Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Terrible service all the way around!

Oct 24, 2014 by Terri
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 166 a month • 
Zip Code: 80112 

There service is terrible all the way around. The internet speed is extremely slow. Our satellite was facing down after the wind blew a little. I asked them to fix it and they wanted me to call some other company to do as they didn't provide that service. The other company, who originally installed it wanted an additional $100 to fix their bad installation. When I tried to cancel, they hung up on me and I had to call again.


Tricked and Angry

Oct 03, 2014 by Jen Williams
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $40 • 
Zip Code: 37857 

I had the original service for the same price. I was constantly having problems with accessing sites. My downloads were not working due to the speeds going fast/slow/fast/slow therefore making the downloads incomplete. I contacted the company via the chat (they do not allow you to contact them through their email or mail. I was told different stories and did multiple tests, multiple times. I was lied to and never resolved anything. I called them and they said they would switch to Gen4. I had the same problems with Gen4 as with the regular. On top of all the problems they removed my free zone consistently. So now have all the same problems with less usage, no free zone, more sites not accessible. I was tricked and still have service that sucks. The old Hughes net was bad, the Gen4 is horrible. I am looking into dropping them. I give Hughes Net and the Hughes net Gen4 a negative rating.Years ago they were stable.....they now are all screwed up. The new satellite, the new equipment, and the new plans are horrible. I am a home-school mom who needs a stable internet service..... this is not it.


Terrible

Oct 02, 2014 by Charles
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never In A Million Years • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 65 • 
Zip Code: 73135 

When I had called to set up service, I was told that I was going to get 20 GB per month anytime data and unlimited data during the peak hours (12AM-6AM) all for a low low price of $55 per month due to a promotion for the first 3 months (5 stars), which was right up my alley because after work then school, there would only be a few hours till peak time. As you can guess, this was a lie to suck me in. What they didn't tell me is that I have to rent their equipment for an additional $10 per month or purchase it for $400 (special promotion),which they had failed to mention until the installation date. So I decided to rent the equipment. (4 stars)

The 23rd of September, I had called them because the service was nonexistent. They informed me that I had gone over the 10 GB allowance and the peak hour allowance was completely used up. This blew my mind because I had signed up for 20 GB anytime / unlimited peak hours. She apologized and explained to me that i was given the wrong information and there was no unlimited data and the price difference was $20 per month to go from the 10 GB plan to the 20 GB with 20 GB peak hours. I just had to wait an hour for the remaining 10 GB to show up (3 stars). Then she informed me of a status bar that I can download to keep an eye on the data usage, which i downloaded as soon as the extra 10 GB were available. During this call I had all premium services removed. She also told me to call back on November 28 to request an additional $10 off for the next 3 months after my promotion ends due to my troubles. During this call I was also informed that the peak hours were from 2AM - 8AM.

Last night I had seen the status bar was already half way down so I opened it and sure enough, I had already used 4.8 GB of my 10 GB allowance when I should have 20 GB allowance. So once again I called them to ask what was going on with it. "John" from India, explained that once again I was misinformed and that all she did was apply an extra 10 GB of credits to my usage for the rest of September. I was not upgraded to 20/20. He told me that 20/20 was $120 per month plus equipment fees. (0 stars)

Bottom line, they will tell you what they want you to hear to get you to sign up. They lie, add in hidden fees, and are horribly overpriced. In my location, satellite internet is the only option and I do not have a choice because of school.


Rotten Service

Oct 02, 2014 by William whitworth
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 75.00 • 
Zip Code: 23027 

This is absolutely the worst internet service ever. Dial-up service would be much faster. Although it lets me connect to my company VPN, I'm unable to open any spreadsheets or do any work.
BBB needs to investigate this company.


