Exede

User Review for Exede Satellite Internet:

Over 900 Exede user reviews as of March 2016!

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Not bundled into Direct TV

Apr 30, 2016 by Paula Montanez
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not a chance • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80. • 
Zip Code: 11419 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): Paulyvleu • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Was supposed to be bundled 

Direct TV misled about a bundle. This is a separate entity and separate bill. The price Direct TV gave me was no way near what Exede gives. I never wanted a satellite for Internet. I wasn\'t even home to sign anything. These guys came the same day as Direct TV upgrade to my equipment boxes and the neighbor thought Exede was Direct TV. I called customer service and they had no souls. I emailed ViaSat and they kept me sending me replied emails statement the issue was resolved. I am fighting this


WORST EVER! CS is even worse!

Apr 28, 2016 by Judy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2.5 yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 140 • 
Zip Code: 76177 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Early morning and about 7:00 I either have no service or possibly 2 or less vs the 18 Mbs I was sold. I've complained multiple times for yrs and even started recording my speed tests to prove how unreliable my service was. I finally got a good CS rep who witnessed the svs drop to 1.59 mbps, then to .34. After ckg he said it was the throughput on their end and escalated. The 2nd tier lady was absolutely hateful to deal with and said the 1st rep didn't know what they were talking about. She said I had to expect line congestion in evening prime time! REALLY!!! I'm no longer tied by my 2 yr contract and I'm dumping them and their rude CS reps ASAP!


Don't bother

Apr 27, 2016 by Steven
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $65 per month • 
Zip Code: 24121 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We purchased Exede because it was touted as super fast internet in our rural area. It was generally fast for about 3 days each month until our 10 GB of data magically disappeared. After that they put you on their slow plan and you are lucky if you can even connect must less check your emails. Don't even try to use it in the evenings because there are so many people using it that you can't do anything. Exede customer service is unresponsive. Be careful if you move within the 24 month contract because you will have to pay to reconnect at new address and start a new 24 month contract. I would not recommend this to anyone unless you want to be eternally frustrated.


Terrible choice

Apr 27, 2016 by Dan Mitchell
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2+ Years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $800+/yr • 
Zip Code: 14837 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

If satellite internet is your only option, shop elsewhere. Exceed came as a terrible internet option bundled with the equally lousy DirecTV. Speed was slow enough but if you hit your cap, it penalizes you with slower speeds AND charges you overage. My understanding is they eliminated the overage fee but your overage speed reminds me of the speed most phone modems delivered. I cancelled on the day a direct payment was made to my card and they refused to refund me the fee for a h coming month so to top off their crappy service, I paid $60 for a day of Internet. Avoid Exede at all costs.

Gotta go get that second satellite dish off my roof now.


DO NOT GET EXCEDE!

Apr 27, 2016 by Rochelle Crow
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80 per month • 
Zip Code: 49251 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Internet went down just after the 90 days. It has been out for 4 weeks and I can't get anyone to come out to fix it.
Customer service is the worst that I've ever dealt with. They purposely scheduled an appointment yet didn't tell the service people, so no one speed up. One time, they acted like they couldn't hear me on the phone and hung up on me. One time, they just hung up, another time, they had me on hold waiting for a supervisor for 40 minutes, just to hang up.

Save yourself 2 years of problems by choosing a different company!!!!


lousy internet

Apr 25, 2016 by chris
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No way • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 62 • 
Zip Code: 54956 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Evey month my bill is pulled from my checking and within a couple of days i get a notice to keep an eye on my data. Every time its says i am at 70% of my data, then in less that a day i will get another notice that i have exceeded my data allowance even though no one has been using it. When i called about this they tell me someone must be stealing my data. Every month i get the same notices and it is always withing a few days of the bill just being paid. What a super rip off. Is there any wireless interenet out there that is available from an honest company????


An accurate review

Apr 22, 2016 by Erica
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Yes • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70 • 
Zip Code: 43701 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

First and foremost I would like to start by saying that if you have access to Time Warner, AT&T U-verse or any other landline service GET THAT FIRST. This product is NOT meant for anyone but people in the rural market. That being said, for people who have no other choice between satellite internet or a hotspot through a cellphone provider this is your best option. It's far from perfect, but it works better than HughesNet and DishNet by far. You get an allotment of "priority" data and then after that you get put into what's called a "pass area". You can use as much as you want, period. Will it be slower in the evening? Yes. Will it work? Yes. You can't live in the middle of nowhere and expect to have the same service as you would in a metropolitan area. Blaming the service for the shortcomings of satellite internet in general is unfair, especially as this one is legitimately better. The exede phone or "voice" as they call it is useless, don't waste your time, but as for the internet itself it's definitely a step up for the rural market.


Exede Satellite Data Plan

Apr 21, 2016 by Duane
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not sure • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $1000/yr • 
Zip Code: 49858 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Always surprised at how fast the data gets chewed up despite never downloading videos or movies.
More importantly, trying to download ITunes updates after hours because it's "FREE"...BS!
Exede disconnects my internet connection at the 34.9MB point of a 160MB file. EVERYTIME on the "off-hours"
They won't allow it! You have to download it when it is applied against your data plan. Bait and Switch!


Worst Internet I've Ever Used!!!

Apr 21, 2016 by Joel Barnes
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not a Chance • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 69 • 
Zip Code: 74331 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

We don't have many internet options. Exede was recommended by Direct TV as part of a bundle package.
The basic internet only allows 10GB Data per month. You can upgrade to 30GB data allowance per month for 149.99. That is just crazy!!! Lucky for us we now have Vyve as an option. Their data allowance is slightly higher at 1TB per month for 49.99. I feel sorry for anyone who is stuck with Excede. It is a step above dial up at best. Very slow, lose connection all the time, and no its not because our dish is blocked, our DTV dish is right next to it, no problems with dish signal.


Horrible

Apr 21, 2016 by Anthony Carter
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70 • 
Zip Code: 28752 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Over priced. Poor customer service. Slow speeds. The worse company I have to pay every month would give 0 stars if it was an option


1.3 5.0 754 754 Direct TV misled about a bundle. This is a separate entity and separate bill. The price Direct TV gave me was no way near what Exede gives. I never wanted a satellite for Internet. Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»