Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Homeowner

Aug 25, 2016 by Randy Hank
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Alot • 
Zip Code: 71229 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): 1 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Thought I had cancelled my service Dec. 10, 2015 because of selling my house which I totally moved out of by 12/14/2015. On August 24, 2016, I noticed that my credit card was being billed a monthly fee for hughesbet service. After calling customer service, I was told that I had excepted an offer to suspend my service for a $20 fee. This agreement I do not remember. Seems the service suspension ended in June and therefore I was auto billed for service in July and August. Because I have not used the service since early December 2015 nor was I sent any type of notice of said suspension or cancellation there of, I requested the 2 months of charges be refunded. Hughesnet representatives in the Phillipines said the only thing that could be done was to cancel the account with NO REFUND POSSIBLE. After speaking with three individuals, Hughesnet takes NO RESPONSIBILITY for not notifying me for reactivating my auto pay account. Will have to seek legal advice. If anyone knows how to contact someone in a higher position with Hughesnet...please advise me. If this is indeed the policy, it should be modified. Hughesnet seems to have hidden or sneaky tactics and I will not recommend their service.


Aug 24, 2016 by Rose M Salazar
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Rose • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never or for that matter anyone • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 76.00 per month • 
Zip Code: 93274 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Internet only 

Poor service, after you sign up and call to complain they( service tech ) treat you awful on telephone , they are rude and keep repeating same question over and over. I will never get this service again they are only interested in the money. When I stopped service they went into my account within five days and withdrew remaining balance owed on contract after they had mailed me a statement with amount. I have never been late with payment and for them to do that. I want to know who gave them permission to withdraw from my account after I had terminated service. They promise you service they can not provide.


Bad internet

Aug 23, 2016 by Roger
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 year contract • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No way • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 49.00 • 
Zip Code: 45056 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Np 

I was misled by the representative.they gave me a price .but when I received my bill the price was almost double.it took 3 hours on the phone to get the price down to 49.00 dollars .they also told me what I could do with it (stream video,download music and the amount of data allowance) all lies and big lies you can\'t download music.no way could you stream a movie and my data is gone in 2 days so it slows down even slower ..they told me they are as fast as roadrunner.not even close they are just slightly faster than dial up.in short they suck they lie and they try to rip you off don\'t get hughesnet


Gen 4

Aug 22, 2016 by Vicki Eastridge
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 59.95 + fees etc • 
Zip Code: 23015 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

For the price paid it is a rip off for two years. Limited usage is ridiculous. Had Hughesnet before and there was no such restriction. I was told that my plan would be more than adequate and it is not. I am disabled and use my internet access a lot. For the price paid it is crazy to have to be paranoid about usage every time I log on to the internet. Very disappointed. Plus service is not that fast and finding help is a major ordeal.


Gen 4 Hughes net

Aug 19, 2016 by Sharon
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1yr 6 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 75/month • 
Zip Code: 14838 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Never left a review but if it helps someone, here it is. We don't use Internet a lot. Had it installed for children to do homework. It's slow and we never come close to using all our data. Most of the time I just use my cell because it's so much faster. When I stalled we wanted it in the yard but they said ground was frozen. Guy who installed left extra cable and said we could call to have it reinstalled when the weather broke. I called due to siding our house, we need the dish removed. Hughes had me on the phone for over an hour telling me it would cost $125.00 to have the dish moved ten feet to where they originally were supposed to have put it in the first place. Finally after being passed on to 3 reps with no progress I gave them ten minutes to tell me either they move it for free ten feet or off my property. Their choice. They suddenly decided they could move it for free. They were scheduled to come Monday but called asking if they could come Friday instead due to bad weather forecast. I had no issues with that. The same guy who I installed it came today. He complained relentlessly about having to dig a hole. We even offered to dig it with our little backhoe. He declined and eventually left without saying a word to us. I called him on my cell to find out what was going on and he never returned my call. 3 hours later I called to help line sent to me via text stating my job was on "hold". When I called I was advised the installer requested to cancel my install. Said it was to rocky. I am stumped since direct tv installed their dish with no issues in the same place. If you install dishes for a living why would you not be able to do this install? We have a new company coming tomorrow who stated they would be doing the hole themselves. If they don't show, Hughes will lose a customer. I have t changed because it really hasn't t effected us that bad since we do t use it that much but if we did I would have been long gone.


