Exede Review

Last updated Monday February 20th, 2017

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Feb 18, 2017 by John
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $60 • 
Zip Code: 97007 

Watch out! Rip off! Not only is this the worst internet service I have ever dealt with, but they will rip you off. After countless hours on the phone with a tech trying to get my internet to work, I gave up. I decided to change internet service. They sent me a box to put the transmitter, modem, and cable in. They said I must returned the equipment within 30 days or I would be charge $300. I immediately returned the equipment. I happened to check my bank statement, and there was a $300 charge to my account from Excede. I immediately called them and they said they did not receive the equipment. Lucky for me, I took pictures of the equipment in the box with note, and tracking info. They then came back to me and oh we're sorry, we did get the equipment, but you sent in the wrong modem. They charged me $150 which I said to them I sent back the only modem that came with your ridicules system. Watch out!!


Unhappy

Feb 18, 2017 by John wood
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 or 6 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): About $60 a month • 
Zip Code: 39040 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

At first I was happy with wild blue excede or whoever they are. When they started the new program I suddenly began getting notices I had excede my data limit. In may of 2016 we went to Hawaii for 10 days during which no one used our internet. The day we returned we suddenly were told we had used all our data time and were in restriction. The same thing happened this month when we were gone for 10 days. I believe they are trying to force to buy a more expensive plan. Their slow upload is not worth more money


Horrible Company

Feb 16, 2017 by Brian
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $50 • 
Zip Code: 49233 

Worst internet experience of my life. Started with installer telling us he was using stolen materials from his last employer. Went downhill from there. Tried to cancel next day, before service was actually up and working and they have been taking money from our account every since. They refuse to stop charging us when we have none of their equipment and never got one day of their service. Do not use them!!! Any company who has a thousand reviews and a 1 start rating should not be in business


Very Happy with Exede

Feb 15, 2017 by Antony Morris
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Yes • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 109 • 
Zip Code: 36535-4488 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I have the freedom plan (150gb. I use satellite as my other option is CenturyLink at a guaranteed 1mbps. I consistently get 16mbps with Exede. I work remotely and can access my company VPN and run all my corporate applications as well as stream videos. I have lost connection a few times due to bad storms but that is normal when you have a dish accessing a satellite.
I had to make a customer support call to relocate my satellite dish but was very satisfied with the support I received.
Not sure why there are all these negative reviews.


Terrible

Feb 14, 2017 by Kat
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 130 • 
Zip Code: 20130 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I would give Exede zero stars if I could. I had the fastest plan offered and the speed was still abysmal (confirmed by my IT guy at work who ran multiple speed tests). I ended up needing to get a cell booster installed on my roof so I could work from home using my VPN (which used ATT cell data). Not to mention the fact that their customer service is terrible and their cancellation policy is ridiculous. I'd rather light $130 on fire every month than sign up for Exede again.


poor performance

Feb 13, 2017 by shawn
How Long Have You Used This Service?: ~6 month • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): ~$70 • 
Zip Code: 95037 

my experience is the same as others, very disappointed with EXEDE and the liberty plan speed.

"SIGN UP- at sign up I was told about the 10GB data cap. However, I was also assured that the speeds would never be restricted below 1 Mbps. Now, 1mg is pretty slow, but you can still read email and do web searches with it.

However, I quickly found out that Exede restricts your speeds as low as .15 MBps. Now that is not a restriction in effect. It amounts to a stoppage. It can take minutes to load a single page. My email often times out and refuses to load at all. That is not restricting "heavy internet use" - it is effectively punishing the consumer for not buying more data. "

EXACTLY my experience too.. 0.15mbps!!!

Also had an issue with trying to use up the remainder of my 10GB for the month just before my billing period ended, however it showed up on my next data allotment, exede claiming 2.8GB used in less than 18 hours into my new billing cycle even though I was gone for most of the day and computer not connected to the internet!


very dissatisfied

Feb 11, 2017 by rosa hancock
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No way • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 76.50 • 
Zip Code: 24279 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Was suppose to be but not 

how can you rate something that you have to keep shutting down everything most of the time just to be able to get on the internet. for the price i am paying could have come with more data to use.

i have been paying 76.50 a month now for 8 months. LESSON LEARNED DON'T DO SATELLITE CONNECTIONS.

to me if a cable company can offer more data for the same amount as what i am paying THEN SO SHOULD SATELLITE.


Feb 10, 2017 by Chelsea G
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $150/month • 
Zip Code: 90291 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): @chelseagiger • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Exede has the WORST internet and customer service I have ever experienced. I have absolutely no good things to say about this company. Not only are they more expensive than Time Warner/Spectrum but the internet hardly works. It hardly works as in only one person can be on the internet at a time and even then you are not able to send emails or watch videos- you can simply browse the internet at a snail’s pace.

After opening a ticket and speaking to numerous people about the issue on the phone, they came to the conclusion that nothing was wrong with the internet, it is our computers fault... They didn’t offer to have anyone come out to investigate the issue, however they came to that conclusion. They came to this conclusion even though we have tried accessing the internet on many different computes/tablets/mobile devices and the same devices work perfectly while using wifi elsewhere.

