Exede Review

Last updated Thursday January 19th, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Jan 16, 2017 by Regina
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9mths • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 113.00 • 
Zip Code: 02360 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Stuck in contact for years hasn't worked right at all.Keep trying to sell me more gig ya right!I wish there was a better business Bureau for all this company's that ripe everyone off with their lias.Just thevies!we should be able to sue them!


Warning!

Jan 14, 2017 by James Brown
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 minths • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 85.00 • 
Zip Code: 75771 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Deceptive! Liars! Unethical! Immoral! Data lasts 3 days. Misrepresented and most customers are unhappy. Should be investigated.


INTERNET LIKE THIS SHOULDNT EXIST

Jan 08, 2017 by Nick
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: I WOULDNT RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 150$ • 
Zip Code: 02210 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

this internet is HORRIBLE slow speed when they said i would get 8-12GB download speed yet i only got 1 barely and then when I called about my problem they just told me to reset my router and that was it and it didn't work!.I had missing data and slow speed and horrible customer service. All i do is email people with this internet and play games online (a little bit) yet in 3-4 days it was already used up!. DONT EVER USE THIS INTERNET


exede speed metered to ridiculouly slow speeds

Jan 08, 2017 by shawn
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $70 • 
Zip Code: 95045 

When switching to liberty pass the speed becomes so slow (~0.25 Mbps download) that it takes too long to load a simple webpage. I hope they change the Algorithm to a more practical and fair speed adjustment. I understand the idea of slowing down the speed when exceeding your limit but the current Exede system settings are too aggressive and prevent normal use.


Run the other way!

Jan 07, 2017 by Tabatha
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $114 • 
Zip Code: 28501 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Do not waste your time or money. Customer service sucks and they are super rude, no matter what time you call they NEVER have a supervisor for you to talk to. I called to cancelled my service in October due to hurricane Matthew, we had to evacuate...they still charged me for service and our house for flooded for over 2 months. The guy on the phone said we should have sent a forwarding address for them to send the box out so we could return the equipment. He ignored me when I said we were HOMELESS! And still they continued to take funds out of my account...here it is January and I'm still fighting to get my money back. They charged me $320 for equipment and $252 for 2 months for unused service. Do not go with Exede, they are crooks and its perfectly legal and unethical...


Caution

Jan 07, 2017 by Jim Browne
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 85.00 • 
Zip Code: 75771 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Have 10 gigs and it only lasts about 3 days. No livestreaming just email, web search. I use half that on my phone plan with 3 people in a month. No real explanation from Exede. I subscribe to exede feedback and 90% so feedback is very negative.


Exede Internet

Jan 05, 2017 by Loretta Sorsby
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 yr 10 mo • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 108.00 month • 
Zip Code: 38057 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Internet + landline 

The problems I have had with Exede:
Data used up in 7 days-We don't stream, play games, video is disabled with on internet. There is no way to track data usage to make adjustments in personal use, you just have to take their word for it.
Poor customer service-For two years when I call Exede I get "We are experiencing high call volumes. Wait times are expected to be more than 20 minutes." They are actually anywhere from 20 minutes to never. You would think that in two years they could hire and train enough people to staff their customer service center. However if you press 2 for sales a person answers immediately.
Connection problems-Connection issues have always been a problem, but in the last few months we lose internet 4-5 times a day and starting around mid-November until the present it goes out constantly. Which leads into the next problem.
Tech Support-Good luck getting through to a real tech support person. In the last month I have tried 4 times and held 45 minutes to an hour and no one ever comes on the line so I have given up. The last time I decided to wait as long as needed, after over an hour the phone went to a fast busy signal and dropped the call.
Billing-In Feb 2016 they took three payments from my account. After trying to resolve it with Exede I went to my bank and let them handle it. In April Exede finally admitted it and then credited the two extra payments to my account even though I requested a refund. In June 2016 they took two payments and only credited one and denied taking the extra payment. They wanted my bank statement as proof even though my bank contacted them. Since I had already discovered resistance is futile I redacted all information other than the info that concerned Exede. They would not accept that as proof unless I provided the complete June statement with nothing redacted. In July they cut-off my service until I paid them again. Finally got it straightened out after many, many hours on the phone with rude so-called Executive Resolution staff, who continued to deny they ever cut my service off. She said it must have been a tech issue. After that I removed any direct payment options and just to be on the safe side I got new CC numbers from my bank. I have to call in every month to pay. Even though I instruct them to not save my information, when my contract is up I will change my numbers again.
Monthly statement-Exede issues your statement the same day the payment is due. Your payment is deducted before you have a chance to check your statement.
BTW-Go to the legal link on Exede's website and check-out the contract that is electronically signed after your installation is done to activate your service. It is 14 pages of small print that tates anything Exede stated concerning speed, reliability, data usage, and other advertised claimsis not guaranteed and if you have an issue with that you agree to arbitration that basically you will never win. You also give up the right to participate in any Class Action disputes. And yes, when asked they can produce your electronic signature even if you do not remember a 14 page legal document.
Exede is hands down the worst company I have ever done business with and I am no spring chicken. Unfortunately for folks in the country there are limited choices. In urban areas people pay much less for increasing data limits so they can access new technology. In addition they pay less than rural consumers pay for inadequate and poor service from companies that believe they have a captive customer base that has no other options. My husband and I pay close to 375.00 a month to ATT for 2 mobile phone lines that does work at our house, Direct TV that we cannot use for any services that require the internet,and Exede for our internet and a landline that will not work when it even looks like it is going to rain. In rural areas consumers need to demand adequate infrastructure improvements that all consumers already pay for in fees added to our phone, cable and internet bills to offset the cost of expanding to rural areas. There are electrical utility coops in Tennessee that already have the capability to bring WIFI to rural communities. Large telecommunication companies lobby against these coops at the state level and win. Contact your county, state and federal representatives and speak out for changes.


