Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

I hate Hughesnet

Jul 13, 2014 by Helen Benne
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 10 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 76.00 • 
Zip Code: 81082 

My husband was recently diagnosed with Renal Cell Carncinoma which is kidney cancer. I called the Hughesnet to see if there was any way I could get out of the early termination fee due to the mounting medical bills from my husband having cancer, the numerous visits, surgery, etc. They were rude and basically said oh well sorry your husband got cancer but you're still going to be charged the fee. Wow so now I'm not only facing the possibility of losing my husband but now facing these people ruining my credit along with everything else we've been going through. The service also sucks, always slow speeds, and the fee every month is outrageous. DON'T GET HUGHES NET EVER!


Change your mind if you are considering Hughes

Jul 05, 2014 by John
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not a friend I wanted to keep 

Every single person who has posted a message on this site has had (in whole or in part) the exact same experience with Hughes Gen 4 that I have had. If you are out there reading these words others have written and you are considering having service with Hughes, take the warnings to heart because they are absolutely not exaggerated. Unless this is the only internet service available to you in any form, pass it by. You will save yourself a lot of unnecessary hassle and headache by avoiding signing on with this service completely. First, know that Hughes CS will attempt to deceive you about virtually every piece of information they provide. They told me they did not use "refurbished" parts, yet my service was down for 6 days less than five minutes after installation because they used a "refurbished" (previously USED!) transmitter. The Hughes CS reps are polite but generally unhelpful in reaching a resolution with a problem. Communication between Hughes CS and the satellite installer companies (who are not Hughes) is almost non-existent. It's a severe case of the right hand having no idea what the left hand is doing, and a problem that should be very easy to fix can rapidly escalate into a very frustrating nightmare. The installers will also attempt to deceive you and play you for a fool if they can by charging you (very high) fees in situations where they are absolutely uncalled for. As for the service, itself, the signal is generally good, but latency frequently spikes to unusually high numbers for no apparent reason compared to other satellite services I've used. My general take at this time: Take a pass on Hughes Gen 4. The company seems to suffer from a lack of being honest, a lack of being helpful, and their installers will TOTALLY hang you out to dry if a problem comes up with your system parts.


Horrible service and fees

Jun 15, 2014 by Lori Branch
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Please.... 

If there is a lessor rating I would use for Hughes Net I would select it. If you want to pay them hundreds of dollars and not receive adequate service.....go for it.


get had by hughes

Jun 10, 2014 by Sheree C
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Several months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER 

My experience is more like that of a slick seller and then getting shafted after the paperwork is signed. Customer support is lousy, no help when it comes to times they call if follow up is needed and with the rude tech support you have you are going to "need it". Thoughtful follow through is nonexistent. Prices are outrageous and you have to police your date use. Spent $35 more per month with hughesnet than I am with DSL and phone together.


Jun 01, 2014 by Amanda Mcanarney
How Long Have You Used This Service?: One month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No 

Hands the worst internet I hv ever used. The slowest piece of crap. Never works. Always buffering. Cant wait to be rid of it. I would rate it zero but it wasn't a choice.


The Edsel Ford of Sat. TV

May 18, 2014 by andy
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Two weeks • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: If they have NO expectations 

What is irritating is the complete disconnect between Sales/Advertising, and performance. I have the second
tier, "Power: 10mbs/1" plan, in NE Wash. State.
1. Installers are just contracted mechanics - they come, hook up, and bail. They know nothing. I did not
mind too much- he probably gets paid peanuts.
2. I did not expect 10 mbs 24/7, but was surprised
that the average speed is only .5 to 2 mbs download.
This means: no movies ever, and more important, no
video clips in news broadcasts from anywhere.
3. I AM able to use my e-mail, and an on-line
google translate app. which is important to my work. And, I can surf news sites to READ printed news.
4. Upload speeds sometimes a full 900, almost double
what the download is!
5. CS is very polite and tries to be helpful. They seem overwhelmed, and one admitted that the plan I
am on "was not designed for streaming." Huh??
6. Bitch to Better Bus. Bureau? Ha! Forget it. Hughes is a giant corporation. At the very least, Hughes should be enjoined from further selling, until they can provide the service.
7. Sincerely recommend dial-up if your area has it - at least you'll save money. Anyway, buyer beware!
8. I am within 3o day trial time, may just quit. $70
a month for printed news and email and one app seems
like a lot. Oh, to their credit, the Skype calls DID WORK,
but not with cameras.
9. Hughes also runs a bait-and-switch op and may try to talk you into the pricey 15/2 plan.


