Exede

Please keep your Exede internet reviews factual and intelligent. For positive review please avoid general platitudes like ‘great, super, best’ instead please list specific information, for example download/upload speeds and how the service works for you. For complaints please avoid words such as ‘thieves, liars, crooks’, instead please list specific instances of service or support that you are dissatisfied with or instances where the service has not worked well for you. The more professional and thoughtful your review the more helpful it will be to other readers. Thank you! :-)

User Review for Exede Satellite Internet (2014)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet SKU UPC Model

Worst Internet

Sep 01, 2014 by Garnell Jackson
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $65.00 • 
Zip Code: 28759 

I would rather have the old dial up than Excede. When the installer came out to set the dish, we had to pay him (not the company) $50 for the pole. Why didn't we cancel at that time? There is a 72 hour window for cancellation and they don't install the equipment until well after that 72 hours has passed. You pay on request for service and they delay until it is too late to cancel without paying the entire contract cost.

The service is slow to nonexistant. Cannot connect to www more than half the time on the first six tries. Customer service is a joke. Their own site is down most of the time and cannot connect to check usage.

We were duped by DirecTV into believing Excede was a department of DirecTV and was part of their bundle. I will drop DirecTV when the contract expires if keeping Excede is part of their requirement.

We had Charter for many years but moved into an area not served by them. If I had known how terrible the internet service is here, I might have had more "second thoughts" about moving out of Charter service area.

Everytime I try to connect and see "Server busy" message, I want to take a hammer to their dish. I am counting the days until their contract runs out and will do without internet service if they are the only server we can get.

I had to select a rating in order to post this. They don't even deserve one star.


RUN JUST RUN

Sep 01, 2014 by Penny Green
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 YEARS • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $60 • 
Zip Code: 98223 

This is a terrible company. They make you sign a 3 yr contract if you move you have to restart that 3 yr contract. You can barely use this, even the 12am to 5am free internet is a joke. I wish I had read the reviews on this company before I signed up through DISH network. Run away right now! You will save yourself headaches and frustration. Your better off without internet then pay $60 bucks for nothing.


WildBlue to Exede pity party

Aug 29, 2014 by Robert Leffler
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Over 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell NO! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70.00 • 
Zip Code: 29708 

WildBlue/Exede Internet Sat Service.

I went with WildBlue back in Dec 2012 as a back up to my DSL. Initially it seemed to work properly; that did not last long. It became slow, real slow and my data was eaten up in a matter of days and then they wanted additional money to boost my speed… if I wanted to use it during the hours of 0500 to 2400 midnight. I even went so far as to have my son do any down loads or up loads between the hours of 2400 hrs Midnight to 0500 AM. My data usage was still being eaten up within a couple of weeks. I soon just gave up on it and rarely used it, kept for the just in case… back up and I order Hi-speed modem service from a local company.

Then WildBlue was bought by Exede in I guess Jan/Feb 2014. I received an email saying they had changed mail systems due to the sale and to go in and re-establish or something to that effect. I attempted to access in Feb and I am unable to remember, if I made it in or not; later in Feb I attempted to access and was unable to… I wanted to update my CC number (prior to this change I had no problem with the WildBlue site). I attempted to contact WildBlue/Exede a couple of times and was unable to get through and speak with a live person, put it off until later. I attempted a few other time in March and April. Not wanting to spend time waiting for a CS person to pick up. I was able to get through and speak with a live person in May and scheduled to have the equipment removed from my roof. The technician came over and removed it Thursday 22 May and I boxed up the equipment and FedEx’d it on Saturday 24 May 2014.

I was expecting an updated final billing to include the service call charge to remove the equipment; what I received came in the mail on 23 June 2014; the statement was printed on the 5th of June 2014 (this was the 1st and only billing type mailed to me, a Past Due Notice), I initially attempted to contact Exede; it was after their business hours. I attempted again on 1 July 2014 to contact Exede and was Hung up on 3 times supposedly they were unable to hear me. I finally reached an individual with the name Ivan EMY# 11619. I ask why I received a bill for 640.68 dollars. He explained the charges were for the equipment, the service call and early termination. The problem was, I had sent in the equipment and it was not reflected on this Final Notice and I also wanted a breakdown inclusive of taxes. Ivan did some searching and was able to find the equipment had come in; it was on the 14th of June they received the equipment or logged it into their computer on that date as being received; that was after they had printed up (June 5th) the Past Due notice which I had received on the 23rd of June. The jest of the call was he would have them send me a proper billing.

