddance horrible company horrible customer service it took me 15 minutes to get somebody on the phone and it was somebody that could not speak English all he kept saying was Mr. Is that okay Mr. Yes Mr.


Jun 22, 2017 by Bruce Harshman
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 20 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not even to an enemy • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 150 • 
Zip Code: 91011 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Phone and internet 

Somehow data usage is gone in two weeks and I was originally told the lesser data plan would be plenty. No supervisors available to talk to at anytime. And will now be immediately panelized out of my account if I try to cancel. I even had to out gas in the installers car so he could get home.


Not Much of a Deal

Jun 22, 2017 by S. Patrick
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 Year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $90+ • 
Zip Code: 24151 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Moved to a rural area where satellite is the only option, and being on a limited budget, we went with Exede since they offered the liberty hours after midnight. The rep assured us it would be fine for online gaming (console-based multiplayer) during primetime hours. This turned out not to be the case, and the speed and connectivity only got worse from there. After spending most of last week entirely without service (except for when it would rain, which is the opposite of how this is supposed to work, right?), we contacted the office to have someone come look at our dish and modem. He was here right on time and did his best. I mentioned the rep had told us last year that Exede would be sending up a new satellite last year (we currently are on the same beam as half the rest of the east coast US), but I'd seen online that this had been postponed (it wasn't mentioned on Exede's website; in fact, nothing pertaining to outages or issues ever is). The rep said they HAD put up a new satellite, but that Exede was on strike (?????) and nothing had been done about switching to it yet, which I found odd. He did his diagnostics and informed me our connection was just fine. It worked well enough once he'd rebooted everything, but by that night was back to the new "normal" - slow, inconsistent, and we couldn't even use wi-fi calling. Unfortunately, we still have too much time left on our two-year contract to back out now and get something better.


We've had no financial shenanigans or strange data usage mix-ups, and have dealt directly with our provider office and not Exede customer service. Local satellite representative and his employees are fine...the service itself, not so much.


Near Perfect

Jun 19, 2017 by Dave Bush
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 yrs. • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 82.00 • 
Zip Code: 75964 • 
Twitter Username (optional): N/a • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I started w/Wildblue about 10 yrs. ago. the first few years was kind of a bumpy ride. I heard that a new satellite was to up and it was going to much faster. So I waited a year. went w/Exide which bought out Wildblue. I can't say that I haven't had a few problems, only minor ones. They have been taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. I have not had a problem w/customer support or on-site repairs...
happy with the service...


Changed billing policy without notifying me

Jun 17, 2017 by Frederick
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 151.00 • 
Zip Code: 87506 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

I used Exede (ViaSat) statellite internet for a couple of years. When I found a more reliable and less expense company I switched over, however put my Exede account into hibernate mode. I was told by Exede that this hibernate mode would cost me $10 month and would stay that way until I notified them to turn it back on. I used no data with Exede (0 bytes) for one year. Today I found out that Exede has been charging my credit card for $150 / month for a year. I am now arguing with them for a refund. They should have let me know when they were going to change my charges frm $9.99 / month to $150.00 per month ! No way to turn off your account from their website, no way to cancel payments to your credit card. I will pursue them for fraud unless this is resolved ASAP.


Worst Ever SCAM AVOID

Jun 16, 2017 by Michael
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 169 • 
Zip Code: 92673 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes - includes telephone 

Worst ever! Not as advertised. This company sold me 25mb internet and it was 3 down, 0.25up on its best day ever - when it worked at all. Satellite lag is so bad you can expect 5-10 dropped calls in a 10 minute phone call. Video meetings?? Absolutely no way. Customer support? Two guys in a shed somewhere that are dodging inbound calls at all costs. They slap you with a 2yr contract and make you pay thru the nose to get out. Then they make you take the dish off the roof yourself and send it back, or they bill you for that additional. They've already kept my money - I'm using their dish as a doggie surfboard. This company is the worst! Avoid! Total scam!


Internet Bandits

Jun 16, 2017 by Eric the victim
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Nevet • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $76.00 • 
Zip Code: 98387 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Never have I been so dissatisfied with a service provider. They limit the service more than my cell phone provider, which is unlimited. If I could run my computer off of my cell phone I would. You watch one movie and your data usage is up for the month. I called to complain and all they did was try and sell me a more expensive package with very little data increase. Who do these people think they are? Their customer service is ridiculous. If you are ever recommended to Exede, run away as fast as you can. This company should be put out of business.


HORRIBLE

Jun 14, 2017 by Jessica
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Less than a year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO WAY • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $72.00 • 
Zip Code: 36526 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

If I could give this company less than a 1 star I would! I had the worst service with them I ended up canceling my service and paying the early termination fees. It was that bad! I mean slowing my internet to 1 - 5 mbps? Ridiculous. Then they received my equipment 1 day too late and charged me over $300!! Then they said it will take 7-14 business days to receive my refund. Its ludicrous. Absolute ludicrous. I would have had the equipment back to them the day I canceled, but they had to have part of the satellite back (that was on my roof), so I had to find a ladder and someone to get it down. Me being a single mom of 3 children with a full time job, that was hard to do. Once I was finally able to get it down it was shipped before the 30 days were up and they received 1 day after the 30 days. THEN when I called to see about the refund, they told me it would take 7-14 days to receive my refund. I mean they can take it out in a day but it takes 7 - 14 to get it back?!?!?!? I will ALWAYS give this company a bad review and will spread it around like wildfire.


Jun 13, 2017 by James Acquard
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Too Mandy years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 110.00 • 
Zip Code: 14139 

The only Liberty I see is that they have the liberty to take my money every month for a slow and pretty much useless system! I can't even update an app when on Liberty! I'm not sure what the problem is but I'm sure they don't really care! They just want the money!!!!


Horrible company

Jun 12, 2017 by Susan
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way. Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $69 • 
Zip Code: 33813 

New to the area I took my TV service advice and went here for internet. Horrible connectivity. Then, when I cancel I am told I must go on my roof to retrieve their part or pay $95 to them. They have an out for wverything! Don't use this company! They don't care about you at all


1.3 5.0 1128 1128 The installer was over 2 hours late to start with. The service only worked for 1 day. After that we could never get on the internet. We called several times to try to get a tech Exede broadband internet