Hughesnet (classic)

NOTE: this page is for classic HughesNet satellite internet. If you are using the new HughesNet Gen4, please visit our Gen4 review page.

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Hughesnet Satellite Internet SKU UPC Model

Money hungry

Dec 26, 2014 by karen martin
Zip Code: 77306 

So, HughesNet withdrew their payment today. Only it wasn't for the monthly amount we agreed on when I signed up with them, AGAIN. They keep telling me I have no data allowance left and I have to "restore tokens". Well, they took $240. And I just signed on this evening to check emails, and low and behold, they are saying I have no data left. WTF!!! Oh and before any1 says to change providers, they are the only ones who service our area.


The Worst!!!

Dec 23, 2014 by Rita Turner
Zip Code: 36080 

Been awful since first day. Might as well have dial-up. Had no other choices to this point but going to change to a different company. May not be any better but certainly can't be any worse. Called complaining last week and first thing they did was try to get me to upgrade to Gen4. Problem still not resolved. Sick of them so going to try elsewhere.


way way below the lowest

Dec 11, 2014 by kathy white
Zip Code: 63601 

after my credit card was compromised, i planned to auto pay hughesnet on my own, but they said i had to use a credit card, or there would be a $5 invoice fee. having no alternative at the time, i paid it for a year, then excede came along. went with them. payment had been taken out during the switch.i owed them $5 they owed me $71. called to make sure i had refund coming, said i should get it in 7-10 days. three weeks later, no refund. called again and was told 45 business days!!!! come on, they lie and have stupid policies that they have to lie more and cover up. this company is making too much money to treat people this way. shame on you, hughesnet.


What Service?

Dec 05, 2014 by Scicc
Zip Code: 12089 

How is it that they can continue to market internet service. Why are we required to give them any star for the rating field?


service data

Nov 12, 2014 by karen martin
Zip Code: 77306 

I am so mad! Now we are having to purchase / restore tokens for data. I purchased some a couple hours ago, said it was successful BUT it still has NOT shown up. This is so wrong on so many levels. We have been a loyal customer all this time, never had this happen until now. They get their money every month like clock work! SICK OF IT!!!!


BAD service/connections

Nov 08, 2014 by Guy Martin
Zip Code: 77306 

We pay for unlimited access monthly. Hughesnet gets their money EVERY month and just got it last week. Have not been able to get on hardly at all this week. Took an exam last week, got booted off 6 times. Made a 60 on exam due to time running out for class. TIRED OF THIS CRAP


Disappointed

Nov 03, 2014 by RRobertson
Zip Code: 63339 

Switched from Wildblue to Hughesnet in 2009. Was very satisfied at the beginning due to unsatisfactory service. Customer service is extremely poor, always get it is a problem with your equipment. When on the phone with tech support one time, was told to unplug tower and when told to replug we did not. Tech informed us everything was working, and there was not problem. When we told him we were still holding the plug, he had to change his story! Now 5 years in, they are telling us they no longer support Gen3 and we are going to be forced to pay $399 to upgrade where new customers can get the special deals and breaks. Nothing beats treating existing customers like crap! I personally think they are screwing with speeds to force you into upgrade. Looking for something else.... so done!


HORRIBLE

Oct 21, 2014 by H.Craigen
Zip Code: 75551 

I originally had this service set up for my grandfather who lived in a rural area. He had been using dial up because he refused to spend the money for initial set up and monthly charges. I covered all of the cost for set up ($600-ish) and told him and my grandmother that I would cover the other half. My grandfather died 2 years later, we cancelled the service, sent back all that was theirs, and they continued to bill for 6+ months- even though we called them and alerted them of their error numerous times. When they finally stopped, we asked them to mail a refund check- which they eventually did… In my grandfather's name. They refuse to reissue it in my grandmother's name, even if proper documentation is sent to them. My grandmother is also ill- and it will be more than inconvenient to go handle this with the bank. HughesNet staff and managers are extremely unhelpful and rude. I have been dealing with them for a year with all of this mess and not one time have I spoken with someone who was kind or seemed to care at all.
Find another option, do not deal with this company!!!!


constantly have to reboot modem

Oct 17, 2014 by Edmond h lemmo
Zip Code: 08028 

Not to happy .constantly reboot modern every time I want to go on .


Terrible

Sep 24, 2014 by D. Bean
Zip Code: 21701 

HUGHESNET IS THE WORSE INTERNET PROVIDER EVER!!
Where do I begin telling what is wrong with this service?
•I am paying $63.12/month for 10 GB of data!
•I was told that the rain affected the speed of my internet.
•I was told that data was being used by my Wi-Fi connected devices – laptop, iPad - even when they are off.
•Automated “customer service” on the phone is a joke. There is no service provided.
•The internet is incredible slow. I had dial up in 1997 that was faster.
•When the speed test was run by an agent, it was faster than any time I performed the same speed test. How do they make that happen?
•Hughesnet provides its service in outlying areas and therefore does whatever they want because they are most likely the only provider available.

INVESTIGATE ANY OTHER PROVIDER BEFORE SIGNING UP WITH HUGHSNET!


1.1 5.0 62 62 The Hughesnet internet connection had terrible reception. I was unable to use it to work from home. Movie downloads from Direct TV's On Demand slow, sometimes up to 2 hours, or th Hughesnet Satellite Internet