Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Complaint Hughes net

Apr 27, 2016 by Patricia Kirkpatrick
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $200 • 
Zip Code: 74354 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Horrible internet connection. Wiped out my allowance in 2 days. Then they tried to give me free upgrade. Told me they would send a box to return equipment, never received shipping box. When I called back, a month later, they said I have to use my own box with tracking. Then, call back for my refund.
Not at all impressed with this company


Terrible Service

Apr 22, 2016 by Jacquelyn Schroder
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $61.35/month • 
Zip Code: 02472 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

HughesNet does not provide the internet service level that they advertise. While they say you can stream and record videos, this is actually not possible due to their internet being so slow.

They also do not tell you when you contract with them that their internet is by data usage, not a flat fee per month like most standard internet providers.

Their service team is terrible when you call to address such issues. I've spent no less than 4 hours on the phone with them, was finally able to upgrade to their highest level of service for the same price and still was unable to stream and record videos, which I need to be able to do for my professional career.

Upon cancelling the service, they will not budge on their cancellation fee, which is the remainder of the annual contract. I've never had such a poor experience with an organization.


Smoking cable

Apr 19, 2016 by Erika
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1year + • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 89.00 • 
Zip Code: 77445 

A 1 star rating is overrated. This is the third time in less than 2 years that the cable that comes from the dish on the roof that connects to the modem has started smoking and melting. When I call Tech support they do not always understand the problem and this time listed it as outside vandalism - cut cable. They need some people that first of all speak better English and also understand what you are telling them.


Hughsnet

Apr 18, 2016 by Mike
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $1.080 • 
Zip Code: 51030 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): None • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I think a "1 star" rating is to good for this internet service, very bad internet , do not even use them for a "band-aid" so to speak, spent a lot of money for nothing, we had to use our cell phones "hotspot" for internet which worked light years ahead of Hughsnet.


Lousy Hughesnet service

Apr 16, 2016 by Far
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $110 per month • 
Zip Code: 37725 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

If you have other alternatives, do not use Hughesnet. First of all, their 15 MBs runs as slow as 1mbs even though the internet test says otherwise. When you search, there is a lag between searches which makes downloading and uploading very slow. Also, the whole thing about 50 gigs is just a scam. With one of their best plans, you get 20 gigs data per month with 30 gig to be used between 1 to 8 AM. Not very many people stay up all night long to stream videos!
To be fair, they have a good customer service, But what good is customer service when the actual service is lousy.


AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Apr 09, 2016 by Jewely
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 14 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NEVER • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $110 • 
Zip Code: 72111 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

First, it's expensive for what you get. We live out in the middle of nowhere, and at one time, this was all we could get - but now we're signing up for a different service - 3x speed, no data limit (can you say, yay for on-demand), half the cost. Really? We're going to pay the disconnect fee because we'll save it in the first 6 months of the new service. Not only that - but you call, can't get the right department, but they ask you 15 minutes of questions that you have to REPEAT for each person you talk to. Spent almost an hour just to get a cost of disconnection... just the cost. So fed up, and will give reviews everywhere I can.


Hughesnet is terrible

Apr 05, 2016 by red jonson
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Wouldn't recommend to anyone • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $1 would be too much • 
Zip Code: 99026 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

The service has always been slow, sometimes it just goes off for hours....can\'t stream audio or video..takes forever to download anything...No help from customer service...If there was an alternative, I would go for it...Why isn\'t the FCC or the FTC going after them??


Apr 05, 2016 by C.F.
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: HELL NO!!! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $80 • 
Zip Code: 28713 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

It sucks, plain & simple. Worst internet provider EMAIL EVER!!! They promissed us high speeds with their Gen-4 "military technology", told us we would be a better to stream videos, watch Netflix, etc. What a crock! Even very short YouTube videos take forever to load and continuously stop and start during play. This company should be sued for falsely advertising, like Straight Talk wireless was sued for basically the same thing. I keep calling local providers to check and see if they have internet (at this point even old-fashioned dialup would be better). As soon as I find another option or move to another area, I am done with HughesNet forever, and will never recommend it to anyone! If only I could give themail a minus rating...


Mar 29, 2016 by LAURA A CAMERDEN
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60.00 • 
Zip Code: 31030 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Have had this service restored less than 1 month ago. Within 2 days used up my data, watching Walking Dead. Have been buying data and still can\'t watch one interrupted episode. You suck, Hugh\'s net


hign speed internet HA HA!

Mar 26, 2016 by Tom
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 99 • 
Zip Code: 12815 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

My only choice for internet is Hughes. Don't believe the part about "high speed". You will never be able to use Netflix, amazon video, or any down load video stream. I pay the most you can pay for residential service...believe me...I would cancel in a heartbeat if I could.


1.2 5.0 275 275 Horrible internet connection. Wiped out my allowance in 2 days. Then they tried to give me free upgrade. Told me they would send a box to return equipment, never received shipping Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»