Exede Review

Last updated Wednesday June 26th, 2019

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

May 05, 2018 by Gary McMullen
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $110 • 
Zip Code: 19940 

Avoid if at all possible.Not worth the cost or aggravation. Near impossible to contact a human rep to resolve a problem, they don't want to help you.they will suspend service without contacting you to resolve the issue, yet you have no way to contact t them directly.Throttled service will seem like dialup.Forget streaming, constant buffering, then the data usage is exceeded throttling the download.Have to give them 1 star, review won't let you give 0 stars.


Customer service

May 02, 2018 by Mary Brown
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60.64 • 
Zip Code: 29689 

Having a problem with the internet connection was given the run around. Don't care about helping the customers.Just make the months ago payment and leave us along.


Horrible customer service and internet

May 02, 2018 by Kimberly
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 29 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 62023 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Direct tv recommended this internet therefore I assumed it would work in my area and with my direct tv. I am only offered the slowest service, they claim they have no other options. I can’t watch on demand and Videos on my phone, tv etc take forever to load and are blurry. They do not offer a 30 day grace period-you hate their service they trick you into staying in it for 2 years or paying hundreds of dollars to get out. $70 a month for the worst intereng I’ve had-don’t go with them


did not tell all

May 02, 2018 by P Roberts
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No no no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 106.95 • 
Zip Code: 39897 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

When I talked to the installer, told them I needed something that would stream 2 TV's all the time. They told me this would work. It says unlimited data, but the did not tell me that when you reach 150 gb you are thrown to the end of the line. You can't watch s_hit. It's on and off and to pay that much for something you can't use is bull I am very very disappointed that they lied to me.


Get everything in writing before you say "Yes"

Apr 30, 2018 by Frank Ashford
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2.5 mo. • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not likely • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $110 • 
Zip Code: 70777 

A neighbor has had Exede for over a year and recommended their service. So we signed up when Viasat advertised new "unlimited" availability in our area. We had HughesNet service for over twelve years, so there were no surprises with speed (always much slower than advertised; it's the nature of satellite internet). But we had to do downloads in their Bonus Hours (wee hours of the night) to avoid being throttled when going over the limit.
Problem is that I believed the Viasat agent when he voluntarily said he'd give me an extra $20/mo discount for 3 months. I take comprehensive notes when dealing on the telephone, and I have agents repeat the details more than once. Then I read those details back to them, restating in different words as well, to be sure that we are both clear. I did not misunderstand; he *lied repeatedly*. (I also believed the warning which said the conversation was being recorded "for training purposes".)
When I read our first bill on the Viasat website on the billing date, I immediately caught the overcharge. So I contacted Viasat about the discrepancy and was told that only the discount stated on the website was allowed. I asked that they review the recording of the conversation; from the double-talk response it became obvious that there was no such recording. I would have signed up anyway, at the price quoted on the website. There was no need to lie. But I gladly report scams like this when a company does not stand behind the customer.
So I suggest that if you decide to sign up for Exede Viasat service, *insist on getting any verbal promises in writing* (email or text will do). If an agent doesn't want to do that, hang up and call back--you are likely dealing with an unscrupulous agent who doesn't deserve the commission. (We received the legalese in writing only after the equipment was installed.) Lesson learned; sharing with you.


Ridiculous

Apr 30, 2018 by Joe
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 125.00 • 
Zip Code: 27101 

It’s been down 5 days in a row now. Beautiful sunny sky as well.
At times excede does this, not long ago it went near an entire month without constant connection.
Most people complain their time is used up within a few days, our problem is opposite it won’t stay connected long enough to use the time paid for.
If this boat anchor wasn’t screwed to the house I would have tossed it years ago. It’s a shame parts of the U.S. can’t get regular internet, most other Countries have far better service.
Honestly it’s pathetic.


Apr 28, 2018 by Another Sucker
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Too Long • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Too Much • 
Zip Code: 666 

I’m writing this review from an iphone because guess what, no satellite connection again. They probably thought no one would be able to leave a review with no internet.
Some things in life suck, this is one of those things...
I can literally feel the satellite sucking my soul from space while I watch two blue blinking lights dance on the ghosts below them.
Directv is wonderful, excede is unreliable, irritating and economically absurd.
Don’t do it.


not doing well at all

Apr 26, 2018 by Ralph Baca
How Long Have You
used This Service?: About 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not now • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 114.00 • 
Zip Code: 74047 

I had the exede 12 which was a cap of 10Gb per month it was only about 1-2 mbps and very was not working for my wife and myself. So I upgraded to a higher level and now suppose to get "up to 25mbps and still only get about 2-3mbps so still no real change. The new modem they sent me has WIFI and now it continually drops the signal on my wireless devices so I have called several times and was told by a supervisor that the next time I called in they would send me a different modem because it appears that the one I currently have may have an issue... I have called three times with the same issue and they refuse to honor what is in my notes. I have had all my devices checked out by respective technicians and all is good with my devices. Yet still Viasat wants to reboot my modem and states that it should work now. I will find another service and deal with a new company. I am fed up with Viasat Now. I have been a faithful customer for the time I have been with them. I do live in a rural area so not other internet service is readily available. and the one that is, is very unreliable. that is why I switched in the first place.


NOT WORTH IT

Apr 13, 2018 by Aaron Cowan
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 02/18 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $100/month • 
Zip Code: 98362 

I’m getting almost 4 megabytes/second and paying for 25mb/sec. We have canceled all streaming services because it freezes every 10 minutes and the clarity is ALWAYS fuzzy. My wife and I both work from home and we have to carefully plan our internet time because it barely works for one person at a time. When we have guests over, we tell them “we have internet, but it’s useless... it’s Viasat satellite internet and the stars have to be aligned just to log in to your email...”

All that to say, I’m going to pay for ANOTHER internet service (since they lock you in for TWO YEARS..) and leave a review every time I get a bill from viasat/exede.

We have been frustrated with this company since day one when they NO-SHOWED our installation. Very frustrating.


Excede

Apr 03, 2018 by Scott Hatcher
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 plus years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 55.00 • 
Zip Code: 98237 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Nope 

I paid my bill every month on time never missed a payment fufilled my contract. I went to cancel my service they were rude to me and could care less came back Excede wanted me to pay 22 dollars a month to go on vacation mode which I did the 1st year because I was under contract I said nope they they were going to send out a Box to return their crape that does not work anyway They were going to send it out ups I tried to tell them I don't get any mail at home they said they can't send it out to a p.o. box They told me to go to the ups location which is 45miles from my house at least a 25 dollar bill for gas easy for them to say they can go f themself


1.2 5.0 1228 1228 If this service was $5 a month, it would be too much. They sent me an email the other day stating that they had a new service, but that I would have to commit to another 2 years. H Exede broadband internet