Exede Review

Last updated Thursday March 23rd, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Mar 20, 2017 by HOWARD RUDIN
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): To much • 
Zip Code: 92561 

Slow speed .96 mbps download speed when where paying for 12. Your technical department had me do the same thing 10 times to check the speed and the only answer that is given is there is a lot of usage and there is nothing we can do. I am not paying for excuses and you should be able to handle the usage. I am angry about the bad service and the people are robotic. After spending 2 hours on the phone with no results maybe I have to look for a new provider


Horrible connection and customer service

Mar 20, 2017 by Jenelle Sharpley
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 15 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $80+ per month • 
Zip Code: 98022 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Connection speed is not even close to what they told me when I signed up and ended up being unusable for my internet job. I only used it for my iPhone. When I canceled service because I was moving, they refused to credit me for the portion of the month (3 and a half weeks) that I was unable to use. I will NEVER recommend this company to anyone.


GET BUNDLED

Mar 19, 2017 by Mark
How Long Have You Used This Service?: ONE DAY • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: MAYBE A ENEMY • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70 • 
Zip Code: 97140 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: YES 

Sold to my neighbor as part of a DirecTV bundle... No one told them about the no grace period 24 month contract, or the fact that VOIP may or may not work at all.. Called to cancel DirecTV. They worked with me on that part... but...Exede refused to cancel without charging a $360 fee.. oh well cancelled anyway and will take this up with the credit card company.. Great policy NOT.. Buyer Beware


NEVER USE EXEDE

Mar 18, 2017 by Kelly
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $65 per month • 
Zip Code: 97111 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Exede did what they called a "software update" last month and now the data that used to last us almost all month lasts 48hrs. They are what they call tightening down on their usage. Well if they were willing to release customers from their contracts then this would be their problem but because they have now changed our service rendering it useless to us we now had to find another provider and pay their early termination fee. It is absolutely terrible customer service to change their services and tell customers too bad. If they were making a mistake on their end with data usage and wanted to fix it then they should release everyone in contract with no fee when the service is no longer compatible. If you are in the NW I highly recommend Online NW if you can get it.


Horrible company and pathetic excuse for customer service

Mar 16, 2017 by Tracy Sullivan
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $115.00 • 
Zip Code: 78056 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I am paying for the highest package and have not come close to the limit until the last 4-weeks. I broke my foot 4-weeks ago and finally had surgery last week. I am in a guest bedroom in our home, the bed is tall and easier for me to get in and out of with one leg. I have already been non-weight bearing for 4 weeks, with 8 more to go. Since this is a guest room, there is no DIRECTV connection and no TV. I finally resorted to downloading a few movies to watch. As you can guess, it quickly used up my limit for the month with 3 weeks left until the next billing cycle. I splurged and bought additional bandwidth at the rate of $100/10gbs. I called customer service and explained my situation, I was rudely told that there was nothing they would do to help, and if I kept buying additional bandwidth they would cut me off completely.

Our area is supposed to get broadband in about 8-months. As soon as it is available, I will drop Exede like a hot potato. I had hoped that service would get better since AT&T bought out Viasat, but it sounds like they kept the rude employees!


Couldn't get equipment returned

Mar 14, 2017 by Kim Dobbs
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 76.68 • 
Zip Code: 76550 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

First of all this was the only service that we were able to obtain due to living so far out of town so we had no choice. I was so excited when we moved to a different city and had more options. I called December 31, moving day, to cancel service and have a box sent to us to return the equipment. I called 2/7 when I had not received my box. They had shipped the box to the old address. I had been very careful in telling them the new address to prevent this but it didn't. I called again on 2/9 to make sure the box was shipped and it had not been. I called again on 2/20 and 2/22, no box. On top of repeatedly calling and getting no box they took $324 out of my bank account for failure to return equipment I had not received a box for. I called again on 3/3 and found out UPS had apparently lost the box (not exceeds fault but icing on the cake). I called 3/8 to have them send a new box. 3/14 still no box and I was told they won't send a third box and after 2 1/2 months of calling every few weeks to get a box I'm told I will have to pay the full shipping price back. After all "it's only a courtesy that they send a box. They don't HAVE to send me a box and pay shipping". I've never been so frustrated with a company in my life. I am so glad the bad internet and poor customer service with them are in the past.


