Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Run Don't Walk away from Hughesnet

May 25, 2016 by Jack A Walder
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Jack • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely Not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $90 • 
Zip Code: 23005 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We have had Hughesnet for 4 years. After 2 years of dealing with the original versions inability to work we were sold on the Gen 4 to solve all our problems. Not. This company has terrible service and even worse customer service. For years our data mysteriously disappeared when we were not even using the internet. We did fix that by putting the modem on a switch so we could cut if off when we were not using it. Problem solved but the data is no good if you can't use it. For the last 4 weeks every time we went to use the internet to stream a show on Netflix it didn't work. Yesterday a Hughesnet tech came to my house after arguing with people not from the United States for 2 hours. He spent 5 min there and said everything was perfect. We cancelled our service yesterday and have decided to learn to read again.


Worst customer service

May 24, 2016 by Ardith Berryman
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 88.00 • 
Zip Code: 35672 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Stopped using Hughes.net, sent equipment back, was still charged. They admitted the error was on their part and I still had to call 4 times to get them to process credit to my account. Spoke with a customer service rep names JR, he was the rudest person I have had to deal with. Will tell anyone I know not to use Hughes.net


I Should Have Read the Reviews!

May 14, 2016 by B Hetzer
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 7 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO!!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $50 • 
Zip Code: 72802 

I wish I had read the reviews before switching to HughesNet. Every review I have read is true of my experience. HughesNet high speed internet is reminiscent of dial-up. Please do no make the mistake that I did! I will mark one star if I have to in order to submit this review, but my actual rating would be in the negative.


This corporation is total trash

May 09, 2016 by nathan mckenzie
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 59.99 • 
Zip Code: 12816 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

HughesNet policies are borderline fraudulent. 50G of data between the hours of 2am and 8am but only 10g for the rest of the day. You know, when people actually use the internet. I used my 10g \"anytime\" data in the first 3 days of service. Now the connection has been purposely slowed to the point where the internet is no longer capable of merely playing a youtube commercial. This is a policy that blatantly says \"f%! you\" to the customers and these CEO\'s know it. This corporation needs to be chased out of the marketplace and it\'s leadership banished to Afghanistan.


DO NOT USE

May 05, 2016 by Allen
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $800 • 
Zip Code: 27330 

If you have any other choice then Hughes I advise you use it. They will tell you front, if you suspend your service prior to your 2 year service contract is up it will cost you $400.00. What they don't tell you is that if you suspend it due to it not working it still will cost you $400.00.
I went into the agreement with them telling me how great their service is. Had it for a total of 4 months and it may have worked 1-1/2 months total. I heard excuses from everything like there is a storm in Texas and the service is out. I live in North Carolina. Unbelievable!! DO NOT USE!!!


Worthless, Scam, Rip Off, Pointless, & more

May 02, 2016 by Angela Clasen
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 140 • 
Zip Code: 64075 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): ClasenX3 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Because this was our only option for Internet service in our area we signed up fir Hughesnet. We are a heavy data using family, for $140 a month we had about three days of quality internet. This was Hughesnet newest & highest data plan that we could get. I was never told about any kind of contract when signing up & they tried to tell me that I was going to ge paying an early termination fee.


Horrific

May 01, 2016 by Linda
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Only if desperate • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 75.00 • 
Zip Code: 26283 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

After 3 yrs of battling regarding my connection, that works fine. Now I am in a battle with their billing , they overcharge, then bill 2 weeks prior to your due date, during this 2 week period your usage will be capped even if you have bandwidth due to you. The 'tech' is clueless, any and all responses will be canned answers. You need to complain a lot, do it publicly on facebook and if you are a huge squeaky wheel, you will get results, but than something else always comes up
The service is horrific, be prepared to fight and fight hard for what you deserve, this company should be investigated and sued.


Upgraded my plan and they screw me!

May 01, 2016 by Radonna Lindsay
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8 mth • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 95 • 
Zip Code: 74868 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): Okla46 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Every time I called a different Tech said different things they do not know there was a hole


Complaint Hughes net

Apr 27, 2016 by Patricia Kirkpatrick
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 days • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $200 • 
Zip Code: 74354 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Horrible internet connection. Wiped out my allowance in 2 days. Then they tried to give me free upgrade. Told me they would send a box to return equipment, never received shipping box. When I called back, a month later, they said I have to use my own box with tracking. Then, call back for my refund.
Not at all impressed with this company


Terrible Service

Apr 22, 2016 by Jacquelyn Schroder
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $61.35/month • 
Zip Code: 02472 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

HughesNet does not provide the internet service level that they advertise. While they say you can stream and record videos, this is actually not possible due to their internet being so slow.

They also do not tell you when you contract with them that their internet is by data usage, not a flat fee per month like most standard internet providers.

Their service team is terrible when you call to address such issues. I've spent no less than 4 hours on the phone with them, was finally able to upgrade to their highest level of service for the same price and still was unable to stream and record videos, which I need to be able to do for my professional career.

Upon cancelling the service, they will not budge on their cancellation fee, which is the remainder of the annual contract. I've never had such a poor experience with an organization.


1.2 5.0 283 283 We have had Hughesnet for 4 years. After 2 years of dealing with the original versions inability to work we were sold on the Gen 4 to solve all our problems. Not. This company has Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»