Exede

Please keep your Exede internet reviews factual and intelligent. For positive review please avoid general platitudes like ‘great, super, best’ instead please list specific information, for example download/upload speeds and how the service works for you. For complaints please avoid words such as ‘thieves, liars, crooks’, instead please list specific instances of service or support that you are dissatisfied with or instances where the service has not worked well for you. The more professional and thoughtful your review the more helpful it will be to other readers. Thank you! :-)

User Review for Exede Satellite Internet (2014)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet SKU UPC Model

Do Not Get It

Sep 15, 2014 by p.Johanna
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $69 • 
Zip Code: 92337 

I signed up for this service thinking it was part of a package with DirectTv. I found out it was a separate company. I was aware there was a data cap, but was told that from midnight to five in the morning the cap did not pertain. The service was the worst and that includes those hours. When it rained or was windy, I would call and they would tell me the service was affected in my area and nothing could be done, no credit offer would be made or given when asked. Some would "offer" a technician to show up, but it would cost $150 for the visit alone. They also always have the same "fix" unplug and replug.

To make matters worse, the reps I would get were very difficult to understand. It is very obvious they use another country for their reps, so why try to cover it up with a southern drawl?

I opted to cancel early and pay the rest of the month. They sent me a box to return the modem and transmitter. I live in a two story and they put the dish on the highest peak of the house. There is no way to reach it. My options are to pay $300 for not returning it or $150 for one of their technicians to come out and get it. No where in the contract does it state that the transmitter must be returned. After several arguments they agreed to send someone out to get it at no charge.

This company is not worth it. Stay away.


STAY AWAY!

Sep 14, 2014 by Maria Villagomez
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 weeks • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell to the NO! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $403 • 
Zip Code: 92404 

This company deserves no stars. If I would've read these reviews prior to calling DirectTV, it would've saved me alot of stress. I was with excede for 2 days when I decided to cancel, keep in mind I already paid $63 for first month. The rep told me I'm locked in for 2 years and would have to pay $15 a month for the remaining 23 months.. FML. You wonder why this company has no grace period after installing, wonder no more. I have no clue why DirectTV bundles with them and was offered this service by the DirectTV rep. This company is by far the worst company I've ever dealt with in my life.


Overall horrible company

Sep 12, 2014 by Katelyn Gregory
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $60 a month + $500 in fees • 
Zip Code: 03103 

I had exceed for a year and broke contract 1 year early. Exceed required the tria back which was located on the roof of my 3rd story apartment. Exceed never told me that I order to avoid a $150 cancelation fee I would need to retrieve it myself or call a technician and pay a $125 feel. They forced me to pay regardless of the fact that I did not chose to place the dish on a 3rd story roof. Calling customer service is another nightmare, they will keep you on the phone on hold for 20+ minutes. Multiple times (while attempting to pay all of my early cancellation fees) they have dropped my calls. If they don't want my money fine, but this will affect your credit, which it has. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!


DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT

Sep 11, 2014 by Jay D
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Way more than it's worth • 
Zip Code: 08327 

Not worth 1 star

This service was bundled with Direct TV. We were never told by Direct TV that another company was going to provide internet and telephone service(Excede) until the tech was installing the TV dish on our roof.
About three days later two guys show up and they install another dish on the roof explaining that Excede uses a different satellite than Direct TV.
Anyway, after all is installed and hooked up and supposedly working, we noticed phone conversations had about a 3 second delay which is useless if trying to talk to someone.
Next, the internet connection kept dropping offline every time it got cloudy or rainy.

Going back to Charter as they go out of their way to make the coustomer happy.


Excede internet ripoff worse customer service ever!

Sep 11, 2014 by Carol
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 23 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $60.00 per month • 
Zip Code: 23842 

