Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

DO NOT CHOOSE THIS SERVICE

Jan 18, 2017 by Pat
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NOOOOOOOO!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Too much for the service • 
Zip Code: 36703 

I thought Exede was horrible but Hughes takes the cake. The sales rep was very professional and knowledgeable. But failed to mention that you better make use of the time that your on the internet. I specifically told him that I am in college online & want to have the ability to access & complete my course work.Because my courses are online, the course mentors upload videos & workshops. None of my videos would load & by the third day I was out of data...oh but you can refill as needed. What!!! I have the maximum package & I have to refill!!! Oh...when the billing cycle has ended, your card will be charged regardless of when the bill is due. When I noticed the charge on my bank account, I immediately called to speak to a representative. The rep said that the billing cycle ended on the 16th, so the card was charged on that date. I told him that the bill was due on the 23rd. He said but the billing cycle ended on the 16th, which made no sense to me. I then said that I did not authorize automatic payments to be withdrawn on this date. He told me that because I put a card on file when purchasing the service that it can be charged. We went back & forth about this. I told him that Alabama Power has my bank information on file & does not go in my account & withdraw the monthly balance due. I have to go in every month & schedule a payment or set up automatic billing. After that, he told me that the early termination fee will also be withdrawn from my credit card that is on file. I told him to pleeeease do it. I am usually very polite & courteous to everyone. But, I stepped out of character that day. How can you tell me that you are going to charge my credit card without my authorization? On top of that, I am explaining to you that I am a unhappy customer & you have no remorse in that matter. I am a property manager overseeing four apartment complexes. I kindly advised him that I will make sure that my tenants, all my friends & family know about this company. Please stay far, far away.


speeds are based on false testing

Jan 18, 2017 by logan hollabaugh
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO !!!!!!! NEVER !!!!!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 90$ monthly • 
Zip Code: 16849 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I had NO choice in isp, other then verizon, 1mbps for 100$ a month. Hugesnet seemed (at the time) the lesser of two pig evils. they charged me 100s of dollars to install this crap on the side of my house, broke my siding and sloped cables everywhere. The speeds the first month were absolutely AMAZING, then I realized I had unlimited speeds and bandwidth for 30 days.....the second month I had NOTHING......could not even load Gmail......they are pigs.......they should be REMOVED from being allowed to market their rental beams to anyone.

Do not use them....use UNLIMITED VILLE IF YOU HAVE NO CHOICE.


Service

Jan 12, 2017 by Rob
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2.5 years • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 100 • 
Zip Code: 48632 

The service was too expensive so we found a better deal. Our time with them wasn't great starting with the install. It was cold so they didn't bury the cable that ran across our driveway so when it warmed up *I* had to dig a trench. When we cancelled I was surprised to find out they don't pick up their equipment. Maybe I should have known and maybe it's standard practice now but what I found insulting is that *I* cancelled THEM yet they included a stern warning letter in the box they send for their equipment. It said I've been terminated and I have 21 days to send the equipment back or I'll have to pay 300 with no thank you for choosing us or sorry to have lost you as a customer. It didn't even have a friendly tone in hopes we will come back someday. So now I have to take down THEIR crap in my yard in 15° weather or have an installer come out at MY expense. I will NEVER use them again.


Only if you have no choice!

Jan 11, 2017 by Richard Harris
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely not! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 96 • 
Zip Code: 28904 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): @intertechworks • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

In fairness, when it works well the service is decent. It rarely works well and has very frequent interruptions and extremely delayed response times. The service is indescribably bad. Every time I called support, FREQUENTLY, it is the same queue card steps: connect directly to modem, go to this page go to that page, log into this, log into that, speed test over and over, reboot in safe mode and repeat. The whole time ignoring the fact that their own equipment diagnostics are showing the exact problem "Uplink Failure". Then they tell you you will get a call from advanced technical support in the next 5 "business days". I went through this 3 times in the last 15 days. Never got a call. Every time i call back to follow up it is a repeat of the same process. If this sounds good to you I would highly recommend that you dive right in. In over 5 years I have proven that I am far to long suffering and should have ditched them years ago.


Buyer be aware

Jan 10, 2017 by Eva Mooney
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 149.00 • 
Zip Code: 32322 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I'm having so much trouble getting out of my contract! I just want to cancel, using hotspot on cell phone is better than their speeds. Only time speed appears to be great is when you perform a speed test. Other than that you will cry watching the pages render.

Buyer be aware!


What. The. Eff....