Mar 13, 2017 by Dave L.
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No way!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $89 • 
Zip Code: 75440 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We had Exede for two years and dropped them as soon as our two year contract was up. 15 GB per month in the plan we were in. While I can't prove it, it seemed like our data limit was reach earlier each month once I purchased extra data. Last month, we were placed on limited bandwidth only 5 days into the billing cycle. No videos or large downloads. After being placed on restricted speed, I measured our bandwidth using OOKLA. Download speed was 0.53 gbps. Too slow to even use email. If you do use Exede, recommend you never purchase extra data. I would not recommend Exede as an ISP!


Mar 12, 2017 by CARRIE PARHAM
How Long Have You Used This Service?: CARRIE • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 85.00 • 
Zip Code: 21213 

First time customer, and I was unaware they bill a month in advance. However I never received a bill and they suspended my service. When I called to find out the issue that is when I was informed of a past due balance! I have only had the service for 1 week. I explained to the representative that I didn't receive a bill we went through the information on my account and found that the prior representative did not type the email in correctly!
Needless to say she got approval from a supervisor to reconnect my service and apologized, she told me because it was their error she will restore it until Fri when I'm able to pay it. The next day the service was disconnected again!!!Needless to say I called again and went through the whole scenario again this time the supervisor Tracy (SME47782) was very unconcerned, and was not friendly at ALL!!!!! HORRIBLE FOR A SUPERVISOR! I would not recommend this company to nobody the internet service is slow like dial up they have this huge dish installed and the signal is still slow. Needless to say they don't compensate when they screw up your account! Now I'm binned in this 2 year contract with this sorry internet company! Don't waste your money on this is company soooooo not work it! I'm actually going to cancelled and pay the $400 cancellation fee! This company suck!


worst experience from install to performance

Mar 12, 2017 by Fred H Honore II
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: I would tell them to Run • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70.58 per month • 
Zip Code: 49464 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

I couldn't be more unhappy with the service I have. The internet is terrible. It is soooooooo slow. I run out of my 10GB so fast I know only use it for email and a little internet searching and still cant make it through the month. I use my phone as a hot spot more than anything and dont seem to use hardly any GB's

The process started with a terrible installation person putting the system where I didnt want it. Plus a terrible install. I have asked for help, asked for it to be moved and my house repaired and not reply, I called your office and complained and again nothing. I DON'T HAVE TIME TO DEAL WITH THIS, TERRIBLE BUSINESS. Please get this off my house and pay for the repairs. I truly wish I would have never purchased this with your company. I hope for your sake others have better success with your product, I will, as I have time, make all the negative comments I can to help others not have the same problems I have had. Please take care of this problem!


Liars, and Keep On Lying....

Mar 11, 2017 by Scott E
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Over 3 Years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Definitely Not! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 103 • 
Zip Code: 43318 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I've been with them for over three years, and have had many issues over that time, but also decent working times as well. However, lately they've been hammering our area with ads, and now someone down my rural road just had a install yday. So I'm thinking they are overtaxing their existing equipment. I have an old plan 'Exede12', stated on their website back then guaranteed speeds of 12Mbps or better, with 10GB cap and nightly free zone between 12AM-5AM. (BTW not offered anymore). So Bob in tech wanted to argue with me that they never said that on their website, there's never been a guaranteed speed. Really? Why does it say '12', in the name of the plan? Liars! I called because I'm mysteriously having issues during my free time when I stream movies, (convenient time for me, I work 2nd Shift, and come home to watch TV). Can't do that with less than 4Mbps. This AM, it was mysteriously back to better than 12Mbps. He said it was a maintenance issue. Ok, maybe, but I don't like being lied to about what I'm supposed to be able to do. I've been searching waybackmachine on archive.org to shove it in their face if I can find where it said 'guaranteed 12Mbps, and we are proud it often goes higher' to no success. Found this website, so I thought I'd warn others. I moved here recently, and no other options are available or I would dump these liars! Find a different solution if you can!


1.3 5.0 1005 1005 Slow speed .96 mbps download speed when where paying for 12. Your technical department had me do the same thing 10 times to check the speed and the only answer that is given is the Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»