It would be one issue to have bad internet, however the bad customer service is what upsets me most. We ended up ending our contract early and switching back to Time Warmer/Spectrum, who helped to offset the cost of breaking the contract.


Very Disappointed

Feb 09, 2017 by Terry
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 18 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely Not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Appx $65 • 
Zip Code: 72601 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I've had Exede for a year and a half. They are one of the few options for service in my area, or I would have gone elsewhere. They do some things well, and a lot of things that need improvement. I'll start out with the good points.

THE GOOD:
For satellite, the service can be pretty fast at times. I've had satellite with other companies, and Exede is faster at top speeds. Please read that sentence carefully, because you need to pay attention to the words - "at top speeds."

Technical Service - once you actually get tech on the line, they are usually pretty capable. The people I've spoken to spoke english well enough to be easily understood. Kudos for that. If tech support can help you over the phone, you're in good hands normally.

Service People - the service calls I've had have been professional, and did a good job once they got here. Again, you need to read the last sentence carefully - "once they got here" are the operative words.

That's the good part of this review. Now, I'll cover what needs improvement.

THE BAD:

SIGN UP- at sign up I was told about the 10GB data cap. However, I was also assured that the speeds would never be restricted below 1 Mbps. Now, 1mg is pretty slow, but you can still read email and do web searches with it.

However, I quickly found out that Exede restricts your speeds as low as .15 MBps. Now that is not a restriction in effect. It amounts to a stoppage. It can take minutes to load a single page. My email often times out and refuses to load at all. That is not restricting "heavy internet use" - it is effectively punishing the consumer for not buying more data. Why don't I just do that? Read the next part.

PRICE - Exede costs me more than $65 per month. My last satellite provider in a different area cost me about $44. That is about 47% more for Exede with a similar service package. There is one difference though -

VALUE - my old satellite provider was unrestricted. I could use as much data as I needed without penalty. With Exede, I get 10GB of data. After that, I am severely and I would opine - punitively - restricted. There is a 5 hour "Free Zone" of unrestricted usage between 12AM and 5AM, but that means all videos, downloads, picture -intensive searches, etc, have to be done at those hours. It is GREAT FUN having to be awake to do those tasks then.

Data Caps mean that videos are turned off during metered hours. We cannot interact with our doctor, or watch instructional clips from his office, either. Study has to be done elsewhere. Streaming entertainment or any sort of gaming during normal hours is impossible.

However, the only alternatives are to pay an *additional* $10 per 1GB of data, or to go to their "LibertY Pass" plan for - you guessed it - an additional fee. The problem is, I've heard horror stories about even worse speeds and downloads especially, on that plan. So, it's not an option for me.

RELIABILITY - I am writing this on February 8th. So far, since January 1st, I have been without service the majority of 4 days this year. Last night I suffered multiple drops. Trying doing an upload or download when you are having five or six drops during that time. It's unusable. I've had the service about 18 months, and Exede techs have been out here at least three times that I know of.

A fourth service call was cancelled when a problem Exede said was at my location suddenly corrected itself on their end.

Be aware that unlike the other companies I've dealt with, Exede put all responsibility for servicing and maintaining their equipment on the consumer. They quoted me $95 just to come and see what was wrong. Fortunately, they do offer an alternative - you can sign up for their care plan - for about another $6 per month...

CUSTOMER SERVICE - Exede is not great at communication, either. If there is an issue with them billing your credit card, they will suspend you without prior notice. Simple things like random fraud holds by your card issuer which you could fix with a phone call if they made you aware of the issue can result in your account being suspended.

It has happened to me, and it cost me two days without service because a card issuer flagged an online purchase, and Exede never contacted me to let me know they were unable to bill the card. Again, a relatively simple fix to improve bad service.

SUMMARY - Exede is probably not the worst service out there, but I cannot recommend them based on my own experience. The problems with them seem to be primarily policy-based. Much of the problem lies in the fact that the government has done nothing to ensure competition in rural areas, and does not provide proper oversight of the satellite internet industry.

As long as there is no competition, and the government allows companies like Exede to have policies like data caps, charged service calls, etc. nothing will change.


Exede Bad

Feb 07, 2017 by Bart Check
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 plus years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $60/Mo Plus tax • 
Zip Code: 70431 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Lied to me about free installation as installer wanted $75 to put dish on post so i told him that i did not want service: then he said he could put on roof for free. i did not want any thing like that on my roof, but reluctantly said ok. Then the serice was petifully slow and i complained a lot but stuck with it for over 2 years. When i cancelled they requested that I send the Receiver back to them and i did that in box they provided. Then 3 months later they send a bill out for almost $200 and a collection agency bill was sent at same time. I think this company sucks and would not o business would them again and could not recommend them..


1.3 5.0 976 976 Watch out! Rip off! Not only is this the worst internet service I have ever dealt with, but they will rip you off. After countless hours on the phone with a tech trying to get my Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»