Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Horrible

Jan 08, 2019 by Peter Jarosak
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 15 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: I would not reccomend to an enemy!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $60.00 • 
Zip Code: 85632 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

If I could give it a negative number I would. Worst service and fine print in the Industry. Horrible company to deal with and their sales people are snake oil sales people.


Rediculous Scam

Dec 27, 2018 by Tom Major
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Several months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 81.00 • 
Zip Code: 41039 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Terrible service. Was promised speed of 25 mbps and unlimited GBs. Oops my bad I guess I missed the fine print. Data never lasts more than 5 days whether I use it or not. Speed drops to.25 mbps or less for 3/4 of a month. I was told by the installer it would never be below 10 mbps. I can't watch fire stick without constant buffering and that is before they drop my speed. I canceled my automatic payment and WILL NOT pay their terminiation fee of 300+. Come and get me.


Would not get

Dec 27, 2018 by Keith Dyer
How Long Have You
used This Service?: About 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No way • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 80 dollares • 
Zip Code: 30512 

Rating -0 wish every day that I had got my internet thought some other company.what a joke hughsnet is it takes about 1 hour to watch a 30 minute show it does so much buffering.


Worst company ive ever dealt with

Dec 05, 2018 by Kevin
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 70 • 
Zip Code: 11951 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Residential 

Absolute worst campany ever, horrible internet,bad customer service, helps themselves to your bank account then wont return it back they try to give you a credit so you have to stay


Low Data Cap

Sep 26, 2018 by Dennis Smith
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 month • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 69.95 • 
Zip Code: 95370 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Signed for Hughesnet because there was no other option in this location. After 1 month, the data usage is through the roof. The plan 20GB was quickly consumed in only a few days and no video streaming was done. It is clear that the offered plans don't provide a high enough cap, especially in this age of cord cutting and cloud based computing. Purchasing 10GB tokens quickly runs the monthly cost up to something much higher than competitive plans. A complaint has been filed with the FCC against Hughes. Throttling data rates are typically well below 1Mbit/sec, which is only usable for checking emails and some web access.


Terrible and regrettable

Sep 08, 2018 by John Lefkowski
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1.5 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Hell no • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 60 • 
Zip Code: 85283 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

If I could leave no stars I would. This is hands down the worst internet I’ve ever had. They never told us about the hard limit data cap. The “faster” 10 gigs got used in a day. I hated every second of it. Couldn’t stream Netflix or movies on our Apple TV without it buffering every 5 minutes. I never had my phone connected to the internet because it just slowed everything down and my phone plan data was faster than Hughes net. We had to purchase all our equipment and we can’t even get a refund on it. I told them like hell I was paying the early termination fee for this joke of a thing they call “internet”. Would rather go without internet than keep Hughes net.
This was a terrible mistake and extremely regrettable. And the fact their installation fee is 200 dollars to mount a shitty satellite to my house and drill a hole through the wall was a huge mistake. I wish I knew where to take the antenna so I could throw it at their office.


Not available everywhere

Apr 02, 2018 by Eva M Mudge
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 0 • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 0 • 
Zip Code: 14845 

Claim you can get it no matter where you live. Tech came and told me too many trees and said I would have to cut them down.


Worst. Internet. Ever.

Mar 29, 2018 by Jennifer
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $300 • 
Zip Code: 83864 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

Worst. Internet. Ever. We are paying $300 per month for the business package, which is the only way to get a large enough date plan for a family of 4. We are still within our "premium" window, which means we should be seeing fast download speeds. However, despite it being a crystal clear day I can't stream Netflix and the load times for something as basic as Google are abysmal. The internet regularly goes out for no apparent reason. It will just stop working for hours at a time, then come back on. Again, this happens no matter the weather. And seriously, to have the quality of your internet depend on the weather these days is RIDICULOUS.

And customer service? When they first installed our internet it stopped working within a few days. I called. They said it would be up to 7 days before someone could get out here. We may be in rural North Idaho but we are only 20 minutes from town. I had to upgrade (at $20 more per month) to get someone to come out in what was suppose to be 24 hours and STILL took the THREE DAYS. In the end, it was a shitty install job - the guy didn't connect the cable correctly and it was loose.

I HATE this internet but for now it is the only thing we have so I'm stuck with it. If you have ANY other option - take it! Do not use HughesNet if you can get away with it. Dial up would be better, and we would do that if we had a landline!

We regularly have to go into town and use the internet at the coffee shop, which makes doing business very difficult.

Seriously, if you have any other option - take it. Do NOT get HughesNet!


Big mistake

Mar 21, 2018 by LIZZIE WHITE
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Used the service for 2.5 yrs • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 89.00 • 
Zip Code: 31021 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I got this service because I was promised that it was fast. This was before gen5. Worst service ever. I called to cancel and was talked into giving gen5 a try because it was sooooo much faster--not. I couldn't even watch YouTube videos because of the buffering. I was informed that I had to pay HughesNet $300 to get rid of their lousy service. Signing up for this service will be a decision you will regret, I know I did. They get no star at all.


Terrible

Jan 05, 2018 by Tommy Wilbanks
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 9 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: NO!! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $127.00 • 
Zip Code: 35959 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: Yes, internet & phone 

Claims that I run over my 30 mg Plan in just a few days, NO WAY, Just me and my wife and we only use the internet in the evenings for several hours, for facebook, and watch a few Amazon or Netflix movies. Very Slow when they claim that we went over our plan!!!! I have called numerous times about this and "I AM SICK OF IT",,,, When I purchased Hughes services, I thought that I had unlimited use, that was what I was told. I WILL CANCEL AND NOT PAYING ANY EARLY DISCONNECTING FEE'S!!!!!! BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU TIME.


1.2 5.0 54 54 If I could give it a negative number I would. Worst service and fine print in the Industry. Horrible company to deal with and their sales people are snake oil sales people. Hughesnet Satellite Internet
Page:
123»