Exede Review

Last updated Friday August 26th, 2016

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

stay the %&#$ away

Aug 25, 2016 by todd
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not even my worst enemy • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 59.00 • 
Zip Code: 93225 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Worst company in the world and I had time warner cable.the sales man promised 39.99 with phone and within a week(it took that long for him to show up) it went to 49.99 without phone and by the time he was done 59.99 cause i had to lease the equipment. From day one my laptops or desktop would not log on to the Internet. Called salesman/ tech he tells me signal going thru it must be your router. So off I am to buy a router called him for a suggestion and I bought a 125.00 router. Guess what still didn\'t work. I called him and texted him and he stop returning my calls called customer support and complain to them about service and they tell me its slow cause I used all my data in 5 days watching YouTube. That\'s funny my computers didn\'t even work on there crappy system. There is no cooling off period with theses people its costing me 345.00 to get out of there contract. When I was talking to the disconnect people I could here in the background customer service agents yelling at customers saying its not our fault its ur equipment
I\'m so done I\'m going back to DSL


never again

Aug 24, 2016 by Camelia Rosemond
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 85.00 a month • 
Zip Code: 34431 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

255.00 cancelation fee. I know i did not sign up for 2 yrs because I was only renting for 1 yr. In any event I was told that it automatically signs you up for 2 yrs when you sign the contract. I specifically asked for a 1 yr. Contract. I was told ihad to remove equipment from the satellite . The damn satellite is on the roof. Cost to have someone remove Iit is 95.00. 150.00 if i do not return it. Ok. Send someone out. They don't have anyone available. Go figure. Amazing if i was calling for Iinstallation someone could be here tomorrow. Horrible service. A total rip off.


Aug 24, 2016 by Anna
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Since May 2009 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Only if it's the only option available • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 50.00 • 
Zip Code: 44253 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

My service is passable. I live in a rural area and my only other option is dial-up. I honestly cannot say what my usage limits are. I do know I opted for the lower (or slower?) bandwidth as I do not participate in online games or streaming movies, netflix, etc. I use the internet for facebook, yahoo email, pinterest, etsy, amazon, online banking, bill pay and general web browsing. My service isn\'t as slow as dial up but isn\'t lightning fast either. I have never had my internet cut off due to using too much data. My bill has been the same from day one. I generally don\'t have trouble with my dish not getting a signal, even when it rains. I have never had to have any type of physical service done. I did call tech support for the first time today and don\'t have a clue what the guy told me.... not that he had an accent, but he spoke quickly and our phone connection seemed poor. So, I am giving 3 stars. It isn\'t great, but it\'s better than nothing. I have checked with frontier and hughes net. I will stay with excede/wild blue because the other satellite providers were $20 above what I pay now for probably the same speed.


internet sucks

Aug 24, 2016 by ibrahim saleh
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 weeks • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO WAY • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 90 • 
Zip Code: 54001 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

I installed exede about a month ago, it is at best slow and choppy, it is the worst internet I have ever used, they will not let me cancel without paying the early cancellation fee of $390. Worst customer service ever, I would not recommend this internet to my dog let alone a friend. this been an experiance like no other, the worst service and customer support


Horrible

Aug 23, 2016 by Dave
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not if I want them to stay friends • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $1000 • 
Zip Code: 06492 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We switch to Direct TV and they recommended Exede. Exede was installed. The speed was very slow then after 4 days we used all of our data for the month.
Exede wanted to have us pay another $60 for another 4 days worth of data. We cancelled, and they charge us another $320. Unreal- the worst, never, ever use this product or company. Sad I had to give them one star.


tech support

Aug 23, 2016 by David
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 18 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Questionable • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 68 • 
Zip Code: 50604 

I experienced a traffic jam error on the internet this afternoon. I could only get on google and a few other sites. those sites I could get on, I couldn't go anyplace on the second click as page not available or address incorrect. I called tech support and after being told everything checks out okay was sent to goassist.me. The first time it loaded then ended. The second time it loaded and after the initial person got off the phone it ended. I called again and Frank said everything checks out but then dropped the call. the next call was wait 10 minutes and then was dropped. the next call was Fantasia and I asked for a supervisor which was dropped after 10 minutes on hold. My last call was Mima with everything checks out okay and must be other issues and call back in the morning as the next level of tech support not in at night. I have called about a problem 2 other times with real good results where a tech had to come out and had a good experience. however, with all the calling, verification of account, wasting of time, waiting on hold, more verification of account with each person, is a total unsatisfactory and extremely annoying process. I do not like to give bad reviews but in this case the problem was not corrected and only appologizing was done for all the time on the phone. I am in an area where I could have dsl but that is totally unsat as you are cut off after 15 minutes and have trouble each and every time you log on. I am stuck with this.


LOL. 7.5 GB Usage

Aug 20, 2016 by Ian
How Long Have You Used This Service?: ~2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 64.50 • 
Zip Code: 30251 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

I finally got Charter installed at my house after writing congressmen, senators and the executives at the company. The company has been great to work with.

I had to unplug my satellite receiver to accommodate the new modem and didn't use satellite at all last month. Exede says I used 7.5 GB of my 20 GB plan on my most recent bill. LOLCOWZ.

If we had a functioning government that wasn't corrupt, I'd suggest an investigation into the company for its billing practices. We don't have a competent government or social institutions anymore, so why bother?

I have only another month or two on my Exede contract. I'll probably cancel before then & pay the early termination fees.


Unsatisfactory Phone Service

Aug 16, 2016 by William B Hunter
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Too Much • 
Zip Code: 90808 

My Elderly parents have not had phone service for two days and your representative tells us it could be an additional 72 hours before service can be restored. This is unsatisfactory and I will express this on various websites.
The hold on the telephone to speak to a rep is over 20 minutes.
You will not send a technician out.
When I spoke to a rep yesterday, he could not restore the service and initiated a "ticket" to look at the situation.
Your webpage installation video does not match the actual equipment that has been provide.
The self installation instructions received in a letter from Exede does not work. (The Mac # that was inputted from the back of the device did not work when entered).
All in all, very unsatisfactory.


WORST COMPANY IN AMERICA!

Aug 16, 2016 by Robert Ganley
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: HELL NO! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $110/mo. • 
Zip Code: 37174 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Absolutely horrible experience with this company. Sloppy installation, agonizingly slow internet speed, frequent modem resets (20-30 times a day!), non-existent customer service, uses all of my 12 GB data allowance within 2 days despite not downloading movies, TV shows or online gaming, etc. I would rate this company as the single worst I have ever dealt with in my entire life!


Terrible

Aug 16, 2016 by Jonathan
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $50 • 
Zip Code: 78015 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Exede sales people are very deceptive about this product. They sell it to you as an add on to Direct TV and do not give you any details about it. For starters, they never mentioned that it was satellite internet and would therefore require a dish be installed. They installed the dish without asking about the location on the house. After two days the internet stopped working. 5 days later a tech finally showed up only to tell us our cabeling was too updated for Exede and they would need to downgrade the cables on our brand new house in order for the internet to work properly. After denying them the right to downgrade our cables they were unwilling to let us cancel without a hefty penalty. The Internet speed is so slow that my mouse has lag time simply going across the screen. The product is terrible and the customer service is even worse.


1.3 5.0 870 870 Worst company in the world and I had time warner cable.the sales man promised 39.99 with phone and within a week(it took that long for him to show up) it went to 49.99 without phon Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»