Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Really slow

Jun 26, 2016 by Jody
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 90 • 
Zip Code: 64421 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

This is by far the slowest internet I have ever had. I just finished with my Masters degree and needed to access my student account throughout the last several years and Hughesnet was the only available option in the rural area in which I live. I am very dissatisfied and my contract is up, so now I have no reason to deal with their slow connection. The first 2 years of my contract the service was almost nonexistent. When I called to have the dish serviced they told me the technician who installed the dish pointed it in the wrong direction. After it was fixed it was faster for about a week and then back to its old self. Hughesnet is worthless!


Worst internet ever

Jun 24, 2016 by Alex
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Only if there was no other choice • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 22508 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We first got HughesNet Gen4 when we moved to a rental house in a rural area. Service was great for about 4 months, then slowed down horribly. To the point where computers could not download updates. Data cap is oddly setup with two limits for 2 different time periods. HughesNet customer service is the worst I've ever dealt with. They are rude, ignorant, and just want to charge you for everything. They also omit important information. When we moved out of the house and canceled the service (which cost a fortune) they failed to acknowledge our change of address, and wanted to charge US for another box. We fought for 2 hours over this with someone who CLEARLY COULD NOT SPEAK ENGLISH. Then we later found out that one of the equipment pieces we need to return is on the satellite dish ITSELF, AFTER we had vacated the property; HughesNet failed to tell us BEFOREHAND WHEN WE CANCELED that we needed to retrieve that piece ($200 fee if you don't). Most other companies only want their modem back. (By the way, the modem is NOT WIRELESS, so we had to buy our own router as well!) This service is like a bad relationship where you significant other makes you buy everything for them; force you to love them, only to screw you over in the end. GO WITH ANYTHING ELSE!


Worst service ever

Jun 24, 2016 by Just hinshaw
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Justin • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60+ • 
Zip Code: 61732 

Just like every other review that I read after activating an account. Worst internet service around! Very pricey for limited Internet. I have the highest data package and I exceed it within a week or two. After you exceed your data package you are moved down to 1 gig per second. According to them I am able to watch 20 movies on low definition. If I Netflix I am told not to use high def and I am told to turn my wifi off on my phone when I am not using the internet. I thought that wifi was suppose to be unlimited internet access. It took me about a month and a half of calling into technical support after I purchased it to get speeds above 1 gig a second. They would transfer my problem to the advanced tech support or engineering department to further look into my slow speeds. The advanced technical support is only open m-f til 3pm. Unfortunately that is the same time most people work. Everytime they called me it was around 9:30 am asking if I was near my computer. I explained to them that I work til 4. So you can see why that might be frustrating. Tech support can only help while your not home. After two months of that it was slow speeds based on using too much internet. Now I pay 60+ dollars to use internet for two weeks if I am lucky. Read the reviews before activating or you will be stuck with a $400 early termination fee.


Local channels

Jun 21, 2016 by Herschel
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not at the moment • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 120 • 
Zip Code: 46217 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I use to like dish but they took away two of my local channels which I think is not fair we pay all this money for dish and they act like they can't pay these people to get our local channels back what's gonna happen they are going to loose a lot of business to direct tv and cable companies doesn't matter how cheap you are it's about service and rite now dish tv is not about there customers they are about pocketing your money and don't care so I'm about to change over to another company because it doesn't make sense to not have local channels


It Sucks

Jun 15, 2016 by Robert Dallons
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Robert • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No and haven't • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 63 / month • 
Zip Code: 93501 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes, Dish Network 

I was enticed to switch from Excede to Hughes as part of a Dish Network bundle. After switching, found that I could no longer take on-line college courses as Hughes throttles video feeds. Also, Skype communications with my parents stopped working (again, throttled video). The great Gen4 speeds promised just are not there. Can't wait for my two years to finish so I can switch back.


Hughesnet is the worst!!

Jun 09, 2016 by Stephen Capistrant
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.5 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 45.00 • 
Zip Code: 57744 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

This has to be the worst service I have ever had. You can not go from one page to the next with out constant errors. We would drop them right not but they charge tons for getting out early. We are all set to go back to fricking dial up just to get rid of this crap!! Do not even consider using them, stay away.


Do Not Get This Is A Scam

Jun 06, 2016 by Zach
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 Year 6 Months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60 • 
Zip Code: 45066 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): The Art Of Stuff • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

The service is such crap. I am stuck in this for 2 years total and it sucks. It costs around $600 to cancel plus the cost of months you have left in your contract. Total waste of money you would be better off with a phone with a 2G service I mean really this is TERRIBLE for wifi. Very disappointed and I would recommend to a person i hate. Thats how bad it is.


Worst Customer Service

Jun 02, 2016 by Mrs Perry
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 34 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: HELL NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): Havent gotten a bill yet • 
Zip Code: 27312 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

After having the highest speed package for 2 weeks, the speed significantly dropped. It almost felt like we were on dial up. Since we knew that we were already on the highest package, there was no reason for us to call and ask for assistance. We work from home and we could not take a chance on the speed dropping any further so we switched the service. When we called customer service we were told that we owed a bill of 200 and something dollars and that our termination fee was 600 and something dollars. We were told had we cancelled 4 days prior, we would not have been charged a fee. When I initially signed up, I was told that the termination fee was somewhere between $120 and $160(I cant remember the exact amount because I was ok paying the amount)and thats what I was expecting to have to pay. When the representative told me $641 termination I was stunned. After telling me how long they've been in business and how I hadnt called to complain while I had the service and then putting the supervisor on the phone for them to grill me and to ask me why I hadnt called other than to sign up, I was informed that the card that I had used to sign up would be charged at the end of the billing cycle. Not only is the internet slow, but the customer service sucks!! Hughesnet needs to retrain its people...I'm very disappointed, disgusted and frustrated. The Better Business Bureau will be hearing from me.


Worst EVER!

Jun 01, 2016 by Liz
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not just NO but HELL NO! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 81413 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Only stoop to signing on to Hughes.net if you live in the boonies and simply have no other choice.


Run Don't Walk away from Hughesnet

May 25, 2016 by Jack A Walder
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Jack • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely Not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $90 • 
Zip Code: 23005 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We have had Hughesnet for 4 years. After 2 years of dealing with the original versions inability to work we were sold on the Gen 4 to solve all our problems. Not. This company has terrible service and even worse customer service. For years our data mysteriously disappeared when we were not even using the internet. We did fix that by putting the modem on a switch so we could cut if off when we were not using it. Problem solved but the data is no good if you can't use it. For the last 4 weeks every time we went to use the internet to stream a show on Netflix it didn't work. Yesterday a Hughesnet tech came to my house after arguing with people not from the United States for 2 hours. He spent 5 min there and said everything was perfect. We cancelled our service yesterday and have decided to learn to read again.


1.2 5.0 292 292 This is by far the slowest internet I have ever had. I just finished with my Masters degree and needed to access my student account throughout the last several years and Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»