Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Poor connection and unsafe cancellation policy

Dec 31, 2019 by Nicole
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 2 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $100 • 
Zip Code: 14830 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

We live in an area where high speed internet was not available when we first arrived, so we got HughesNet internet to fill the gap--it seemed to be the most highly rated dish internet service. In hindsight, we should have just paid the extra fees for unlimited phone data/hotspot connections, because the internet from HughesNet was patchy and slow, even during "fast" periods. The worst part of our experience, though, was upon attempting to end our service after almost two years of being on-time customers. Unbeknownst to us, when you cancel your HughesNet, they expect you to return a part of the satellite dish that *a professional* installed **on your roof**. If you fail to do this, you incur almost $400 in extra fees. In our case, we did venture onto our roof, once we found a friend with a ladder high enough and safe enough to make the attempt, and returned the requested part. However, we were then informed by HughesNet that there is apparently a "108 day" rule, where if you return the part after 108 days, you forfeit your $400. Never mind that you performed their extremely unsafe request and climbed onto your roof to retrieve their equipment, never mind that they now have this equipment in their inventory, never mind that you may have done this within 113 days, and never mind that you were never once informed about the 108 day policy. They are keeping your $400. Frankly, I am appalled at such a company policy. I will never again consider HughesNet as a viable option, and I would never recommend to anyone that they should go with this service for their internet. Please, save your time, money, and safety and choose unlimited data through your phone service provider.


Brand new HughesNet customer failure

Dec 26, 2019 by Kelly Penland
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 week • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $85 • 
Zip Code: 30521 

New service installed last Friday 12/20/19. Today is 12/26 and we are still unable to stream Netflix or Amazon on our televisions. Originally we couldn't stream youtube, but that's been resolved. They told me I would have to pay $125 for someone to come out to look at the installation. They blame our equipment; however we have one brand new TV that works perfectly fine with a Verizon MIFI, When I call they keep telling me its fine on their end and I have 100% usage. Of course I have 100% because it doesn't work. Extremely frustrated


Cancellation fee for terrible internet reception

Aug 23, 2019 by Terri Andrews
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $100 • 
Zip Code: 72668 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

The Hughesnet internet connection had terrible reception. I was unable to use it to work from home. Movie downloads from Direct TV's On Demand slow, sometimes up to 2 hours, or they never did download. I called to cancel and they told me it would be a $390 cancellation fee for the internet and $190 for the phone, which you cannot have if you don't have the internet. I disputed the cancellation fees and said I wanted to speak to a supervisor, which the customer service agent would not forward me to. Because I was set up for automatic payment, they charged my bank account immediately, even though I told him I was going up the chain of command to dispute the fees. $551.39 for internet service that did not work. Ridiculous!!!!


Aug 21, 2019 by DON MATTHEWS
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 YRS • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: HELL NO!!!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 72.30 • 
Zip Code: 71270 

CHARGE YOU EXTRA DOLLARS, WITHOUT NOTICE OF ANY KIND AND LIES ABOUT IT WHEN YOU GET A REPRESENTATIVE!!! REFUSES TO REFUND THE EXTRA DOLLARS THAT YOU PROVE IS A FALSE CHARGE!!! CHARGE EXTRA DOLLARS TO CHANGE A DUE DATE, NOT FURTHER BUT 12 DAYS CLOSER!!! TOO MANY INCOMPETENT CREATURE THEY'VE HIRED!!! TALKING TO THOSE IN THE PHILIPPINES IS TOO DIFFICULT AND THEN THEY SEND YOU TO TEXAS TO TALK TO A SUPERVISOR!!! FORTUNATELY THEY ONLY 1/2 AS INCOMPETENT AS THE PHILIPPINES, BUT EASIER TO UNDERSTAND!!!!! HUGHES NET HAS BECOME A COMPANY THAT IS TOO DIFFICULT TO WORK WITH BEYOND THE INSTALLATION STAGE!!! 1.5 BILLION DOLLAR REVENUES AND THE WANT TO SCREW A (100%) DISABLED ELDERLY MARINE(71) OUT OF $30.00 IS CHICKENSHIT!!!!!!!!!!


Slow internet

Aug 02, 2019 by William hauser
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 61.00 • 
Zip Code: 32425 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Speed nowhere near advertised,,,,,not even the lowest speed advertised,,,called 2 times to fix problem , each time supposedly they “ reset everything “,,, still not up to par,,,a 56.6 dial up modem is quicker


slow internet

May 01, 2019 by carolyn foshee
How Long Have You
used This Service?: One year • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $69.00 • 
Zip Code: 54409 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes 

I purchased as a bundle not happy with internet I am happy with tv service. with this internet service you can't download free movies on dish, and you have to have a internet service to download free movies, didn't know this until I called and asked about it. tv service didn't tell me this. too slow internet service. also music and face book sometimes don't load downloading just tries and tries and I just give up. this was purchased as a bundle tv service should have made sure the internet service was fast enough. I have one year before contract runs out.


WORST WIFI EVER!!!

Apr 17, 2019 by Vicky With
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $69.99 • 
Zip Code: 87508 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Wifi is constantly dropping off and is the slowest I've ever had in my 63 years. Sometimes it won't even load an internet site/page. Forget streaming anything. Customer service reps act like they could care less. After 6 months the system just stopped working. It was 3 days before a repair person could get there to reset it. Although he said he could have been here in an hour. There's a 2 year contract, with a $250 cancellation fee. Which is looking better and better every day.


Info you can use!

Mar 26, 2019 by Susan Buettner
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NEVER! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $74.15 • 
Zip Code: 78659 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I have only been a Hughesnet customer since Feb.13, 2019 and I want to get as far away from this company as I can so I have filed complaints online with the following agencies and individuals.

First I filed an online complaint with the Texas Attorney General's office. Ken Paxton's office says they cannot address individual complaints but they do watch for trends and that may trigger some action on their part, so contact your state's AG.

Next, I sent a copy of the AG's complaint to the office of my State Representative. I am in contact with his local assistant who is working with me to find every agency we can who may be able to help.

3rd, I filed an online complaint with my Congressman.

4th, I filed an online complaint with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC). They have a consumer protection division that handles cases like this.

Last, I filed an online complaint with the BBB and since I didn't have the right address for the company, they sent it along to:

BBB of Greater Maryland
502 South Sharp Street, Suite 1200
Baltimore, MD 21201-2445

Please pass on this information.


Mar 22, 2019 by Tony
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 4 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!!!? • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 90.00 • 
Zip Code: 30019 

Customer service not good.speed very bad and freezes up all the time . Will not work in bad weather.


Horrible

Mar 08, 2019 by Jess
How Long Have You
used This Service?: I canceled it • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 59.99 • 
Zip Code: 07470 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

The installation of the internet was just not explained prior to the service at my home. He couldn’t install it because of the shape of my roof. He needed my landlords permission to put a metal rod in the ground or a specific piece with the dish on my roof. Also, his van was very run down looking and didn’t have the company’s name on it. It didn’t seem to be very professional. In addition to that I can shed with the 1877 number and it will take a week to get the money back


1.2 5.0 74 74 This is a scam, it is the worst service in my life time. The worst company money hungry bastards. I think is a SCAM when they have not provided the services guarantee or expresse Hughesnet Satellite Internet