Exede

Please keep your Exede internet reviews factual and intelligent. For positive review please avoid general platitudes like ‘great, super, best’ instead please list specific information, for example download/upload speeds and how the service works for you. For complaints please avoid words such as ‘thieves, liars, crooks’, instead please list specific instances of service or support that you are dissatisfied with or instances where the service has not worked well for you. The more professional and thoughtful your review the more helpful it will be to other readers. Thank you! :-)

User Review for Exede Satellite Internet (2014)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet SKU UPC Model

Do not get Exede!!!

Aug 17, 2014 by Clarissa
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 82 • 
Zip Code: 25511 

This is the worst service ever. Not only did they put a big hole in my wall when they installed it, but every time there is a cloud in the sky or it might rain it goes out. They overcharged me by almost $90 dollars one month and said they would refund it and never did... I am constantly having to fight with them I truly wish I would have gone without internet... Gonna have someone look over the contract and get me out of it!!!


Bad Install, Bad Customer Service

Aug 16, 2014 by Jose Ramirez
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $63 • 
Zip Code: 78636 

We live on a ranch, and thus depend on satellite internet since the only alternative is a very slow radio based internet, which I had been using up to now. We put in Exede in January 2014. Since then, the system kept going down every month or so, often for 12 hours or more at at time. When I called for service, they always told me it would be a week before they could get out here! I run a small business on the internet. Each time, the system came back up by itself. Not only that, I would rack up huge gigabyte usage, up to 3 GB per day, even though the system was down, and I would have to buy more usage. ON a normal month I would use no more than 10GB per month. We recently had a good tech come out and he resolved the problem: the initial install had been botched. They used the wrong type cable and they ran it too far. He measured the resistance and it was five times the norm. He reinstalled it properly, tested the resistance and it was perfect. I asked if the cabling problems could have led to high GB usage and he said yes, with all the resending of packets. Based on all this, and angry about months of problems due to a bad initial install, I wrote to customer service, from my own online account, and requested a refund for those months that I had paid for extra usage. I heard nothing for a couple of weeks. Then I received a brief reply, that since I had not included the last four digits of my payment method (mind you, I wrote to them from my own Exede online account) in my note, they could not help me. I replied with the last 4 digits, and I immediately received back an email that they could not help me because the case had been closed...and suggested I open a new case. So, they are pretty prompt about replying when they are slamming the door on you. There is an old adage...you make or lose customers for life by how you handle complaints. Guess what just happened.


Follow up to August 4th review

Aug 15, 2014 by Joyce
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Five months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): ~$85/month • 
Zip Code: 49111 

August 14 I finally received an email response from Exede to my issue addressed here to them and you on August 4, 2014 - yep, 10 days later!
And, my problem was not adequately addressed...tonight I tried to log into my account to check data usage, but the system is under maintenance.

I do like the reliability of Exede telephone and internet which is why I rate the company two stars. But, I cannot with good conscience recommend this company. They need to get rid of exclusive online customer service and out- of -this -country telephone customer service and add brick and mortars to solve a lot of customer complaint issues. Having limited data is not too good either.


The only alternative for a long time

Aug 09, 2014 by David Strayhorn
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Yes • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 149.00 • 
Zip Code: 73044 

We originally went with Hughes for our satellite due to WildBlue just being in the infant stages. When Hughes became so bad that we could hardly use it, we switched to WildBlue and later Exede. We have no complaints. Speeds were always consistent and nothing stands out as poorly done. Granted, we knew what we were in for when we signed up, but the service met all of our needs despite the small amount of data that's included with the monthly plan. We did switch to a terrestrial T1 service once it became available due to the needs of our small company, but WildBlue and Exede weren't bad at all. In fact, we almost hated to switch from them because their customer service was always spot on and their equipment always on the money. I would definitely recommend them to a friend.


DONT DO IT!!!

Aug 08, 2014 by marc
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 WEEK • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: HELL NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 485 • 
Zip Code: 19962 

Signed up for them with directv. Huge mistake. Had no idea i was signing up for a 24 month contract-Had no idea about the data usage-Had no idea how slow the service was. Cancelled and they charged me a termination fee $360.

AND I AM ANGRY I HAD TO GIVE THEM AT LEAST 1 STAR ON HERE

DONT DO IT!!!!


LIARS and THIEVES

Aug 07, 2014 by Jason Rehbock
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 150$ and rising • 
Zip Code: 72701 

