Exede Review

Last updated Friday April 26th, 2019

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Crappy Internet

Jul 06, 2018 by Roger
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $150 • 
Zip Code: 24101 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Extremely disappointed. I've had your service for several months and the quickest speed test is about 6 MBPS on a given day vs. the up to 100 MBPS advertised. I get the "up to" part but you're not even close!


HaHaHa

Jul 05, 2018 by Ed
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 90.00 • 
Zip Code: 12029 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I am in a rural area in upstate. NY. The advertised bandwidth of 12mps May occur at some time of day but never at an hour that a normal person would want to view the tv. There is not even enough bandwidth to support Spotify! I have virtually given up trying to watch tv and am awaiting installation of a cable. If you are rural don’t waste your money.


Horrible service

Jul 04, 2018 by Lauren
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $167.00 • 
Zip Code: 72761 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I signed up over the phone and got an unlimited plan. After receiving the service I find out the we have a cap on our “unlimited” plan and that once reaching that cap they throttle us. We have moved from town and this is our only option but if you want to watch TV in the evening it’s almost impossible. The shows freeze more than they play. If you call to tell them there is a problem they will most likely tell you it’s the satellite that’s off somewhere your satellite is pointed at and there must be a storm over that area and there is nothing they can do. When I first signed up I also got the protection plan that I guess is completely pointless when they won’t ever admit fault to problems your having. Viasat/Exede is horrible and they have terrible service!


Not Happy

Jul 02, 2018 by Freda Baschab
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not on my dying • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 72727 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The first month was ok. The second month we watch the whole second season of The Ranch on netxflix and used more wifi with tablet and computer. Now I watch 1 movie on netflix and used 5gb? I used 27% of the 24 GB in 2 days.


Better than Dial-up???

Jul 01, 2018 by Kathryn Johns
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not even an enemy... • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $110. • 
Zip Code: 85755 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Okay, I admit that I'm used to super fast Comcast TV speeds and I've moved to an area where satellite is the only option, but the quality of TV is fuzzy and streaming is constantly interrupted. I feel like I've just jumped back in time by a decade or more...


Just like Dial-up

May 28, 2018 by Suzanne Dwelly
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60? • 
Zip Code: 45142 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I have called customer serve to ask why my internet service is so slow. They tell me to run a speedtest and then they say it is within the limit. NOT!!! I have a Verizon jet-pack that is faster than my satellite service!! I want someone to come out and check my satellite dish and they will not send someone!!! Something has to change or I will!!!


HORRIBLE

May 22, 2018 by Heather
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 1/2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 29851 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The internet speed was never as fast as agreed upon. The high speed was just as slow as the reduced speed no matter what we did. I just needed to be able to do my school work because I was taking some online classes. The customer service really sucked on the rare occasion we managed to speak to somebody. I wouldn't even recommend this crappy service to my worst enemy. Worst internet experience ever!!!


Don't do it!! Hidden fees like crazy!

May 15, 2018 by Harmony
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 160 • 
Zip Code: 98355 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

In the area I lived Excede was my only choice for internet. The service was terrible and only worked good at 2 am. Try cancelling their service. You suddenly find out about a "contract" and they want you to pay 15$ a month for the early cancellation of said "contract". We were told it was month to month. My monthly bill was stated as 130 and continually increased the entire time although our service didn't. I'd have rather had no internet than deal with Excede.


May 15, 2018 by robert alleyn
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Only as a last resort if you do not have a cell phone • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Around 110 • 
Zip Code: 78573 

Sometimes works really well but expect speed less than 2mbs during the times most people use the internet at home (4p to 11p). Usually I turn off the internet and use my data plan on my phone. When I call to report slow service they point out that they do not guarantee a certain speed but there is a big difference between "as much as 12Mbs" and the usual 1.94 Mbs.
Only get this service if you have NO OTHER OPTIONS!

Gave 1 star because that is the lowest allowed.


May 14, 2018 by Mimi
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 177 • 
Zip Code: 78570 

Unlike many I found myself needing wifi asap and since to start its not much but once we had it the price just went up. We started with the basic but the gb wherent enough tvs kept buffering, and at evening hours it just slowed down tremendous. So we upgraded to their so called unlimited plan, yeah not so much unlimited since its only 30gb and it also slowed down at evening hours. When we terminated we had already signed up with spectrum and never was we told we had a 24 month contract. They billed us for 250$ early termination fee. I was paying 177 for 30gb when spectrum is giving us 100gb plus cable plus home phone for 132. My advice don't even do business with them its not worth it.( The star is just to review i wouldn't even give them a half star)


1.2 5.0 1228 1228 If this service was $5 a month, it would be too much. They sent me an email the other day stating that they had a new service, but that I would have to commit to another 2 years. H Exede broadband internet