Exede Review

Last updated Thursday August 22nd, 2019

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Viasat scam

Aug 08, 2019 by Carlos
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 85 • 
Zip Code: 34736 

1-Fast Internet - first lie you can't watch You tube or Neflix.
2-When it is raining the internet does not stop-second lie when it rains the internet of viasat does not work anymore. Here in Florida in summer it rains every day.
3-Internet unlimited-third lie after 40G your Internet is over.
4-Contract for 2 years-fourth lie, never sign any paper with them all went by phone and they lied to me and cheated me.


NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

Aug 08, 2019 by Peter Howell
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 Years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 50 • 
Zip Code: 80816 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

ViaSat (Exede) has absolutely no customer service. Their usage monitoring is NOT accurate. I used my own monitoring to prove that we weren't using the amount of data they said we were using -- doesn't matter. In the end, their equipment failed so we canceled; but, they refused to issue a refund for the unused service for the month.


Feb 16, 2019 by Curt
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 74403 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

If this service was $5 a month, it would be too much. They sent me an email the other day stating that they had a new service, but that I would have to commit to another 2 years. HAHAHAHAHAH. I live in a rural area that is supposed to be getting fiber optic service. I think I'll wait. Most days I get less than 1mbps, even when I'm not throttled back. I can't believe that they haven't been sued for misleading their customers. I can not imagine any service worse than this.


Boy Was I Suckered

Jan 04, 2019 by Tammy Hayes
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 Months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell No! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $150 • 
Zip Code: 72936 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

I live way out in the country and was barely getting 1.93mgs with CenturyLink, the only provider available. I was told by Viasat/Exede that I would get 5mgs easy, even when I went over my allotted data plan with the Liberty Pass, bulls#@t, I get less than a mg. And, since I live in Arkansas, the largest package I can buy here is the Liberty package at 50 gigs and we hit that by the middle of the month. Only people on the coasts can get the Gold/Silver/Bronze packages (100 gigs), I pay the same at $100, but get half the data. That should have been a red flag right there but I was desperate for higher internet speeds.

So, now I'm stuck in a flippin two year contract with a horsesh*t internet company that provides worse service than I had with CenturyLink at 1.93mgs. At least with them I could watch Netflix when I wanted, granted it buffered a bit at times, but it was cheaper and at a fairly consistent data rate. There are times we can't use the internet at all because it's so slow that nothing will load.

When I called and complained about being lied to about the data speed they gave me some song and dance routine, about this and that, that made no sense, and offered me 5 gigs of data to shut me up. But still reminded be I had a two year contract they were going to hold me to.

So, stay away from Viasat and don't believe their lies!!!! It sounds good but it's one of those, It really is to good to be true!!!!!!


Hard throttling under guise of "peak usage"

Dec 27, 2018 by Nelson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 38834 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Garbage. First the speeds. On the bronze/silver/gold, know they mean nothing. Up to being an important keyword. They may honeydick you the first few months,and deliver close to as promised, but even with your priority data remaining (wholly insufficient for anyone) your speeds will be lucky to be 1/4th at any given time. Up to is just stating a cap. You'll see the words KB on downloads and MB must mean a failure to throttle.

They oversell these plans. Them launching a new satellite just means it's another product to oversaturate. 100K passengers to book. 5K actual seats.

Tech solution. Always- unplug and replug the modem. Wow. Only gives you 5 minutes of no internet and them time to chew gum, on your return to kb ranges.

When you go over, prepare to see downloads at 15kb-25 kb. Not kidding. Even if you want to download something @ 360p, it'll be a good 8 hours. Peak usage is a fabrication. They hard throttle you in a range 24 hours a day 7 days a week until your next billing cycle when suddenly, you get back to 1/4th of your up to cap.

Scam. If laws were enforced and false advertising/deceptive practices were actually punished, their cubicles would be up for auction and the guys running it would be serving triple life sentences. Hughesnet is no different. Do everything you can to get mobile home data coverage,an evil no doubt, but a far lesser one, or stick to dialup. Hope is misplaced with Satellite internet providers.


Speed Sucks....ALWAYS

Dec 26, 2018 by Mitch
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $150 per month • 
Zip Code: 27957 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Speeds are just awful. Can not stream or use Direct TV on demand because we NEVER get usable download speeds to support anything beyond web browsing even though we have the most expensive (150 Gig per month) option. We live in the hard rural area without even DSL capability, which I would gladly take over this bait and switch option...but I need data, even slow data, for my needs so I am stuck since the Verizon 4G hotpot (MUCH FASTER)does not have enough data.


Don't waste your time or money

Dec 07, 2018 by Justin
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 32131 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Horrible internet service when it actually works, equally horrible customer service. Expect 3 hr holds, conversations with people who talk in circles and speeds slower then dial up if any service at all. Don't even consider this "provider" unless you have no use for internet,and a abundance of time and extra money on your hands that your looking to get rid of.
I will never deal with them again.


Worst company ever

Sep 17, 2018 by D Linboe
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 80513 

I can not even express how bad this company is. How horrible the internet service is, how bad the customer services is, how bad the tech service is. After years of paying my bill autopay, for my last bill instead of billing my card they just sent it to collections. No warning, nothing. Just the most unethical company I have ever had the displeasure of doing business with.


Beware

Jul 14, 2018 by Lynette Otterpohl
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 54540 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Internet has not worked at all for over a month. They can't send someone for 2 weeks. Not enough room to tell a person how bad. We don't even try to use for the or music. As bad as dial up if we can get connected.


Jul 13, 2018 by Richard
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not to anyone • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 100+- • 
Zip Code: 37774 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Aledgedly 

Nothi g as promised. Speed .27, that's point 27. Frequent outages, dead end transfers. Would rather go to a screaming child filled wi-fi hell hole et, then keep this garbage.


1.2 5.0 1230 1230 1-Fast Internet - first lie you can't watch You tube or Neflix.2-When it is raining the internet does not stop-second lie when it rains the internet of viasat does not work anymo Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»