Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

terrible

May 23, 2015 by brooke
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Too much • 
Zip Code: 37378 

Hughes net is the worst internet I have EVER had. I can't do anything. not only is it slow but it constantly cuts on and off. they also told me I would have 20 GB a month but I get 10 a month and the other 10 is only from 2 am - 7 am when I am NEVER on it! I hate this internet and as soon as I can I will get away from it. I do not recommend it.


Terrible

May 23, 2015 by Barb E
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 85.00 • 
Zip Code: 37843 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Right in the middle of anything, internet is up and down. Constant pauses.


Major latency issue, repair service did not show up

May 22, 2015 by Rod MacIver
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $140 a month • 
Zip Code: 12936 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes, 2 year lease 

Internet streaming pauses for several seconds every five seconds.

I called Hughes.net and got the runaround -- long periods of time on hold -- they'd ask me several questions -- then say they had to pass me on to someone else.

They said they'd send a repair technician, and although he made four appointments, the technician did not show up for any of them.

I cancelled the service. Hughes.net said that they would charge me a $140 cancellation fee.


GARBAGE!!!!!!

May 22, 2015 by K DETREVILLE
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 yr • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO wWAY • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 52.00 • 
Zip Code: 34601 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: NO 

I grade the service, technical support and CSR -POOR, POOR, POOR, Grade F - DO NOT PURCHASE INTERNET FROM HUGHESNET.....GARBAGE!!!!!!!!


Don't even!

May 20, 2015 by Adam
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 9mo • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: I wouldn't recommend to an enemy! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $64/mo • 
Zip Code: 29708 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Not only is the internet service bad, the customer service is AWFUL! Several calls trying to get the service to work and no luck. They sent a service tech out and he said that everything is hooked up fine, no obstructions to the satellite dish and all that, Hughesnet service is just bad. This is from their service technician!!! I called and talked to the highest supervisor they would allow me to talk to and they would not budge on charging me the early cancellation fee. I'm getting charged to get out of a service that I can't use! I really can't believe that if they're treating other customers this way, that they've managed to stay in business. Let me reiterate, poor service with even worse customer service. Don't even bother!!!


It is horrible

May 19, 2015 by Suzanne Baeke
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 140.00 per month • 
Zip Code: 93463 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

It doesn't even deserve a 1 star rating. My frustration is the buffering and automatic slowing of your data. I came from Time Warner Cable usage and paid a fee and got all the data usage I needed. Hugesnet are not telling the truth when it comes to "only so much data they can sell". Direct TV is a lot more of a download than I do on the internet and it is a flat fee. I can watch tv 24/7 and it is the same price. Unfortunately, we are stuck with this HORRIBLE service...one month my bill was over $700 dollars for overage!!!


Livin' in the suburbs

May 18, 2015 by Michael Parsons
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Have not friends, so Yes • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Too much for what I get. • 
Zip Code: 21048 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): Don't do social media. • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: DirecTV 

So, like I don't live in the south Pacific or Somalia, but I'm in a suburb of Baltimore; mid way between New York and Raleigh, NC (Technology hubs of the modern world). Why can't I get any speed or responsiveness from my Hughes? They keep sending me mailings trying to get me to upgrade to Gen4, but why the hell would I subject myself to a contract extension? They have not been accountable for Gen3. It's laughable to consider Hughes.net, but when my only other option is Comcast, then all the laughter suddenly stops....and perhaps I get sympathy from those who know the bigger joke that is Comcast. Any-who, gotta go and stare at the spinning icon on my screen waiting for anything to load before my battery dies. Love ya all.


Insane that they can get away with it...

May 14, 2015 by Will Gassett
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Over a year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO WAY!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $111 • 
Zip Code: 28551 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): @WillGassett • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

It's honestly a little insane to me how a company like this is able to stay in business. I have them by default, I live in an area where I only have one other choice and they were not much better but I almost wish I stayed with them (wild blue), the fact that Hugesnet is able to get away with charging customers over $100/month for a LIMITED DATA PLAN is insane!!! On top of that the internet speed is very slow and I'm unable to use Netflix or any streaming for that matter without lag. In my opinion when I pay that much money for internet I deserve reliable and fast internet and I shouldn't be subjected to data caps. It's sad when you get charged that much per month and you have to pick and choose what you download because you don't want to go over your "data allowance" give me a friggin' break. Before I moved I had UNLIMITED internet for a little more then half of what I pay now! I will NOT be resigning once my contract is up unless there are serious changes made and given that my 2 yr contract is up in about 7 months I doubt that will happen! STAY FAR FAR AWAY FROM HUGESNET!!!!!!!!!!!!!


One star

May 13, 2015 by Lisa
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70.00 • 
Zip Code: 13315 

The least accommodating company and my internet consistently runs out because they do not offer unlimited service and their pricing is outrageous. I would never recommend this to a friend or company for any use. I am cancelling my service and getting a new provider. I was not impressed with their customer service either. They are rude and unaccommodating. Hughes-net is not for anyone who wants to use it for college use or recreational use, it is terrible.


Horrific,RUN

May 13, 2015 by Linda
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 73.00 • 
Zip Code: 26283 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): AfterTenDesign • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I have had HN for over 4yrs.I had no problems at all with the service until I (and all users) were forced to use Gen4, which evidently is a satellite made from legos and tinfoil.
Since Gen4 'upgrade' the service is horrific.The allowance is horrendous. Don't get psyched over 30gigs a month. Fifteen of those gigs are allowed only between 2am and 7am.
The customer service online and phone are absolutely terrible. I was hung up on 4 times. I was told it was my computer I didn't have enough memory. I have 64gigs of mem with the best processor a graphic designer can buy. Then they told me it was my router. I don't use a router. That took care of the 4 hang ups I experienced.
The corporate level support was very very helpful, credited me for issues, offered funds for a new router (which I still don't use). Despite being psychologically appeased by corporate,the service is very poor and I have to actually move from where I am to a location that has reliable internet. The service cost me clients and income, do not rely on it to manage a business.
You do not get what you think you are paying for, so be sure to stop the salespeople from blabbering on, ask for details.You need to know exactly what you are getting into. Get every single thing in writing, everything, did I mention, everything?


1.3 5.0 120 120 Hughes net is the worst internet I have EVER had. I can't do anything. not only is it slow but it constantly cuts on and off. they also told me I would have 20 GB a month but I get Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»