Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Ripoff

Jul 03, 2015 by Deborah
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell no! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $750 and counting • 
Zip Code: 86335 

HUGE Ripoff. They want to charge $400 for breaking contract when services were never correctly provided in the first place. After spending hours on the phone with 5 different people who don't sound like they even speak English, they finally got a 5 min window when I got download speeds of 13Mbps - close to what I paid for (15Mbps). Only problem is, they can't keep it anywhere near there. Talking to a local rep when I tried to cancel, he says they have "peak times" they cannot guarantee speeds. That happens to be all but a 5-10 minute window in the afternoons? Tests show average downloads speeds of 1-2 Mbps. That is supposedly acceptable? Dialup would be better internet and customer service SUCKS!


RUN,

Jul 01, 2015 by David
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1yr 6 mths • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: HaHaHa - your kidding, right? • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60.00 • 
Zip Code: 76065 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Absolutely terrible internet speeds, terrible customer service. Run from this, get yourself a telegraph, it would work better. I rent the house I live in, landlord had a new roof put on and the roofing company moved the satellite, called Hughes.net to schedule a service call, I asked what was the charge, young lady said she did not know and that it was up to the service tech. for what he wants to charge. I asked so if this guy wants to charge me a $500.00 to re-adjust this satellite then that's what the charge is, she said well its not going to be that much but yes. I said you don't know that, you just said you did not know how much it was going to be. Explained to her I do business with Hughes net and not their sub contractors, immediately cancelled service and gladly paid the ETF to get away form this company.


Poor speed & Poor service

Jun 30, 2015 by Shelia daniel
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 75.00 • 
Zip Code: 20664 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

The internet service is horrible. When you call customer service all they try to do is sell you something else. They hire private contractors who wanna charge you double. I was told I would have to cut down some trees in order to get gen4. Or they would charge me to move the disk. I refuse to pay them another dime to move their equipment I'm glad I read these reviews. I'm getting rid of the ASAP


THE WORST EVER

Jun 29, 2015 by Ramona dorwin
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely not! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 85.00 • 
Zip Code: 37181 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

I saw the commercial for gen 4...thought I'd try it. I got it and the internet NEVER worked. When i did get it to work it would work for maybe 5 minutes before it crashed again. I called several times and was told we had too many devices in shut them off. Then we wrre told we only had 10gb and one month that was gone in 5 days. They just kept offering me 20gb for only 150 a month...ummm NOT! My daughter goes to school online, i pay bills and shop online, and it doesn't take much to use it up. Then they chsrged me 370 for cancellation. The customer service SUCKED!! They are in india or somewhere. They will get their fee when i can but I will spread the news on how horrible they are. I was never able to watch netflix their service is so slow.


HughesNet

Jun 26, 2015 by leslie
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $100per month • 
Zip Code: 82063 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Worst! We have had this service for 10 years....because it is the only one in our rural area outside of Laramie, Wyoming. If we could change we would. The equipment is faulty, the on site service is shoddy and customer service tries to wear you down if you have questions or complaints.....presently I am on hold for my 5th person in 2.25 hours for a very simple solve. The inability of the outsourced employees to answer a question directly and work with a customer is horrific. Spoke to multiple 'supervisors" Carlo Zibon the last one...unfortunately it is quite clear that the outsourced employees of HughesNet are used as shields for the company. If I could rate lower than a 1 star, I would.


Poor speed and service

Jun 25, 2015 by Bernard Rathmell
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $238.98 • 
Zip Code: 43137 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I installed Hughesnet since they advertised 15 meg download for my business system, I work from home for a large insurance carrier. The speed delivered at my workstation tacked over the first two weeks averaged less than 1 meg on most days. It was so slow I unplugged my Cloud phone and routed calls through my home phone until I could get my old service re-intalled. Country Connections a rural Ohio company came out relocated my radio receiver and improved my speed at no charge for the upgrade and move. Hughesnet continues to refuse to credit my card due to early termination.


Jun 24, 2015 by Jessica Olivas
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NOT EVEN MY ENEMIES • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80 • 
Zip Code: 76527 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I was told that they provided unlimited internet at the time I was signing up by rep. Quickly found out that was untrue! Also was told I only needed CC on file for installation & could call to remove later. NOW STUCK IN A 24 MONTH CONTRACT!