Where do I even begin, this company is an absolute joke. It is now august 6th, 3 months after having requested my account be terminated because my current residence does not allow satellites to be installed. To my surprise I was told that they would wave the early termination fee if I could send them a document with a signed statement from my landlord saying they did not allow the installation of satellites and I also return my equipment to them via a prepaid package they would send me. Said document was sent in on June 6th. Come the end of June I receive a bill from them for 65 dollars. Now im thinking, hold on a second, this can't be right, my account was supposed to be terminated last month. I call them and after about 45 minutes on the phone we get it settled and I get the false fee taken care of. Keep in mind this is on June 28th. During that phone call it was also disclosed that I hadn't received my prepaid package to send my equipment back to which they replied they would be sending it shortly. Did not receive said package for the whole month of July but I did receive another bill for 60 dollars. This time they charged it directly to my card without my consent or me knowing till the 30th of July. Now until that point I didn't think I was ever going to have to speak this idiotic company again. The only reason I found out they charged me was that my payment to my current ISP would not go through, tried to pay it three times until I checked my account transactions to see the last of my money was taken from my account by EXEDE. WOW, I can't believe this im thinking as I call them again. Another 50 minutes on the phone and I am NOW told that "ok, your ccount is officially closed and you will be refunded the balance of 59.99 to your card". I can't begin to tell you how frustrated I was at this point but hey, at least they are giving me my money back. One week passes and it's now August 6th. I login to my account and see no new funds added. I had been patient for a week checking everyday thinking oh, I guess I will get it tomorrow, but no, It never came. Not ten minutes ago did I get off with a Master Criminal or should I say "Supervisor" who informed me that that my so called refund I was promised was only a request for a refund...and that it had been rejected by coorporate because, and I quote, "We issued him a refund last month" Yeah you MORON because you made the same mistake you did this time except now I have to pay for it. Now I could go on about how rude this lady I was talking is, about how she wouldn't let me speak half the time, would cut me off mid sentance, and make terrible comparisons to people who dont use their internet for months because they are on vacation to myself who didnt use it because I thought it was terminated over two months ago, but let's just leave it at that shall we because im not finished. Oh yes it gets much, much worse. I have just been informed that my waved termination fee was all just a "misinformed employee", or in english, a snaggletoothed LIAR. This is actually a common problem for exede according the agent I spoke to before being handed of to "supervisor". Basically they now seem to think I owe them 150$ ETF which they will not receive, and also I will not be receiving the 60$ that was charged to my account a week ago, she was very firm on this and that there were no alternatives. I am writing this review in the hopes that people will see this and realize that A: They should not choose Exede or any branch of Viasat internet or B: I've made a terrible mistake choosing Exede/Viasat. I will be heartbroken if they receive even one more new customer. Please, if you are reading this, choose another ISP, even if you have to suffer from not having any internet which is tough, do not choose EXEDE/VIASAT, you would be better off buying a book about the internet.


Exede internet arrive fail

Aug 06, 2014 by LaVerne
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Yes for two days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Referred by Directv • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Nothing yet • 
Zip Code: 73049 

We have installation 2 days ago and service is slow and non responsive. 2 hours on phone, 4 representatives later and nothing can be done but they keep trying to sell more Gb. The 10 gb took one day to use without us even being on line for more then couple of hours. The tech support person just stopped talking to us. Maybe set her phone down and walked away. Left us hanging. We called credit card and they already billed us, twice.
If there's an action suit against them were in!!
We believe this is a scam!! Don't get involved with them. Stay away!!


remember Nextel? they are Nextel.

Aug 06, 2014 by Mark Powell
How Long Have You Used This Service?: A year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60 + 10 + 10 + 10 • 
Zip Code: 49418 

This company and Dish network remind me of Nextel. I'm aware no one cares, but I even question whether the data is accurate. I do use data during 2am-8am, but the amount used always says 0. For prime time though, every month for the past year we've seen that we are exceeding it sooner and sooner every month and have to constantly pay 10 more dollars. Company doesn't care because they have you for a turn off fee if you go elsewhere. The only time they will let friendly people talk to you is when your contract is almost up and when you aren't a customer yet. All the other companies stink too, but Exede and Dish are right up there.


Bad connectivity. Bad installation. Terrible support.

Aug 05, 2014 by Joseph
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Heck no! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $65 / month + installation • 
Zip Code: 90278 

DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS.
PLEASE. DO NOT DO THIS TO YOURSELF!!!!! YOU DON'T NEED THIS STRESS IN YOUR LIFE.

...Normally you can find a small glimmer of something positive with a bad company, but you can't with this company, these people are crooks, thieves, liars, and lack the necessary training to provide even regional-class service. I can't rate them low enough.

- Installed incorrectly
- Falsely charged for service calls
- Took 4 months to solve my connection problems (turns out the had stapled through the cables).
- I've spent at least 20 hours on the phone arguing and pleading with them.
- They don't give their techs a computer to diagnose problems. They require that you have one on hand. Otherwise you're SOL!
- Each tech gave me a different story as to why I was having problems
- Multiple times I was lied to (claiming the tech got into an accident, claiming the tech was sick, claiming the service was "green on their end") to avoid coming out to my house.
- Service tech was sloppy and unprofessional.
- About 60% of the time they "transfer" you to "someone" but it just immediately disconnects, then you get to wait another 45 minutes.
- They are late to appointments. Hours late. My tech actually made a butt-call to my phone after ignoring my calls and later was fired for failing a drug test.
- My service appointments kept getting cancelled because it was "green on their end", but they would cancel and give me a call at 6pm and when I would call back the line would immediately disconnect. Annoying to say the least!


Disappointed

Aug 04, 2014 by Joyce
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Five months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): ~$85/month • 
Zip Code: 49111 

It seems we use our data too quickly considering we keep the internet unplugged during the day and when we are not home. We use it normally other times and we tend to do heavy use during the free usage period. I monitor the usage meter often until this weekend.

When I tried to sign in to Exede on 8/3/14 at 12:48 a.m. I got the following message:
Login Error
Your login attempt using single sign-on with an identity provider certificate has failed. Please contact your salesforce.com administrator for more information.

I have contacted the company by email to resolve this current problem. Other problem is the internet is slow - all of the time. I am happy to report that I do have other options in providers and will look into other companies. If I pay the remaining of the two year commitment it might be worth it.

I will join a class action against Exede if only for the reason that companies have to treat customers better than they do.

For those of you who live in rural areas where Exede is your only provider contact your local government and demand they allow more companies to have access.


1.6 5.0 112 112 This is the worst service ever. Not only did they put a big hole in my wall when they installed it, but every time there is a cloud in the sky or it might rain it goes out. They ov Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»