Exede Review

Last updated Thursday June 21st, 2018

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Avoid Exede At All Costs!

Jan 01, 2018 by Sheila
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely Not! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $65 • 
Zip Code: 47374 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Living in a rural area, this was the only option available to get rid of dialup. Hopefully that is changing soon as other companies expand their high-speed service.

Exede has a terrible customer service department. Outages in customer service are common. If you watch more than one television show online, it will slow your speeds down for the entire month (unless you use their free data period from Midnight to 5 a.m.).

I recently moved where I could get real high-speed Internet for $20 a month cheaper and no slowing down of my speed due to data limits. The difference is amazing. I am so excited to be away from Exede.

When leaving the service, even though I was not leaving my contract early, they wanted to charge me $300 if I didn't return their equipment--which included part of the satellite dish on the roof. Not an easy thing for a woman in her 70‘s with a disabled family member who cannot walk. I notified my bank in advance that I do not authorize any additional charges from Exede on my debit card.

Please beware of dealing with this company. With the advance of unlimited data plans from cell phone carriers and companies like Fromtier expanding their rural service as a result of s grant from the federal government, look for any other option out there.


Dec 28, 2017 by Linda Rauen
How Long Have You
used This Service?: To long • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60.00 • 
Zip Code: 52039-9628 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NO 

I would not recommend this internet to anyone.I paid my bill on time every month.I was in customer service for 28 years and if I treated anyone like they treated me I would be fired on the spot!Our company strived to help the customer in any way.I sent the items back like they said in the box they provided with a UPS label.When I hadn't gotten my refund for $315.00 for there merchandise I called them.They said they never got it.I have the tracking number and they still had blame excuses.I keep my cool pretty easy but this was over the top!I hope the CEO reads this.They not only screwed me out of the money they also screwed my husband who is a disabled veteran!!!Shame on you EXEDE!!!!BBB here I come!!!!


Not impressed

Dec 28, 2017 by Stephanie
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 mo • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 95.00 • 
Zip Code: 72032 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Never has good connection. Pricey. Customer service is nice. Once contract up I'm outta there unless it gets much better


Not living up to promises

Dec 27, 2017 by Fred Lozen
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $100. (with phone service) • 
Zip Code: 81252 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

When I established this service, I was informed that when I had used my available high speed data, I would still be given service that would not be slower than 2 meg/sec.
Now suddenly I am getting speeds as slow as dial up, and Excede customer service claims that no such guarantees were ever made.
Service this slow is basically useless, and I would NEVER have accepted it is they had been truthful in the first place. FJ Lozen


Exede

Dec 19, 2017 by Tyla
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 50 • 
Zip Code: 33801 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

The worst internet service ever. I was paying 50$ a month for 12 speed. Seriously? I could not load netflix or watch on demand shows. Videos on my phone buffered every time. Would not recommend to anyone.


Lettie is Rude and Very Unprofessional

Dec 18, 2017 by Leslie Battle
How Long Have You
used This Service?: N/A • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: N/A • 
Zip Code: 19038 

This was the worst customer service experience that I've ever encountered. I simply called to inquire/ compare availability of services in my area since my contract with my current provider is fulfilled. The customer service representative, supposedly named Lettie was exceptionally rude and unprofessional.When I asked her for her named, she asked "why".??? She was very fixated on "if you qualify" . When I expressed that I felt the rates were high in comparison to my current provider, she said" well if you can get Verizon, more power to you"... In my experience, When you experience poor customer service during an intial inquiry, it's indicative of the issues ahead as a customer. When I expressed my opinion about her rudeness she said she had to go and hung up on me. Thanks for the heads up to stay away from this company, Lettie !!!!


Horrible

Dec 17, 2017 by Regina
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 7days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: With direct bundle • 
Zip Code: 98387 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

All i can say is horrible, customer service is sucked, very complicated, very slow , I regret having this service.


DON’T DO IT!!!

Dec 16, 2017 by Linda Amelung
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 50.00 • 
Zip Code: 65255 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Total scam! Canceled service after two year contract expired. Diligently followed instructions; mailed equipment back in box they provided. Two months later, get an email strati get they are charging me $161.41. Contact their customer service. Told by two reps that I didn’t return the modem. Ask to speak to a supervisor. Supervisor says he has to go with the word of the warehouse. Call the next day, employee states the modem was returned, but it was damaged. I explain that was not possible since I returned a working modem in the box they provided. Rep said she would put it in as an appeal; would take 5 business days to resolve. That same day, I get another email stating that they were unable to contact me and were charging my account (already been done). Called today, taked to another supervisor, with extremely poor customer service skills. Now we are back to it was missing OR damaged. Company needs to be reported to BBB.


Dec 16, 2017 by Nancy
How Long Have You
used This Service?: About a month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 95687 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Do not sign up for their service! This is the worst internet ever! The only reason why we went with them is because directv had sent us over to them since att was not available in our area for internet so we went with what they suggested. Worst mistake in the world! We were never able to watch our on demand shows without it buffering every 10 seconds, and even watching videos on our iPads were not working. Every once in a while it would be ok only after we restarted our modem. But we should not have to do that every time! Apparently after speaking to one of their customer service people they had us go to a webpage go check out speeds but even that wouldn’t load because our speeds were so horrible. Doesn’t that not sound right? He was making me use my horrible internet service through THEM to check the speeds. Nothing would even load, saying there was no internet connection. But yet on his end he was showing great connection....??? What great connection was he talking about, that was total BS! Also, another person has told us that it was because we had too many smart TVs that their service was not strong enough or compatible to run correctly. Well, if we were informed about that from the start we wouldn’t have this issue. We would’ve never even started this horrible service to begin with! Now we are stuck with paying a ridiculous amount of $345 to cancel our service. If they were a good company they would have like a 30-45 day policy to cancel if anyone is unhappy with their service. But instead it’s our fault for their horrible service so we must pay the fee. HORRIBLE!!!! I wish I would’ve read the reviews first.


Dec 15, 2017 by Kelly Michelle Albers
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 140 • 
Zip Code: 96064 

Very poor customer service. Slow !!


1.3 5.0 1213 1213 I have called customer serve to ask why my internet service is so slow. They tell me to run a speedtest and then they say it is within the limit. NOT!!! I have a Verizon jet-pac Exede broadband internet