DISH Network Review

Last updated Tuesday February 27th, 2024

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

DISH Network Satellite TV SKU UPC Model

Horrible service

May 21, 2023 by William
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No 

I was a customer for 15 years. They constantly raised my bill each year. I would call and complain and they would ‘find’ a special offer to keep me. Last year i decided streaming was for me as I never watched 70% of the shows in my lowest tier of service. I now stream 100% and am happy. With them now rolling out 5G a word to the wise-DON’T DO IT! Unless they up their customer service and provide COMPETITIVE rates—-GO ELSEWHERE.


Punished for cancelling

Aug 15, 2022 by Paul Schwarz (irritation in ear for 2nd week. I desire relief; have exhausted my patience with self help)
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO 

I've used dish tv for a few years. When frequent blackouts and general unreliability of "service" became intolerable, I endured an half-hour of elevator music ultimately ending with first, a rude, customer 'service" agent demanding an explanation for the cancellation. The barely perceptable, mousey voice required the explanation or she could not continue with the cancellation. After hearing my repeated requests to speak to a supervisor or manager, Becky asked the same question. An observation is that this explanation does not benefit me; it benefits them. It seems usury to require personal information before a "service" provider will release its prey. 
The second agent finally understood that I would not provide an explanation and interrupting her recital of the exciting and highly desirous plans just waiting for me, I was informed that I must pay an eighty dollar ($80.00) cancellation fee. Further, dish would charge me fifteen dollars ($15.00) to send me a pickup box for their three (3) or four (4) year old equipment. Apparently, if I again become ill and am unable to return their hi-tech equipment, they'll make an additional charge of up to three-hundred ($300.00) and change if not returned within 15 days. Plus, I get to deliver the sealed box tot he carrier. There is no pick-up service afforded me for my fifteen dollar ($15.00) charge. 
I become ill at age 74. That's the way it is and little can prevent it. I am VA rated at 70% disabled though fairly slow and broken, I'm just fine but for a lack of sleep. Sure, boo -hoo for me but facts are facts. 
dish tv really must need my money, I don't. Gas and food costs must plague dish tv, the poor guys! They've increased my rate over the years, apparently believing that my social security and Veteran's disability payments would increase. Guess what....
Were I aware of what these 'people' are fundamentally and sorely lacking in integrity, I would have avoided any contact whatsoever. Oh, I so wish I had!!


Perfect Time

Apr 08, 2020 by Drake
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No 

We have had dish network going on 4 years now. Over the years our bill has increased and we just kept paying the bill. We started out paying $160.00 no internet included. Tonight we called in for an issue and the automated recording said that our balance of $210.00 would be due in a few days. We have never been late paying our bill. This increase now when people are under mandatory stay home. What a great time to raise the bill. Now that we are watching tv more than ever. I suppose that is the appreciation for being a loyal customer of 4 years. We were forced to cancel all of the channels we watched the most because $210.00 for a hooper and two Joeys and that does not include internet. Is too much. We dealt with the no HBO and the anxiety over if we would be able to watch the Cowboys. I honestly am disgusted and hope you lose all your customers.


Want to opt out of cnn

Jan 28, 2020 by Anna moak
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No 

I called because I want one station CNN removed and was told I would lose 300 channels! I should not have to pay for a station I find offensive. Will not renew when my time is up will find a company I can be more selective with


Dish Scam

Aug 09, 2019 by Tommy
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No! 

My DVR crash last month (July 2019). This wasn't a first time it crash. So, I call them about the issue with the box for not receiving signal. I have try all possible troubleshooting they told me to do. It all failed. They told they will send a technician out to check it out. I say, "Will there be a charge for that?" Dish agent says "we charge you $95 for the technician to come out." First of all, this isn't my fault that it crashed. They say "it is our policy to charge you to fix it". I pay monthly for the DVR Box $17/month to lease the box. So why I need to pay $95. Dish trying to up charge me. I explain
that to them. They say "we aren't trying to up charge you". I am not owning the box. This is so rip off. I told the Dish agent that your DVR Box MADE FROM CHINA! THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPEN. I think that they turn my Dish DVR signal off so I can pay more and more to fix it. Scammers! They told me, if I want to cancel than I need to pay the early termination fee. Which is $160. To return the box, they told me they will ship a box with a shipping label to return it. You reinstall yourself and put in the box for return. So I have to reinstall the dish from roof, the DVR Box and the cables to return it. Then you shouldn't charge me $160. Pick up YOUR MADE IN CHINA BOX OUT OF MY HOUSE. CHEAP ASS MACHINE!


