Exede Review

Last updated Monday July 25th, 2016

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Congestion on Beam

Jul 21, 2016 by jim
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70 • 
Zip Code: 26452 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We have used this provider for three years - no real complaints until last week when I noticed our internet was finally to slow to connect to some servers. Called Customer support - Tier 1 useless.. scripted troubleshooting.. They tested to our modem and received same slow speeds.. 1Mbps however, they insisted we needed to plug directly into modem and bypass WiFi.. they finally moved me up to tier 2 support - however they wanted to optimize my laptop.. even after they tested to the modem at the same slow speeds.. Got cutoff. and called back and was finally directed to their NOC after going thru the same scripted troubleshooting. Was told the Beam I was on has over 10000 users and is congested.. No resolution -- Only a statement we are working on fixing the problem which is the new Satellite in December. Why do you go thru all that useless troubleshooting -- they should know the existing problems with congestion.. unless they don't want you to really know the issue is not going to be resolved anytime soon..


Satellite Stops Working When It Rains

Jul 17, 2016 by Nancy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $90 • 
Zip Code: 54235 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Every time it rains, we have an outage, and we have to re-set 3 times to get it to work again. Price is very high for very little data. They are taking advantage of people who live out in in the country and have few options for internet service.


Jul 16, 2016 by Jesse C Gosselin
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $100 a month • 
Zip Code: 02893 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

The worst company ever! They never told me i couldn\'t use it for my sons gaming even after a 10 minute conversation about call of duty and fall out 4. When asked to review the phone call they completely lied to me and said nothing was mentioned about gaming now they wanna charge me $350 dollars to cancel on top of the $200 dollars for 2 months of service that was never used!! Don\'t deal with this company!!!


very poor internet

Jul 16, 2016 by chris
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 36271 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

One could only rate this company on a negative scale. We go through 10gb in a couple of days. Called Exede and was told Viasat was using the majority of data, what, the person had no ideal who Viasat was , thats who Exede is.Makes no sense. Don't sign up for this company------ RUN!


Worst Customer Service Ever

Jul 15, 2016 by Tracy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $120/month • 
Zip Code: 80831 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I am very disappointed with our Exede experience in the last 3 months. I was a customer for 8 years (Wild Blue at first, then Exede when they bought Wild Blue), paid $120 a month for internet, never missed a payment or was late on a payment even though we were dissatisfied with the service, and have had a 3 month horrible ordeal when I had to cancel my account to move out of state. I have had to spend 4 evenings on the phone with representatives trying to stop charges for old equipment left on a house that I no longer owned. The representatives never communicated when we cancelled that they needed that equipment returned. Then, they wanted me to go to the house that I no longer owned and climb on the roof myself to take the equipment off the roof and return it to them in a box they mailed. My husband spoke to them on the phone again. The representative at this time got a manager who told him not to worry about the equipment (it was old) and gave him a confirmation number that no charges would be placed and we did NOT have to return the old equipment. Next, we got our credit card statement and they charged us $308 for the equipment! They put the notes in our Wild Blue account that had been cancelled years ago! Why would an account that had been closed for almost 4 years affect my current account? That is what we get for being loyal to them! Finally, my husband called again with confirmation number, name of representative, time of day and date he called and to no avail! We have spent countless hours on trying to resolve this issue. The customer service department would not help us and said corporate does not have a number or a person we are able to speak to about this situation. If you are considering this company, please don’t! Save yourself from terrible internet and customer service!


Very SLOW Service

Jul 15, 2016 by Todd Rutledge
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 1/2 weeks • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70 • 
Zip Code: 49288 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Noticed it was very slow right off the bat. There is no customer satisfaction policy. Once you sign up you are "locked in" for 24 months. I had to pay $345 to cancel it.


AVOID at all costs

Jul 15, 2016 by Kristy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $70 a month • 
Zip Code: 66018 

I'd give zero stars if possible. After being set up for the Liberty 12 +25 boost, we supposedly used all of the data in the first three days of service for the first month. We have to constantly inplug and replug the box in to just connect. Customer service is useless and they don't care. We are moving out of state after only two months, and only went with this company because we were in a rural area with no other options. Don't believe their website. It's false advertising. I will file a compliant with BBB too. We are paying the contract penalty of $15 a month for the remainder 22 months to just leave this horrible company. You are better off using your phone data/4G than this crap. Their speeds are false even at the beginning of the month, and there is no way we use 12 GB in two days. DON'T SIGN WITH EXCEDE.


Terrible service- terrible company

Jul 14, 2016 by Nick Z
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 18 mo • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No!!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $62.99 • 
Zip Code: 78660 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Terribly slow internet. Hardware was initially installed completely wrong, finally got it working. Still made several calls to "tech support" and nothing they could do to fix it. Couldn't even stream Netflix. Cancelled service before contract was up and they would not waive early term fees even though service was not as advertised. I was one day into my billing cycle when I requested to have service cancelled and even though I paid for the full month, they turned my service off immediately and when I called back to request they leave the service on for the entire month(which I already paidfor)- I received a lecture from customer service about how I should have read the disconnect disclaimer. Unethical company.


Who Can Be Proud of This?

Jul 14, 2016 by Elijah
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: I would recommend it to a trash can • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 50$ • 
Zip Code: 45505 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): Tobivincentcity • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Are you serious? Who can be proud of themselves for making this Internet service? Who can go home to their family and proudly say they made this? If you want 200kbs at best and 15kbs at worst, than this Internet provider is exactly what you need. Also don't talk to me or my family. You know who this Internet service is for? My 80 year old grandma. I would talk about the customer service, but I'm scared they'll make it worse! The dude who installed everything didn't even look like he knew what he was doing. Look, to whoever is reading this, please... For the love of every God and goddess of every religion and belief, please do not get this Internet service. It's too late for me, but you don't have to go down with me. Save yourself.


should be illegal

Jul 13, 2016 by Ray Burke
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7 mos • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No way • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 100 dollars + a month • 
Zip Code: 34434 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

I am 52 years old and have never had a more useless internet provider. You might as well not have any service at all. I cannot wait for my contract to end. Customer service is the worst I have ever seen of any company ever! They have you over a barrel and they know it. Better to get Hughes Net if you have a choice. Exceed is a Total disappointment!


1.3 5.0 831 831 We have used this provider for three years - no real complaints until last week when I noticed our internet was finally to slow to connect to some servers. Called Customer support Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»