Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

USELESS and EXPENSIVE

May 24, 2017 by Louise Roberts
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 110 • 
Zip Code: 43026 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Many hours on the phone with support, with no resolution.
Many emails sent, but only template emails returned indicating no problem on their end.
Can't even upload a picture to Facebook without timing out.


Hughesnet is horrible

May 11, 2017 by Durel
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Not a chance • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 • 
Zip Code: 56055 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

This internet service was pathetic! For a number of reasons. 1) Internet speeds were horrible. Couldn't even stream Netflix or live streams without buffer. We couldn't even FaceTime with people. 2). Data limits is a joke! They don't tell you that Netflix which is mainly HD can use up to 3GB per hour! Your data is used up extremely fast. The whole we just slow you down once you hit your plan is completely pointless. Dial up is faster than their "reduced" speed. 3) Any rain storm or decent winds you might as well plan on not using internet because it won't work. 4). Their "bonus" is worthless. The hours of the when these are available is when most humans should be sleeping. Just a gimmick to get someone to think they have this data they can use. 5) customer service is HORRIBLE. First their voice animated menu is pointless. It couldn't understand if I said yes or no for about 10 minutes. Once I got through that, I was disconnected 3 times trying to cancel my service. On my fourth attempt the customer service agent tried to tell me why I should keep my service. I stopped her twice to stop her speech and just cancel my service tell me my early termination fee and be done with it. They appartently disregard anything you say and continued right on with the speech. She even proceeded to tell me my new service provider isn't unlimited data(which they are unlimited) and I would just be a second rate customer to them. I felt like a 4th rate customer with Hughesnet. I would not recommend this internet to my worst enemy


Internet doesn't work AND they want to charge $1000 to cancel

May 05, 2017 by Lisa
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 7 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $200 • 
Zip Code: 37055 

We are unable to access any website with an SSL certificate (think Amazon, Facebook, etc) and our internet speed is slower than my cell phone wifi. We tried for 7 months to rectify the issue and they continually tell us it's not them. We bought a new router, bypassed the router completely, restarted the modem multiple times and still the ONLY fix was connecting our computers to our cell phone Verizon wifi. Guess what: everything worked fine. The problem is Hughesnet and their terrible customer service says they want to charge us $1000 to cancel the fee.Unreal. This is the worst company ever - DO NOT get tied into them


SUCKS!!

Apr 29, 2017 by Alan Yates
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $69 • 
Zip Code: 32433 

Worst service I have ever had, my 90's modem was faster and more reliable! Multiple phone calls and complaints since the day Hughes net was installed, NO improvements only "so sorry". Seriously, Hughes Net misrepresents their "fast service". If you have ANY other option, even at a higher cost, go with another service, ANY service. Stay away from Hughes Net and don't be a victim of their lies!


Service Lies

Apr 28, 2017 by Lois Bailey
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Total of about 4 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Never • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 59.00 • 
Zip Code: 65026 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

It's terrible service for the price and what you get.
Can use up allotted data in less than 2 weeks with no streaming or any other use to speak of. When called to see if I could get out of contract and the amount it would cost was told they would lower my account to $30.00 didn't happen. I have gotten unlimited wi-fi throught my telephone provider and it's wonderful after 6 years of satalite I can use all my internet I want and even stream movies. The only reason that I ever got satalite was because it was all I could get where we live now with unlimited through the phone I don't have to have it. I have a choice


Gen5 is Fantastic!

Apr 27, 2017 by Gabe1972
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Twelve years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 64.98 • 
Zip Code: 14129 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Gen5 is much better than Gen4. Less cost for more data and considerably higher speeds. An average of 47Mbps down and 3.5Mbps up. The new modem's built in Wi-Fi is also very nice. It's basic, but it works very well and will be enough for most people. If one would still like to use their own modem, that can be done, too.


Gen5 is great

Apr 26, 2017 by Jeff best
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Yes • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 120 • 
Zip Code: 80107 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: NA 

I must agree Gen4 was horrible. I upgraded to Gen 5 today and wow what a difference. Extremely happy with the move to Gen5!!!


No Netflix

Apr 19, 2017 by Tom
How Long Have You
used This Service?: First time • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way in heck • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: They're charged me $59 what was supposed to be $38 • 
Zip Code: 63630 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Please don't ever use HughesNet they ask my girlfriend for a dollar down she did not have a credit card so she borrowed mine. She had a $20 off coupon for two years it was supposed to be $38 and some change. Wow HughesNet just charge my credit card for $59 and some change without permission. They will tell you on the phone they got great internet service and if he have kids don't worry about it you're internet it will never slow down with your son playing Xbox or anything downloading movies everything they totally lied it's hard for my son's to download games on the Xbox and when he trying to do Netflix it slows down very slow it's hard to watch the movie. Whatever you do please don't order HughesNet have a good day


Don't purchase hughesnet RIP OFF

Apr 03, 2017 by Alyssa
Zip Code: 60177 

I have had hughesnet for almost 2 months now. It never works and hasn't worked since They installed it. They told me it was my router (which was brand new) so I bought a new router. Have called them 12 times to tell them my internet turns on and off every 30 sec. Spend an hour on the phone each time and they have not done anything for me. Now they want me to PAY to have someone came look at it even though it hasn't worked since I've signed up. Not to mention it is 60 a month for only 5gb which is ridiculous.if you use HD Netflix that is about 5 hours of streaming for 60 a month. Now I am stuck in a 2 year contract where I am receiving nothing unless I PAY 400 to cancel. Not to mention I paid 158 for them to come and set it up. The 158 was after their "new customer free installatiin". Do not get hughesnet. Would rather have nothing rather than give these theives tons of money to get nothing in return. Will be cancelling.


Mrs.

Apr 01, 2017 by Jolene Money
Zip Code: 87742 

We had to move so we contacted the company "Hughes Net" to relocate our services. They had a tech come and he informed me that he could not install without causing permanent damage to our property or install in the middle of a drive way. I asked so what we were left as options, he said we can cancel and confirmed with his supervisor that no charges or cancellation fees would apply. Since Hughes net could not properly install for services. So couple months later I notice that they were still charging a credit card for monthly fees. So I call to tell them to stop and to ensure that they would refund the debited amounts. Well to my surprise they said we were still customers and responsible for the duration of the contract 9 more months. If we wanted to cancel it would be over 200 dollars. I asked how could I still be a customer when I got an email months prior indicating that they were"sorry they were losing me as a customer." So how can I trust if I pay them the new cancellation fee that I won’t be shaken down for another cancellation fee in another couple of months. This company tells its consumers one thing and does another. It is ridiculous that they can't provide services but hold the customer accountable. Very unjust and I fell like I was ripped off.


1.2 5.0 373 373 Many hours on the phone with support, with no resolution.Many emails sent, but only template emails returned indicating no problem on their end.Can't even upload a picture to F Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»