Exede Review

Last updated Saturday June 25th, 2016

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Borderline criminal practice

Jun 23, 2016 by Peter
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 150.00 • 
Zip Code: 12010 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

I live overseas and my elderly parents were misled into signing a 24 month contract. Talking with Ashley at customer service, she said that even if we were to pay the early disconnect fee, we will need to pay for someone to come to my parents' home to remove the dish.

In addition to frequent service drops and glacial internet speeds, Exede seems to have a business model based on defrauding the elderly.

Do not enter into business with this terrible company or Viasat.


Oversold

Jun 23, 2016 by William Hicks
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Over 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60 • 
Zip Code: 28771 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

10 GB gone in a flash. New Liberty plan promises 1-5 Mbps download speed after 10 GB is used. During busy times at night speeds actually drop to nothing. Works again about 3am EST. BAD LATENCY ISSUES. 10 Mbps loads like 1 Mbps on DSL due to sat issues. This a last resort option for you!


Extreme internet

Jun 21, 2016 by Kim wilkinson
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Nevet • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Monthly • 
Zip Code: 33579 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

I rate this zero stars. They lie to you and tell you it will work for your game systems. It either lags or knocks you out completely. When I want to cancel they said I have to pay 95.00 to remove it. I asked to talk to supervisor twice they are unprofessional and hung up. Asked for corporate office number they said they don't have one. They make there money off disconnections.


Absolutely Awful!!!

Jun 21, 2016 by Shannon Dennis
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely would not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $50 per month • 
Zip Code: 17821 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I have had problems with this ever since we had it installed. I was allotted 10gb per month to start. We noticed after day one that almost all of our data was used up and we didn't even do anything. We have been watching closely assuming that it was someone in our house. This month when we got our new data we weren't even home to use the internet but as soon as we signed on and checked 4gb was used up and we did absolutely nothing! The company can't tell me why. They say stop watching videos and listening to music, which we don't do any of these things. We couldn't even if we wanted to because the internet is so God awful slow! When I first signed up I was lied to, they told me this internet is great for listening to music and love video stream. Never in a million years would I recommend anyone go with this company. We are saving the money to terminate our contract. $300 is nothing when youre spending $50 a month for absolutely nothing (except for maybe gray hair). Zero stars if I may.


Jun 20, 2016 by Raquel
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70 • 
Zip Code: 78101 

Had a man hook it up. Said it was a month to month account. Worked for two months and the next two hasn't worked. Called the company to get help .. Trouble shoot and they sai that they had too many people on the serve that might cause "congestion" so no service. Then they did a while trouble shoot and still nothing . asked if I could get refunded since there's no service and they said I'm on a two year contract. And was going to charge a $200 fee. What?! Told them that wasn't the agreement made and they said by confirming information through email was considered an eltetronic signature. When Ittold them I'd file a fraud/scam they said "OK do it" SMh. Very rude.


Jun 16, 2016 by janet bull
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Almost 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70/mo • 
Zip Code: 29625 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Bundle 

Awful service - would never never recommend this company.
The data is eaten up by 1-2 movies and then you get almost no connectivity - super slow. Made me pay the rest of my 2 year contract when i finally was able to get a land line. Very frustrating and a waste of money. I will report to better business bureau as well - worst internet service i have ever had...STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY


Get a hotspot

Jun 13, 2016 by Ray
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 day • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 1000 • 
Zip Code: 90220 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Enable your phone as a hotspot. My LTE gets me 60 ping avg with 4.00 download 1.5 upload. If you want to play online games like battlefield 4 or cod, use a hotpot. I get no lag at all and if i play for an hour,it uses around 80mb. Unfortunately hot spots are data capped so play wisely. Dont believe the hype with ViaSat, they normally ping around 800. So for every 100 in ping, its like 1 second. Thats why you cant online game with satellite.


Jun 13, 2016 by Aspen
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 days • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 99.99 • 
Zip Code: 65583 

Would give it a 0 star if I could. Had it 3 days and just canceled it. Absolute $%*! Internet. Worst I\'ve ever experienced. Can\'t even watch a Netflix movie without buffering on and off for an hour. Can\'t be on my phone, won\'t even load Faceboo . And sure as hell can\'t play any of the pc games I was promised would work with this Internet and they\'ve already charged my account without permission. Horrible horrible people and business and most of all horrible Internet. Would never recommend to anyone


BAD STUFF!!!!!

Jun 12, 2016 by JR
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $90 • 
Zip Code: 54962 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

I confronted the customer "care" specialists about the slow speeds. If you run out of data it takes 10+ minutes to watch 10 seconds of YouTube. I told the multiple people I talked to they were being recorded only to be told I couldn't record them and they would hang up on me. I asked to speak to supervisors multiple times, got put on hold for 20+ minutes, then they would hang up on me. Then I was told I can record them, and they offered 5 MBs of data. My internet on average does not work for at least 10 minutes per day × 700 days is 7000 minutes of service they did not provide. DO NOT GET THIS SERVICE IT IS NOT A GOOD PROVIDER. I TRY TO CALL NOW AND THEY INSTANTLY HANG UP ON ME. Off to the better business bureau website I go!


Terrible

Jun 06, 2016 by Jane Doe
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Too long • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Too much • 
Zip Code: 26261 

Don't even try this. Terrible!! Go with dial up before giving these people your time. I have a work at home job with a reputable company. I was promised this service to be what I needed. It NEVER was. From day one, I had nothing but problems. My usage ran out 2 weeks into my plan. I am the only user at my home. The IT department was insistent that it was a problem on my end. I did everything the IT people told me to do, and continued to have issues. This service is only what they promise if you aren't online at all. DON'T SIGN UP FOR THIS SERVICE - DO WITHOUT FIRST!! Since I HAD to pick a star, I selected 1. They don't even deserve that :(


1.3 5.0 801 801 I live overseas and my elderly parents were misled into signing a 24 month contract. Talking with Ashley at customer service, she said that even if we were to pay the early discon Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»