They had us switch from Wildblue to Excede the new faster internet they said! I got a new 2 year contract and they came out put it on old Wildblue Dish and he would never work correctly. They came out again and again. I had zero usage! They said we will give you credit! They never did or have. Then they sent a tech out in May 2014. He played with it and just took it off line. He said a second level tech would have to come out and they are going to credit you for the months you had zero usage! Never got credit...never got a call back... Did still get charged every month for service. I called back being put on hold and they never answer. They ask for your phone number that is on the account. They must avoid us! I set up the email to send in request for service. I got the email back that thier system is down and they closed the case!!! What they don't have internet either? I sent another email and asked for them to call me. They closed the case again and did nothing but take my money out of my credit card every month. I finally waited and I showed the tech that it was a 45 mintue call and the lady was rude. Set up appointment and when Tech came out he said that they needed to move the dish to another location and he put up new dish and charged me $170.00! This should have been done at the beginning! I asked for a superviosor and they are always busy and they can't call out so they can't call you back! Do you want to be in this nightmare? They have the worse customer service I have ever deal with. Once your in a contract they don't care and if you don't like it just read all these post where they charge you hundreds of dollars just to get out! This is a scam and they are getting rich off of worthless service and disconnect fees! I would have give them a zero rating!


Poor, inconsistent service, expensive set-up

Sep 11, 2014 by Ann
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $50 plus 400 in set up • 
Zip Code: 20119 

It was an expensive set up through Radio Shack, with more fees for set-up than disclosed in the store. I decided to try this service to my already existing Verizon wireless "MIFI" at our home, as Radio Shack swore that it was faster - and wanted to add redundancy. I retained our Verizon service. After being an expensive install (dishes, ground rod, router, extenders) - with more install/set-up fees than disclosed to us, the service is worse and less consistent than the OLD Hughes satellite internet service we had before. It often does not work and when it does work, it is MUCH slower than the Verizon Mifi service and sometimes so slow it is not worth using. We will definitely cancel when our contract is up.


Rip Off

Sep 10, 2014 by Pete W
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $100 per month and $250 disconnect • 
Zip Code: 23845 

What a misrepresentation. Two downloaded HD movies and you go to dial up speed. I wouldn't wish this service on anyone. Soon I am throwing the dish in the lake. What a joke this wss. And $250 to disconnect Worth every cent


Worst service EVER

Sep 10, 2014 by Kristin Stone
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 LONG months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutey NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): More than quoted • 
Zip Code: 29455 

Excede is the worst service I have come across since dealing with the DOD. I was told when I cancelled the service because I was moving to Colorado that it would be $222. I paid that amount. I was then told I had to climb on my roof to take off a piece of the antenna to mail back. Clearly this is not safe. I had my attorney speak to a rep asking for a written statement saying that I've been instructed to climb on my roof to get a piece to mail back. No instructions. We clarified that if I were to fall getting the piece, that Excede is held liable since they are telling me I have to get his piece off my roof. They refused. She had to negotiate to have someone come out to the house to remove it. The initial rep said $90 to have someone remove it; when we spoke to a manager, we were told $120 to have someone come remove it.
I was moving out of state and I had to confirm my new address 5 times since no one ever put it in the system. They mailed me the box to mail them the internet box back in. I was told that if they did not receive the internet box, they would charge me $250. Unfortunately, the internet box is in the back of my storage unit right now and I am unable to access it. Rather than charging me $250, they charged me $371. WHEN DID THIS PRICE CHANGE?? I haven't received a bill or statement for this charge.
This is by far, the worst company I have ever had to work with. Please avoid at all costs!


Absoulutely Horrible

Sep 10, 2014 by Debra
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month 2 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 59.00 • 
Zip Code: 12516 

I just signed up for this service. I went through 10gb in 2 days the first month and in one day the 2nd month. I want out of this contract and I want out of it now. I am researching how to cancel this service and not pay for cancellation charges because I think this is a complete rip off. They sent me an email telling that the downloads that were done were illegal and they might file charges. Could it be because I called an complained yesterday. They told me they were "the only internet provider" in the area, but I just found a new one that offers unlimited data usuage. It would be a negative star x5 if there was such a thing.


Fraud

Sep 10, 2014 by Kira Fox
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Over $500 so far • 
Zip Code: 23829 

It cost over $200 for a regular installation plus over $100 for a router from Walmart. They promised such fast speeds. I told them my son had to be able to use the computer for his online work. No problem they said. You will love it. Well I hate it. Its worse than dial up ever was. It wont even load one page of his work. And I can't get anyone to answer the phone. Why did Direct TV pitch this company to me in the first place? If I get out of this one I will never listen to another sales pitch on the phone again!! ( 0 Stars)


1.5 5.0 143 143 I signed up for this service thinking it was part of a package with DirectTv. I found out it was a separate company. I was aware there was a data cap, but was told that from midnig Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»