I waited, after not receiving anything, I called again on July 14th to see where the bill was, this time I spoke with a Jackie who verified they had received the equipment. She found the request for the billing statement; it was still sitting in open status in billing. At that time it was the 14th day it had sat in open status with no action. She informed me they were breaking it down to send. I informed her she should annotate what she determined and that I would be on vacation for 3 weeks and would expect to see it when I returned. Upon my return in mid Aug while going through my mail, I had received an statement reflecting 300.00 dollars had been removed from the total charges for early termination; it was not a bill for what was owed. I again called Exede and this time I spoke with, I believe it was a Silvia; her emp# was SLV1102 she again found the request sitting in an in box. I again requested, she again send a request for accurate billing of what is owed to include a breakdown of taxes and all charges listed individually… that Ticket number or reference number is 15425898… she told me to give it 3 to 5 business days and to call back if I had not received the billing statement. I hung up felling I was going to get somewhere and be able to put this horrendous matter behind me; that was not the case.

After not receiving the requested statement I called Exede again on 29 Aug 2014 I initially spoke with a CS Rosa inform her of the issue and that I still had not received a billing statement. She informed me they were still working on it. I ask for her to get an update or pass me to a manager. Passed to a manager and placed on hold. Manager returned and informed me she was going to contact the higher escalation group to get the bill out today… on hold… when she returned she made a statement that they cannot send out the type of bill I requested and said the matter had been sent for collections to a collection agency, I ask why, when I have been attempting to settle this and can’t get a proper bill out of Exede. I told her I would call the PUC of SC or just go on down to the courts and file a complaint against Exede. Basically what I got from her final statement was they are unwilling to send a billing statement with a breakdown of the charges to include taxes charged. Her name was Bianca empl#ACR1030.
There was not a time when I have call that their line was not recorded so there is an accurate recording of our conversations. Above is from my notes and memory.


Poor Service & Poor Customer Service

Aug 29, 2014 by Olivia Tomlin
How Long Have You Used This Service?: February 2014 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60.58 • 
Zip Code: 30563 

This service has been beyond disappointing.
I would not recommend that anyone use this internet provider. The internet connection is unreliable. You are required to purchase additional equipment in addition to the leased equipment. If you live in a rural I would not advise purchasing this service. The Customer Service is not accommodating. There are fees that are not detailed at time of purchase. There is no notification of automatic drafts to your account. There is limited on-line payment resources. OVERALL EXTREMELY POOR EXPERIENCE!


Expect the Worst

Aug 26, 2014 by ray kirchhoefer
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 14 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Approximately 80 per month • 
Zip Code: 53950 

I live in remote area in Wisconsin and used Excede as internet service, part of the DiretTV package. The speed never reached the advertised speed, when running the you get about 5 down and 0.5 up advertised is 12 and 3. At 5 it works but you wait. The Excede internet service about 1/3 of the time did not work at all was so slow you couldn't run speed test or in some cases get on the internet. Service tech could only suggest unplugging the modem which would help at times. When I asked to fix the problem to meet the speed as advertised or I would terminate the service I was passed onto a manager who's job was to get the money and no reasonable discussion was accepted. Would not respond to comments about speed, "it worked".

I terminated the service paying the extra for terminating the contract early and sent the equipment back in the provide box, now Excede claim they did not receive the modem which was in the box and want $150 but checking to see if there was a mistake.

I don't know what was worst the service or the customer service, Comcast was easier to work with.

I would strongly recommend not using Excede and could only give 1 star which is a push.


Dissatisfied customer

Aug 26, 2014 by Mary Swords
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 14 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $60.58 • 
Zip Code: 30052 

I have never had an internet service that everyday challenged me with so many issues...This is the slowest,most problematic, service I have ever had. It is a disgrace to pay for a service so undependable...Just to write this review has been a challenge!!!It would probably be worth paying the penalty just to get rid of it.....


