Exede Review

Last updated Friday December 14th, 2018

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Ridiculous

Apr 30, 2018 by Joe
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 125.00 • 
Zip Code: 27101 

It’s been down 5 days in a row now. Beautiful sunny sky as well.
At times excede does this, not long ago it went near an entire month without constant connection.
Most people complain their time is used up within a few days, our problem is opposite it won’t stay connected long enough to use the time paid for.
If this boat anchor wasn’t screwed to the house I would have tossed it years ago. It’s a shame parts of the U.S. can’t get regular internet, most other Countries have far better service.
Honestly it’s pathetic.


Apr 28, 2018 by Another Sucker
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Too Long • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Too Much • 
Zip Code: 666 

I’m writing this review from an iphone because guess what, no satellite connection again. They probably thought no one would be able to leave a review with no internet.
Some things in life suck, this is one of those things...
I can literally feel the satellite sucking my soul from space while I watch two blue blinking lights dance on the ghosts below them.
Directv is wonderful, excede is unreliable, irritating and economically absurd.
Don’t do it.


not doing well at all

Apr 26, 2018 by Ralph Baca
How Long Have You
used This Service?: About 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not now • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 114.00 • 
Zip Code: 74047 

I had the exede 12 which was a cap of 10Gb per month it was only about 1-2 mbps and very was not working for my wife and myself. So I upgraded to a higher level and now suppose to get "up to 25mbps and still only get about 2-3mbps so still no real change. The new modem they sent me has WIFI and now it continually drops the signal on my wireless devices so I have called several times and was told by a supervisor that the next time I called in they would send me a different modem because it appears that the one I currently have may have an issue... I have called three times with the same issue and they refuse to honor what is in my notes. I have had all my devices checked out by respective technicians and all is good with my devices. Yet still Viasat wants to reboot my modem and states that it should work now. I will find another service and deal with a new company. I am fed up with Viasat Now. I have been a faithful customer for the time I have been with them. I do live in a rural area so not other internet service is readily available. and the one that is, is very unreliable. that is why I switched in the first place.


NOT WORTH IT

Apr 13, 2018 by Aaron Cowan
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 02/18 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $100/month • 
Zip Code: 98362 

I’m getting almost 4 megabytes/second and paying for 25mb/sec. We have canceled all streaming services because it freezes every 10 minutes and the clarity is ALWAYS fuzzy. My wife and I both work from home and we have to carefully plan our internet time because it barely works for one person at a time. When we have guests over, we tell them “we have internet, but it’s useless... it’s Viasat satellite internet and the stars have to be aligned just to log in to your email...”

All that to say, I’m going to pay for ANOTHER internet service (since they lock you in for TWO YEARS..) and leave a review every time I get a bill from viasat/exede.

We have been frustrated with this company since day one when they NO-SHOWED our installation. Very frustrating.


Excede

Apr 03, 2018 by Scott Hatcher
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 plus years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 55.00 • 
Zip Code: 98237 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Nope 

I paid my bill every month on time never missed a payment fufilled my contract. I went to cancel my service they were rude to me and could care less came back Excede wanted me to pay 22 dollars a month to go on vacation mode which I did the 1st year because I was under contract I said nope they they were going to send out a Box to return their crape that does not work anyway They were going to send it out ups I tried to tell them I don't get any mail at home they said they can't send it out to a p.o. box They told me to go to the ups location which is 45miles from my house at least a 25 dollar bill for gas easy for them to say they can go f themself


They rob you

Apr 02, 2018 by Phil
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $150 • 
Zip Code: 29379 

The service is spotty and terrible. The customer service is somewhere between rock bottom and nonexistent.
The only thing they know how to do is say” unplug it and then plug it back in”
Of course that does nothing at which point the untrained genius on the other end of the phone says “ must be network traffic is to heavy, try later”
Wow.
Run far away from these idiots.


Apr 01, 2018 by Charlotte mckinney
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 110 • 
Zip Code: 34653 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Went with direct tv and Internet they suggested called viasat....total rip off..what was to be a $ 55 a month deal turned into a $110 deal.....omg


Lied about the speed

Apr 01, 2018 by Mark Fernandez
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.75 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 48158 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

0 tp 3mps download speed. 0 to 2mps upload speed. Was told 25 down, 4 up. liesssssss!


bad bad bad

Mar 30, 2018 by Ingrid Trausch
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 37 • 
Zip Code: 56071 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Part of service bundle 

I'd enter Zero stars if I could. Got rooked into a 2-year contract by a sales rep who lied outright, and then they wouldn't let me out of my contract. That says alot about this company. The internet service is terrible - intermittent and not functioning; repeated calls for help get the usual "unplug and replug your modem, that should fix it". I have to use a backup ISP just to get my work done as Exede cannot be relied on. Funny tho - every time I call for service, Exede connection miraculously improves for a week or two. Then back to snail speed / no internet at all. I am ditching this company as soon as my contract is up. DO NOT sign up with this company.


STAY AWAY FROM THESE SCAMMERS!

Mar 30, 2018 by samuel
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $200.00 • 
Zip Code: 49749 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Had internet thru them for awhile and recently upgraded to their top package, their unlimited internet is not actually unlimited and they have turned the internet off twice this month first time had to pay $150.00 then not even two weeks later they turned it off again and this time it was $200.00 to turn it back on and with the highest package that they have they say you would be getting 25mbps but instead your lucky to even get 17mbps half the time and usually end up getting less than 250kbps... anyone who actually likes this internet provider needs their brain checked ASAP!


1.3 5.0 1223 1223 I can not even express how bad this company is. How horrible the internet service is, how bad the customer services is, how bad the tech service is. After years of paying my bill a Exede broadband internet