Exede Review

Last updated Thursday May 25th, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

my cell phone 3g is faster

May 24, 2017 by Wanda Lott
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Heck no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 115.00 • 
Zip Code: 38655 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

This servoce has been crap ever since i got it..cannot wait until its over..it 1am cst and im having to use my cell phone data because its faster if i ise my satellite i get booted off for time out waiting for it to load. smoke signals would be faster and its way to expensive for thos crap.


Garbage

May 24, 2017 by Tom
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3yrs. • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell No!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60 • 
Zip Code: 23964 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Unfortunately where I live satellite is the only game in town. I have been with Exede three years and hated every damn minute of it. Service is slow as hell(2-3 Mbps), loses signal all the time, sometimes for hours. Doing anything other than basic email requires getting up in the middle of the night when traffic is lighter.
If you have extra money to throw away and you need something in your life to make you pull your hair out, or go postal, this service is for you.


May 24, 2017 by Sally Randall
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Too friggin long • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Too much • 
Zip Code: 61025 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

Couldn't even give you a one star rating. Your service sucks. Can't even open or look at a picture on Facebook or watch a video cause it takes a lifetime to load, or open, if it ever opens! Dial-up would be quicker than what we have with you. What a waste of money. Can't wait for the stinking contract to get over so we can dump your ass. Terrible.


Poor Choice

May 23, 2017 by Bruce
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Almost 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $117.00 • 
Zip Code: 48661 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

You can depend on very slow service during peak demand times (evenings and weekends). Lots of buffering during those times. They call it "network congestion" and they seem indifferent about the whole thing. They talk about great speed but that's only when they are not to busy to provide it. They have oversold their ability to provide good service and just keep right on selling to more unsuspecting customers who get locked into a contract for poor service.


I hope this helps you all

May 18, 2017 by Victorious
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Less than 48 hours • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not even to my worst enemy • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: I forget? • 
Zip Code: 06432 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes. Dish 

I got this awful AWFUL service as part of a package with Dish. Sadly, they came first so I canceled Dish Network immediately after I canceled them.

With in 28 hours of being installed I was already calling them to get rid of it. It was awful! To make a long story short, they informed me that I would be obligated to pay them for the full year service, that I had no rights and I can go Frack Myself!

Now, I know credit card law pretty well. I know if I cancel with in 48hours, I am not obligated to pay the full contract. They told me THATS NOT TRUE! So, I called the legal department and informed them I would be sueing.

Oh yeah, I know everyone threatens lawsuits but not everyone knows how to do it. I was prelaw for a bit and I remember my small claims court class pretty well. It was always poor mans justice.

I informed legal that I would be filing a claim in smalls claims court. That I would need the CEO, CFO, Head Of Legal Dept, Human Resource, Head Of Billing and The Satellite installation dish company names s I would need them all to file the claim. I would be putting all their names on the claim. If just one of them does not show up for the court case, well I win. No lawyers are allowed in Small Claims court. They would have to explain to the judge why they thought the were not under any obligation to follow law.

I am sure the judge would love that.

With in ten minutes of explaining myself and my intended actions, the legal department happily canceled mys ervice and remvod their equipment for free.

The trick is, no matter what they say.... they still have to follow the laws. Sucks to be them, but its true.


Terrible Servicr

May 16, 2017 by Lena
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 95380 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The service is horrible. And the customer service is even worse. They rush you off the phone. I was actually told by one of their customer service reps they have to get you off of the the phone with in 11 minutes. Now if you are calling about multiple issues that is not enough time to handle the issues. We pay for the service so we should be able to stay on the phone for how ever long we need to. The service also never stays connect. A service tech cost 95 if you don't have easy care. A load of cheap is what it is.


TERRIBLE

May 15, 2017 by Tyler
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not to my worst enemy • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 50 • 
Zip Code: 55030 

This is by far the worst internet besides hughes net. It is very slow, had many technical problems,technical service is terrible. ive called 2 times on my internet randomly shutting off and they refuse to fix it. I would not want my worst enemy to have this internet company.


Can't Wait Till It's Over

May 15, 2017 by Bonnie
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 149 • 
Zip Code: 49036 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

This service literally eats data even when I'm not using it — it even uses data if I totally unplug it from the wall and electricity! When I complained I was told the satellite updates itself at night and needs data to do that. I don't understand why I should have to lose data for them to update their equipment. I talked to two different people in a two-week period and neither of them really knew anything about the service. I upgraded to more data and it still disappeared like crazy and I don't even stream movies. Like the others here, I had super-fast speed the first few days and then it just slowed down to a crawl. I can't wait for this contract to be up. What's worse is the upgrade is irreversible for some reason. You can only go up — you can't go back. So much for if you lose your job or something.


Super pist off

May 13, 2017 by Selena
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years and 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 61.00 • 
Zip Code: 92241 

I am really unhappy. The service always seems to crash. Today I had a 5 page essay due at Midnight, and guess what i get home at 9 pm and the enternet was not working for the 5th time this month. I had to drive 30 minutes to The home depot and connect to their wifi to submit my essay. I have not exceeded my data usage and i have been on the phone for 3 HOURS. I left my family member the phone in case if anyone answered when i left and now i am back and im still on the phone eaiting for customer service and the current wait is " estimated over 10 minutes" ridiculous. I am so happy my contract is over and will be looking for another enternet provider. Even if I do not have enternet anymore its not like it matters It always crashes when I need to do Important homework and end up having to go to starbucks. People do not get exede they will promise service even after data has been exceeded HA what a joke some days ( most of the time) i cant even Load google and end up calling or get fed up and just leave to starbucks.This is NOT reliable service! If you have online school courses or rely on the enternet dont even bother with exede. When data has been exeded in within 7 days you will be shoked and not know how.


Good at 1st, terrible now

May 13, 2017 by Marty
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $110 • 
Zip Code: 97530 

I've had Exel Freedom Plan since mid-2015. Until last February we were completely satisfied. Speeds were at or above the advertised 12mbps most of the time. Recently we've seen enormous slowdowns starting around 6-7 pm every evening, and continuing through the early hours of the morning. Speeds so slow they won't support audio, let alone video streams. Exede reps admit that the network is overloaded but offer little immediate hope for improvement. Exede had planned to launch another satellite earlier this year that would have eased congestion but its been delayed. In the meanwhile, some suspect that Exede is intentionally throttling Freedom Plan users because we get a better rate per GB than their other current plan. Also, because they get a better return on their investment by selling bandwidth to airlines like Lufthansa whose passengers pay dearly for airborne internet. We got the Freedom Plan because we wanted to stream movies and not sweat data caps.
Unfortunately, the cap is meaningless if the service too slow to use your 150GM/month allowance. I get it that internet ISPs have more complicated and expensive challenges than terrestrial ISPs. But I rate Exede (actually Via-Sat) poorly for failing to come clean with its customers and give us some reason to stick around. I suppose they know they've got most of us by the short hairs since the local competition (Hughes) is pitiful too and don't offer anything as generous as the Freedom Plan-if it worked.)


1.3 5.0 1060 1060 This servoce has been crap ever since i got it..cannot wait until its over..it 1am cst and im having to use my cell phone data because its faster if i ise my satellite i get booted Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»