BIGGEST SCAMMERS EVER!!!

May 02, 2014 by eric hilmer
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not even my worst enemy 

Congratulations!

You guys are the WORST SERVICE I've ever had. I don't even know where to begin with you guys, seriously. I guess we can start with your first mistake, oh yeah week 1.
Your so called professionals came into my apt. complex and installed my dish and within 2 days I lost service completely..... I think I called like 2 or 3 times w/30 minutes of 'Troubleshooting' with one of your Techies to only confirm what I already knew, your service sucks..... This is after I wasn't told of a 2 yr. contract initially (devious losers).
I think it was a wk or 2 later you guys showed up to and it worked for like a month, month and a half tops.....
Followed by the internet going down again for about another month, followed up with multiple calls and horrible and more idiotic 30 min phone calls including 'Troubleshooting' with a Tech.Then a miracle took place and I was able to get an appt. and internet again with one of your techies (probably the only one worth anything).
Then I moved in February in the same building on the same floor and lost connection again. At this point I was burnt out on wasting my time with you guys after I called your techies a couple of times and they never called me back on the window they set (surprise, surprise). So I think I went w/out internet for about another 1 1/2 to 2 months because I was just better off using a neighbors wi-fi.
So you guys gave me a free month of service. Big woop. 3 months down, headache after headache. Who seriously has that kind of time to spend with your amateur techies on the phone??? All you guys gave me was a refund on the monthly fee you were ripping me off on to begin with.
So after about 6 months with about 2-3 months of actual service, I decided to pull the plug on your MICKEY MOUSE CORPORATION and now you're trying to tell me I owe you $300 to cancel a contract that I was LIED INTO??? (I was told the contract was 12 months, and my bill would be $60 every month, you guys tried charging me $90 the first month with some Bull shit upgrade! NICE.
Almost Forgot..... Upon cancelling my contract with you guys you informed me that I needed to take an antenna off the dish that your guy installed along with the rest of the equipment after I specifically told you I'd moved out and to contact the landlord to get access to the roof. Your guy put in on, he takes it off. End of story.
Well, I can tell you one thing. You will never see a penny from me regarding that $300 cancellation fee. I can't believe you're even allowed to operate in this country.... You're standards wouldn't hold up even in Congo. And if you send me to collections I hope you guys have a lot of damage control..... I'm going to constantly slam you guys online for the crooks you are and nobody else gets taken like I have. Oh and by the way, it will never stop.

All the worst,


HORRIBLE!

Apr 30, 2014 by Kira Salaneck
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO 

This internet service was the absolute worst internet provider I have ever used. First of all, when you sign up, they do NOT tell you that there is a bandwidth limit...not to mention you can barely use the internet for normal everyday uses before you use up all the bandwidth. To increase the amount of bandwidth that you have avail, the cost is OUTRAGEOUS! The internet service was absolutely horrible and barely ever worked. When you call costumer service, they do not help you with ANYTHING. When cancelling service, (switched to Comcast xfinity and I love it!) they stated there was a $295 cancellation fee (which was expected) but instead of having a bill sent to me like a normal provider would do, they charged it right to my credit card without even getting permission. I would NOT recommend this service to anyone. It is NOT worth the hassle!


Please don't buy this!

Apr 11, 2014 by Sharyl
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 14 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No 

We thought this was our only alternative, but it wasn't; we can use MIFI with our Verizon phone and get better service for less money. Hughesnet w/dish network is barely better than dial-up. Customer service is insulting: 40 minutes on the phone to say it's our fault (we changed nothing, but magically, our signal was better the next am. . . for about 2 days).


Don't Buy!

Jan 13, 2014 by Greg
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 Month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO! 

First time user of satellite internet and I have to say that my old dsl ran circles around this. Using my iphone as a mobile hotspot is considerably faster. It works just over half of the time and when it does many sites will just time out. Now I am locked into a 24 month agreement so I will have to pay the fee to cancel it or just live with it. My advice; don't waste your money. If internet tv worked this poorly, they would be out of business as Hughes Net should be.


1.7 5.0 19 19 My husband was recently diagnosed with Renal Cell Carncinoma which is kidney cancer. I called the Hughesnet to see if there was any way I could get out of the early termination fee Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
12