Customer Service did not tell us the whole story

Jul 30, 2019 by Bob Holloman
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: I would have, but not as of late 

We have already lost CBS 3 weeks ago, and just lost MLB for the KC Royals and other Teams. We were told by DISH the game tonight was blacked out. Well it's NOT blacked out as Direct TV has it on as does cable. Evidently the customer service rep was told to say it is blacked out to Satisfy the customer and blame it on the MLB. Who else pays a large monthly fee and has been lied to? I think its time Dish Customers stand up and Switch! One customer will not make them any difference, but many will!

I realized Dish Is a business, but do not lie to me and they should keep the customers happy, by giving them the channels they paid for!


Worst customer service EVER!

Jan 08, 2019 by Angela Battles
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never 

After only having Dish for a little over a month I called customer service. First I was on hold 46 minutes. Selected new service was transferred being assured I'd get a person, held for 12 minutes. Called new service again was one hold 6 minutes then given another number. Finally talked to customer service. I asked why I don't have a channel I was told I would have, they don't carry the channel. Question 2 where is the Google mini I was promised that would ship 2 weeks after installation, it takes 6/8 weeks was reply. Asked where is the 100.00 gift card, you'll need to call another number for that. Bottom line if you're thinking of getting Dish my suggestion is DON'T!!


Dec 13, 2018 by Andy McClain
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never 

After 5 years of Dish service my equipment began to fail. Dish encouraged me to upgrade at an additional cost. I decided to keep my older equipment and have a technician check for resolutions to my problem. Fast forward sat at home waiting for said technician who did not show, only to find out the note was on my account for a tech but they forgot to schedule. I was told by a very pleasant(not) guy from the Tulsa location that this was my problem not his. I refused to take off work, again. he asked what I planned to do for TV and I stated that I would use Direct TV. he says that is a great idea they really didn't need my business. Do not under any circumstances use Dish TV check out all the other options out there such as: Hulu, Sling etc.. I did and found much more cost effective options without all the hassle!


Horrible Customer Service

Dec 10, 2018 by Ron Gagnon
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO 

Dish TV dispute:
10 DEC 2018

On May 25, 2018, I contracted with Dish TV for services, specifically for the HBO and RAI channels. Both channels were cancelled and I called today (12-10-18) to inquire about cancelling Dish TV service. I spoke with a supervisor named “Amber” who was not very pleasant. She kept repeating that I would have to pay $400 to cancel my service and did not offer anything beyond what appeared to be a rehearsed speech stating that she understood and was sorry that she could not do anything. She refused to waive the cancellation fee or offer any other form of compensation for the loss of my favorite channels. Amber kept stating that it should be enough that Dish credited the fee for the lost channels. Amber did not display any empathy regarding my loss.

I would be lying if I did not say that I was disgusted with the way DISH comported itself in this telephone exchange. From my experience a company that holds on to their money with such tenacity is a company that is very near the end of its life. I will leave DISH TV as soon as it is economically feasible for my family and will never recommend anyone sign up with DISH TV.


Credit Report hit from Dish

Sep 24, 2018 by Bob Gould
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No 

I had Dish Network for 9 years, was never late on my bill, once. I moved in July of 2016 and put a hold on my service. I actually called to disconnect and they convinced me to keep my service and to put it on hold. Once I moved I found there were trees in my view for the satellites so I could not get service. My service was only on hold for 9 months so they started billing me for service I didn't receive. I called to disconnect and once again they put my service on hold. Now I have a bill for 239.17 for service I never received. I've called and called and I only get someone that barley speaks English and I was told they would credit my account and they put my service back on hold. I found the outstanding amount on my perfect credit score today. I called and they told me to pay the bill and that was the end of the conversation. I'm being charged for service I never received. F*ck Dish Network! After 35 years of perfect credit Dish has ruin my credit score for service not received.


1.2 5.0 261 261 I was a customer for 15 years. They constantly raised my bill each year. I would call and complain and they would ‘find’ a special offer to keep me. Last year i decided streami DISH Network Satellite TV
Page:
123»