Jun 23, 2015 by George R Cromwell
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 weeks • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $700 • 
Zip Code: 33410 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I called and signed up for the Hughes Net Internet connection on August 23, 2014. The installer arrived and installed the system on August 25, 2014.
I called Hughes Net and complained of very poor service, slow internet speeds and could not stream videos on September 20, 2014 and, therefore wanted to cancel service with HNS. The service department asked me to please hold off cancelling the service and they would upgrade my service to a faster internet speed. She said they would extend my 30 day cancel at no charge for another 2 weeks. I waited and tried the system for about 1 week, but still could not stream videos and I would lose connection if only a couple of rain drops hit the dish. My Direct TV connection would still be functioning long after the HNS internet was out. So, I called again and made the cancellation (case # 43853744). I was told not to send anything back until I received a special shipping box from HNS; this box did arrive early in October.
On Oct 27, 2014, $621.38 was taken from the same Bank of America account that I had used to subscribe to the HNS service. The original amount of $94.93 was taken from this same account on August 25, 2014. I called HNS that same day to complain about this withdraw and was told it was a mistake and I would receive a paper check in about 45 days. They claimed that since I had cancelled my account (DSS32292622) they no longer had my bank account number on file and could not return it to my checking account. (case #44429471)
I called again on November 14, 2014 (case #44742925)
I called again on November 29, 2014 (case #44981493). I was told my check had been sent already.
I called again on January 12, 2015 (case #45663603) and talked to Evanne. I was told there was nothing they could do since they had sent out the check.
I called again on February 4, 2015, actually 2 times (case #46066388 & case #46073747). This is when I was told my check had been sent to a very old residential address in Boca Raton (please see the attached check). I asked why it was sent to that address and was told that was the only address they had on my account file. I told them that I had never given that address to anyone at HNS and asked how they had it in my file. Nobody could give me an answer. The address that HNS had sent my check to is a “closed condominium” and my ex-wife was living at that address. My consular had already advised me I should not contact my ex-wife for any reason because of my divorce agreement.
I called again on March 2, 2015 (case #46501265) and talked with Diana Escalante.
I received the check from my ex-wife, she contacted me involving another matter. I tried to deposit the checks, I now had two checks, one for the $621.38 and another for the difference for my first month cancellation for $6.38 on June 5, 2015.
My bank could not accept the $621.38 as it was past the 6 month limit for cashing.
I called twice on June 5, 2015 (case #48077851 & case #48077052) the first call I was hung up on by a name of Zack. The second call I was told there was nothing I could do with this case, as HNS had already sent out a check in March to my present address. I have not received any check from HNS.


Hughesnet Worst Nightmare!

Jun 23, 2015 by Joy D
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 Month or less • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO WAY • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 169.00 • 
Zip Code: 77304 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

HughesNet came out to set up my satellite. It was pouring rain so I didn't go outside to check it until after they were gone. There were wires everywhere. Even going over the top of my gutters. It was absolutely tacky. I called to tell them it was unacceptable and they needed to run them another way. They wouldn't do it with out charging me. I told them to cancel my service and I wanted a refund. I was told I wouldn't get a refund until I returned the equipment. That was 4 months ago and I'm still arguing with them to get my $169.00 back for a service I never used with them. I doubt it will ever happen. Beware....now that I see so many negative reviews I wish I had never set up my service with them. My bad for not doing better research.


DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT THIS COMPANY

Jun 23, 2015 by Lauren
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 DAYS, yes 3 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: ABSOLUTELY NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $49.99 Plan • 
Zip Code: 18104 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: DirectTv 

Hello,

I just had hughesnet installed in my home 2 days ago and am highly unsatisfied. We were told we were supposed to receive 10 mbps and are only receiving 1.5 - 2 max. We were also told we would have high speed Internet playing games and videos which is why I took the package they offered. We have used 5% in less than 2 days barely doing anything. When the tech left he said we had 100% signal and everything was fine. However we had to reconfigure EVERYTHING! It took HOURS. We can't use any of our on demand with DirectTv or Netflix. Also when I ordered the package via telephone, I told the rep I DID NOT WANT the extra equipment protection but still charged me. I had to log in and change it myself. I'm VERY unhappy and will not put up with service like this. We were lied to and I am highly considering dropping service after 3 days!

I sent this to them, live chat person told me they would call last night. Still have yet to call me....


1.3 5.0 147 147 HUGE Ripoff. They want to charge $400 for breaking contract when services were never correctly provided in the first place. After spending hours on the phone with 5 different peopl Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»