Hughesnet (Gen4)

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

not for netflix..internet basic basic okay

Jul 23, 2016 by amanda aminu
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Less than month • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Hell no! rip off! • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80 • 
Zip Code: 72704 • 
Twitter Username (optional, But We Will Follow You And Give You Credit!): _ • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No just internet 

Rating minus..-100..customer service will do nothing but upgrade you absolutely nothing if you need any additional tech support they charge extra!!!...break down there MAX MAX $129 plan..I wanted netflix yes you can get 100s of hours I was told..no monthly on MAX plan in standard def only you get 23hours INSANE.!!! I'm a stay at home person trying to save money...they totally lied and screwed me!!now I have a two year contract I have to pay off to get out this and I've not even had them a month!!#### only have one star cause I had to click something I take it back they deserve 0!!


service is extremely worse than most dial up

Jul 15, 2016 by John
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 3 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not if you could use something else • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 37074 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

This company seems to have a monopoly on satellite service, as so they can do and charge what they will. I live in the hills of Tn.and I am so hoping that someone else will come into this realm
and offer a better service.


ZERO STARS

Jul 13, 2016 by Mark Phelan
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not even my worst enemy • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 65 • 
Zip Code: 43011 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I can\'t stress this enough...DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! The worst customer service, I called at least 10+ times and never spoke to an American. I don\'t live to far off the beaten path so I thought I would give this a try. Before I signed up, I specifically asked if I would be able to live stream. They assured me that I could. It was never a clear connection, watching anything on Netflix not only took forever to download but then you had to increase your data in order to watch more than 1 show per month. I started out at $35 per month but ended at $65. Recently, the service went down and they tried to charge me $125 to send a technician out to fix it. I told them no and I wanted to cancel. They agreed to send a tech out for no charge, he was here 3 hours, drilled a hole through my window casing that I did not authorize and never got my service going. He was a trouble shooter NOT paid by Hughesnet as his specialty was Direct TV. I called the next day to cancel again. They stated it would cost me $250 to cancel, I would gladly pay this to get rid of it as my alternative is to pay for it but have no service. WORST SERVICE, COMPANY, & PRODUCT EVER! Please keep searching for a provider anything is better than this company. Even not having Internet is better than this BS!!!


Worst Internet

Jul 08, 2016 by Jim
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Never • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 85 • 
Zip Code: 42501 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

They don't deserve one star. This is the worst Internet service in the world including phones.
Dial up would be better but since I live in an area that phone service is also obsolete I'm stuck with this crap. They call it high speed which is a joke I have had dial up 20 years ago that would smoke this.
The fact that you can only use this service between 2am and 8am is just nuts. Any time other then that you slowed (more like turned off) to what they call "throttled" because you used it too much. DSL doesn't have that and neither does cable, only phones charge for data use and some of those are now getting away from that. Throttled means no use at all. You can't connect to home page, you can't download windows updates so basically you pay for this junk for nothing. Unuseable!


Worst service ever

Jul 03, 2016 by Abby
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 8 months • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No absolutely not • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 69 • 
Zip Code: 32667 

This is TRUELY the worst service I wasn't going to put a review but the superviser Megan was absolutely no help. Iv tried to keep this service and tough it out but I own a business and I need the Internet now having a almost 300 phone bill due to my internet being slow and horrible quality. They have giving me a 30 dollar discount so makes my bill to be 69 dollars which is crazy seeing I can use my internet for a week b4 it starts buffering even then it will buffer in videos. I pay for what I get and I'll pay the money for good service but they tell me I have the highest gigabytes which is 50 a friend of mine gas 100 with cox and never has a problem. To cancel my service would cost me 300 dollars even tho iv paid my bill on time each month as well was super nice and understanding up to this point now I'm out raged highly highly offer going with another service than hughsnet!!! Now I'm stuck till I can afford to cancel which is horrible I'm paying pretty much setting my money on fire.