EXCEDE INTERNET

Dec 31, 2016 by Barbara Wallander
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $76.68 • 
Zip Code: 65548 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: NO 

This is the worst internet provider I have ever had. They lied to us from the start and said we could make sure it worked. When you sign and they hook it up you are tied up for 3 years. At first you hardly had internet, we kept complaining and they sent someone out 3 times and finally got it where it worked a little more often. That lasted a few months now it is back to intermittent, You have internet service maybe 10% of the time. Whenever you call in the tell you it is storming in Utah or South America or somewhere. for a few days of the month you have high enough speed when it is working to download something from you tube or stream a vido on facebook after that there is extremely slow service when it is working you can't download or stream anything.
A total waste of money, and a totally misrepresented service. IF there was a minus rating I would give it.


Exede's Silencing Bad Reviewers

Dec 30, 2016 by Jim
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Rather not say • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Rather not say • 
Zip Code: Rather not say • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Recently after a couple of close friends of mine were duped into paying for this service and got nowhere near the service that exede promised I went to this facebook page :

https://www.facebook.com/Exede-Satellite-Internet-1794787057468811/about/

There I posted about how bad the service was and this was the response I got from the guy who runs that page for exede:

" Well I first want you to know that I am just a local Exede dealer. I also want to ask you a question for the sake of any of my current and potential customers.

Are you willing to go to each of these homes with five, ten, twenty or more miles of fiber optic cable that you will pay for and install?
Are you willing to do all of that for them and charge a fair rate such as $29 per month? When you can say yes to those two questions than let me know because I will gladly provide that service to my customers."

I pointed out how that $29 dollars he referenced was not the price the service charged and I explained about their data caps of 10gb, 12gb, 18gb, & 30gb, using their own website as reference to get the fact 100% correct. I explained how the first 2 plans cost $49.99, and the other 2 cost $69.99 and $99.99. After that post the owner of that page having no rebuttal deleted the posts and then blocked any further posts. Exede satellite, in my opinion is a serious scam and when anyone speaks out about their lack of ability to make good on the promises they have made to those who are not getting the service they have been promised they do whatever they can to try and silence those critics and remove those negative reviews.


something's wrong somewhere

Dec 30, 2016 by Nancy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $160.90 • 
Zip Code: 73434 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

If there were a 0 rating that is what I would give. There is something going on with this service: we have used 147 G in 17 days, a good bit of that occurred in the middle of the night when we were asleep. We do not use our phones' wifi, just 2 computers. We do not stream nor do we surf the net. Just business.
You tell me, What is going on? This is the second month it has been this bad, the first two were bad enough, but this is just beyond probability, possibility, or anything else.
Our problem is it is the only service we can get. I am going to start tethering my computer to my phone, much cheaper!!!!


1.3 5.0 950 950 Stuck in contact for years hasn't worked right at all.Keep trying to sell me more gig ya right!I wish there was a better business Bureau for all this company's that ripe everyone Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»