Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

BAD! BAD! BAD!

Nov 25, 2014 by Charles Tucker
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10+ years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 29676 

Well pleased with service and customer service until the introduction of GEN4. I have been consistently advised to upgrade but I consistently refuse. My data started mysteriously disappearing on a daily basis and time allowed would go to zero. No reason for this. Contacted customer support several times and they would tell me I showed time left according to their records but my internet speed would be virtually zero (always advised to upgrade to Gen4). My meter would show zero allowance left. I had seven tokens built up to restore my speed. After only three month I now only have about 3 tokens left. I spoke with tech support was bumped to level 3. They couldn't answer the problem bumped me up to home support (at no charge) I allowed them access to my computer. They couldn't find anything wrong on my end and said it was the modem. Referred me back to Hughesnet. Ordered a new modem. Tech support could not provide correct parameters to register it. Their website is configured incorrectly to accept registration. (tried several browsers). Returned the modem hoping to get credit. Yesterday when I attempted to access the internet it said my time limit was exceeded. I unplugged the modem and left it until today. After 24 hours (when it should have been restored, it wasn't. After 28 hours data usage was finally restored. Switching to Exede in the morning. A shame that a company that has performed so well in the past can go downhill so fast. (Oh well that's the AT&T merger for You). Sounds like a class action lawsuit coming to me.


Absolute WORST EVER!!

Nov 24, 2014 by Jeff
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 Weeks • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 59 • 
Zip Code: 75078 

1.34 Download Speed. Complete CRAP [...]

RUN FROM THIS [...]!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Hughes Net is a joke!

Nov 21, 2014 by Steve Chappell
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 84.00 • 
Zip Code: 29506 

I don't undestand how they can get away saying that they have high speed internet. Yea, I agree it's ok when you first get it. It's like a cell phone you only get so much data usage then it get bad slow. For example I'm downloading a program that normally with cable would take 21 mins. I'm having to wait 9 hours this is so sad I'm ready to sue if I had the money to sue. My problem there is no cable or nothing where I moved to. If I had some idea it was this bad I would have never bought a house in this area that's how disgusted I'm am with it.


Gen 4 is a Joke

Nov 18, 2014 by Lucy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No, not even to my worst enemy! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $80 • 
Zip Code: 47016 

I can't get service when there is cloud cover, when the wind blows or there is a drop of rain, or I guess if a bird flies in front of the satellite. There is always some sort of lagging download/upload speed. I upgraded to Gen 4 thinking this would solve the choppy video problems - what a joke. I can't even use my camera/video or Skype because there is such a delay time in transmission. I feel like I have been duped. The "Tokens" are a joke. Just another way of squeezing more money from their already bloated fees.


Horrible Service/Customer Service

Nov 16, 2014 by Debbie DeRenard
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO! NEVER! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80.00 Month • 
Zip Code: 92254 

Cant understand Customer Service Rep. I pay extra for service calls - but am told it will cost me. Internet is slow to stopped! Can't wait for my contract to be over!


Horrible Customer Service

Nov 10, 2014 by brian
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 mo • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Only if they are desperate • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): About $50/month • 
Zip Code: 65338 

Customer service is in the Philippines. They apparently speak English but don't understand it. Ask a question and they give a run-around answer or an answer to a question that you didn't ask. I hate calling them because their responses are always scripted. Not my first call to them. This same scenario has played on every call.


Hughes net

Nov 04, 2014 by Trav
How Long Have You Used This Service?: One week • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Vacation rental • 
Zip Code: 28723 

Vacationed a week in North Carolina with Hughes net broad band. Horrible. On a speed test the needle barely moved. I plugged in my Verizon hot spot and got 6+ download and 2.5 upload. Save your money.


Simply the Worst All Around

Nov 02, 2014 by John
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not in a million years • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $65 • 
Zip Code: 30120 

I was recommended this service by Direct TV, they must have some sort of partnership together. My house sits too far from a regular cable provider box so I had to go satellite. After the first month my service came down to a very slow crawl. When I called and spoke with someone who was extremely hard to understand, they mentioned I could purchase some "tokens" that would speed up my service until the next billing cycle. Obviously having this mentioned during my initial sign-up has made me beyond angry. This is the WORST company and I truly do not understand how the BBB let's them stay in business. Considering all of the negative reviews I have now read, hopefully it won't be long until something is done. I am staying until my cancelation policy (that they never told me about) is over and then I am going to suck it up and pay for a line to be built. Anything will be better than dealing with this company of total scammers. I don't know how they sleep at night! I put one star above because you have to click one but if I could give a 0, I would have.


Terrible service all the way around!

Oct 24, 2014 by Terri
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 166 a month • 
Zip Code: 80112 

There service is terrible all the way around. The internet speed is extremely slow. Our satellite was facing down after the wind blew a little. I asked them to fix it and they wanted me to call some other company to do as they didn't provide that service. The other company, who originally installed it wanted an additional $100 to fix their bad installation. When I tried to cancel, they hung up on me and I had to call again.


Tricked and Angry

Oct 03, 2014 by Jen Williams
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $40 • 
Zip Code: 37857 

I had the original service for the same price. I was constantly having problems with accessing sites. My downloads were not working due to the speeds going fast/slow/fast/slow therefore making the downloads incomplete. I contacted the company via the chat (they do not allow you to contact them through their email or mail. I was told different stories and did multiple tests, multiple times. I was lied to and never resolved anything. I called them and they said they would switch to Gen4. I had the same problems with Gen4 as with the regular. On top of all the problems they removed my free zone consistently. So now have all the same problems with less usage, no free zone, more sites not accessible. I was tricked and still have service that sucks. The old Hughes net was bad, the Gen4 is horrible. I am looking into dropping them. I give Hughes Net and the Hughes net Gen4 a negative rating.Years ago they were stable.....they now are all screwed up. The new satellite, the new equipment, and the new plans are horrible. I am a home-school mom who needs a stable internet service..... this is not it.


1.4 5.0 53 53 Well pleased with service and customer service until the introduction of GEN4. I have been consistently advised to upgrade but I consistently refuse. My data started mysteriously d Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»