Sirius XM

Please keep your SiriusXM reviews factual and intelligent. The more professional and thoughtful your review the more helpful it will be to other readers. Thank you! 🙂

User Review for Sirius XM satellite radio service

Add a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Sirius XM Holdings Inc. Sirius XM satellite radio Satellite radio service. SKU UPC Model Sirius XM radio

Sketchy

Feb 09, 2019 by Jim McQuinn
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 0 • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 0 • 
Zip Code: 04106 

I called for help setting up my radio in my new car. Aggressive up sales. I would also call it deceptive and would warn you to stay away. Yes, Howard Stern is great but....they need to clean up their business model.


Thankfully I escaped!

Feb 04, 2019 by Phredog
How Long Have You
used This Service?: Less than two months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: Free trial • 
Zip Code: 85281 

Where to begin?

Feb 3, 2018 I bought a new Jeep. There was no mention of SXM on the window sticker. The radio was on FM when I took delivery. Nobody mentioned SXM. I found out about it when I received the letter in the mail.

I tried it, but it was stuck on the preview channel. I had to call them to get it turned back on. I park my jeep during the week because I commute by bicycle. Every Friday it was back stuck on channel 1 again. I read about the problem on the internet (a lot of people have it). I lost my patience and told them to keep it.

I read about how they stalk customers. I went online and deleted my account as best I could.

Today is Feb 3, 2019. I have not heard from SXM, and I could never be more pleased with that!

I am trying to get the radio swapped out with one that does not contain an SXM receiver because the stupid message keeps popping up asking me to subscribe.


Marketing Harrassment

Feb 03, 2019 by Alexander G.
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 6 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: N/A • 
Zip Code: 92612 

They just wont stop sending me mail/calling to the point that's it's extremely annoying and spammy. Their most recent attempt was disguised as "Important Information Enclosed". How many times do you have to say no for them to understand?...way to many. Wouldn't ever subscribe. THEY'RE HORRIBLE.


Horrible Customer Service

Jan 29, 2019 by Paul Guilkey
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 12 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: Absolutely not! • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $39.25 • 
Zip Code: 94517 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

When trying to cancel the subscription for one of 3 vehicles (I'm selling it), I was passed through 3 diffent people and had to keep repeating my request each time. They did not want to accept the fact that I'm NOT buying a new vehicle and would NOT be transferring the subscription. The final representative said he would process the cancellation then rudely and abruptly hung up on me. Due to the high cost and the horrible customer service, I will be cancelling ALL SiriusXM subscriptions.


Still Lazy After All These Years

Jan 29, 2019 by Ronald
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 10 Years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $13 • 
Zip Code: 07724 

Listening to SiriusXM radio has been like living in a music prison where one is being punished for subscribing to their service rather than being rewarded. The company has become a monopoly in satellite radio delivery and as such, has no reason to attempt to even compete with anyone else, including FM radio.

I have been a satellite radio subscriber for 14 years now. I was one of the initial subscribers of XM RADIO when it first launched. It was a remarkable satellite radio company who truly wanted to make music fresh again for those willing to subscribe. XM RADIO executives encouraged online music DJs and programmers to be original, break out of the mold, and avoid the daily repetition of playing just the "hits." In addition, the sound that emanated from car stereo speakers was nearly CD-QUALITY.

However, in 2007 all that was about to dramatically change when XM merged with a company called SIRIUS. SIRIUS had been in existence for almost as long as XM, but most people who knew music didn't look at them as a big competitor. SIRIUS had a dramatically different attitude towards the music it played. SIRIUS thrived on limited playlists, playing the same familiar songs over and over again. Their philosophy was that satellite radio was only heard during short commutes and as such, only the most recognizable hits would be played. Additionally, with limited bandwidth at its fingertips, upon its merger with XM RADIO, the newly formed SIRIUSXM decided to add more than 200 channels in their core service that would reduce overall sound quality to its end listener. If you have listened to SIRIUSXM on a very good car or home stereo system, you probably have noticed how hollow and tinny it sounds. It is estimated that music is broadcast at a mere 31-33kbps. To give you something to compare that to, most reputable online music download services offer 256-360kbps. For SIRIUSXM to offer an eighth of that quality in its music delivery should indicate just how awful it sounds compared to CD music.

If you really want to know how disgustingly awful SIRIUSXM is, you should be forced to listen to it 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. This is the predicament I find myself in. I work in a warehouse setting. Its concrete walls inhibit any kind of FM reception. In order to provide constant music to our workplace, we stuck a satellite antenna outside one of our windows. For the past two years, SIRIUSXM has been our only source of daily music while we work.

Sometimes I wonder what is more of a chore -- the actual work that all of us do in our warehouse, or having to listen to SIRIUSXM radio. Every single day, the same selection of music is repeated over and over again across every single channel. We have exhausted listening to most all of their music channels, only for the fact that within a week, we are extremely bored by the repetition. We attempt to find a new music channel, and once again quickly find ourselves fatigued. We find ourselves listening to a single channel for a day, only to return it to it months later, to hear the same short list of songs being played.

I did some quick research to find out what a SIRIUSXM radio programmer makes in salary. It's about $25k per year. That's little enough to make one hate their job and it absolutely shows. These music programmers, either by lack of self-interest or directives from their bosses, have an absence of drive or imagination. It seems they load about 100 songs into a computer playlist and let it execute in an endless loop.