Really slow

Jun 26, 2016 by Jody
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 6 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 90 • 
Zip Code: 64421 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

This is by far the slowest internet I have ever had. I just finished with my Masters degree and needed to access my student account throughout the last several years and Hughesnet was the only available option in the rural area in which I live. I am very dissatisfied and my contract is up, so now I have no reason to deal with their slow connection. The first 2 years of my contract the service was almost nonexistent. When I called to have the dish serviced they told me the technician who installed the dish pointed it in the wrong direction. After it was fixed it was faster for about a week and then back to its old self. Hughesnet is worthless!


Worst internet ever

Jun 24, 2016 by Alex
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 1 year • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Only if there was no other choice • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 80.00 • 
Zip Code: 22508 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

We first got HughesNet Gen4 when we moved to a rental house in a rural area. Service was great for about 4 months, then slowed down horribly. To the point where computers could not download updates. Data cap is oddly setup with two limits for 2 different time periods. HughesNet customer service is the worst I've ever dealt with. They are rude, ignorant, and just want to charge you for everything. They also omit important information. When we moved out of the house and canceled the service (which cost a fortune) they failed to acknowledge our change of address, and wanted to charge US for another box. We fought for 2 hours over this with someone who CLEARLY COULD NOT SPEAK ENGLISH. Then we later found out that one of the equipment pieces we need to return is on the satellite dish ITSELF, AFTER we had vacated the property; HughesNet failed to tell us BEFOREHAND WHEN WE CANCELED that we needed to retrieve that piece ($200 fee if you don't). Most other companies only want their modem back. (By the way, the modem is NOT WIRELESS, so we had to buy our own router as well!) This service is like a bad relationship where you significant other makes you buy everything for them; force you to love them, only to screw you over in the end. GO WITH ANYTHING ELSE!


Worst service ever

Jun 24, 2016 by Just hinshaw
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Justin • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Absolutely NOT • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 60+ • 
Zip Code: 61732 

Just like every other review that I read after activating an account. Worst internet service around! Very pricey for limited Internet. I have the highest data package and I exceed it within a week or two. After you exceed your data package you are moved down to 1 gig per second. According to them I am able to watch 20 movies on low definition. If I Netflix I am told not to use high def and I am told to turn my wifi off on my phone when I am not using the internet. I thought that wifi was suppose to be unlimited internet access. It took me about a month and a half of calling into technical support after I purchased it to get speeds above 1 gig a second. They would transfer my problem to the advanced tech support or engineering department to further look into my slow speeds. The advanced technical support is only open m-f til 3pm. Unfortunately that is the same time most people work. Everytime they called me it was around 9:30 am asking if I was near my computer. I explained to them that I work til 4. So you can see why that might be frustrating. Tech support can only help while your not home. After two months of that it was slow speeds based on using too much internet. Now I pay 60+ dollars to use internet for two weeks if I am lucky. Read the reviews before activating or you will be stuck with a $400 early termination fee.


Local channels

Jun 21, 2016 by Herschel
How Long Have You Used This Service?: 4 years • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: Not at the moment • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 120 • 
Zip Code: 46217 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: No 

I use to like dish but they took away two of my local channels which I think is not fair we pay all this money for dish and they act like they can't pay these people to get our local channels back what's gonna happen they are going to loose a lot of business to direct tv and cable companies doesn't matter how cheap you are it's about service and rite now dish tv is not about there customers they are about pocketing your money and don't care so I'm about to change over to another company because it doesn't make sense to not have local channels


It Sucks

Jun 15, 2016 by Robert Dallons
How Long Have You Used This Service?: Robert • 
Would You Recommend To A Friend?: No and haven't • 
Cost You Pay For This Service (in Dollars): 63 / month • 
Zip Code: 93501 • 
Purchased As Part Of A Service Bundle?: Yes, Dish Network 

I was enticed to switch from Excede to Hughes as part of a Dish Network bundle. After switching, found that I could no longer take on-line college courses as Hughes throttles video feeds. Also, Skype communications with my parents stopped working (again, throttled video). The great Gen4 speeds promised just are not there. Can't wait for my two years to finish so I can switch back.


1.2 5.0 297 297 Rating minus..-100..customer service will do nothing but upgrade you absolutely nothing if you need any additional tech support they charge extra!!!...break down there MAX MAX $129 Hughesnet Gen4 Satellite Internet
Page:
123»