Exede

Please keep your Exede internet reviews factual and intelligent. For positive review please avoid general platitudes like ‘great, super, best’ instead please list specific information, for example download/upload speeds and how the service works for you. For complaints please avoid words such as ‘thieves, liars, crooks’, instead please list specific instances of service or support that you are dissatisfied with or instances where the service has not worked well for you. The more professional and thoughtful your review the more helpful it will be to other readers. Thank you! :-)

User Review for Exede Satellite Internet

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet SKU UPC Model

Ripped Off

Mar 27, 2015 by Kim Bowling
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 69.99 • 
Zip Code: 47474 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes-Direct TV 

We have been with Direct TV for many years and have been satisfied with the service. When we first signed up with Direct TV, we bundled with another phone/internet provider. We were happy with the company for many years. We had unlimited internet with a wireless router. When a direct tv represntitive came to our house to inquire about updating our boxes to the new genie boxes, he was trying to sell us a new phone/internet bundle that would save us 10 a month. He claimed we would have the same service we currently have but with a different company and save 10. We declined because we were happy with what we had, and for the fact that the new provider (exede) had paperless billing and we would have to give them our checking account number. No one should ever have control of your bank account but yourself. He later came back with his supervisor and had his supervisor talk to us and offered to get us a prepaid card to add as our account. They eventually talked my husband into switching. When they installed the services, I asked the installer what our wireless password was, and that is when I found out that we no longer had wireless internet. Once I got on the internet and started reading about the new exede service, I found that we no longer had unlimited internet. (again,misrepresented) We do not use the internet very often and we received an email that stated that we were over our data limit and we still have half of the billing cycle to go. The service is very slow and much much slower than what we had before. I called to cancel the service after finding this all out and was told that we were locked into a 2 yr contract via an electronic signature that we have never signed. So would I recommend a slow, not enough data to even stream a movie and no wireless router? Would I recommend going back to the 90s? No. I would not recommend Exede, nor would I still recommend Direct TV. If they could dislead and misrepresent loyal customers like they did us with a shady service as Exede, we will no longer do business with them.


Worst customer service, worst internet in the world!

Mar 27, 2015 by Page Wilhelm
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $140.00 • 
Zip Code: 24553 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We do not get any speed at all, we are constantly told we are over the highest monthly amount, 15 days if the month we have virtually NO service. No one responds to emails, call in and get put on hold for hours & hours, we have no choices where we live, satellite is it. I get infuriated when I see an ad that say says lightening fast speeds, how about turtle fast speeds!
Worst of all, never any resolution, they could care less about the customers!


Rip Off

Mar 26, 2015 by Bill
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 mo • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No Way • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $49.00 plus a $314.00 cancelation fee • 
Zip Code: 08079 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Needed a VPN service for my work program. When I was unable to connect I was told they don't offer that service. So I cancelled the service and the next day they took the $ 314.00 early cancelation fee out of my Acct.
I can't believe companies can do this to their costumers!


Free installation not free

Mar 25, 2015 by Desi gray
How Long Have You Used This Service?: ~2 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 200 • 
Zip Code: 39470 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Upon calling to get service installed, I was informed that the installation was free. Well contrary to my contract my credit card was charged a $99 fee for this installation. After contacting exede I was then informed that they did not offer free installation in my area, but they would make a one time exception and refund the fee. Well that was one week after the install and almost two months later and three more phone calls about the refund I still have yet to receive it. Every call always starts with 'Can I put you on hold while I talk to corporate' and and always end with 'you should see your refund in 3-5 business day' and when there's no refund the next call always start the same as the last. Beware of the free installation because 'for me' it wasn't free.


It's a scam! Do not sign up!!

Mar 25, 2015 by Cali
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $50... $320 to break contract • 
Zip Code: 97701 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes scammed into by direct tv 

My mind is blown by how awful the customer service and actual service actually is. The Internet is slow and the data used is pulled from our DVR every time it records. So every single month we go over data and they are not doing anything about it except saying we can pay more to make it better. Then if we pay the money to break contract we have to get the dish off our roof ourselves.. Wtf?! I would love to see this company go out of business so no one else gets scammed on their awful product!!! Seriously?!