Jan 10, 2017 by Anonymous
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Over a year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell No! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 66.43 a month • 
Zip Code: 93247 

So, I just called customer support to cancel service because I no longer need the service where I moved. My current roommates already had a local service provider. I was transferred to a different individual only once. Which is not the complaint. The complaint is that I am the customer and I asked to have my service cancelled. The "robot" on the other end of the line could not comprehend the concept of cancelling the service. Instead, he wanted me to continue to pay $66.43 a month for the next 11 months until my contract ended. I told him I would rather pay the $235.00 cancellation fee instead of paying $730.73 for a service I am not going to utilize. That is like pissing money down the drain. After over thirty minutes of continually telling him, "No, I am not interesting in extending my service or finding someone to purchase the account," he finally gave in and decided to process the cancellation. Needless to say, I give the guy props for being relentless but I am the consumer, if I want to cancel, just give me what I want instead of pressuring me into continuing the service when I no longer need it.

And the location where I had the service...it was garbage. I used the internet for online classes and if I had more than four separate web browsers opened for research, the internet would whig out and take forever loading. I ended up utilizing my mobile hotspot from my cell phone and went over my data numerous times just because of my lack of patience with the internet speed. Ran numerous speed tests and they all stated the internet was operating at full capacity. But the server response was terrible.


Terrible Service

Jan 08, 2017 by James Violette
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 129.00 • 
Zip Code: 97128 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Absolute worst service I've ever had. Slow, high priced, zero customer service. Price plans online do not match the price plans in reality. I'm stuck with this company because I live in a rural area and they are the only game in town. Talk to 3 different agents when trying to establish service and each one lied in order to secure my payment. Which leads me to believe that this is a tactic they use to get you into the contract. Could go on and on but sick of wasting my time on this crappy company. They can offer better service but choose not to. Screw you Hughesnet. Less than on star....


Horrible Service Beware

Jan 07, 2017 by Rick
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 18 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely Not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 90 • 
Zip Code: 72734 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I've had Huges Net for 18 months, I've had them out several times and replaced equipment. Their little meter is not accurate it will say it is lightening fast but you will be waiting for a long time to even open a page. They give a lot of lip service and it's horrible. I bought out my contract to day which is obsurd that you have to pay to get out of a crappy service. Beware anything or nothin is better than Hughes net, that what u get for 90 per month is absolutely nothing but frustration!!


Jan 04, 2017 by Freda Farley
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 49.98 • 
Zip Code: 35622 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

First and foremost.,do your homework before using this company and especially their contractor for the area 35622. This clown drilled holes in my brick to run a cable inside the house because he was too lazy to go in the crawl space to install it properly. He also run the cable from the satellite over my gutters to the drilled hole. The other 2 holes drilled in the brick, were unnecessary also. I didn't babysit him, but I did go out and check after it was too late. My husband was out of town that day, when came home and seen the damage he came unglued. I disconnected service after finding out my AT&T micro cell tower is not compatible with the satellite and you have no cell service and to find out the package I got was nowhere near what I was going to use each month and either pay more or no service until the next month! No Thanks, I will keep my unlimited semi slow service. They say they are refunding 30.85. We will see. Their customer service is terrible! I had a hard time understanding his lack of the English language.


Customer Service: Bad, Internet Speed: Bad, You Name It: Bad

Jan 04, 2017 by Chris
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 11 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not to my Enemy • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $70.00 • 
Zip Code: 29466 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

HughesNet made claims to be to be using top of the line equipment with top of the line speeds. I paid $70 per month for 11 months and received none of the above.

It took my wife over an hour to upload 1 picture to the internet and it took over 8 hours to play a movie already owned/purchased on Apple TV. The Apple TV was even plugged directly into the modem, it was not using wi-fi. Yet every time I complained I was told my speeds are fine and there was nothing they could do.

I called multiple times over a 3 month period and everytime was told my service was fine and there was nothing I could do, yet I was sitting in front of my TV or computer and it could not be operating any slower when trying to use the internet.

As far as customer service, it is clear their agents don't care about your problems. They make you run tests on your equipment and if you don't have the equipment needed tell you that you are out of luck and there is nothing they can do. In addition, on the 4-5 calls that lasted at least 30 minutes each, it was very clear the person on the other end wasn't listening to me as I had to repeat myself multiple times like the reason I was calling, what the last agent told me, etc. It was also clear they were just reading off of a screen or cue cards, I might as well deal with the crappy robot system they use to "point you in the right direction". Finally, I would have one agent tell me one thing, they would pass me on to another agent and they would tell me something different.

I now have AT&T, the same upload/download speeds and surprise surprise, none of the problems I was experiencing with Hughesnet exist and I pay $20 per month less.

This service is horrible. I am sorry I ever signed up for it and the $265 termination penalty is worth every penny.


1.1 5.0 351 351 I thought Exede was horrible but Hughes takes the cake. The sales rep was very professional and knowledgeable. But failed to mention that you better make use of the time that your Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»