Exede Review

Last updated Friday December 6th, 2019

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

I got the shaft in the end

Jul 08, 2018 by Lee Miller
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Several years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 79 • 
Zip Code: 95212 

I moved my residence after 41 years at my previous home. I discontinued satellite service with Wild Blue/Exede. They sent out a box to return the Tria and another part from the Satellite disc. I was late in getting around to taking it done as it took a bit of courage at age 79 to get up a ladder and take these parts off the disc. I finally did it and then discovered that in the process of moving I had lost the label on the box. I called the company and requested just the label be sent out to me. They sent another box instead of just the label---the first sign of incompetence. I returned the parts with the box and the label. I also wanted to send the extra box and foam parts holder back, but when I found out it would cost $27, it went into the landfill. In the meantime because I was late getting the parts back they charged me $327 in early July 2017. I called and asked about the charge and they said that the package had arrived there and I would get a refund in about 10 days. The refund never came and I called again. Then they said that they had no record of the package arriving and consequently could not refund my money. I made one or two more calls and got the same run around. They told me that perhaps if I got the tracking number it would help, so I went to United Parcel to get the tracking number since I didn't have it. UPS told me that the company should have the tracking number since it was a pre-paid package. Duh, I should have known that. Anyway this has been one frustrating and costly experience. I would like to write a letter to their consumer affairs department, but haven't been able to get a name or address, so far. After several years as a loyal customer, I get the shaft in part due to their incompetence. I can't recommend that anyone deal with these people.


NeverWorks

Jul 07, 2018 by DisappointedOne
How Long Have You
used This Service?: LongTerm • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80.00 • 
Zip Code: 27101 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Service has been down 12 days straight this time. The call wait is 45 minutes everytime try to call customer service. Waste of money.


Crappy Internet

Jul 06, 2018 by Roger
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $150 • 
Zip Code: 24101 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Extremely disappointed. I've had your service for several months and the quickest speed test is about 6 MBPS on a given day vs. the up to 100 MBPS advertised. I get the "up to" part but you're not even close!


HaHaHa

Jul 05, 2018 by Ed
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 90.00 • 
Zip Code: 12029 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I am in a rural area in upstate. NY. The advertised bandwidth of 12mps May occur at some time of day but never at an hour that a normal person would want to view the tv. There is not even enough bandwidth to support Spotify! I have virtually given up trying to watch tv and am awaiting installation of a cable. If you are rural don’t waste your money.


Horrible service

Jul 04, 2018 by Lauren
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $167.00 • 
Zip Code: 72761 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I signed up over the phone and got an unlimited plan. After receiving the service I find out the we have a cap on our “unlimited” plan and that once reaching that cap they throttle us. We have moved from town and this is our only option but if you want to watch TV in the evening it’s almost impossible. The shows freeze more than they play. If you call to tell them there is a problem they will most likely tell you it’s the satellite that’s off somewhere your satellite is pointed at and there must be a storm over that area and there is nothing they can do. When I first signed up I also got the protection plan that I guess is completely pointless when they won’t ever admit fault to problems your having. Viasat/Exede is horrible and they have terrible service!


Not Happy

Jul 02, 2018 by Freda Baschab
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not on my dying • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 72727 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The first month was ok. The second month we watch the whole second season of The Ranch on netxflix and used more wifi with tablet and computer. Now I watch 1 movie on netflix and used 5gb? I used 27% of the 24 GB in 2 days.


Better than Dial-up???

Jul 01, 2018 by Kathryn Johns
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not even an enemy... • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $110. • 
Zip Code: 85755 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Okay, I admit that I'm used to super fast Comcast TV speeds and I've moved to an area where satellite is the only option, but the quality of TV is fuzzy and streaming is constantly interrupted. I feel like I've just jumped back in time by a decade or more...


Just like Dial-up

May 28, 2018 by Suzanne Dwelly
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60? • 
Zip Code: 45142 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I have called customer serve to ask why my internet service is so slow. They tell me to run a speedtest and then they say it is within the limit. NOT!!! I have a Verizon jet-pack that is faster than my satellite service!! I want someone to come out and check my satellite dish and they will not send someone!!! Something has to change or I will!!!


HORRIBLE

May 22, 2018 by Heather
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 1/2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 29851 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The internet speed was never as fast as agreed upon. The high speed was just as slow as the reduced speed no matter what we did. I just needed to be able to do my school work because I was taking some online classes. The customer service really sucked on the rare occasion we managed to speak to somebody. I wouldn't even recommend this crappy service to my worst enemy. Worst internet experience ever!!!


Don't do it!! Hidden fees like crazy!

May 15, 2018 by Harmony
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 160 • 
Zip Code: 98355 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

In the area I lived Excede was my only choice for internet. The service was terrible and only worked good at 2 am. Try cancelling their service. You suddenly find out about a "contract" and they want you to pay 15$ a month for the early cancellation of said "contract". We were told it was month to month. My monthly bill was stated as 130 and continually increased the entire time although our service didn't. I'd have rather had no internet than deal with Excede.


1.2 5.0 1230 1230 1-Fast Internet - first lie you can't watch You tube or Neflix.2-When it is raining the internet does not stop-second lie when it rains the internet of viasat does not work anymo Exede broadband internet