Exede

Please keep your Exede internet reviews factual and intelligent. For positive review please avoid general platitudes like ‘great, super, best’ instead please list specific information, for example download/upload speeds and how the service works for you. For complaints please avoid words such as ‘thieves, liars, crooks’, instead please list specific instances of service or support that you are dissatisfied with or instances where the service has not worked well for you. The more professional and thoughtful your review the more helpful it will be to other readers. Thank you! :-)

User Review for Exede Satellite Internet

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet SKU UPC Model

Dreadful service.

Apr 24, 2015 by Bob LESSEMUN
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 12 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely nor under any circumstances • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $80 • 
Zip Code: 22511 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

This company claims I used 5gb of data when my modem was switched off and I was snowboarding in Florida. Called it a glitch. This glitch has been happening ever since I had the system. Paying the early termination before being ripped off anymore. They call themselves paperless which means they put nothing in writing and executives does no reply to complaints. Before buying this service please check the other reviews. They are dreadful. I have a complaint with the FCC. I do not trust Exede in any shape or form.


Bad speeds

Apr 24, 2015 by John
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 149.00 • 
Zip Code: 37172 

I previously had Hughes Net which was not very good, as well as the Verizon hot spot which was average speed, but you don't get much data usage with it. So I changed to Exede because it advertised really good speed and a lot more data usage. However, I have not even once since it was installed, got anything close to the speed that was advertised. It is slow and kicks me off all of the time. They told me they would not over sell their product so they could guarantee the higher speed. When I called to complain about the speed I was told they couldn't run a diagnostic because the line I was on was too congested. Well, no kidding, that's why I am getting slow speeds..... In other words they over sold their product. This is absolutely the worst internet since the dial up!


No service

Apr 22, 2015 by David
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60 • 
Zip Code: 53189 

Our service worked fine for the first 3 months and then our modem just stopped working. We have been without service for 3 months now and they still haven't sent us a new modem or came to our house to fix it. We have been on the phone with them countless times and e-mailed too. The same story "We are so sorry for your inconvenience and we will fix it immediately." Nothing is happening and we are trying to get out of our contract but that is hard to do. At least they put a hold on our credit card...


Too expensive for little usage

Apr 21, 2015 by Disappointed customer
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 19 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $90 • 
Zip Code: 98375 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

my internet service through Excede started horribly on day 1. I got it when I bundle my DirecTv service.

Day 1, installation day. I didn't like the size of the dish going on my roof(it's huge, it was bigger than I was told.) so I told the technician that I didn't want my service installed, then she told me that I had a 30 day trial period so I could try it first so I decided to go ahead and continue with installation. Back then I was taking online courses and I told Excede rep that I need fast internet to take tests which are usually 2-3 hr long. I get on the internet after the installation for about an hour to do my assignments and some research, I received an email from the company saying I had used up 75% of my monthly bandwidth. WHAT? The basic package only offered about 15GB/mo and Internet was extremely slow.

Day 2. I did a speed test and it only measured 10Mbps, yes it's extremely slow. I attempted to take a test on the computer and 15 minutes into it my service was cut off since I used up my monthly bandwidth. I was not able to finish my test. Unacceptable. I called in customer service to cancel my service and was told there is no such thing as a 30 day trial. I was lied. What happened to the federal consumer's 3 day returning regulation? Does this company not honor it? I didn't want to pay $400 to cancel the service so I continued to use Excede.

I couldn't watch OnDemand or Netflix on TV since the Internet was so slow. I watch 3 15 minute long videos on YouTube and I'd get an email from Excede that I used up my monthly usage.

Today I paid $75 early termination fee to get rid of this horrible service. I'm back to cable and I'm happy! Only paying $40 for my internet and I'm getting speed of 90 Mbps. They do however have monthly bandwidth of 350GB, but that's more than enough that I never hit it.

Just like DirecTv, this company doesn't keep what they promise. The worst internet provider ever. I'll never use satellite ever again. I'm a full time working mom who takes 6 college classes online. These people told me to pretty much use Internet for assignments between 12am - 5am because it's their free data zone, and I wouldn't get charged for data that way? It's funny that that's the only solution they could come up with. I'm not a super mom or wife, I need sleep, I can't go 365 days without any sleep. I gladly paid the ETF to get rid of this service. They will never see a penny from me!


Poor Customer Support

Apr 21, 2015 by Yolanda
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Almost two years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $62.95 • 
Zip Code: 78617 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I called "technical support" because I received a warning email, notifying me that I was about to reach my data limit for the month. First of all ever since I've had this service I have only used about 20-30% of my monthly data allowance. So imagine my surprise when they tell me I am about to reach my limit. Like I said I called the, and I use the term loosely "support line" to ask for month to month comparison over the previous six months so I could determine what the problem was, well they can't give me that, they said, to which I respond, what?? my electric company sends me a graph every month with my electricity bill that shows me what I've used every month, water company does the same, buy YOU an internet company can't give that? To which she replies, “that is the electricity company”, we are a different company, we are not together. To which I replied, I know that! I am just telling you, they give me that information, but you can't? YOU ARE AN INTERNET COMPANY! You should be able to do this very easily. So, here, I think she was just trying to make me think I was crazy, because she repeats the same phrase all over again, and again. This was her advice to me; if I want to know how much data I am using every month, log in and take a screen shot of my “usage meter” every single month. That is how I should capture that information. What?? Unfortunately, where I live I am limited to my choices, so I have to keep them. But if I lived in an area where there was another provider, I would switch in minute. Bottom line this, they are not worth the money I'm paying them, their service is horrible, their customer service is even worse, and technical support in non-existent. I called because I suspected my neighbor was stealing my Wi-Fi signal and got zero support from this company.

