Exede Review

Last updated Friday December 14th, 2018

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Just like Dial-up

May 28, 2018 by Suzanne Dwelly
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60? • 
Zip Code: 45142 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I have called customer serve to ask why my internet service is so slow. They tell me to run a speedtest and then they say it is within the limit. NOT!!! I have a Verizon jet-pack that is faster than my satellite service!! I want someone to come out and check my satellite dish and they will not send someone!!! Something has to change or I will!!!


HORRIBLE

May 22, 2018 by Heather
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 1/2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80 • 
Zip Code: 29851 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The internet speed was never as fast as agreed upon. The high speed was just as slow as the reduced speed no matter what we did. I just needed to be able to do my school work because I was taking some online classes. The customer service really sucked on the rare occasion we managed to speak to somebody. I wouldn't even recommend this crappy service to my worst enemy. Worst internet experience ever!!!


Don't do it!! Hidden fees like crazy!

May 15, 2018 by Harmony
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 160 • 
Zip Code: 98355 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

In the area I lived Excede was my only choice for internet. The service was terrible and only worked good at 2 am. Try cancelling their service. You suddenly find out about a "contract" and they want you to pay 15$ a month for the early cancellation of said "contract". We were told it was month to month. My monthly bill was stated as 130 and continually increased the entire time although our service didn't. I'd have rather had no internet than deal with Excede.


May 15, 2018 by robert alleyn
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Only as a last resort if you do not have a cell phone • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Around 110 • 
Zip Code: 78573 

Sometimes works really well but expect speed less than 2mbs during the times most people use the internet at home (4p to 11p). Usually I turn off the internet and use my data plan on my phone. When I call to report slow service they point out that they do not guarantee a certain speed but there is a big difference between "as much as 12Mbs" and the usual 1.94 Mbs.
Only get this service if you have NO OTHER OPTIONS!

Gave 1 star because that is the lowest allowed.


May 14, 2018 by Mimi
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 177 • 
Zip Code: 78570 

Unlike many I found myself needing wifi asap and since to start its not much but once we had it the price just went up. We started with the basic but the gb wherent enough tvs kept buffering, and at evening hours it just slowed down tremendous. So we upgraded to their so called unlimited plan, yeah not so much unlimited since its only 30gb and it also slowed down at evening hours. When we terminated we had already signed up with spectrum and never was we told we had a 24 month contract. They billed us for 250$ early termination fee. I was paying 177 for 30gb when spectrum is giving us 100gb plus cable plus home phone for 132. My advice don't even do business with them its not worth it.( The star is just to review i wouldn't even give them a half star)


May 05, 2018 by Gary McMullen
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $110 • 
Zip Code: 19940 

Avoid if at all possible.Not worth the cost or aggravation. Near impossible to contact a human rep to resolve a problem, they don't want to help you.they will suspend service without contacting you to resolve the issue, yet you have no way to contact t them directly.Throttled service will seem like dialup.Forget streaming, constant buffering, then the data usage is exceeded throttling the download.Have to give them 1 star, review won't let you give 0 stars.


Customer service

May 02, 2018 by Mary Brown
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60.64 • 
Zip Code: 29689 

Having a problem with the internet connection was given the run around. Don't care about helping the customers.Just make the months ago payment and leave us along.


Horrible customer service and internet

May 02, 2018 by Kimberly
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 29 days • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 62023 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Direct tv recommended this internet therefore I assumed it would work in my area and with my direct tv. I am only offered the slowest service, they claim they have no other options. I can’t watch on demand and Videos on my phone, tv etc take forever to load and are blurry. They do not offer a 30 day grace period-you hate their service they trick you into staying in it for 2 years or paying hundreds of dollars to get out. $70 a month for the worst intereng I’ve had-don’t go with them


did not tell all

May 02, 2018 by P Roberts
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No no no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 106.95 • 
Zip Code: 39897 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

When I talked to the installer, told them I needed something that would stream 2 TV's all the time. They told me this would work. It says unlimited data, but the did not tell me that when you reach 150 gb you are thrown to the end of the line. You can't watch s_hit. It's on and off and to pay that much for something you can't use is bull I am very very disappointed that they lied to me.


Get everything in writing before you say "Yes"

Apr 30, 2018 by Frank Ashford
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2.5 mo. • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not likely • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $110 • 
Zip Code: 70777 

A neighbor has had Exede for over a year and recommended their service. So we signed up when Viasat advertised new "unlimited" availability in our area. We had HughesNet service for over twelve years, so there were no surprises with speed (always much slower than advertised; it's the nature of satellite internet). But we had to do downloads in their Bonus Hours (wee hours of the night) to avoid being throttled when going over the limit.
Problem is that I believed the Viasat agent when he voluntarily said he'd give me an extra $20/mo discount for 3 months. I take comprehensive notes when dealing on the telephone, and I have agents repeat the details more than once. Then I read those details back to them, restating in different words as well, to be sure that we are both clear. I did not misunderstand; he *lied repeatedly*. (I also believed the warning which said the conversation was being recorded "for training purposes".)
When I read our first bill on the Viasat website on the billing date, I immediately caught the overcharge. So I contacted Viasat about the discrepancy and was told that only the discount stated on the website was allowed. I asked that they review the recording of the conversation; from the double-talk response it became obvious that there was no such recording. I would have signed up anyway, at the price quoted on the website. There was no need to lie. But I gladly report scams like this when a company does not stand behind the customer.
So I suggest that if you decide to sign up for Exede Viasat service, *insist on getting any verbal promises in writing* (email or text will do). If an agent doesn't want to do that, hang up and call back--you are likely dealing with an unscrupulous agent who doesn't deserve the commission. (We received the legalese in writing only after the equipment was installed.) Lesson learned; sharing with you.


1.3 5.0 1223 1223 I can not even express how bad this company is. How horrible the internet service is, how bad the customer services is, how bad the tech service is. After years of paying my bill a Exede broadband internet