Horrible Internet Service

Aug 17, 2016 by Lacey Lawen
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $69 • 
Zip Code: 85730 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

No Stars. Slow service. Dont tell you about the data allowances. Cant speak to a supervisor and they wont call you back you have to wait until one is available. Our service is so slow. I did a survey that they sent me and they were supposed to call me and I have not heard back from anyone in 3 weeks. Doing what is right cause its the right thing to do is called INTEGRITY. This company has none. Make it right or let us out of our contract. We were so excited to get this service and now we are so beyond disappointed. Fed up. Make it right!


Aug 10, 2016 by Jason
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell Noo • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 75.00 • 
Zip Code: 70570 

These people or such a joke that the people in the rural area have no other choice but to go with them if we need to get our kids work done or as adults our work not only that we have been having issues with the services since Friday only to be told they would be here on Monday between 11and 3 (ONLY TO CALL THE GUY AT 3 AND HE SAID HE COULDN'T MAKE IT UNTIL THE NEXT MORNING AT 9 WELL HERE WE OR AND ITS 10 HE CANT MAKE IT CAUSE HIS SUPERVISOR Laura Kircher told him to drop is and go to a business that was more important then us as paying customers that the company's money was more important then ours and when I told her I took off that day and the next morning now turns into the whole 2days off my check that I'm screwed out of she agreed that I was) what a bunch of bull---- that they or taking advantage of people in rural areas cause we have no one else to go to but if a dial Cmp gets in these area HUGHES NET WILL DEFINITELY GO OUT OF BUSINESS!!!!!


Horrible - Surpise $320.63 charge after 12 years of service

Aug 08, 2016 by Angie
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 5 years with Gen4 service, total of 12 years with company/priorcompany • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: ABSOLUTELY NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 100 month at least • 
Zip Code: 56083 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: N/A 

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible... Lived in an area without highspeed internet for 12 years. Satellite was my only option, just a step up from dial-up. I couldn't work from home. The kids couldn't even think of watching a movie or playing a video game. I finally was able to get highspeed May 2016. I called in and was thanked over and over again for years of being a customer. 2 months later I have a $320.63 charge on my credit card. After much hassling and going in circles they were able to ascertain that I did return equipment, however it was not all, they needed the receiver that is on top of my house! The original box I received did not indicate that. What a joke, it is 5 years old..I paid in $100 month to that company for 10-12 years! They get you on the fineprint... So hidden costs if you cancel...


Horrible

Aug 05, 2016 by Megan Hart
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $141.04 / month • 
Zip Code: 80117 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Not available 

Speeds and Service are terrible. When we signed up they stated the lowest package would be plenty just to get us signed up. Before the end of the first billing month we went over our data package and to avoid additional charges had to increase to a higher package. Which didn't help with any of the data speeds or connectivity. We can't run videos or netflix without time outs or if they will load at all.
Service is terrible. Updated to the equipment that they suggested and put it back to us that it was issues with our equipment etc.

In addition to all this I am locked into a 2 year contract with them. However I am looking to get a new provider - I believe it will be worth the penalties.

Only gave them one star because it was mandatory - they don't even deserve that.

DON'T USE HUGHES NET.


Worse Company

Aug 04, 2016 by Shaun
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7mon • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70.00 • 
Zip Code: 33837 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We had to move out of country home and to an apartment, could no longer have service. We were told at this point cancellation price 300.00 and it wasn't until they shipped us the box to return equipment that they expected us to climb on our roof and un-service dish ourselves. They had a tech install why hell must we risk our lives to take down dish to cancel the service and after we moved out. Unreal, don't use these losers.


1.1 5.0 309 309 Thought I had cancelled my service Dec. 10, 2015 because of selling my house which I totally moved out of by 12/14/2015. On August 24, 2016, I noticed that my credit card was bein Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»