Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

NOT PLEASED

Aug 31, 2015 by lynn
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NOT A CHANCE • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $80.00 • 
Zip Code: 68601 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: NO 

I would never recommend this service to anyone.
I've been told the service may have interruption if trees or clouds are in the way. Well there wasn't a tree within 100 feet of the satellite and it was always cutting out, and Sundays you might as well not even try to use this service CUZ IT AINT GONNA HAPPEN!!!! Please take my advise not a good service!


Run while you can?

Aug 28, 2015 by bryan
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $42 • 
Zip Code: 46122 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Bundle 

Slowest internet around! I run a business and had 20 days of spotty internet which caused a lot of construction bids to not go through. This service crippled my summer's profits.


Lies Lies Lies see review titled "USED TO BE A TECH" dated Jul 17, 2015 by Ian

Aug 27, 2015 by Jane
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 13 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 70 • 
Zip Code: 20180 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

1. Down load speeds are .74 Megabits per second pay for up to 10 Megabits per second. 2. Only 10 gigs allowed between 2am and 8pm
3. I don\'t use 10 gigs per month but loose them somehow
4. Tech support is not technical at all.
5. Kids use data from phone for Netflix, no way can use HughesInternet, impossible to.
6. Salespeople lie, tell you their kids use Netflix all the time and give you some bogus story about how it\'s great where they live, blah blah blah....
7. Tech support told me to only have one device hooked up at a time, I never have more than one and usually none. Wait, one device at a time; so how does the salesman\'s children watch Netflix and they use their computers and phone but tech support tells me only one device at a time, I pay 70+ per month for one device at a time? that wasn\'t part of the agreement AND it doesn\'t resolve the problems lies lies lies
8. Tech support is not technical, they wanted to see if I actually had access to the internet, I told them I did but I would ping a website, they had no clue what the ping command is;
a. Tech support for an internet service provider has no clue what the ping command is.
b. They asked me to unplug the cable, I asked them if they meant the cat 5 cable, they had no clue what I was talking about. \"Houston we have a problem\"
9. This is a perfect ISP for someone who doesn\'t use the internet for anything but needs to get rid of their money.
10. See review \"USED TO BE A TECH\" dated Jul 17, 2015 by Ian


A Good Review

Aug 24, 2015 by Gumbo Banjo
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 Years Gen4, 2 Years classic • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Yes • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60 • 
Zip Code: 28904 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I was called by Exede and offered a really good deal. I checked them out here and found that the complaints for their service are numerous and revolting. So much so that they make the problems you folks are having, while maddening, look like minor inconviences. For a couple of years, I hated Hugesnet and felt trapped, then all that changed...

I am writing this so: 1. You will know that there is a chance that your Hughesnet service might become your friend. and 2. Hughesnet promised me that with Gen4, my troubles would go away, and they did, so here I am speaking up for them.
I started with classic Hugesnet service and had problem after problem. Customer service was slow, and didn't always come up with good results. However, I usually had some basic, slow internet service. I hated Hughesnet and really was frustrated much of the time. One of the techs sent out for service (a private contracter) said he did lots of calls for classic but never saw Gen4 problems. So, I took a chance.
Three years ago I switched to Gen4 and everything started working well. My sat internet is now roughly what I was used to from my cable service back in the world 10 years ago. That is, a couple of seconds (up to 10 second )to get a webpage, temporary stoppages when streaming and very slow responses from highly encripted banking apps. With 10gig I cant stream often, so Netflix is still DVD and I can't use my Amazon Prime for videos very much. Also I note that apps of all kinds are getting much more aggressive and large and new Apple products are set to update whenever they go online, so a visitor can turn on their computer and eat 2 or 3 gig of my 10 gig limit without anyone noticing.
So, I must carefully watch my valuable 10 gigs of bandwidth.
I have been up on the roof several times to repoint my dish due to big wind. This I do by taking my iPhone or iPad with me, going to 192.168.0.1 on my browser then watching the SQF (signal strength) while I move the dish around (with extremely small moves).
I have had a service tech out only once, due to slow and choppy service that included outages of an hour or more. He hooked up his laptop and said right off that there was nothing wrong with the Hughesnet service. This didn't go over very well, as you might imagine. Then I thought he might have just hooked up at one of those times of good service. Then he sat down and said, (I swear that this is true) "You aren't going to like this, but I've seen this a lot and the problem is your router. You need a new router." Well, the router seemed to be working fine, it had never shown any sign of trouble, etc. Anyway, I got a new router that day and all started working again.
I'm thinking that if my Hughesnet Gen4 works, then yours can also. You should have SQF over 100 and try another router. My experience proves that the sats up in the sky are working OK so the problem must be one of the devices at home.
As far and the lies, cheating and poor performance in India and at the Company are concerned, I just hope you can get the internet service working so you can forget about ever having to deal with the humans.
Good luck.


