Exede

Please keep your Exede internet reviews factual and intelligent. For positive review please avoid general platitudes like ‘great, super, best’ instead please list specific information, for example download/upload speeds and how the service works for you. For complaints please avoid words such as ‘thieves, liars, crooks’, instead please list specific instances of service or support that you are dissatisfied with or instances where the service has not worked well for you. The more professional and thoughtful your review the more helpful it will be to other readers. Thank you! :-)

User Review for Exede Satellite Internet (2014)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet SKU UPC Model

Good service unless it's customer service

Oct 22, 2014 by Patrice
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1-2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $65 until something stops working • 
Zip Code: 75833 

I ONLY give exede a second star due to the decent quality of internet service we receive out in the middle of nowhere. However, if something goes wrong, look out! They have the absolute WORST customer service I have ever experienced and they charge a LOT (like $95/hr LOT) to fix something that was a problem with their equipment to begin with (and without getting your prior consent).While we are happy with the connection, we will be switching to another provider just to avoid the outrageous service fees if we happen to have another issue with the equipment.


Usage

Oct 21, 2014 by Sandi Weeks
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Yes • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 49.99 • 
Zip Code: 29836 

We have been with Wildblue/Excede for 5 years or a little more. Have been very satisfied with our service up until 4 months ago when somehow our usage was used up in 3 weeks one month and in 2 weeks the next month with no apparent cause. We haven't done anything different than we always have. We have the10GB package and usually have 1 or 2 GB left at the end of our month. The tech and customer support have been very helpful to try and resolve the problem or find a reason for it. They are still trying to help with it. One thing I have done is have the FCC send me some forms to fill out regarding these auto run ads that come up whether you want them or not. I don't think it is fair that they are using my usage to put them up. If I were on cable or U-verse it would just be annoying but because I am not they are getting into my pocket book and basically charging for their commercials. I would hope that others would complain about this to the FCC. They need to stop it. I feel like we in rural areas have no choice but use satellite and now we are forced to allow someone else to use our allotted usage.


Does not provide advertised speeds

Oct 19, 2014 by Laura Diamondstone
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 years (2 year contract with no other options) • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO! Not even an enemy • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60/month • 
Zip Code: 95415 

For many of us in rural areas, satellite is our only option. This company has not provided the speeds it advertises, has a data cap of 10mb, slows down (although they deny, but speed tests confirm) once you hit 70% of your data, offers a 12 mn - 5a free zone which is the time they do maintenance without warning you (many of us have to stay up late to do internet required work or homework just to find out the site is down), has obnoxious and ineffective customer service and tech service. One of the worst companies I have ever had to deal with.


Internet Service

Oct 16, 2014 by Michael
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $501.00 • 
Zip Code: 76305 

Worst service ever. 10GB allocation used in under 4 days. Customer service could not explain, service used to check email and read CNN news feed. They charge for every speck of data use including emails! 1 month bill, early termination fee and still being billed over $500 so far. Service disconnected before finished talking the customer service, unable to access account and view what being billed for. Service speed was slow as heck.


Okay for laptops , not for online gaming

Oct 16, 2014 by Chelsea
How Long Have You Used This Service?: A little over a year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 93 • 
Zip Code: 39059 

TERRIBLE ... HATE IT CANT PLAY ONLINE GAMING AS I PLEASE DUE TO CONSTANT LOST OF INTERNET CONNECTION TO SERVER


No complaints here

Oct 15, 2014 by Michael Ellis
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: YES! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $99 • 
Zip Code: 33935 

Been with Exede for exactly a year today and I am VERY satisfied with the service. I see people saying they have bad service or problems with the customer support. In my year with them I have one complaint it's the wait time to get someone on the phone but once they are on they are always helpful and have helped me many times. I recently was able to get the unlimited plan and it's great. At first I wondered why existing customers couldn't get unlimited access like new customers but I was told to wait a lil bit and I would and yesterday I was able to change my plan just like they said I would. Thanks exede for being honest it's greatly appreciated! My neighbor just got new service and they are very satisfied also.


Paying $700-$800/month for dial-up speed

Oct 13, 2014 by C.A. Bouthillier
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 28 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $700 + per month • 
Zip Code: 72206 

The first 24 months no problem, paid $80/month. Month 25 ran out of any-time 2 days before the end of billing cycle. Increased to 15 GBytes any-time. (Didn't know at the time they were at the start of slowly cutting us off.) Month 26, ran out of any-time 8 days before the end of cycle. Month 27, ran out 23 days before end of cycle. They blame us, the customer, for going to certain web sites, like ebay, cnn, etc. Even though, never had a problem EXCEDEing the 10 GBytes we had for the first 24 months. Also, we lose between .2 and 5.5 GBytes when the computer is unplugged from the modem. (We do not use routers.)

My husband has been paying $10.00/GByte to use the computer when he gets home from work, and it has added up. He pays immediately by credit or debit card. We noticed on the bill, EXCEDE/DISH is charging for the usage he already paid for online. So, we are getting charged double for internet usage; that we are already getting scammed out of.

Today, at 6:00 am, when it is low time, our speed is dial-up speed now. Even though, we have almost 15 GBytes for that time. So, we have only dial-up speed for $90/month. If we want faster speed, it will cost $10.00 per GByte, which runs out in about 20-30 minutes.

It appears that EXCEDE, has made everyone's internet service EXCEED the "ALLOWED" usage. The complaints on this very issue went exponential in 2013.

It is interesting to note the anomalies going on with the outages and slowness of the internet in general. It is as if they are slowly trying to cut off the general population from the internet.


Data usage rip-off

Oct 13, 2014 by Doug
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $99 • 
Zip Code: 28277 

The speed isn't great however my complaint is the amount of data usage. There is no way a family of four using internet service for general browsing, emails and music (Pandora/spotify) is going to keep it under 25gb for the month...no way. Even without streaming video's, no gaming no downloads nothing excessive you will still reach the 25 gb limit...and be charge! Total farce... This service is for the single resident who checks email once a week. Anybody who has a family with kids/Ipads etc even if you disable all streaming apps will still blow thru your limit. Terrible package.


service

Oct 13, 2014 by John D Heine Jr
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2.5 mos • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely Not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $64.80 • 
Zip Code: 83647 

In my 50 plus years of having an Internet service, Exede/Wildblue is the worst. Poor customer service and CSRs. I had originally signed up for Hughes.net; however, when the installer came out, he told me of another service (Exede) that was faster and cheaper. I chose his recommendation. The next day he came back out and installed a disk. He never told me about an installation fee, activation fee or how much it would cost a month plus that I would be locked in for 24 months. I have been on the phone conatantly with (Adam)the sales rep aat 208-280-9301 and he has assured me that my account would be updated. I told Adam that I expected hi-speed for that price, but all I was getting was 5gb. The 12gb was not available in my area (83647). I told him I wanted to terminate my service because of the lies and their failure to provide what they stated. It is now going to cost me over $200.00 for a termination fee. To me that is fraud. They also told me this fee would be charged to my credit card on file; I told them that particular card is not valid and I refused to update my payment method, then she hung up on me. I need help in suing this company for my refund. Thank you and I am human.


Mr

Oct 13, 2014 by Tom
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $ 99 • 
Zip Code: 85331 

Worst Internet service we've ever had. Slow...Will not connect wirelessly to my home office located 30 ft from the high powerfed router they recommeded I go buy for best service. Installer ran wires down front of house.


1.5 5.0 185 185 I ONLY give exede a second star due to the decent quality of internet service we receive out in the middle of nowhere. However, if something goes wrong, look out! They have the a Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»