THEY DO NOT TAKE CARE OF CURRENT CUSTOMERS

Aug 25, 2014 by Kristin Lee
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 YEARS • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: DEFINITELY NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $97.41 • 
Zip Code: 80420 

We have had this service for 2 years and the price keeps going up and the data does not last. I had to add 5G of data for $30 so we could watch a movie and it used 3.5G of that data. Who the hell wants to pay $30 for a movie at your own house?! They also have a promo for NEW customers to double the data for the regular price. This does not apply for existing customers as well as bundling with Direct TV. I asked if I could cancel and resign up as a new customer but they would still want me to send the equipment back and have new equipment reinstalled for a fee. What a bunch of idiots, no wonder they charge so much because they are inefficient and lacking in common sense. Their marketing department sucks and they should try to keep their current customers happy instead of tricking new customers into poor service. PS there should be an option for now stars!!


Exede

Aug 25, 2014 by Slaf
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 129.00 • 
Zip Code: 22406 

I live in the country and DSL was too slow and cable is not available so we tried Exede satellite internet. It was faster than DSL but there was still a lot of slow times and it would stop working (stop transmitting).

I can't tell you the exact download and upload speed but I can only compare it to my hotspot on my cellular phone when used with my laptop. A download of the same document on my Exede internet would take approximately 30 minutes compared to less than five minutes on my verizon hotspot.

I got to the point where my household was continuously running out of gigabytes and I finally upgraded to the 25GB plan. Internet was still running way too slow and did not provide whole house coverage. I had to use an extender to boost my son's Xbox in order to get signal. His xbox is located upstairs and the modem is located on the main level.

The worst part of all and my suggestion to Exede is to provide a service to have their equipment removed from our homes. I explained that I would pay a technician to remove their equipment due to the height and steepness of my roof but Exede refused to remove the satellite. They will however send a technician out to remove the Tria (transceiver)that is screwed into the satellite dish on my roof and charge me $125.00. Otherwise, you can choose to risk your life climbing onto your roof to remove it or not return the equipment and get charged $150.00. Since this equipment was placed on my roof by Exede, I think there should be a service to have it removed by Exede. I know that there are other companies out there that may be able to provide this service but come on, if you are going to send a technician out to my roof to remove equipment off the satellite, why not remove the entire thing!

I'm not sure if Exede is worried about liability issues with removing the dish, maybe causing the roof to leak. But if you are leaving the bracket attached to the house with the screws still screwed in, what's the chance that the roof will leak? I just want the dish and Tria (transceiver) removed and I'm willing to pay. Exede should really look into this policy. I think it would make a lot of customers happy who may may want to return in the future.

Disappointed


DO NOT GET THEM

Aug 23, 2014 by Stephane
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 DAYS • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: HELL EFFING NO!!!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60.00 • 
Zip Code: 79107 

I had to put a rating in on here but I really really think one start is waayyyy to good for them. I had to call them 5 times within the 9 days.. Customer service is beyond poor. I only got one person on the phone that was nice enough to spend the time to review the info with me. Rather then that they lied to us saying its only 39.99 once we get it all bundled thru dish. Okay, but we call and they said no its 59.99. That was one huge problem. Next, they said its only 10g (never was told this) and we used it all in one day?! And these two days was the days we work. Then we wanted to tell them to cancel it because we was lied to about everything and customer service was beyond poor. THey told us it would be 340.00 to canceled!! AGAIN WE ONLY HAD SERVICES FOR 9 DAYS THATS INCULDING THE INSTALLING DAY. I wanted to speak to a supervisor and the rep hung up on us. Over all do not get this internet. its horrible either way. Clear talk was way better. and that is sad!!!! if you read with in 2014 there are sooo many of this same problem it unreal!!!!


Worse ever

Aug 22, 2014 by Mary Finnegan
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $86 • 
Zip Code: 14420 

Nether phone or internet work. Stupid customer service. Don't even know who they work for. Tech man suggested I change companies they are so bad. Overcharge every month-- Hours...Days! on phone that keeps disconnecting and kept on hold. Never deal with this co.


1.6 5.0 125 125 I would rather have the old dial up than Excede. When the installer came out to set the dish, we had to pay him (not the company) $50 for the pole. Why didn't we cancel at that t Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»