HORRIBLE!!!

Aug 19, 2015 by Janet
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: NO • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $70 Mo. • 
Zip Code: 59714 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

My daughter lives in a rural area and was told that Hughes\' service would provide her with 20 gig service which would allow her to have decent Internet and ability to watch Netflix etc. During the first 30 days she was traveling and working and was unable to really assess just how horrible the service was going to be long term. They kept telling her she needed to manage the data which was not 20, it was actually 10 with another 10 at night. ... It was taking her 30 to 60 seconds to view a normal web page, and forget viewing Netflix or any other service. Three months and multiple phone calls to tech support were another awful experience.

As their service center is in India, you can plan on spending over an hour just to get through to anyone and then another hours as they put you on hold to assess the same problem over and over with no resolution whatsoever but to say \"sorry\" about 100 times, and \'there is nothing we can do about this but try to reset the system.\"

Finally, my daughter demanded the service be cancelled and they wanted $400 do to this... another 2 hours on the phone with customer service they finally gave her a cancellation at $185, but it was so maddening there were no words for it. She was never allow to talk to a supervisor, only the same ole .. on hold back and forth.

They do not care about the customer only how much money they can get out of you on a two year contract. This site is filled with complaints so don\'t be fooled by their promises of great service, it is non-existent.


Absolute Garbage

Aug 18, 2015 by Shane Wilson Soards
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1.75 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not even to someone I hated • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $144.00/ month • 
Zip Code: 85361 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes, Directv 

Worst internet services and customer service I have ever heard of with a service provider. They advertise 15 Mbps and the most I could ever get during testing with their advanced tech group was 7 Mbps and they told me that it must be my wireless router. But wait! It was tested directly out of their router before any of my equipment. I spend 5 hours on the phone with tech support trying to troubleshoot it and they referred me to their advanced department and said they needed me to waste more of my time troubleshooting before they would send a support technician. I will make it a personal priority to tell anyone and everyone how terrible of a company this is. Do NOT waste your time or money like I did!


ACCOUNTING SUPERVISOR

Aug 18, 2015 by LATARSHA WATSON
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 02/19/2008 • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: ABSOLUTELY NOT!!! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 207.59 • 
Zip Code: 11430 

THIS COMPANY HAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER! I HAVE SENT COUNTLESS FAXES AND MADE ATLEAST 8 PHONE CALLS OVER THE PAST 5 MONTHS TRYING TO CANCEL THIS SERVICE WE HAVE HAD SINCE 2008 AND HAVE NEVER USED IT.


Worst. Service. Ever.

Aug 17, 2015 by J HARVEY
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 yrs • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not even to my mortal enemy • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $75 per month • 
Zip Code: 84123 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes with Direct TV 

Where do I begin? Last week, my husband called to cancel the service just prior to the end of our 2 yr commitment. They wouldn\'t let him cancel, said I had to call. I was unable to call for a few days, so now they have charged me for another month. I asked them to remove the dish as it has now fallen down into the power lines and they said they would not remove it, but it is my responsibility to return the transmitter to them or get a $200 bill! I asked them if they would be liable if I am electrocuted up there and of course they said they are not. I have repeatedly called to get the shoddy installation repaired and have not even had any service since the dish fell into the power lines a few months ago. The guy on the phone DENIED that I had ever placed any calls! If you are considering Hughes Net Internet, just take $2000 and flush it down the toilet instead, that way your waste of money is quick, not drawn out into two years of torture. I only checked one star on the rating because I had to, if I could I would give Hughes a minus 10.


hughesnet

Aug 17, 2015 by Jermaine
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 13 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $59 • 
Zip Code: 36003 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes 

Terrible service and Terrible customer service with a concrete contract even if they don't work well in your area. Be prepared for the early termination fee. You will need it! D- rating!


Horrible, service quality 0

Aug 16, 2015 by Jay garner
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not a chance • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): $150 / month + $400 cancellation • 
Zip Code: 77461 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

Horrible service. Speed is completely unacceptable. When I called to cancel service they said I was over my 30 day period, ... when I told them I had been out of town for 5 weeks to deal with my mother's passing and estate they could care less. No impact on the handling of the closing of the account. To make things worse I am responsible to get the equipment off the roof, pack it up and send it back. Rip off with unquestionably one of the worst service quality experiences I have ever had.


1.2 5.0 178 178 I would never recommend this service to anyone.I've been told the service may have interruption if trees or clouds are in the way. Well there wasn't a tree within 100 feet of the Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»