Worst Service

Mar 25, 2015 by Ken
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Less than a week • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 69.83 • 
Zip Code: 77521 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

We had this ISP for like 3-4 days now and we could not barely access the internet. I could not even check my emails because the internet is so slow. they offered 12mbps speed for web browsing and 3mbps for downloading but this not true, if this is true then how come I could not open my emails, my son can't even browse videos on youtube. The only reason why we got this exede as an ISP because they are bundled with direct TV. now that we know how rude their customer service agents and technician are plus the internet is very slow we regret the day we have exede as our internet service provider. Early termination fee would cost $15/month for the service that we did not get or was not provided to us. it seems like you are paying this company for a service that you don't actually use. it's a waste of money and time if you are tied up with their contract.


Mar 24, 2015 by Bill
How Long Have You Used This Service?: About 4 mos • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No way! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $ 300.00 early cancelation fee • 
Zip Code: 08079 

Got the service for my work program which uses VPN. I could never conect to the program. I could conect at Dunkin Donuts, connected at Start Bucks, connected at a friends home, but with their sevice not at all. So when I canseled the they nailed me with a $ 300.00 early cancelation fee, for providing no service.
Don't go there for Internet service you won't get any!


Glad to be FREE!

Mar 23, 2015 by Sharon Bucholz
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $90 for 15G • 
Zip Code: 20175 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I've had ViaSat/Exede for about 10 yrs. Prior to that I had Hughsnet. I have to say, ViaSat was better than HNet by far. My basic problem with Viasat was the amount of data I had to buy for what seemed to me to be limited on-line activity. I many times used my ViaSat allowance of 15G's within 3 weeks. I called ViaSat several times asking about how I could be consuming so much data for what I felt was limited activity. They told me streaming used a lot of data, but I didn't do streaming. They said connecting your TV used a lot of data, but I didn't have my Directv service connected. They said having an insecure wifi could allow others to tap in, but my wifi was secure. They said updating your device used a lot of data, but I'd stay up to do updates AFTER midnight, when it was free. And by the way, it was free but also slow! I basically used one, and on occasion two, iPads on the connection. I limited my FB activity and primarily used the connection for web searches and email. I've now disconnected the service after a 4.5 month dispute with ViaSat over a $95 error in charging for a service call that never occurred. After nearly 5 months they finally gave me a partial credit off my bill. The last customer rep I spoke with (I called every month to get it resolved) had the audacity of telling me that perhaps I'd forgotten that the service was performed because it'd been so long. Really?? After making the same request for correction each month, I had the details memorized! He also said that more than likely the technician came and made the repair without my knowing it. After talking with this guy I was determined to find another ISP! That's when I discovered the T-Mobile hotspot. And what I've discovered after having this service is that ViaSat must have some inaccurate way of measuring data usage. In comparison, I was charged about 1G a day for ViaSat usage, but now with T-Mobile, pretty much doing the exact same activity, It takes me about 10 days to use 1G! Exactly what I suspected for so many years, my activity on ViaSat really never coincided with my data consumption. Sometimes in rural areas there's simply no other alternative to satellite service, but before buying such an expensive means of Internet service, check into mobile hotspots for your area. T-Mobile has been excellent so far, so thanks ViaSat for giving me such a hard time with an entitled credit, you actually did me a favor! I'm delighted to be FREE of ViaSat or any satellite!!


dont wast your time and money

Mar 23, 2015 by joe bleau
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 yr • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Nope • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70 • 
Zip Code: 96720 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

ok don't get involved with viasat..they rely don't care about you as a customer..if they cared they would not be in a campaign of over selling there small band width..with hundreds or even thousands using the service at once..well i think you get the idea of what speeds you really can expect..but you cant even use the current speeds as a barometer of what the service will be like in the future because they are actively promoting the new unlimited service in selected markets..so they are screwing it up for the guys who don't want the 125$ a month bill...and if you think you can use the service during the free period to stream some video or anything else requiring bandwidth forget it and go to bed..there is so much competition for bandwidth during these times that often the service just grinds to a halt..you cant even get a webpage to open and im telling you as a late night user..a year ago it was only occasionally slow but in the past months its rare to find a free period that inst very crowded with to many users..so the service is of little use with about 350MB a day to use on a 10gig plan


Slow Service

Mar 22, 2015 by Norm
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 YRS • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Only if they have no other opt. • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 110.00 • 
Zip Code: 75972 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Exede has always been high cost for the speed and quality of service. As soon as the phone company brings service to our area Exede is gone. For several months the service was as good as advertised - which isn't great but acceptable. But tonight is the second time this year that our service is down to almost nothing. I've tried all the tricks and nothing works so I'm now on a 15 minute wait to talk to a tech.


1.4 5.0 356 356 We have been with Direct TV for many years and have been satisfied with the service. When we first signed up with Direct TV, we bundled with another phone/internet provider. We wer Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»