Bill Pay

Sep 28, 2014 by JGCar
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80. • 
Zip Code: 74884 

Had this service 10 yrs. Lost my ATM card so cancelled it. Forgot this card used for auto pay. Got a email notice the payment failed. Every time I tried to login it wouldn't let me. I don't like to call because I end up in another country talking to someone who doesn't understand me very well. I got on line with chat she was able to pull up the account and told me the reason was my account was in cancelled status. After 10yrs. and only 3 days I can't even login to make the payment. She said I would have to call to talk to representative. After the chat and after telling them they can kiss *** went back to make payment without login (for the 50th time) it let me in and made the payment but I still can't get in to change the payment option. Isn't that a doozie!!!! Wesite is terrible!!!


dont do it

Sep 27, 2014 by aaron
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2-3 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 65 • 
Zip Code: 14141 

Huge rip off. Where i live there is no choice in Internet Service Providers, so i have kept it only to be able to access internet. Service is off and on, when it does work extremely slow. contacted tech support multiple times and the best they had was unplug the modem and plug it back in, couldn't explain why service was so slow (dial up speeds), wouldn't reimburse for crappy service. overall horrible company and i do not recommend anyone using it.


Hughes Net Satellie

Sep 27, 2014 by Jack
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 13 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80+ • 
Zip Code: 47042 

It's unanimous from reading all comments, That this company should be investigated by government agencies. The service is horrible but I would advise people to inspect the installation of your satellite dish and cable routing. We have professionally installed house gutters and gutter screens worth over 1000 dollars. When Hughes net installed the satellite, they took a short cut by routing the cable laying the cable in the gutter. They could only do this by ripping the gutter screens out from under the roof. They left the screen laying in the gutter. They made no effort to fix or replace the screens. We recently noticed weeds growing out of the gutter and that is when we discovered what was done. I called the company and they initially told me that I had to report it within the first 30 days. In other words not only do you pay for the service and installation but you have to acquire the knowledge to inspect the installation. This companies execs should serve time in jail. Stay away from this company.


Horrible Internet Service

Sep 24, 2014 by Ramiro
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Have it no more • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 55.00 • 
Zip Code: 78596 

Got this service and then I realized I made a huge mistake, do not get this service if you have kids who download alot of streaming videos, your band width is used up in about one day, I tried it for less then thirty days then cancelled and sent equipment back before I was charged again without being asked permission to charge my card


DISHONEST COMPANY

Sep 23, 2014 by ALLEN Hancock
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 MONTHS • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $85.95 • 
Zip Code: 39429 

I called and get new service and the rep told me that my "total billing, including all fees and add ons" would be $54.95 per month. My first bill was for $ 85.95. I called and was told that "I misunderstood the rep". This is untrue because I specificically ask what my total billing would be including all add-ons. They offered to lower my bill by deleting the rental fee and the fee for repair service however if they deleted these fees I would be billed $1100.00 for the equipment!! What a RIP-OFF COMPANY!!! They total misrepresented themself to get me as a customer then they increase my billing by $30. per month and now I'm under contract and cannot change anything. I will report a negative rating every time I can as a consumer and I will report this to the better business bureau. DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY. I am an honest man and I like dealing with honest people and Hugnes Net is NOT AN HONEST COMPANY. As soon a my contract is over I will leave this company.


Completely regret having the service

Sep 23, 2014 by Kevin
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not even my enemy • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60 • 
Zip Code: 58974 

They lied to me from the beginning told me that I would have 10 gigs to use it anytime I thought I needed it I only had 5 during the day and 5 in the middle of the night when I was not awake every time I had a problem with their service they told me it was my fault it was my equipment what everybody should know about that company is that they lie most every problem that I had with them was them lying to me about their service lying to me about their products and then when I call them and wanted to cancel they wanted to argue with me on the phone and then they lied to me about their cancellation fee that it would be pro-rated I had the service for almost six months and all they took off their 400 cancellation fee was 30 I should have been more like a hundred this is hands down the worst company I have ever done business with


1.4 5.0 45 45 There service is terrible all the way around. The internet speed is extremely slow. Our satellite was facing down after the wind blew a little. I asked them to fix it and they w Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
12345