Do Not Buy!


Worst Internet Ever

Apr 20, 2015 by Nicole Smith
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 49.99 • 
Zip Code: 20785 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

First off you get nothing that you asked for but when you sign up you are told that they offer it. When I complained I was told that I am in violation of downloading a movie illegally. I asked if that was the case they said they emailed me of which I didnt receive it when I asked for the email to be resent to me all of a sudden they cant. Internet is only really available at 4am in the morning so working from home is impossible. I was told Wifi was available but its not I had to purchase my own router. I left Comcast only because I could no longer afford it and thought this was a good deal but I am being ripped off. My service with Comcast was great and I wish i would have stayed. Now I am stuck in this contract with no way to get out of it


Disappearing Bandwidth, Filtered Access

Apr 19, 2015 by Charles Hall
How Long Have You Used This Service?: One year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60 • 
Zip Code: 93222 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Bandwidth keeps disappearing into thin air. My 10GB was gone in about 5 days.

I didn\'t even use the computer for 30 minutes and returned to find another GB was gone. I keep changing my password on my router but doesn\'t help. I think this is a very dishonest company. And when they slow your speed down I think they are filtering your access.

At 600K I can\'t use youtube, Amazon home page comes up scrambled, if I try to download any file I get a \"connection reset\" message. Everyone needs to complain to the FCC. What they are doing is illegal. And the worse of it is they just don\'t care.

They just want that extra 10 bucks for another GB. I was just visiting a friend who also has the service. He uses his computer about once a week. He said his internet was slow so I did a speed test and it was about 500K.

I called Exede and they said he had used 11 GB already for the month. There is no way he would
ever use more than a couple of GB a month. How does a company like this continue to get away with this? I have had it.
I filed a complaint with the FCC. Under the new Open Internet regulations what they are doing is illegal. I urge everyone to do the same. www.fcc.gov/complaints. I heard back from the fcc in two days saying they gave Exede 30 days to respond to the complaint. If enough people complain, maybe the FCC will act.

Also they also told me last year I would have 60 GB to use in 5GBincrements when ever I need them.

A month later another rep told me no, that isn\'t right it is 30 GB. Now when I went to use 5 GB they told me they have discontinued that program. So, I had 60 GB, then I had 30 GB, and now they just took it away with no notice. What kind of company promises their customers something, and just takes it away whenever they want?

That is so lame.They can\'t even keep the promises they make to their customers.


costs way more for much less

Apr 19, 2015 by Fred Halperin
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 105 • 
Zip Code: 77304 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

When we arranged for service, they asked how we use our internet and recommended the basic package. We exceeded the allowance in the first week. We bought more. We had the same problems. We increased to 15 gig. We run out in 14 days--even eliminating netflix, using our cells to tether, shutting down Facebook and following other recommendations. The only choice is their 25 gig plan--which still won\'t be enough. These people lie up front, overcharge for usage, get you to buy more--and it\'s never enough. They tell me I need to cut back my usage. To quit before the 2-year agreement is up costs big bucks in fees and penalties. I would never sign up with them nor encourage anyone else to do so. Once you hit your limit, your speed begins to crawl--worst internet service we have ever had.


Apr 18, 2015 by Craig Jameson
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1week • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60 • 
Zip Code: 80103 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Bundled with DirectV thinking it was probably a good company. WRONG on my end. Less then a week the 20 gigs were gone. For 135 a month I could have 35 gigs per month. Wow, now I could go a week and a half for almost 3 times the money. They told me the only way to cancel is pay out my contract on full. Terrible company, customer service, policies. I guess they really don't care about customers at all. I think they are going to screw as many people as they can and when it ends, the top people will get rich and have no worries after screwing everyone out of their money.


Horrible

Apr 15, 2015 by Nancy Rotkowitz
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Varies • 
Zip Code: 04426 

When I signed on to a 2 year contract I was told I would have up to 25 free gigs over the life of the contract and all I had to do was call. Well, the first time I called they told me that didn't exist. Then it did exist but I had to use it in 6 months. Then I called for it again and it didn't exist again. Then they gave me the gig. Then I called for another gig and the y told me it didn't exist then they said it did exist then, after 45 minutes, they said they would write a note in my file stating it did exist and I had 25 free gigs coming to me. I called for a gig and guess what, it didn't exist and was not written in my file. I am filing with the BBB and will NEVER use this company again. In addition, I run out of internet in 1 week which is insane....even when I am not home. We are password protected.


1.3 5.0 394 394 This company claims I used 5gb of data when my modem was switched off and I was snowboarding in Florida. Called it a glitch. This glitch has been happening ever since I had the sys Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»