Exede Review

Last updated Tuesday March 26th, 2019

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

ViaSat Exede broadband internet Exede is a satellite internet service provided by parent company ViaSat. The service was launched in 2012 when the ViaSat-1 satellite was put into service. Before Exede, ViaSat offered WildBlue on an older Telesat Anik F2 satellite. In general Exede's real world performance is over 10x faster than WildBlue's. The new ViaSat-2 satellite is scheduled to be put into service later this year (2016). SKU UPC Model

Feb 16, 2019 by Curt
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 74403 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

If this service was $5 a month, it would be too much. They sent me an email the other day stating that they had a new service, but that I would have to commit to another 2 years. HAHAHAHAHAH. I live in a rural area that is supposed to be getting fiber optic service. I think I'll wait. Most days I get less than 1mbps, even when I'm not throttled back. I can't believe that they haven't been sued for misleading their customers. I can not imagine any service worse than this.


Boy Was I Suckered

Jan 04, 2019 by Tammy Hayes
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 Months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell No! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $150 • 
Zip Code: 72936 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

I live way out in the country and was barely getting 1.93mgs with CenturyLink, the only provider available. I was told by Viasat/Exede that I would get 5mgs easy, even when I went over my allotted data plan with the Liberty Pass, bulls#@t, I get less than a mg. And, since I live in Arkansas, the largest package I can buy here is the Liberty package at 50 gigs and we hit that by the middle of the month. Only people on the coasts can get the Gold/Silver/Bronze packages (100 gigs), I pay the same at $100, but get half the data. That should have been a red flag right there but I was desperate for higher internet speeds.

So, now I'm stuck in a flippin two year contract with a horsesh*t internet company that provides worse service than I had with CenturyLink at 1.93mgs. At least with them I could watch Netflix when I wanted, granted it buffered a bit at times, but it was cheaper and at a fairly consistent data rate. There are times we can't use the internet at all because it's so slow that nothing will load.

When I called and complained about being lied to about the data speed they gave me some song and dance routine, about this and that, that made no sense, and offered me 5 gigs of data to shut me up. But still reminded be I had a two year contract they were going to hold me to.

So, stay away from Viasat and don't believe their lies!!!! It sounds good but it's one of those, It really is to good to be true!!!!!!


Hard throttling under guise of "peak usage"

Dec 27, 2018 by Nelson
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 38834 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Garbage. First the speeds. On the bronze/silver/gold, know they mean nothing. Up to being an important keyword. They may honeydick you the first few months,and deliver close to as promised, but even with your priority data remaining (wholly insufficient for anyone) your speeds will be lucky to be 1/4th at any given time. Up to is just stating a cap. You'll see the words KB on downloads and MB must mean a failure to throttle.

They oversell these plans. Them launching a new satellite just means it's another product to oversaturate. 100K passengers to book. 5K actual seats.

Tech solution. Always- unplug and replug the modem. Wow. Only gives you 5 minutes of no internet and them time to chew gum, on your return to kb ranges.

When you go over, prepare to see downloads at 15kb-25 kb. Not kidding. Even if you want to download something @ 360p, it'll be a good 8 hours. Peak usage is a fabrication. They hard throttle you in a range 24 hours a day 7 days a week until your next billing cycle when suddenly, you get back to 1/4th of your up to cap.

Scam. If laws were enforced and false advertising/deceptive practices were actually punished, their cubicles would be up for auction and the guys running it would be serving triple life sentences. Hughesnet is no different. Do everything you can to get mobile home data coverage,an evil no doubt, but a far lesser one, or stick to dialup. Hope is misplaced with Satellite internet providers.


Speed Sucks....ALWAYS

Dec 26, 2018 by Mitch
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $150 per month • 
Zip Code: 27957 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Speeds are just awful. Can not stream or use Direct TV on demand because we NEVER get usable download speeds to support anything beyond web browsing even though we have the most expensive (150 Gig per month) option. We live in the hard rural area without even DSL capability, which I would gladly take over this bait and switch option...but I need data, even slow data, for my needs so I am stuck since the Verizon 4G hotpot (MUCH FASTER)does not have enough data.


Don't waste your time or money

Dec 07, 2018 by Justin
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 32131 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Horrible internet service when it actually works, equally horrible customer service. Expect 3 hr holds, conversations with people who talk in circles and speeds slower then dial up if any service at all. Don't even consider this "provider" unless you have no use for internet,and a abundance of time and extra money on your hands that your looking to get rid of.
I will never deal with them again.


Worst company ever

Sep 17, 2018 by D Linboe
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 80513 

I can not even express how bad this company is. How horrible the internet service is, how bad the customer services is, how bad the tech service is. After years of paying my bill autopay, for my last bill instead of billing my card they just sent it to collections. No warning, nothing. Just the most unethical company I have ever had the displeasure of doing business with.


Beware

Jul 14, 2018 by Lynette Otterpohl
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 54540 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Internet has not worked at all for over a month. They can't send someone for 2 weeks. Not enough room to tell a person how bad. We don't even try to use for the or music. As bad as dial up if we can get connected.


Jul 13, 2018 by Richard
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not to anyone • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 100+- • 
Zip Code: 37774 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Aledgedly 

Nothi g as promised. Speed .27, that's point 27. Frequent outages, dead end transfers. Would rather go to a screaming child filled wi-fi hell hole et, then keep this garbage.


I got the shaft in the end

Jul 08, 2018 by Lee Miller
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Several years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 79 • 
Zip Code: 95212 

I moved my residence after 41 years at my previous home. I discontinued satellite service with Wild Blue/Exede. They sent out a box to return the Tria and another part from the Satellite disc. I was late in getting around to taking it done as it took a bit of courage at age 79 to get up a ladder and take these parts off the disc. I finally did it and then discovered that in the process of moving I had lost the label on the box. I called the company and requested just the label be sent out to me. They sent another box instead of just the label---the first sign of incompetence. I returned the parts with the box and the label. I also wanted to send the extra box and foam parts holder back, but when I found out it would cost $27, it went into the landfill. In the meantime because I was late getting the parts back they charged me $327 in early July 2017. I called and asked about the charge and they said that the package had arrived there and I would get a refund in about 10 days. The refund never came and I called again. Then they said that they had no record of the package arriving and consequently could not refund my money. I made one or two more calls and got the same run around. They told me that perhaps if I got the tracking number it would help, so I went to United Parcel to get the tracking number since I didn't have it. UPS told me that the company should have the tracking number since it was a pre-paid package. Duh, I should have known that. Anyway this has been one frustrating and costly experience. I would like to write a letter to their consumer affairs department, but haven't been able to get a name or address, so far. After several years as a loyal customer, I get the shaft in part due to their incompetence. I can't recommend that anyone deal with these people.


NeverWorks

Jul 07, 2018 by DisappointedOne
How Long Have You
used This Service?: LongTerm • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80.00 • 
Zip Code: 27101 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Service has been down 12 days straight this time. The call wait is 45 minutes everytime try to call customer service. Waste of money.


1.2 5.0 1228 1228 If this service was $5 a month, it would be too much. They sent me an email the other day stating that they had a new service, but that I would have to commit to another 2 years. H Exede broadband internet
Page:
123»