As an example, let me start with one of my most listened to channels, TOTALLY 70s. It basically sticks to the same top-charting hits, only diverting away once in awhile to anomalies from that era in a feature called "Jukebox of Dy-no-mite." Rarely will you a hear a song that will make you think, "gee, I haven't heard that one in awhile." There are some songs that never get played on that channel. While I realize "Stoney End" by Barbara Streisand or "All I know" by Art Garfunkel may not be chart-toppers --- they still represent the music of that era and should get equal play. There's no reason I have to hear "Stayin' Alive" by the Bee Gees every single day just because it charted higher. The only time, in fact, that one gets to hear lesser-known hits is during the weekly broadcast of Casey Kasem's American Top 40. It's the only airplay on that channel that seems "fresh."

This past year, SIRIUSXM introduced two new noteworthy channels, The Beatles, and Pop Rocks. On paper, these both seemed like outstanding additions to the line-up.

Listening to The Beatles channel this very week, my co-workers commented on just how many Beatles songs are NOT played each hour. While I don't mind the channel playing solo hits by the Fab Four, they muddle the selection of music by playing songs that inspired the group. In addition, they add cover songs by other artists. One might think this is all well and good, offering a wider variety of music to the channel. Truth be, it just means fewer songs by THE BEATLES are actually being played, and when they are, it's the same limited selection over and over again. To their credit, there is some original programming offered on that channel that plays deeper cuts, but as with the overall music being played itself, it is also limited.

Things get even worse when listening to POP ROCKS, a channel that celebrates rock music of the 90s and 2000 era. If ever a channel stuck to limited playlists, this is the one. It literally plays the same hundred songs over and over again each day. Sometimes, it will play the same song (such as Thunder and Lightning by Imagine Dragons) twice in an 8-hour span. In our workplace, this has become one of the channels we have voted to ban due to the fact that our ears have become completely fatigued from its daily repetition.

This is what happens when you are the only satellite music delivery service in town. When you become a monopoly, you don't have to worry about competing. You can be that lazy, unimaginative program director who loads a hundred songs into each of its channels and keeps it on auto-play all year long.

Here's the biggest kicker of all....

Every year or two, SIRIUSXM raises their subscription rates under the guise of "higher music royalty costs." What that means is that the service is hiking up the price of their music when they are only offering you a limited selection of it. I absolutely refuse to play full price for a limited selection of music and I often have to resort to deals to keep my subscription active.


Dishonest business practices

Jan 20, 2019 by Paige
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months paid plus 3 months free trial • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $3/month • 
Zip Code: 80911 

I am very frustrated with the customer service and business practices of Sirius XM. We had to replace our stock radio in our 2007 Yukon XL due to the clock not functioning and the system randomly shutting off. When my husband called Sirius XM to transfer our subscription he was told he would have to pay a fee to do so. Apparently, the offer we agreed to was only for cars made before 2009. But because we had to replace our radio it no longer reads as a vehicle older than 2009. No one in retention, including the manager he spoke with, was able to waive the fee or cancel our subscription and make us the same offer we had. In our agreement there was no mention of my offer only being available to specific radios. We had to pay an additional fee to have an XM tuner put onto our new radio we purchased. Because of Sirius XM’s lack of disclosing this information In our agreement we refused to pay the fee to transfer our subscription and canceled all together. We are now out the money we had to pay for the tuner and have no XM service.


Jan 18, 2019 by MTS
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 20 • 
Zip Code: 61957 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I had service on 2 vehicles with differing renewal dates. I tried to cancel both in December when I received a call from Sirius. The lady on the other end told me she couldn't cancel because I owed them money. My account said I was paid up. After my subscription expired I contacted Sirius through their website chat & was able to cancel. I received 2 cancellation messages (for each vehicle). However, they said I owed them money because they did not cut the service right away. Fine, I sent them a check. Today I get another bill. What a scam!


Jan 15, 2019 by Joshua T Farrell
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 0 • 
Zip Code: 30045 

Stations were great. Annoying sales calls everytime they have a promotion is why I will not be back. If I want your service I will contact you. Phone calls every 2 weeks with a different price is not going to get my service. I asked several times to be placed on the list not to receive these calls still get them. NOW I WILL NOT BE BACK.

There are other ways to listen to the music I want.


No Service

Jan 15, 2019 by D Barrigher
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 1 year 3 months • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: $80.. every 4 Month • 
Zip Code: 32277 

I bought a new car last year and Sirius XM was a service provided free for 5 months after that time I could renew and pay for it myself. Here are my issues, I am auto billed for services that do not work, My Sirius service never works in the mornings and cuts out while I am driving, but Sirius XM has never offered their customers any type of compensation for no service and should not be auto billing but giving persons an opportunity to renew before their bank accounts are auto debited


Cancel Service Headaches

Jan 12, 2019 by J Norman
How Long Have You
used This Service?: 8 years • 
Would You Recommend
It To A Friend?: No • 
Monthly Cost You Pay: 20 • 
Zip Code: 46227 • 
Purchased As Part Of A
service Bundle?: No 

I sold one of my cars, so I logged in to my account to remove the vehicle. There is no option for that. A chat bot appeared and asked to assist. Once I typed in all of the information requested, "it" connected me to a suppose live chat where I was once again asked all of the information, only to be told I would have to call the toll-free number to cancel one of my cars. And, you guessed it, they attempt to upsale the account on my remaining vehicle. In this day and age, you should be able to completely handle all transactions through the online options.


1.4 5.0 360 360 Hair nation used be a Good channel until you let David Lee Roth take it over I am cancelling this crap subscription now Sirius XM satellite radio